Your First Car

92jambo

Getting towards passing my test and need to get my first car, dont have a clue what to get and wondered what everyone's first car was? :D:D:D

A 2 wheeled car called a motorbike!

:107years:

A yellow 1982 Austin Metro (bought in 1994).

It really was a heap of ****.

I somehow managed to drive to Newcastle and back with little or no brakes and a clutch that needed the sort of faith that Indiana Jones displayed towards the end of in The Last Crusade.

Still, I got ?40 scrap for it so all's well that ends well.

A yellow 1982 Austin Metro (bought in 1994).

It really was a heap of ****.

I somehow managed to drive to Newcastle and back with little or no brakes and a clutch that needed the sort of faith that Indiana Jones displayed towards the end of in The Last Crusade.

Still, I got ?40 scrap for it so all's well that ends well.

So, how much did you pay for it then?

:confused:

A peugot 309 in metallic blue, an old K reg model which was a write off and bought out of the scrap yard with my mate fixing it up for me, what a heap o pish it was!

Still got it then?;)

So, how much did you pay for it then?

?450.

Fiat Punto - 52 plate - 1.3 - maroon - fell in love with it as soon as I saw it.

She was called Lucinda!

Cost me 3500 and traded it in for 1500 after just over 2 years.

Needed like a grands worth of work done to it so I figure I got a good deal!

?450.

So you paid ?450 for a heap of sheet, drove to Newcastle and back, got ?40 from a scrappy.....I'll say no more!

Still got it then?;)

Ha ha! No chance, I love my new baby I got now and think I'll keep it for a while.

Mine was a triumph, ****ty brown colour but a wee goer! Paid 75 quid for it amd sold it for ?200!

My son just turned 18 and we bought him a wee ford ka for his birthday. Passed his test 6 weeks ago and he has been posted missing now since 20th July believe he probably living in his car!!!

First ever car was a 1949 Hillman Minx, blue with red leather seats. After a year or so took it in for the M.O.T test failed miserably because the chassis was rusted through. Cost me more to get plates welded on than the car cost originally, but got the certificate and sold it. Second car was a Vauxhall Victor. Bought it from a friend who done fix ups. Was filling with gas one day and a big chunk of the rear end, which it turned out was filler dropped out. Went to drive it over to complain and the brakes failed, can't remember how I got rid of it, but did. Last car I had was a 1966 Morris Oxford. White with red leather, heater and radio, even put seat belts on it, licence # FFS 937 D. Sold it to some lucky stiff when left for Canada in '67.

If you've not had a car since 1967 it begs the question, have cars been invented in Canada yet? :D

I knew an Asian girl like that once :whistling:

Met 1 of them tonight wearing silver high-heels and I quote, "Gonna go to the ******* to get me a cairry-oot, ah canny walk in these things".

She was told to **** off, I knew I'd never be able to walk in them!

:slither:

my first car was a Renault 18 it was white and i passed my test in it (cause you could do that at the time) it was a great wee car until the head gasket blew up on the way back from Blair Drummond Safari park.

No me, I like to brag about the ones that got away :wacko:

Or the ones you got away from!

:rofl::rofl::rofl:

PS. Don't you just hate it when they shuffle the smiles?

:(

Or the ones you got away from!

:rofl::rofl::rofl:

PS. Don't you just hate it when they shuffle the smiles?

:(

Shut it you, your already off my xmas card list :D

As for Tom, you were never on it!! :P:p

Shut it you, your already off my xmas card list :D

As for Tom, you were never on it!! :P:p

Thats OK, we're Pagan apart from Kay who go's to a gronk, sorry Cathlic school!

so it will be St Kentergins for high school then???????

Only if theres enough room after the Polish take over.

Goose Baxter

Silver Seat Leon Cupra 1.8t 20v is my 1st car.

The thing is rapid and is due to get re-maped at the end off the month.

Dont get to drive it that often as the bird has it a lot for her work, but when i do get to drive it i still get the buzz off it. Cracking car.

Enjoy your 1st car mate. Hope she gives you the best ride ever

p.s when you get one, you have to give her a name.

Silver Seat Leon Cupra 1.8t 20v is my 1st car.

The thing is rapid and is due to get re-maped at the end off the month.

Dont get to drive it that often as the bird has it a lot for her work, but when i do get to drive it i still get the buzz off it. Cracking car.

Enjoy your 1st car mate. Hope she gives you the best ride ever

p.s when you get one, you have to give her a name.

I think your off topic mate, this is part of tonights drunk threads!

Goose Baxter
I think your off topic mate, this is part of tonights drunk threads!

That was my 1st car, just thought i'd share the love.

