ManxandCapeTownJambo Posted August 12 Share Posted August 12 His death been announced today Played for us and Hibs in early 60’s and for us auld yins a familiar face/voice on Sportscene and Sportsound a while back RIP Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Canscot Posted August 12 Share Posted August 12 I remember him. As I remember his name was pronounced Marchbanks which always confuddled me when I was wee. Anyway. I digress. RIP Brian. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PortyBeach Posted August 12 Share Posted August 12 (edited) 13 minutes ago, ManxandCapeTownJambo said: His death been announced today Played for us and Hibs in early 60’s and for us auld yins a familiar face/voice on Sportscene and Sportsound a while back RIP Saw the announcement on BBC Sport. Interesting photo of him scoring for Hibs at Tynecastle. The team kits are a real trip down memory lane! I think this game must have been the September 1961 fixture. It was 2-2 until about the last six minutes or so when Hearts scored twice to win 4-2. As you say, RIP. Edited August 12 by PortyBeach Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
davemclaren Posted August 12 Share Posted August 12 8 minutes ago, ManxandCapeTownJambo said: His death been announced today Played for us and Hibs in early 60’s and for us auld yins a familiar face/voice on Sportscene and Sportsound a while back RIP Too young to remember him playing football but certainly remember him as a sports journalist. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tommy Brown Posted August 12 Share Posted August 12 Remember him on TV and was surprised recently to find out he was an ex player. And had never noticed his spelling of his name. A street in Bathgate has this name, I didn't know it was pronounced Marshbanks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndrewB Posted August 12 Share Posted August 12 1 hour ago, davemclaren said: Too young to remember him playing football but certainly remember him as a sports journalist. Me too. From the days of Alasdair Dewar and Fraser Elder. Used to love the old teatime Saturday round up. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
davemclaren Posted August 12 Share Posted August 12 5 minutes ago, AndrewB said: Me too. From the days of Alasdair Dewar and Fraser Elder. Used to love the old teatime Saturday round up. Yip, all characters. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Canscot Posted August 12 Share Posted August 12 I just read an article from EEN/Scotsman earlier about him. He left football to become an actor. He said someone asked him why? He said the £120 cheque he got from his acting job was much better than the £12/week he got from The Hibs! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Canscot Posted August 12 Share Posted August 12 1 hour ago, Tommy Brown said: Remember him on TV and was surprised recently to find out he was an ex player. And had never noticed his spelling of his name. A street in Bathgate has this name, I didn't know it was pronounced Marshbanks. Something like ST John being pronounced Sinjun?🤷♂️ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ManxandCapeTownJambo Posted August 12 Author Share Posted August 12 1 hour ago, AndrewB said: Me too. From the days of Alasdair Dewar and Fraser Elder. Used to love the old teatime Saturday round up. Alasdair Dewar always seemed to report on goalless Edinburgh derbies No goals no football was his usual quote used to always listen to the football scores and summaries on the supporters bus on way home after games Radio Scotland always had that Jimmy Shand Scottish music programme after football was finished Sometimes Radio 2 was on with that old tune they played at 5 o’clock When we through West usually listened to that Radio Clyde phone in with James Sanderson and Gerry McNee Hearts were generally rubbish. those days but they were great times doesn’t seem the same now Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SectionDJambo Posted August 12 Share Posted August 12 21 minutes ago, ManxandCapeTownJambo said: Radio Scotland always had that Jimmy Shand Scottish music programme after football was finished Would that have been Robbie Shepherd „Tak‘ the Floor“? We always got the Shinty results as well, which sounded like they were being reported from some phone box in the middle of nowhere Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jambobas Posted August 12 Share Posted August 12 I remember watching him quite a bit, playing for the Reserves at Tynecastle in the early 60s. He was a regular Reserve player, but wasn't really very good. Older supprters at those games used to compare him to marzipan. In those days, there were no substitutes, so the First Team and the Reserves were almost 2 separate teams, with movement between the two, not that frequent, outside of injuries to a First Team player. An extremely promising young player might be promoted for a few matches, and then drop back into the Reserves, or a First Team player out of form might be dropped for a spell. I always wondered what he did after his tv sports journalism spell. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
