• Luckies1874

• soonbe110

• Locky

• Carter

19 minutes ago, Batistuta87 said:

Confident we will begin to climb the table but unfortunately feeling like third is an absolute pipe dream.

Top 6 is a result now. Can't see how we get there, every man and his dog seems to know how to play us

coatbridgejambo
15 hours ago, Bull's-eye said:

Id say we galvanise as a support base like we did when Locky took us down and really get behind the team no matter what.

I know im on my Jack Jones though.

It's worth a shot.

The players seem to poop their pants when the crowd get on there backs. 

This just feels very much like 19/20, fortunately I think we have made the necessary changes early enough this time, and Critchleys intended style of play is a lot more suited to the league than Stendels. However, these results cant go on for much longer. 

Last season we had a centre forward that scored goals; this season we haven't. Until this is sorted we are in a relegation fight. 

26 minutes ago, AndyNic said:

We will finish top 6. 

Based on nothing visible atm. That team is a disgrace & the lack of sheer physical presence beggars belief. 

What the feck is the strategy behind those signings? You won't get anywhere in Scotland without strong players

in your team in Scotland. There are many who are complacent in their viewpoint - there are major holes & poor

attitudes in this squad - major surgery is required before anyone can claim relegation is not a threat, absolutel

drastic changes.

9 minutes ago, hmfc1440 said:

Based on nothing visible atm. That team is a disgrace & the lack of sheer physical presence beggars belief. 

What the feck is the strategy behind those signings? You won't get anywhere in Scotland without strong players

in your team in Scotland. There are many who are complacent in their viewpoint - there are major holes & poor

attitudes in this squad - major surgery is required before anyone can claim relegation is not a threat, absolutel

drastic changes.

Based on the fact the same squad of players has pumped St. Mirren 4-0 and won twice in European competition... So I'd suggest not getting your knickers in such a twist.

Rudi cant fail
1 minute ago, AndyNic said:

Based on the fact the same squad of players has pumped St. Mirren 4-0 and won twice in European competition... So I'd suggest not getting your knickers in such a twist.

Could also argue that when Stendal took over, he managed to beat rangers twice and hammer Hibs at Easter Road. 

It's back to mindnumbingly pish football. There's nothing in that team that's exciting or different or even creative. We're terrible to watch, sideways and backwards passing time after time after time. There's NO creativity coming from midfield, it's just painful to watch. I don't know what the new manager is supposed to have brought with him but after Sunday and last night, there's not much on show. We're deservedly bottom of the league. We seriously need to change the way we play the game, it's **** miserable! 

Rudi5kaceldream1ng

I have to say it's simply unacceptable were getting turned over by teams with miniscule budgets in comparison. 

Simply unacceptable. 

2 minutes ago, TheLobster said:

It's back to mindnumbingly pish football. There's nothing in that team that's exciting or different or even creative. We're terrible to watch, sideways and backwards passing time after time after time. There's NO creativity coming from midfield, it's just painful to watch. I don't know what the new manager is supposed to have brought with him but after Sunday and last night, there's not much on show. We're deservedly bottom of the league. We seriously need to change the way we play the game, it's **** miserable! 

The problem for the new manager, its 2 games a week, no time to change the methods for quite a while yet. Any sense we will pull every international out of their squads and train them solid for 2 weeks when that break arrives in 10 days.

The defeat last night has been getting blown way out of proportion. We played very well up until our centre backs decided to be soft as shit. We were never in danger. Then the players go back into their shells.

I don’t think the lack of fitness, strikers and squad balance has ruined this season. Which falls at one man’s door and he ain’t here anymore. 

I actually enjoy the way we have played under Critchely so far. For the most part we play the ball forward a lot quicker, it’s a lot of one touch passing. 

That 5 minute spell last night was a disaster. However I’m sure the coaching staff will be putting that right.

6 minutes ago, TheLobster said:

I think that’s one main issue but Spittal has stepped up and been very good recently.  We need more from others. 

It’s all the pieces joining together though.

We now severely lack reasonable wide threat and options.  Forrest has scored a couple of good goals in the last week but you have to look at overall contribution, esp when you hit a tough period in a match.   He reverted to his road runner stuff in the game last night as it

wore on, not being aware of support or using it.  