And i can put what i want as i am at work and not able to compete in tonights drunk threads so there lol

Mk2 Ford Escort. OSF 742V. Great little car and sold it just after I'd serviced all the brakes. Badly. I hope the guy that bought it didn't die.

A 2 wheeled car called a motorbike!

:107years:

Bought a Mini Clubman in 1978 aged 18.

Cost 850 pounds.

Aye that takes me back.:)

I had a white VW Polo 1.0C, G880 VWV. You needed at least 20 metres notice if you were going to brake.

I remember learning in it, and my dad screaming at me to put it into 5th gear at speed.

It didn't have a 5th gear... :laugh:

Mk 1 VW Golf 1100.

Some **** crashed into it one Christmas Eve then drove off. It was written off so I sold it for scrap for ?40.

First transport was a bike - Yamaha YB100.

First car was a hand-me-down once I'd finished higher education - a Mk2 Escort 1.6 Ghia, horrible burnt orangey colour, VSF437V.

No...it didn't have name apart from the damp mornings when, like many Fords of my acquaintaince of that era, it wouldn't start.

Then it had lots of names.

FTY 655L

A 1972 Land Rover series 2A LWB. In desert army colour.

With good old fashioned crash gearbox (that means double-the-clutch).

Completely impracticale, totally uneconomic, not cool - easily the best 18 months of my driving life!!

Rover Metro 1.1 sport after I passed my test! M304 MSC. Cannae forget the sport bit, managed to get it up to 100mph on the M9 heading back to uni in Stirling one night... boy was that frightening! First car I bought myself was a peugeot 306 meridian, 1.4 T67 USC. Went well but had to sell as was gonna get next to nothing for trade in value after a year. Now Golf Mk4 GT 1.9Tdi which goes like a whore on speed!

I have just got my first car as used to be insured on my mum or dad's car when was younger and not had a car while at uni because I lived in the centre of Aberdeen. She is called 'Cherrybomb' and she is a P reg renault clio 1.2....have to guess the colour though...

1st car was T reg fiat seicento sporting 1106cc's of pure fun, it was like a go kart and was yellow in colour.

I have just got my first car as used to be insured on my mum or dad's car when was younger and not had a car while at uni because I lived in the centre of Aberdeen. She is called 'Cherrybomb' and she is a P reg renault clio 1.2....have to guess the colour though...

Aberdeen is probably the worst city I have ever driven in.

Its a nightmare!

Mine was a bright yellow 1973 Hillman Avenger named Auld Bella.When I say bright yellow I mean dirty grubby minging yellow.My dad phoned me up saying his pal was selling a Mk 1 Escort did I want it.Like a muppet I told him to get it for me,so when I turned up a few days later It was a Avenger,totally gutted but took it anyway.

Ended up his so called pal was a scrap dealer and Auld Bella was made up of bits.Think it lasted about 4 weeks and the chassis split when I was out with my mates .Oh the embarrassment.

The first car I drove was an embarrassing suzuki wagon R ... a box basically. Only 1.2, the thing didn't shift at all.

I'm still on the first car I bought for myself though, got it 2 years ago at the Ingy auction. R Reg Rover 200, 1.4, it's a wee cracker. Obviously took a chance getting it from the auction (?600) but only needed a new starter (?20 from the scrappy) and ever since has just needed a new exhaust. Can't complain for an 11 year old car, and it fairly shifts! Hope to get a few more years out of Frankie :)

97 Vauxhall Corsa handed down to me from my mum when she got a new car.

That died a few months ago, so now onto a P reg Fiat Punto.

97 Vauxhall Corsa handed down to me from my mum when she got a new car.

That died a few months ago, so now onto a P reg Fiat Punto.

You appear to be working your way backwards! :P

A 1966 VW Beetle 1300 that I got for ?60.00 when I was 17. It was supposed to have a maximum speed of about 80 mph but I would have needed to be going downhill with a tail wind to get anything close to that.

Incredibly reliable, after about four months of being parked up during a very cold winter it still started first turn of the key, despite being about twenty years old.

02 Seat Ibiza. Anyone want to buy it? Only just over 20k on the clock. ?3k and it's yours. Even comes with a retro cassette deck. Old skool.

Passed 1st time, I'm a pretty good driver.

Gavsy van Gaverson thinks he'll be driving soon. Won't be. Thick as two really thick planks.

A 1990 Ford Sierra Saphire 1.8 LX G895 ADD, it lasted me a good few years, not a single bit of rust on it due to it being built in Germany and not the usual UK pish. In the time I owned it I covered something like 40k and the only thing that went wrong with it was it needed a new carb gasket.

I'm seeing a trend that folk's old cars are very fondly remembered as being a hell of a lot more reliable than the ones we have now! As I've said my 97 Rover is top flight but my friend's Golf which is maybe 3 years old needed a new gearbox already (could be her driving though!).