Rudy T Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 (edited) This new league format is going to see many a pumping dished out! Man City will be looking to do similar to Celtic as Dortmund did. There won’t be the same second team take it easy nonsense in the last few games when they had qualified. Bitter Brendan will be lubing up a few more times this season! Edited October 2, 2024 by Rudy T Quote
Ex member of the SaS Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 What the bigot twins fail to realise is the fact that if they shared out the league and TV money the rest better the rest would improve, thus giving them a harder time in the league and make them better prepared for Europe. Pumping teams week in week out does not make you better, in fact it makes you worse as without a challenge you wither. Quote
Malinga the Swinga Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 42 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said: My concern is the co efficient and the reputation of Scottish football. My concern was whether I'd hurt myself from laughing too much. Turns out I didn't. As for Scottish football's reputation, I couldn't give a ****. The day I don't laugh at Celtic/Sevco losing 7-1 to anyone (bar Hibs) is the day I give up watching football. Quote
Rudy T Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 7 minutes ago, Ex member of the SaS said: What the bigot twins fail to realise is the fact that if they shared out the league and TV money the rest better the rest would improve, thus giving them a harder time in the league and make them better prepared for Europe. Pumping teams week in week out does not make you better, in fact it makes you worse as without a challenge you wither. While I agree. Rangers would be bankrupt again. Their fruitless pursuit of Celtic has left them close to the edge, with a squad of semi expensive journey men. So there’s not a remote hope of it happening. If Rangers fail to qualify for a group stage in any of the tournaments it’s game over. Hilariously that tanking last night could ultimately affect Rangers more than any other team in the league with the co-efficient. I really don’t see where this is going to end Celtics profits are astronomical compared to everyone else’s. Aside from leaving the league they could win 15 in a row no bother. Quote
FWJ Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 I wonder how many years it would take of Celtic treble after treble after treble after treble before something gives. Quote
Cameronstheman Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 19 hours ago, JimmyCant said: Aye because we’re doing so well just now, riding on a wave as it were, that we can have a chortle at someone else Just started reading and enjoying a good old chuckle at the hooped filth 5 posts down or so and I see this WTF has that reply from JC got to do with Hearts Secondly what a torn faced celtic sympathizer he comes across as Just enjoy the giggle ffs Quote
Mikey1874 Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 Certainly took an 😲 unexpected turn but back on track. Maybe have a look later at how the Daily Record are explaining their draw prediction. Quote
Mikey1874 Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 1 hour ago, Rudy T said: This new league format is going to see many a pumping dished out! Man City will be looking to do similar to Celtic as Dortmund did. There won’t be the same second team take it easy nonsense in the last few games when they had qualified. Bitter Brendan will be lubing up a few more times this season! Atalanta (away) - 23 October, 17:45 RB Leipzig (home) - 5 November, 20:00 Club Bruges (home) - 27 November, 20:00 Dinamo Zagreb (away) - 10 December, 17:45 Young Boys (home) - 22 January, 20:00 Aston Villa (away) - 29 January, 20:00 Quote
deejtee Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 After the 4-0 drubbing of Celtic's invincibles I sent a wee teasing message to a colleague who's son was in the Celtic team that day. Turns out even she couldn't handle losing Just as well he's been gone a while although I wouldn't have risked her wrath again 😃 Quote
kingantti1874 Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 1 minute ago, deejtee said: After the 4-0 drubbing of Celtic's invincibles I sent a wee teasing message to a colleague who's son was in the Celtic team that day. Turns out even she couldn't handle losing Just as well he's been gone a while although I wouldn't have risked her wrath again 😃 I shat it. Went to see trolls in the cinema at wester Hailes 😞 Quote
Go for it 1308 Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 1 hour ago, Bazzas right boot said: My concern is the co efficient and the reputation of Scottish football, Both the weegie scum clubs are already a stain on the reputation of Scottish Football with their sectarian bile. I want both of them shafted big time in Europe. They moan about a lack of challenge from other teams in Scotland so they can improve their game. Yet, historically, they have lowballed and bought players from other Scottish teams for a pittance, and by doing so, not spreading the wealth in our Scottish leagues. I could not give 2 flying f#*#s about the coefficient. Now....let's enjoy this pic🙂 Quote