martoon Posted August 13 Share Posted August 13 3 hours ago, AndrewB said: Me too. From the days of Alasdair Dewar and Fraser Elder. Used to love the old teatime Saturday round up. Iirc, the report from the Dundee studio was in black&white. I also remember the reporter on many a Hearts game sounding like he was fed up of life. Hearts did that to people in the 1970's. 😄 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
martoon Posted August 13 Share Posted August 13 (edited) The other Hibs scorer that day was the Ally MacLeod; of Argentina 1978 and all that... Cheers, London Hearts. Edited August 13 by martoon Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tommy Brown Posted August 13 Share Posted August 13 1 hour ago, martoon said: The other Hibs scorer that day was the Ally MacLeod; of Argentina 1978 and all that... Cheers, London Hearts. Didn't know he (Ally) had played for them, either. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
John Findlay Posted August 13 Share Posted August 13 RIP. He anchored the tea time round up if memory serves me correctly and yes despite the spelling his surname was indeed pronounced Marshbanks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Horatio Caine Posted August 13 Share Posted August 13 9 hours ago, AndrewB said: Me too. From the days of Alasdair Dewar and Fraser Elder. Used to love the old teatime Saturday round up. Ah Alasdair Dewar! One of the most moany voiced reporters who never seemed to have anything positive to say, even if it had been a 4-4 draw! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WASTREL Posted August 13 Share Posted August 13 7 hours ago, SectionDJambo said: Would that have been Robbie Shepherd „Tak‘ the Floor“? We always got the Shinty results as well, which sounded like they were being reported from some phone box in the middle of nowhere This ... memories of driving back from away games like Aberdeen or Dundee. My then young son used to race back to the car after the game to start the journey home quicker to minimise the time listening to "the scottish music" programme after the Football Round Up Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PortyBeach Posted August 13 Share Posted August 13 8 hours ago, Canscot said: Something like ST John being pronounced Sinjun?🤷♂️ Or Dalziel pronounced “Dee-el”. This list goes on… Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
John Findlay Posted August 13 Share Posted August 13 16 minutes ago, Horatio Caine said: Ah Alasdair Dewar! One of the most moany voiced reporters who never seemed to have anything positive to say, even if it had been a 4-4 draw! If the game wasn't upto the standard of the 1960 European cup final at Hampden Real Madrid 7 Eintracht Frankfurt 3. Alistair was on a downer. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Horatio Caine Posted August 13 Share Posted August 13 43 minutes ago, John Findlay said: If the game wasn't upto the standard of the 1960 European cup final at Hampden Real Madrid 7 Eintracht Frankfurt 3. Alistair was on a downer. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jamboozy Posted August 13 Share Posted August 13 12 hours ago, davemclaren said: Too young to remember him playing football but certainly remember him as a sports journalist. 11 hours ago, AndrewB said: Me too. From the days of Alasdair Dewar and Fraser Elder. Used to love the old teatime Saturday round up. Very much this for me too. They had an eloquent way off reporting. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ManxandCapeTownJambo Posted August 13 Author Share Posted August 13 10 hours ago, SectionDJambo said: Would that have been Robbie Shepherd „Tak‘ the Floor“? We always got the Shinty results as well, which sounded like they were being reported from some phone box in the middle of nowhere aye that’s it Take The Floor still have the theme tune in my head Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nerja Jambo Posted August 13 Share Posted August 13 14 hours ago, AndrewB said: Me too. From the days of Alasdair Dewar and Fraser Elder. Used to love the old teatime Saturday round up. There was a game at Tynecastle which ended Hearts 0 East Fife 0. It was horrendously bad. The studio said " we'll go over now to Alasdair Dewar at Tynecastle for his report". Dewar appeared on camera, shock his head and said " back to the studio". Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted August 13 Share Posted August 13 15 hours ago, davemclaren said: Too young to remember him playing football but certainly remember him as a sports journalist. Same with me, Dave. RIP Brian. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronsajambo2 Posted August 13 Share Posted August 13 4 hours ago, John Findlay said: If the game wasn't upto the standard of the 1960 European cup final at Hampden Real Madrid 7 Eintracht Frankfurt 3. Alistair was on a downer. Absolutely! Remember as a teenager leaving the 5-1 Leipzig game. Walking up McLeod Street everyone and their dog was laughing, smiling - ecstatic after a great result. Alisdair Dewar’s BBC car pulled out of Tynecastle and into the throngs of supporters. He was sitting in the back - face tripping him. Dourest reporter ever. Brian M however was an enthusiastic and articulate presenter. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
