Posted

:vrface::vrface:

Tragic behaviour. Especially those who pretend to be Irish for one day using it as an excuse to act like a total helmet. 

• Replies 207

• JudyJudyJudy

• Martin B

• il Duce McTarkin

Herbert.
Posted

I think a big % of the population is of Irish decent, So you could kind of see it as celebrating their heritage. I still agree with you though, They are the people who clap when the plane lands.

escobri
Posted
44 minutes ago, Negan said:

Tragic behaviour. Especially those who pretend to be Irish for one day using it as an excuse to act like a total helmet. 

Take it your shite at splitting the G.

Der Kaiser
Posted

Very cleverly marketed day. Similar to Burns day for us.....get everyone buying the same stuff on one particular day.

Should do the same for St Andrew's day and mop up tourist money selling Irn Bru flavoured shortbread and Whisky scented heroin.

Posted

Real men drink lager ;)

Posted
2 minutes ago, Der Kaiser said:

Very cleverly marketed day. Similar to Burns day for us.....get everyone buying the same stuff on one particular day.

Should do the same for St Andrew's day and mop up tourist money selling Irn Bru flavoured shortbread and Whisky scented heroin.

I always wondered why no one really celebrates St Andrews day. Given the Scottish drinking culture you'd think it would be an excuse to have a piss up similar to paddy's day. 

Der Kaiser
Posted
1 minute ago, Negan said:

I always wondered why no one really celebrates St Andrews day. Given the Scottish drinking culture you'd think it would be an excuse to have a piss up similar to paddy's day. 

Met an American years ago when I had a temp job at Edinburgh castle. He was buying 100s of quid worth of stuff as he had Scottish heritage. He said he was making it his mission to get St Andrew's day celebrated in America like St Patrick's.

redjambo
Posted

People enjoying themselves. Yeah, shouldn't be allowed.

martoon
Posted
47 minutes ago, Negan said:

It's long since been frowned upon by the C of S.

The Saint thing is a bit too Catholic, apparently.

Posted
2 hours ago, Negan said:

FFS I'm an honest to God Presbyterian elder and I don't have this much of a stick up my arse about people having fun.

boag1874
Posted

Who cares? It’s just another excuse for a piss up

Posted

I've said it before and I'll say it again. 

Concentration camps.

Swanny17
Posted

I celebrate the date every year. Always have done and always will do. 😉

Posted
30 minutes ago, Swanny17 said:

Getting a hand-shandy in the phonebox outside the union from some two-bob slapper from Cork when you were a student doesn't make you Irish, Swanny.

Posted
1 hour ago, Swanny17 said:

Obviously your birthday.

Posted
3 hours ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

I've said it before and I'll say it again. 

Concentration camps.

Damn kafflics enjoying themselves 

What you're saying, eh :whistling:

Posted
1 hour ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Getting a hand-shandy in the phonebox outside the union from some two-bob slapper from Cork when you were a student doesn't make you Irish, Swanny.

Mr Sifter
Posted

First thing I’d do as First Minister would be to move St Andrews Day from the dreich dark nights of November to mid July. Game changer 😊👍🏼

Posted

More money in the Guiness family coffers.

Arthur was a devout Protestant :pleasing:

Posted

I hate that 'we' celebrate another countries saint day more than ours but I have to admit there is more than a hint of jealousy there. The Irish, or more accurately Guiness, have marketed it brilliantly. Almost as well as coca cola have with SANTA and christmas

Lord Montpelier
Posted

Maybe a Scottish company need to affiliate themselves with St Andrews day. 

Could all eat tunnocks wafers all day or something like that. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Lord Montpelier said:

Caramel logs are the balls. 

Posted
17 minutes ago, Lord Montpelier said:

They would make a cock up of that too 

Posted

My granny was Irish but I don’t really celebrate St Paddy’s day . 

Posted
1 minute ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

My granny was Irish but I don’t really celebrate St Paddy’s day . 

Have you got an Irish passport out of that ?

Posted
1 minute ago, Ked said:

Have you got an Irish passport out of that ?

No 

Posted
Just now, JudyJudyJudy said:

No 

Why not?

Posted
5 minutes ago, Ked said:

Why not?

