Morgan Posted August 15, 2024 Share Posted August 15, 2024 For some reason, better known to herself, my wife tuned into Forth One this morning. That fake accent from Boogie. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Americana Posted August 15, 2024 Share Posted August 15, 2024 I dont mind BITM , when they start having replacements in the team its murder though, its not what it was back when it was Boogie and Dingo, although Arlene is pretty hilarious and Marty has came out of his shell a bit. I find some of the radio commercials like someone running nails down a chalkboard and Nathan Evans being played every morning is a hard sell for my ears, usually end up hitting the mute button 2-3 times on my morning commute. Gregsy who is afterwards is absolutely dire. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hughesie27 Posted August 15, 2024 Share Posted August 15, 2024 (edited) 4 hours ago, Morgan said: For some reason, better known to herself, my wife tuned into Forth One this morning. That fake accent from Boogie. Can't say I've ever noticed a weird accent on him. Usually enjoy it on the drive to work. Agree with above though that it's poor when one of them is on Holiday like this week. Sure it won best overall Radio Show in UK in 2020 and best Morning Show in UK this year. Just be happy you don't need to listen to Clyde FM with Euan and Cat. There's a couple that work for that Bauer media who are based in Glasgow but their shows are syndicated to Forth 1. Callum and Amber, they have separate shows and have not long had a baby. Callum is alright but I play a game whenever I hear Amber on to see how long it takes her to mention her son. She links it to practically every single filler segment she discusses. Longest I've made it is 18 minutes. Edited August 15, 2024 by hughesie27 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ally Posted August 15, 2024 Share Posted August 15, 2024 Commercial radio DJs are hard work. Thankfully, I only have to listen to them in places like yesterday at the Blood Donor centre or in the dentist's waiting room. I listen to Jazz FM in the car, but as soon as the songs stop, I turn the volume down. Have gotten good at predicting when the music will start and ads/presenters stop. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mysterion Posted August 15, 2024 Share Posted August 15, 2024 4 hours ago, Morgan said: For some reason, better known to herself, my wife tuned into Forth One this morning. That fake accent from Boogie. Not really noticed an accent, I do think that they do a good job on the Saturday mid morning show. 4 hours ago, Americana said: I find some of the radio commercials like someone running nails down a chalkboard and Nathan Evans being played every morning is a hard sell for my ears, usually end up hitting the mute button 2-3 times on my morning commute. Gregsy who is afterwards is absolutely dire. ^^ This, I usually avoid commercial radio as the ads are brutal. Nathan Evans avoidance is also a good shout. Gregsy is when they cut over to share Clyde 1 and it's woeful. It's sort of sad that so many stations have gone generic across the UK with just the Breakfast and Drivetime shows being area specific. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cameronstheman Posted August 15, 2024 Share Posted August 15, 2024 Dreadful, with loads of unfunny shite. Tune in anytime and its the same old time wasting tripe Though if you love constant talking, only topped by adverts, its a must Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ked Posted August 15, 2024 Share Posted August 15, 2024 Fake accent? Radio Scotland for me but Boogie is a borders guy. What's fake about him? Morgan you've got mean lately what up buddy? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
iantjambo Posted August 15, 2024 Share Posted August 15, 2024 Can’t say I’ve ever noticed a fake accent from him. I like BITM, listened to it for years. I do agree that some of the patter can be a bit dire at times though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted August 15, 2024 Author Share Posted August 15, 2024 1 hour ago, Ked said: He openly spoke about his addiction to painkillers so most likely is a decent guess. 58 minutes ago, Ked said: Fake accent? Radio Scotland for me but Boogie is a borders guy. What's fake about him? Morgan you've got mean lately what up buddy? Och well, that’s me told. Twice. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jb102 Posted August 15, 2024 Share Posted August 15, 2024 Aw! Not dead. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tommy Brown Posted August 15, 2024 Share Posted August 15, 2024 Met him once, good friendly guy. Never found anything to dislike from, before or since. OP having a mare Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kennedy Bakircioglu Posted August 15, 2024 Share Posted August 15, 2024 Agree Boogie is one of the good guys. Don't listen that often but when I do, always enjoy his show and the way he does it. Compare to some of the tripe that Radio stations put out, BITM is excellent. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