henryheart Posted August 13 Share Posted August 13 41 minutes ago, Ronsajambo2 said: Absolutely! Remember as a teenager leaving the 5-1 Leipzig game. Walking up McLeod Street everyone and their dog was laughing, smiling - ecstatic after a great result. Alisdair Dewar’s BBC car pulled out of Tynecastle and into the throngs of supporters. He was sitting in the back - face tripping him. Dourest reporter ever. Brian M however was an enthusiastic and articulate presenter. I always remember Alastair Dewar's report after we had beat Celtic 4-1 in the last game of the season. I rushed home from the match, turned on the TV to be greeted with him saying. "Hearts 4 Celtic1; I'll repeat that Hearts 4 Celtic 1!" He then went on to wax lyrical about how good Hearts had been. As I remember the BBC received countless complaints from disgruntled Celtic fans about biased reporting. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
John Findlay Posted August 13 Share Posted August 13 55 minutes ago, henryheart said: I always remember Alastair Dewar's report after we had beat Celtic 4-1 in the last game of the season. I rushed home from the match, turned on the TV to be greeted with him saying. "Hearts 4 Celtic1; I'll repeat that Hearts 4 Celtic 1!" He then went on to wax lyrical about how good Hearts had been. As I remember the BBC received countless complaints from disgruntled Celtic fans about biased reporting. Nothing changes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Goalscoring Knee Posted August 13 Share Posted August 13 Too young to remember this but it was a nice line in one of the obits. Marjoribanks’s career eventually took him to radio and television, notably with BBC Scotland where he presented Sportsreel and Sportsound. After live theatre, he had little fear of live television, even when reels of film were rushed from football grounds to the studio every ten minutes. When Hearts beat Dundee United 6-5 in the second round of the 1968 Scottish Cup, the film fell apart while it was being broadcast. “We’ve got a great number of goals in this game, so we’re going to be serialising them over the next few weeks,” he told viewers by way of explanation. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jbee647 Posted August 13 Share Posted August 13 9 hours ago, Horatio Caine said: Ah Alasdair Dewar! One of the most moany voiced reporters who never seemed to have anything positive to say, even if it had been a 4-4 draw! Aye it was a dull dismal dreich Dundee Derby at Dens where the two sides fought out an uninspiring 4-4 draw Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jbee647 Posted August 13 Share Posted August 13 Brian Marjoribanks middle of middle row 1963 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
martoon Posted August 13 Share Posted August 13 16 hours ago, Tommy Brown said: Didn't know he (Ally) had played for them, either. It surprised me, too, Tommy, when I found out a few years back. It wasn't mentioned, at all, back in 1978. Either by the media, that I know of, or by family. I suppose you can understand why Ally, God bless him, wanted to keep it quiet. 😊 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
leginten Posted August 13 Share Posted August 13 14 hours ago, Horatio Caine said: Ah Alasdair Dewar! One of the most moany voiced reporters who never seemed to have anything positive to say, even if it had been a 4-4 draw! Apart from the fact that he always sounded like a miserable git, I absolutely hated that he pronounced corner as “coarner”. Should have been sacked for that alone. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ManxandCapeTownJambo Posted August 13 Author Share Posted August 13 Sportsreel from the early 60’s Seems like a Harry Enfield sketch now with the posh accents but really interesting with highlights of Hearts beating the wee team 4-2 and good old Alastair Dewar near the end Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hearts Heritage Posted August 14 Share Posted August 14 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hearts Heritage Posted August 14 Share Posted August 14 Never played a first XI match. 15 goals in 23 reserve games https://londonhearts.com/scores/resplayers/r00560.html Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