Love his endeavour but we need craft to appear somewhere.  Lack of bench is killing us.  I don’t think anyone has much faith beyond the starting 11 and maybe another couple that rotate game to game. 

I can see what NC is trying to do and i accept that there has been an improvement but we are still struggling to find a way through the low block, a favourite tactic against us from the majority of this league. And, until we accept and deal with this, we are in real danger of blindly walking into a very real relegation battle. Too many people with their eyes shut, hands over their ears shouting la,la bloody la whilst trying to shut out the truth. Every point is now precious.

7 hours ago, boag1874 said:

The situation isn’t on Critchley at all, he’s just in the door & there’s been improvement since he arrived. He’s inherited a very problematic situation though with an unfit, error prone squad & no time to work with them on the training pitch because the schedule is so tight. The 5 games after Saturday are going to be incredibly tough.

yeah, I'm agreeing with you here!

8 minutes ago, TyphoonJambo said:

I can see what NC is trying to do and i accept that there has been an improvement but we are still struggling to find a way through the low block, a favourite tactic against us from the majority of this league. And, until we accept and deal with this, we are in real danger of blindly walking into a very real relegation battle. Too many people with their eyes shut, hands over their ears shouting la,la bloody la whilst trying to shut out the truth. Every point is now precious.

yup.  Need to follow Aberdeen model, quick direct football, crosses. Dont be afrai to give up possession 

Edited by kingantti1874

13 minutes ago, KyleLafferty said:

The defeat last night has been getting blown way out of proportion. We played very well up until our centre backs decided to be soft as shit. We were never in danger. Then the players go back into their shells.

I don’t think the lack of fitness, strikers and squad balance has ruined this season. Which falls at one man’s door and he ain’t here anymore. 

I actually enjoy the way we have played under Critchely so far. For the most part we play the ball forward a lot quicker, it’s a lot of one touch passing. 

That 5 minute spell last night was a disaster. However I’m sure the coaching staff will be putting that right.

a sensible assessment, frustrating as last night was, we are moving in the right direction.

If carlsberg did rivals...
2 hours ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said:

The problem for the new manager, its 2 games a week, no time to change the methods for quite a while yet. Any sense we will pull every international out of their squads and train them solid for 2 weeks when that break arrives in 10 days.

On the plus side mate, we don't have to concern ourselves with 2 games a week next season!

gordon simpson
3 hours ago, vegas-voss said:

Right now from Dundee Utd down we are all relegation candidates 

this thread is pant wetters heaven 

4 hours ago, Bazzas right boot said:

Sack Gray, bring in McInnes and finish 4th.

Would probably lead me to setting something on fire.

That's my concern. I mean, it's Hibs, they'll likely shite the bed on that one but we can't afford to get complacent at all. 2019/20 is still raw in the memory. And so far there's too many comparisons.

3 hours ago, KyleLafferty said:

Collectively they didn't have a clue how to get back into the game after going behind which to me is a major worry.

Penrices left boot
5 hours ago, Harry Potter said:

Its not good fun being down there😕, we should never be down there ever again with our budget.

The only thing I'll admit is that I think the league title is now beyond us.

Penrices left boot
4 hours ago, KyleLafferty said:

Fair and killie for some reason have a good record v us at Tynecastle. We're better v them at their gaff as well.

However, it's not in isolation and it follows a home draw with Ross county and utd where the same could be said- we played OK, weren't clinical and had defensive brain farts.

That is relegation form, as it stands.

8 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

The only thing I'll admit is that I think the league title is now beyond us.

Aye, gone now😕.

1 hour ago, gordon simpson said:

I only mean there is only a matter of a couple of wins between us all

ScandinavianJambo

After yesterday's display and with the obvious weakness and psychological disadvantage the team unfortunately is carrying, I desperately hope we will be able to stear of a relegation battle, but fear we will be rooted in the bottom 6....