the posh bit Posted August 15, 2024 Share Posted August 15, 2024 Arlene is TAF. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daveyhmfc Posted August 15, 2024 Share Posted August 15, 2024 Complete and utter shite. Far better stations to listen to. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rupert Pupkin Posted August 15, 2024 Share Posted August 15, 2024 Forth One.. Radio for imbeciles by imbeciles.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
been here before Posted August 15, 2024 Share Posted August 15, 2024 16 minutes ago, Rupert Pupkin said: Forth One.. Radio for imbeciles by imbeciles.. Aye its STV / ITV for the radio. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Des Lynam Posted August 15, 2024 Share Posted August 15, 2024 29 minutes ago, Rupert Pupkin said: Forth One.. Radio for imbeciles by imbeciles.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cazzyy Posted August 15, 2024 Share Posted August 15, 2024 3 hours ago, Ked said: Fake accent? Radio Scotland for me but Boogie is a borders guy. What's fake about him? Morgan you've got mean lately what up buddy? From Hawick I believe. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
skinnybob72 Posted August 15, 2024 Share Posted August 15, 2024 Forth One, aka Pink FM. The missus has a habit of leaving the car radio on that station and every time I start the car next time it’s a f@cking Pink song that’s on. It’s like they have one CD and it’s stuck playing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted August 15, 2024 Author Share Posted August 15, 2024 1 hour ago, Tommy Brown said: Met him once, good friendly guy. Never found anything to dislike from, before or since. OP having a mare Yes, Tommy. I really care about what you think. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hughesie27 Posted August 15, 2024 Share Posted August 15, 2024 9 minutes ago, skinnybob72 said: Forth One, aka Pink FM. The missus has a habit of leaving the car radio on that station and every time I start the car next time it’s a f@cking Pink song that’s on. It’s like they have one CD and it’s stuck playing. This is definitely true. The same for most mainstream stations I'd imagine. The thing that gets me though is Forth 1 has a Throwback Thursday where they'll play a mix of Old and new songs with a lotnof requests from Audience. However the old songs are regularly repeats too. Always hear Justin Timberlakes Mirrors, Christina Aguileras Dirrty, Sisqo Thong Song, Paulo Nutini Pencil Full of Lead. They open it up to anything from 1990 onwards! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ally Posted August 15, 2024 Share Posted August 15, 2024 33 minutes ago, cazzyy said: From Hawick I believe. Only person I've ever worked with from Hawick had an accent so thick I could barely understand a word he said. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted August 15, 2024 Author Share Posted August 15, 2024 Just now, Ally said: Only person I've ever worked with from Hawick had an accent so thick I could barely understand a word he said. Thick, as in calling everyone ‘pal’ or ‘mate’ or ‘buddy’? Or saying ‘couldnae’ or ‘dinnae’ or ‘yiv no’? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ally Posted August 15, 2024 Share Posted August 15, 2024 1 minute ago, Morgan said: Thick, as in calling everyone ‘pal’ or ‘mate’ or ‘buddy’? Or saying ‘couldnae’ or ‘dinnae’ or ‘yiv no’? Thick as in wishing he had subtitles following him around. Sounded like a drunk Geordie trying to do an Edinburgh accent but with a speech impediment and a mouthful of bread. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SecN Posted August 15, 2024 Share Posted August 15, 2024 Stopped listening to Forth many years ago for that very reason. The way that Boogie says ‘hello’ when answering a caller with the fake accent drives me mad. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dazo Posted August 16, 2024 Share Posted August 16, 2024 21 hours ago, Americana said: Arlene is pretty hilarious . 9 hours ago, the posh bit said: Arlene is TAF. You boys need some reprogramming. She is neither of those things ffs. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SecN Posted August 16, 2024 Share Posted August 16, 2024 Remember Arlene got all embarrassed on air one day when she insinuated she liked a bit of tongue action down below when she was in the mood. 👅 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AlimOzturk Posted August 16, 2024 Share Posted August 16, 2024 21 hours ago, Morgan said: For some reason, better known to herself, my wife tuned into Forth One this morning. That fake accent from Boogie. I think most radio hosts do indeed accentuate their accents to their audience. A bit like news hosts on the telly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