Already have a British passport 

Mac_fae_Gillie
Posted

My Grandfather was Scots Irish lived just south of Dublin until about 1922 but forced to leave been a Protestant in a new nation that was wee bit anti Protestant, he was only 12 at the time and moved to Fife, only ever time I done StPats day is when I was out and drinking anyway, never could do the black stuff just gives me rotten guts although early 90s I did a lot of Cafferys. Never understood why so many celebrate another nation even if in part related.

Posted
8 hours ago, Watt-Zeefuik said:

FFS I'm an honest to God Presbyterian elder and I don't have this much of a stick up my arse about people having fun.

The problem is that old Paddy himself might despair a little about how his name is used as an excuse for a piss up.

Thankfully, I've never taken part in "Oirish" shenanigans.

Posted

Plastic paddy shite. 

Posted

As much as I like Guinness I don't celebrate St Patrick's Day. Great marketing though. 

Posted

Ironically I believe that drinking used to be banned on holy days in Ireland in the past. St Patrick’s Day now is an American idea that Ireland saw and went ‘hang on, that’s a money maker and genius marketing idea’ 

Posted
10 hours ago, Herbert. said:

They are the people who clap when the plane lands.

Even more annoying if it's an inland flight ✈️ 

Gundermann
Posted
10 hours ago, Negan said:

Like folk who pretend to be Christians and celebrate Xmas. Xmas was outlawed in Scotland until the 1950s and not really celebrated that much until late 60s, at least. TURN THE CLOCK BACK!!

maxresdefault.jpg?sqp=-oaymwEmCIAKENAF8q

Gundermann
Posted
25 minutes ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

The problem is that old Paddy himself might despair a little about how his name is used as an excuse for a piss up.

Thankfully, I've never taken part in "Oirish" shenanigans.

Says a man who name means 'the chapel of Saint Patrick'.  :whistling:

Canscot
Posted

Been in Canada near on 50 yrs. Came in 1977. 
First St Paddy’s day here I was surprised how big a deal it was. Parades, green beer parties all over!  I don’t remember any of that happening in the UK when I was growing up. 
Never ever got into it here though.  Green beer??? WTAF! Was my thoughts and still is. 
Seems like it is all a North American thing that seems to have spread to UK/Europe etc. Along with High School Graduations and proms etc. Never was a thing when I was young. 
All an excuse for the marketers to generate cash imo. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Canscot said:

First St Paddy’s day here I was surprised how big a deal it was. Parades, green beer parties all over!  I don’t remember any of that happening in the UK when I was growing up. 
Never ever got into it here though.  Green beer??? WTAF! Was my thoughts and still is. 
Seems like it is all a North American thing that seems to have spread to UK/Europe etc. Along with High School Graduations and proms etc. Never was a thing when I was young. 

There's a parade in London today. 

Don't know if this is a new thing or not.

Canscot
Posted
Just now, The Real Maroonblood said:

There's a parade in London today. 

Don't know if this is a new thing or not.

Quite possible it has been going on forever. I just have no recollection of that kind of thing happening when growing up ( as the grandson of an old Irish Orangeman by the way!).  
But at my age that might not be much of a surprise either!😂

Posted
50 minutes ago, indianajones said:

Plastic paddy shite. 

spoton.png.e5e29eaf11add061bd5061517bc1e033.png

Posted
26 minutes ago, Canscot said:

What's your thoughts on gender reveal parties 😡 Why is this even a thing? 

Canscot
Posted
Just now, Marvin said:

Another money generating excuse? 
Whatever happened to the element of surprise?  

Posted

Or at least the parents shutting the feck up. All bc mum is giving birth to little johnny son of a bitch they think they'll have a party just to reveal all. I love the ones that go wrong 🤣 

Posted
9 minutes ago, Marvin said:

Should be banned from having children imo

Posted
1 minute ago, Marvin said:

Or at least the parents shutting the feck up. All bc mum is giving birth to little johnny son of a bitch they think they'll have a party just to reveal all. I love the ones that go wrong 🤣 

So do i. Saw a few online. Its all american imported nonsense really.  " baby showers" another load of pish.  

Martin B
Posted

Live and let live. 👍🏻

For me it’s a brilliant excuse to have a couple of cans of Guinness on a Monday night tomorrow. 🍀 

Cameronstheman
Posted

No ma mug of pish, but each to there own, most seem to have a good time, Irish or not 

Posted
13 hours ago, Negan said:

I’ll be posting my favourite Irish ditty tomorrow as I love the song ! 😛