Mikey1874 Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 This is the coefficient table just now. We don't need Celtic. Hearts can get us back up. Quote
Luckies1874 Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 After winning the Europa in May Atalanta are looking really good in Europe again this season. Should have beaten Arsenal on MD1 and 3 up against Shakhtar (being played in Germany) tonight. MD3 Atalanta v Celtic Quote
Joey J J Jr Shabadoo Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 8 hours ago, PortyBeach said: I think JC is making the point that ridicule coming from us is ridicule from a point of weakness. Hibs fans were/are notorious for their revelling in our failure at Dens in 1986, which is laughable given their record of mediocrity. When you’ve no successes of your own and your only solace is another’s failure, that’s arguably pretty pathetic. A point I’ve made to Hibs fans on numerous occasions. Remember when the points deduction relegated us instead of H1b5? It was ****ing hilarious when H1b5 were relegated afterwards. And with fewer points won than our youth team. Quote
highlandjambo3 Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 9 minutes ago, Go for it 1308 said: Both the weegie scum clubs are already a stain on the reputation of Scottish Football with their sectarian bile. I want both of them shafted big time in Europe. They moan about a lack of challenge from other teams in Scotland so they can improve their game. Yet, historically, they have lowballed and bought players from other Scottish teams for a pittance, and by doing so, not spreading the wealth in our Scottish leagues. I could not give 2 flying f#*#s about the coefficient. Now....let's enjoy this pic🙂 Dortmund don’t have green seats……good pic all the same Quote
Morgan Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 1 hour ago, Cameronstheman said: Just started reading and enjoying a good old chuckle at the hooped filth 5 posts down or so and I see this WTF has that reply from JC got to do with Hearts Secondly what a torn faced celtic sympathizer he comes across as Just enjoy the giggle ffs Quote
Mr Sifter Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 (edited) 3 hours ago, FWJ said: I wonder how many years it would take of Celtic treble after treble after treble after treble before something gives. That’s exactly what we want (assuming Hearts don’t win these trophies of course). Said it before on here, we NEED one half of the old firm to sail away into the sunset, leaving the other as an also ran, just like the rest of us. Just so happens it’s Celtic, couldn’t care less if it’s them or Rangers, as long as one of them creates a chasm between the two. When (in this case) Rangers are left behind with the rest of us, watch league reconstruction raise its head again. Expanded league, playing each other only twice, no need for four old firm games a season. Everything we’ve said will improve the game/competition in Scotland will eventually come to pass…but only because Rangers will be forced to see the benefits of it. For themselves, not for the betterment of all clubs. Just them. A subtle but important distinction to make. Whilst it’s those two then a gap to the rest of us, nowt will change. So aye, if it ain’t Hearts winning leagues and cups, for me, it’s got to be Celtic (was a wee bit sick in my mouth even typing that 🤢). It’s true tho 🤷 Edited October 2, 2024 by Mr Sifter Quote
HMFC01 Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 Yep I'm still dancing. Get stuffed again soon. Quote
the posh bit Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 10 minutes ago, Mr Sifter said: That’s exactly what we want (assuming Hearts don’t win these trophies of course). Said it before on here, we NEED one half of the old firm to sail away into the sunset, leaving the other as an also ran, just like the rest of us. Just so happens it’s Celtic, couldn’t care less if it’s them or Rangers, as long as one of them creates a chasm between the two. When (in this case) Rangers are left behind with the rest of us, watch league reconstruction raise its head again. Expanded league, playing each other only twice, no need for four old firm games a season. Everything we’ve said will improve the game/competition in Scotland will eventually come to pass…but only because Rangers will be forced to see the benefits of it. For themselves, not for the betterment of all clubs. Just them. A subtle but important distinction to make. Whilst it’s those two then a gap to the rest of us, nowt will change. So aye, if it ain’t Hearts winning leagues and cups, for me, it’s got to be Celtic (was a wee bit sick in my mouth even typing that 🤢). It’s true tho 🤷 How any years of one team's dominance is required? Rangers pretty much had the whole of the 90s to themselves, noone in their right mind would have predicted the situation today back then. Since 2012 Rangers have died, formed again, played in the lower leagues for 4 years, had umpteen hammerings, banned Celtic fans from their stadium because they couldn't take them partying and are now miles off them and it's not even being discussed. Celtic could win the next 20 league titles and nothing will change. Quote