moz Posted August 16, 2024 Share Posted August 16, 2024 10 hours ago, skinnybob72 said: Forth One, aka Pink FM. The missus has a habit of leaving the car radio on that station and every time I start the car next time it’s a f@cking Pink song that’s on. It’s like they have one CD and it’s stuck playing. Jeez, that's exactly us as well...every time we get in the car when the Mrs is driving its bloody Pink playing on that station... LBC is the station of choice for me Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hughesie27 Posted August 16, 2024 Share Posted August 16, 2024 22 minutes ago, moz said: Jeez, that's exactly us as well...every time we get in the car when the Mrs is driving its bloody Pink playing on that station... LBC is the station of choice for me James O'brien. That's a man who loves the sound of his own voice. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lie Forrit 2 hrs 34 mins Posted August 16, 2024 Share Posted August 16, 2024 I listen to LBC most of the day, apart when Tory boy Ian Dale is on. Tuned into Talk a few times but usually switch of after a few minutes. Used to listen to Fort back in the day when Jay Crawford was on, lang time ago. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jimbojambo Posted August 16, 2024 Share Posted August 16, 2024 Boogie has an excellent show which generally entertains. Not really meant to be taken too seriously or be challenging on your way to work (there are enough bad drivers cutting you up to wind anyone up). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
I P Knightley Posted August 16, 2024 Share Posted August 16, 2024 16 minutes ago, Bonnie Prince Charlie said: I listen to LBC most of the day, apart when Tory boy Ian Dale is on. Tuned into Talk a few times but usually switch of after a few minutes. Used to listen to Fort back in the day when Jay Crawford was on, lang time ago. A name that's synonymous with Radio Forth for me. I honestly couldn't name any other of their presenters. If the BBC can still give airtime to Tony Blackburn, there must be something for Jay Crawford to be doing? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ally Posted August 16, 2024 Share Posted August 16, 2024 4 hours ago, Dazo said: You boys need some reprogramming. She is neither of those things ffs. Just done some research to find out who this Arlene character is... Looks no stranger to being up for anything, which automatically adds a point on. 7/10, IMO. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dazo Posted August 16, 2024 Share Posted August 16, 2024 19 minutes ago, Ally said: Just done some research to find out who this Arlene character is... Looks no stranger to being up for anything, which automatically adds a point on. 7/10, IMO. Thats fair actually but the filth factor probably bumps her up 2 points, still a 7 though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ally Posted August 16, 2024 Share Posted August 16, 2024 28 minutes ago, Dazo said: Thats fair actually but the filth factor probably bumps her up 2 points, still a 7 though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted August 16, 2024 Author Share Posted August 16, 2024 (edited) 14 hours ago, Ally said: Thick as in wishing he had subtitles following him around. Sounded like a drunk Geordie trying to do an Edinburgh accent but with a speech impediment and a mouthful of bread. Ah right, I've got you now. 👍 5 hours ago, AlimOzturk said: I think most radio hosts do indeed accentuate their accents to their audience. A bit like news hosts on the telly. I think you're probably right, Alim. That other character they have, Webster he calls himself, tries to sound all 'Edinburgh' and fails miserably. Edited August 16, 2024 by Morgan Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Horatio Caine Posted August 16, 2024 Share Posted August 16, 2024 (edited) I only ever catch wee bits of BITM but I like what I hear. The playlist isn't chosen by the presenters apparently. They play what they are told to. Marty is a Jambo and I believe used to work for the club. Edited August 16, 2024 by Horatio Caine Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted August 16, 2024 Author Share Posted August 16, 2024 I recall that when Boogie cut a red tape at Saughton House (years ago) he was asked what team he supported. He said Rangers. Can anyone confirm? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hughesie27 Posted August 16, 2024 Share Posted August 16, 2024 14 minutes ago, Morgan said: I recall that when Boogie cut a red tape at Saughton House (years ago) he was asked what team he supported. He said Rangers. Can anyone confirm? Think so but apart from the National team I don't think he cares much for football. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