I wish it wasn't so, but it is the heads down mentally and toothlessness that is driving me, the rest of the support, and I am sure the players themselves bonkers. I do not know if it is years of miss coaching were needless passing is being reverted to when the going gets tough....or lack of understanding of our league were there is no news teams sit back, or lack of quality on the pitch with Shanks not scoring....or a heady mix of it all... on top of that, we have Shanks mentality when he isn't scoring, as his head goes down when we lose goals, and as a captain, that isn't working. He still contributes enormously, but his head is clearly not in the right place. Neither is the team as a whole, and therefore, the unthinkable is possible.

Nobody is too good to go down (which was what the team believed last time), and if that doesn't light a fire up the players ar*** I do not know what will.

Edited by ScandinavianJambo

7 hours ago, Hagar the Horrible said:

I felt totally deflated the manner of the defeat was like the players accepted it.  There is still too much Robbie ball needing coached out of players.  but the new guys are getting drawn into the safety first mantra.

There is another train of thought, which I literally had on the train this morning. Is the talk of Bloom and his analytics coming in, has left our players unable to handle impending change.  You see it in every other workplace, so why not football.  Our players look resistant to it and perhaps feel they will be left behind and not be taken with it and be part of the process and indeed the future of our club. We look like we are only playing at about 60%. If they don't feel like they are part of the change process and don't feel they are part of the future the subconsciously you don't feel part of the present.  Relegation is realistic especially with the way we surrendered 3 points without a fight 

https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/park-the-bus-on-gorgie-road/id1768143626?i=1000670844720

We talked about that Bloom point on our pod mate - I think there’s something in that with the pending Bloom deal and players being possibly aware 

3 hours ago, gordon simpson said:

Dreadful preseason, horsed by the might of Fleetwood - ‘That’s why it’s called pre-season Pantwetters’!

Horsed by Falkirk in the LC - ‘It’s only the diddy cup Pantwetters’!

Losing league game after game to mediocre sides and going bottom- ‘The season’s barely started Pantwetters’!

The same complacent zoomers inevitably appear!

7 hours ago, henryheart said:

Last season we had a centre forward that scored goals; this season we haven't. Until this is sorted we are in a relegation fight. 

It's not just about goals though, of course that helps when someone is putting them in but we have also conceded a bucket load of goals at the back as well, We need a centre half that can actually defend and doesn't get bullied by a physical no 9.

Don't even get me started on our wide options, which in my opinion are non existent.

We have so many problems all throughout the team.

At the end of the day we are where we are for a reason, the league table does not lie.

4 hours ago, If carlsberg did rivals... said:

On the plus side mate, we don't have to concern ourselves with 2 games a week next season!

Maybe with a good Challenge Cup run

gordon simpson
1 minute ago, Korky said:

Dreadful preseason, horsed by the might of Fleetwood - ‘That’s why it’s called pre-season Pantwetters’!

Horsed by Falkirk in the LC - ‘It’s only the diddy cup Pantwetters’!

Losing league game after game to mediocre sides and going bottom- ‘The season’s barely started Pantwetters’!

The same complacent zoomers inevitably appear!

away you and get too your bed school in the morning ya wee cant . Pants will dry in the morning PS . football is a game of two teams 11 against 11 most kicks in the net the winner OK CANT

MoncurMacdonaldMercer

the derby was poor but we rescued a point - that’s not unusual in the derby

we’ve just been sucker punched by Kilmarnock - that can also happen especially as they appear to be on the up

st Johnstone game is “massive” tho - the lesser results mentioned above almost explainable but we need to win on Saturday - there can be an excuse for losing any game (st Johnstone new manager etc) but we need to start winning irrespective or bottom 6 relegation etc can’t be ruled out

imo almost everyone including critchely himself was getting a wee bit carried away with the good start he’d made so the last two games reality check might hopefully be a help in the longer run

as others have said surely there must be some out of contract players could at least give us an option cheaply / short-term and again already said I would be agreeing that worth chucking halkett upfront for last half hour to see how that goes 

9 minutes ago, gordon simpson said:

away you and get too your bed school in the morning ya wee cant . Pants will dry in the morning PS . football is a game of two teams 11 against 11 most kicks in the net the winner OK CANT

A fantastic and witty response to my post that bears testimony to your obvious intellectual capacity.

It would, however, be much easier to follow if it was in the English language.

gordon simpson
2 minutes ago, Korky said:

A fantastic and witty response to my post that bears testimony to your obvious intellectual capacity.