fila Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 Kept refreshing the sports page during the game hoping to see the 08th then the 09th! However 7 will do, made me laugh Our season so far has been a train wreck, but in some way i am positive with new manager in place we will turn it around. As third place now looks out of our reach, I wouldn’t mind seeing Aberdeen splitting the OF pushing Rangers out of 02nd ( it does pain me to say that). Rangers looked honking against Hibs , they are in a mess , the Malmö result has given false hope to the their fans Quote
Mr Sifter Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 (edited) 8 minutes ago, the posh bit said: How any years of one team's dominance is required? Rangers pretty much had the whole of the 90s to themselves, noone in their right mind would have predicted the situation today back then. Since 2012 Rangers have died, formed again, played in the lower leagues for 4 years, had umpteen hammerings, banned Celtic fans from their stadium because they couldn't take them partying and are now miles off them and it's not even being discussed. Celtic could win the next 20 league titles and nothing will change. Only my opinion to be fair. But for all the examples youve given, I’d argue that even when Rangers were winning everything, Celtic were there or thereabouts. They could compete with each other. And that was all that mattered. Your “since 2012” summary is spot on, but I actually think it illustrates my point. Rangers could compete with Celtic back in the day, but now they can’t. They don’t have the dough. Or the EBTs. Things have changed at Ibrox these days, and (again, in my opinion only) Rangers are heading towards us “diddys” faster than they’re heading towards Celtic. Wishful thinkin on my part? Probably 🤪, but I can’t help but think there’s some truth to it 👍🏼 Edited October 2, 2024 by Mr Sifter Quote
db211833 Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 10 minutes ago, fila said: Kept refreshing the sports page during the game hoping to see the 08th then the 09th! However 7 will do, made me laugh Our season so far has been a train wreck, but in some way i am positive with new manager in place we will turn it around. As third place now looks out of our reach, I wouldn’t mind seeing Aberdeen splitting the OF pushing Rangers out of 02nd ( it does pain me to say that). Rangers looked honking against Hibs , they are in a mess , the Malmö result has given false hope to the their fans I've never met a Hearts supporter who would welcome Aberdeen finishing 2nd. Quote
the posh bit Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 6 minutes ago, Mr Sifter said: Only my opinion to be fair. But for all the examples youve given, I’d argue that even when Rangers were winning everything, Celtic were there or thereabouts. They could compete with each other. And that was all that mattered. Your “since 2012” summary is spot on, but I actually think it illustrates my point. Rangers could compete with Celtic back in the day, but now they can’t. They don’t have the dough. Or the EBTs. Things have changed at Ibrox these days, and (again, in my opinion only) Rangers are heading towards us “diddys” faster than they’re heading towards Celtic. Wishful thinkin on my part? Probably 🤪, but I can’t help but think there’s some truth to it 👍🏼 I hope you are right. 👍 Quote
Star Lizard Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 2 hours ago, Go for it 1308 said: Both the weegie scum clubs are already a stain on the reputation of Scottish Football with their sectarian bile. I want both of them shafted big time in Europe. They moan about a lack of challenge from other teams in Scotland so they can improve their game. Yet, historically, they have lowballed and bought players from other Scottish teams for a pittance, and by doing so, not spreading the wealth in our Scottish leagues. I could not give 2 flying f#*#s about the coefficient. Now....let's enjoy this pic🙂 Hope he fell down the stairs and broke his arse afterwards Quote
Mikey1874 Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 Doesn't matter if Rangers are 20 points behind Celtic every season. The media and the SPFL and Sky Sports will still be framing it as a 2 horse race. Quote
Pasquale for King Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 2 hours ago, Go for it 1308 said: Both the weegie scum clubs are already a stain on the reputation of Scottish Football with their sectarian bile. I want both of them shafted big time in Europe. They moan about a lack of challenge from other teams in Scotland so they can improve their game. Yet, historically, they have lowballed and bought players from other Scottish teams for a pittance, and by doing so, not spreading the wealth in our Scottish leagues. I could not give 2 flying f#*#s about the coefficient. Now....let's enjoy this pic🙂 Brilliant post 👍🏽👏🏾 Quote