been here before Posted August 16, 2024 Share Posted August 16, 2024 13 minutes ago, Morgan said: I recall that when Boogie cut a red tape at Saughton House (years ago) he was asked what team he supported. He said Rangers. Can anyone confirm? What are we confirming? That you recall it? That he cut a red tape at Saughton House? That he was asked what team he supported? That he said he was a currant?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legend Claws Posted August 16, 2024 Share Posted August 16, 2024 Radio 2 all the way. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hughesie27 Posted August 16, 2024 Share Posted August 16, 2024 Also, still the only person I've heard of with the surname Bouglas. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
moz Posted August 16, 2024 Share Posted August 16, 2024 4 hours ago, hughesie27 said: James O'brien. That's a man who loves the sound of his own voice. He certainly does ...but as an old grumpy man I find his show, and in particular, Thursdays "Mystery Hour" a highlight of my week.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
been here before Posted August 16, 2024 Share Posted August 16, 2024 If Im kicking about in the house of a morning or at work, then its generally Radio 4 or Radio 6. Driving during the day then its usually BFBS if Im in the town or when that signal goes its pot luck roulette on the digital channels. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
loveofthegame Posted August 16, 2024 Share Posted August 16, 2024 Seems a decent normal guy who is really good at what he does. If you don’t like, don’t listen- hunners of radio stations out there and this crazy new tech where you play your own music or podcasts through your phone… Personally I’m more of a Spotify or Podcast kind of guy, but BITG would be my go to morning show if I had to listen to the radio. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
westbow Posted August 16, 2024 Share Posted August 16, 2024 Greatest Hits radio, but only when Ken Bruce is on. Although whoever named that station never tried saying it out loud quickly. Apart from that, Today on Radio 4. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted August 16, 2024 Author Share Posted August 16, 2024 5 hours ago, been here before said: What are we confirming? That you recall it? That he cut a red tape at Saughton House? That he was asked what team he supported? That he said he was a currant?? The currant bit, obviously. I can clearly recall the other three so require no confirmation on those. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lone Striker Posted August 16, 2024 Share Posted August 16, 2024 7 hours ago, I P Knightley said: A name that's synonymous with Radio Forth for me. I honestly couldn't name any other of their presenters. If the BBC can still give airtime to Tony Blackburn, there must be something for Jay Crawford to be doing? Bill Torrance was a big beardy bloke. I think he went on to present Beechgrove Garden. And some big fat guy called Dougie something. An old guy called Sandy Webster used to do a sort of phone-in. Remember their "Snowline" during their first winter when there was about 10 inches over the whole of Edinburgh ? "Mrs Duncan in West Pilton Road has called in to say she's got 2 tins of cat food if anybody wants them". It was actually quite community-spirited, and probably helped get them "on the radio map". 6 hours ago, Morgan said: That other character they have, Webster he calls himself, tries to sound all 'Edinburgh' and fails miserably. Maybe Forth's afternoon stuff gets syndicated with Greatest Hits Radio - that's where I sometimes hear that Webster guy with his "Cracker and Cheese" feature ... and "make me a winner" raffle b0llcks. 11 hours ago, SecN said: Remember Arlene got all embarrassed on air one day when she insinuated she liked a bit of tongue action down below when she was in the mood. 👅 She's never mentioned that on Landward. Just as well - saved Dougie Vipond's blushes . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stevieboobs Posted August 16, 2024 Share Posted August 16, 2024 20 hours ago, skinnybob72 said: Forth One, aka Pink FM. The missus has a habit of leaving the car radio on that station and every time I start the car next time it’s a f@cking Pink song that’s on. It’s like they have one CD and it’s stuck playing. When my girls were younger they'd moan if I didn't put it on in the car. We used to play 'guess the next song'. Never got it bang on but loads of times one of our choices was 2 or 3 songs later. Rita ora, ed sheeran, pink...they must have a playlist of about 30 tunes on rotation. Brutal stuff. Thankfully they're a bit older now and it's 6music all the way. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...