It would, however, be much easier to follow if it was in the English language.

away to bed ya cant 

7 hours ago, Rudi5kaceldream1ng said:

I have to say it's simply unacceptable were getting turned over by teams with miniscule budgets in comparison. 

Simply unacceptable. 

irs been going on for years, shite beating us regular especially that killie mob at tynecastle,hope it changes sooner than later.

7 hours ago, Debut 4 said:

I think that’s one main issue but Spittal has stepped up and been very good recently.  We need more from others. 

It’s all the pieces joining together though.

We now severely lack reasonable wide threat and options.  Forrest has scored a couple of good goals in the last week but you have to look at overall contribution, esp when you hit a tough period in a match.   He reverted to his road runner stuff in the game last night as it

wore on, not being aware of support or using it.  

Love his endeavour but we need craft to appear somewhere.  Lack of bench is killing us.  I don’t think anyone has much faith beyond the starting 11 and maybe another couple that rotate game to game. 

Aye, he's got this very unique skill in that he NEVER gets a lucky break/bounce, I've no idea how he manages it but he never seems to get a lucky deflection, he seems to be unbelievable at getting the last touch off a bounce or ricochet! 

We need pace down the wings and a solid creative midfielder, I like Boateng and Beni but they're not creative enough. Boateng never seems to get anywhere with the ball and Beni has a tendency to chase shadows. 

Tough times, but CEO talking the analytics stuff and bringing some players in in Jan which by the looks of things we really need, hopefully it won't be more of the same, we need a bit of magic, someone with that creative brain and a bit of dig too, the team's very lightweight. 

gordon simpson
39 minutes ago, penguin said:

Hey ,all is not lost Aberdeen have not played any decent teams yet

hope the sheep molesting hoors win the league FT the arse cheeks 

9 hours ago, AndyNic said:

Sadly only St Mirren are the only team we have beaten in our league.

2 hours ago, gordon simpson said:

FFS 

colinmorewasgash
9 hours ago, hmfc1440 said:

drastic changes.

Naismith told everyone in papers in pre season we were getting rid of physical hearts tag by going other way even though most agreed, we needed big new centre back and big physical striker got neither we had crock halkett and boyce lol.

10 hours ago, karipidis said:

This just feels very much like 19/20, fortunately I think we have made the necessary changes early enough this time, and Critchleys intended style of play is a lot more suited to the league than Stendels. However, these results cant go on for much longer. 

Another month at least!

16 hours ago, Gavman81 said:

https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/park-the-bus-on-gorgie-road/id1768143626?i=1000670844720

We talked about that Bloom point on our pod mate - I think there’s something in that with the pending Bloom deal and players being possibly aware 

Listened to this, good stuff by the way.  But it was recorded 28th Sept, and nothing has changed.  On Wednesday, Shankland was not being a captain, that team gave up, the only one who cared was CG who shouted at Vargas for not making space for him self from a throw out.

But as for the bloom effect, I am even more convinced that resistance to change is causing players to give up the fight.

I dont blame Naismith its clear it is down to the players, The Coaching Staff of GF and FMcA were not able to coach the Robbie ball out of them.

What makes it worse for me is we got exiting players in and EARLY they got a pre-season together. we out played Sevco and looked odds on for second.  So something has effected this team.  Right now we ARE relegation material until we get a squad willing to bust a gut for each other and the jersey.  We might need to win ugly for a few games.

I had a look at how we did at this point in 2019/20 season. We had 8 points after 11 games. So 2 points more than we had now. Which is worrying, but that season it was the next 10 games which killed our season as we picked up 4 points in the next 9 games. Those 9 games were effectively us going deeper in trouble and Stendel coming in and struggling to turn the tanker round.

Levein was sacked after the 11th game. We have already had the caretaker and new manager installed by the 11th game this season. And there has been an uptake in form. We will pick up more points than that, the team will demonstrate it, Wednesday was a sign of our weaknesses but that can be changed.

While the 3 league games after Saturday are pretty horrible, after those games are played we have a 10 game spell before we play one of the old firm (or 8 games before we play Aberdeen) so it allows us to push to get momentum.