MoncurMacdonaldMercer Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 these guys are actually all right emotions running high in this one tho if you like this one I can recommend the 0-2 game at parkhead last year when the wanted the board sacked and Santa ran out of town Quote
Pasquale for King Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 24 minutes ago, MoncurMacdonaldMercer said: these guys are actually all right emotions running high in this one tho if you like this one I can recommend the 0-2 game at parkhead last year when the wanted the board sacked and Santa ran out of town Hahahahaha brilliant 👍🏽 Quote
SwindonJambo Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 4 hours ago, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said: Remember when the points deduction relegated us instead of H1b5? It was ****ing hilarious when H1b5 were relegated afterwards. And with fewer points won than our youth team. It most certainly was 😁 Everyone remembers the bungled 2-0 Relegation 'party' at Tynie but for me the most fun derby was at ER the following month when Hearts were already down, Hibs were in freefall and by then looking very likely to come down with us, which they duly did 😊 Not to mention the small matter of the CVA being agreed between the games. There was such a feelgood, party atmosphere in the Dunbar end and we won 2-1 with 2 goals from Callum Paterson about a minute apart. Good times 😅 Quote
maroonsgotop Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 37 minutes ago, MoncurMacdonaldMercer said: these guys are actually all right emotions running high in this one tho if you like this one I can recommend the 0-2 game at parkhead last year when the wanted the board sacked and Santa ran out of town and the Green Brigade reinstated Quote
Tazio Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 A bit of balance for the financial imbalance lovers. Quote
MoncurMacdonaldMercer Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 21 minutes ago, maroonsgotop said: and the Green Brigade reinstated true Quote
Luckies1874 Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 14 minutes ago, SwindonJambo said: It most certainly was 😁 Everyone remembers the bungled 2-0 Relegation 'party' at Tynie but for me the most fun derby was at ER the following month when Hearts were already down, Hibs were in freefall and by then looking very likely to come down with us, which they duly did 😊 Not to mention the small matter of the CVA being agreed between the games. There was such a feelgood, party atmosphere in the Dunbar end and we won 2-1 with 2 goals from Callum Paterson about a minute apart. Good times 😅 Enjoy! Crazy that 13 of the 14 players we used that day were Scottish. Quote
Aussie Jambo Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 3 hours ago, fila said: Kept refreshing the sports page during the game hoping to see the 08th then the 09th! However 7 will do, made me laugh Our season so far has been a train wreck, but in some way i am positive with new manager in place we will turn it around. As third place now looks out of our reach, I wouldn’t mind seeing Aberdeen splitting the OF pushing Rangers out of 02nd ( it does pain me to say that). Rangers looked honking against Hibs , they are in a mess , the Malmö result has given false hope to the their fans I watched it on fawa. Second half anyway. It’s the best way to watch any other football without paying Quote
Aussie Jambo Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 Hands down SFA love Smeltic and we all know why. It’s SFA and SPL that’s the real poison in Scottish football club and country we are a joke. They love the kick backs that Celtic bring but the only kick back they’ll get now is a donkey kick tae the bawz. I so hope that every team pump them up big time. Man City will massacre them. I can’t wait to see that. Another scunnering awaits. Quote
Luckies1874 Posted October 2, 2024 Posted October 2, 2024 11 minutes ago, Aussie Jambo said: Hands down SFA love Smeltic and we all know why. It’s SFA and SPL that’s the real poison in Scottish football club and country we are a joke. They love the kick backs that Celtic bring but the only kick back they’ll get now is a donkey kick tae the bawz. I so hope that every team pump them up big time. Man City will massacre them. I can’t wait to see that. Another scunnering awaits. Celtic don't play Man City. Quote
fila Posted October 3, 2024 Posted October 3, 2024 6 hours ago, db211833 said: I've never met a Hearts supporter who would welcome Aberdeen finishing 2nd. You need to get out more Quote
Cameronstheman Posted October 3, 2024 Posted October 3, 2024 2 hours ago, fila said: You need to get out more A aint either FTS Quote