4marsbars Posted August 14 Share Posted August 14 On 12/08/2024 at 23:10, Canscot said: I just read an article from EEN/Scotsman earlier about him. He left football to become an actor. He said someone asked him why? He said the £120 cheque he got from his acting job was much better than the £12/week he got from The Hibs! Changed days. Actors paid more than footballers! Remember him well. A great reminder of kinder times, and better broadcasters. RIP. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
john thomas Posted August 14 Share Posted August 14 13 hours ago, martoon said: It surprised me, too, Tommy, when I found out a few years back. It wasn't mentioned, at all, back in 1978. Either by the media, that I know of, or by family. I suppose you can understand why Ally, God bless him, wanted to keep it quiet. 😊 Sometimes went to Easter road when Hearts were away . Saw Ally a few times , fekkin hopeless Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
martoon Posted August 14 Share Posted August 14 1 hour ago, john thomas said: Sometimes went to Easter road when Hearts were away . Saw Ally a few times , fekkin hopeless 😄 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jbee647 Posted August 14 Share Posted August 14 4 hours ago, Hearts Heritage said: John Binnie was a coach at Hearts in the 1980s in the Alex Macdonald era Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tommy Brown Posted August 14 Share Posted August 14 1 hour ago, john thomas said: Sometimes went to Easter road when Hearts were away . Saw Ally a few times , fekkin hopeless Ally Brazil also? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
john thomas Posted August 14 Share Posted August 14 2 hours ago, Tommy Brown said: Ally Brazil also? Goes without saying . Macleod had a successful career but he was a bit of a joke at Easter road Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hearts Heritage Posted August 14 Share Posted August 14 (edited) Ally McLeod, Scottish footballer, relaxing in a chair with his dog, 8 January 1962. Edited August 14 by Hearts Heritage Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Canscot Posted August 14 Share Posted August 14 (edited) 3 minutes ago, Hearts Heritage said: Ally McLeod, Scottish footballer, relaxing in a chair with his dog, 8 January Edited August 14 by Canscot Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cookieboy Posted August 14 Share Posted August 14 12 hours ago, jbee647 said: John Binnie was a coach at Hearts in the 1980s in the Alex Macdonald era was just going to ask if it was the same one Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
davemclaren Posted August 14 Share Posted August 14 2 hours ago, Hearts Heritage said: Ally McLeod, Scottish footballer, relaxing in a chair with his dog, 8 January 1962. Only 16 years later and he was a broken man. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ManxandCapeTownJambo Posted August 14 Author Share Posted August 14 53 minutes ago, davemclaren said: Only 16 years later and he was a broken man. we were all broken mate we didn’t shake them up we didn’t win the World Cup and we weren’t the greatest football team The Holland match was brilliant though and even though nobody really believed we had a chance it was good for once to have a manager who was positive and said we could do something and got the fans going even if only for a wee while the media destroyed the man after Argentina but they were the ones splashing the we can win the WC headlines before the competition I liked his spell as Scotland boss even though he was obviously barking! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ManxandCapeTownJambo Posted August 14 Author Share Posted August 14 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
davemclaren Posted August 14 Share Posted August 14 11 minutes ago, ManxandCapeTownJambo said: we were all broken mate we didn’t shake them up we didn’t win the World Cup and we weren’t the greatest football team The Holland match was brilliant though and even though nobody really believed we had a chance it was good for once to have a manager who was positive and said we could do something and got the fans going even if only for a wee while the media destroyed the man after Argentina but they were the ones splashing the we can win the WC headlines before the competition I liked his spell as Scotland boss even though he was obviously barking! Aye, that Peru match was crushing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ManxandCapeTownJambo Posted August 14 Author Share Posted August 14 1 minute ago, davemclaren said: Aye, that Peru match was crushing. Alan Rough was another one of our joke goalkeepers who preferred standing like a statue watching the ball hit the net than trying to save it Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...