Shaggy2 Posted October 3, 2024 Posted October 3, 2024 12 hours ago, Mikey1874 said: Atalanta (away) - 23 October, 17:45 RB Leipzig (home) - 5 November, 20:00 Club Bruges (home) - 27 November, 20:00 Dinamo Zagreb (away) - 10 December, 17:45 Young Boys (home) - 22 January, 20:00 Aston Villa (away) - 29 January, 20:00 Don’t arrive in Bruges until matchday (hopefully the ferry shows football) but the 27th will be fun with Hearts fans joining the locals to cheer on the city’s big team. Quote
gerryjambo41 Posted October 3, 2024 Posted October 3, 2024 14 hours ago, deejtee said: After the 4-0 drubbing of Celtic's invincibles I sent a wee teasing message to a colleague who's son was in the Celtic team that day. Turns out even she couldn't handle losing Just as well he's been gone a while although I wouldn't have risked her wrath again 😃 When I arrived at work on the Monday the guy I changed over with was a sellik fan, he wasn't at the machine we worked so I left a pack of four jam tarts on the desk and went and hid. He went absolutely mental 😂 to make it worse for him I didn't even mention the game much to the great amusement of our other workmates (all currants) Quote
deejtee Posted October 3, 2024 Posted October 3, 2024 54 minutes ago, gerryjambo41 said: When I arrived at work on the Monday the guy I changed over with was a sellik fan, he wasn't at the machine we worked so I left a pack of four jam tarts on the desk and went and hid. He went absolutely mental 😂 to make it worse for him I didn't even mention the game much to the great amusement of our other workmates (all currants) To quote dad's army "they don't like it up'em" 😆 Quote
Wee Mikey Posted October 3, 2024 Posted October 3, 2024 1 hour ago, deejtee said: To quote dad's army "they don't like it up'em" 😆 ... but ... they surely must be getting used to it by now. 🤭 Quote
Le Chat Posted October 3, 2024 Posted October 3, 2024 1 hour ago, deejtee said: To quote dad's army "they don't like it up'em" 😆 They absolutely don't. I said something along the lines of "Now you know what it feels like to be on the end of a beasting, instead of being the beasts" to a Timothy in my work. Fair to say that he was not a happy chappy. Quote
PortyBeach Posted October 3, 2024 Posted October 3, 2024 16 hours ago, Mr Sifter said: That’s exactly what we want (assuming Hearts don’t win these trophies of course). Said it before on here, we NEED one half of the old firm to sail away into the sunset, leaving the other as an also ran, just like the rest of us. Just so happens it’s Celtic, couldn’t care less if it’s them or Rangers, as long as one of them creates a chasm between the two. When (in this case) Rangers are left behind with the rest of us, watch league reconstruction raise its head again. Expanded league, playing each other only twice, no need for four old firm games a season. Everything we’ve said will improve the game/competition in Scotland will eventually come to pass…but only because Rangers will be forced to see the benefits of it. For themselves, not for the betterment of all clubs. Just them. A subtle but important distinction to make. Whilst it’s those two then a gap to the rest of us, nowt will change. So aye, if it ain’t Hearts winning leagues and cups, for me, it’s got to be Celtic (was a wee bit sick in my mouth even typing that 🤢). It’s true tho 🤷 Careful now. Saying: “So aye, if it ain’t Hearts winning leagues and cups,for me, it’s got to be Celtic” sounds much more pro-Celtic than anything I’ve said. That should mean the usual suspects will be giving you pelters anytime soon. But it seems to have gone very quiet… Quote
gogsfaepenrith Posted October 3, 2024 Posted October 3, 2024 On 02/10/2024 at 19:59, Under the floodlight said: I do like reveling. Ma favourite sweeties Quote
martoon Posted October 3, 2024 Posted October 3, 2024 34 minutes ago, gogsfaepenrith said: Ma favourite sweeties Shared a family bag with...er, the family last week and about 75% were Maltesers. Still raging'. 😊 Quote
Jacques de Gatineau Posted October 3, 2024 Posted October 3, 2024 13 hours ago, Luckies1874 said: Celtic don't play Man City. They didn't really play Dortmund, TBF. Quote
Mr Sifter Posted October 3, 2024 Posted October 3, 2024 55 minutes ago, PortyBeach said: Careful now. Saying: “So aye, if it ain’t Hearts winning leagues and cups,for me, it’s got to be Celtic” sounds much more pro-Celtic than anything I’ve said. That should mean the usual suspects will be giving you pelters anytime soon. But it seems to have gone very quiet… Enjoy yer night mate 👍🏼 Quote
MoncurMacdonaldMercer Posted October 3, 2024 Posted October 3, 2024 11 minutes ago, martoon said: Shared a family bag with...er, the family last week and about 75% were Maltesers. Still raging'. 😊 that would never have happened back in the days when chuck berry and zico were clattering into anyone who possessed an iota of footballing talent Quote
Jamhammer Posted October 3, 2024 Posted October 3, 2024 16 hours ago, Mikey1874 said: Doesn't matter if Rangers are 20 points behind Celtic every season. The media and the SPFL and Sky Sports will still be framing it as a 2 horse race. Unless they’re split Quote