johnking123 Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 10 minutes ago, DxB Hearts said: Davie Weir: 1. Would not leave Brighton to come to us for basically the same role. 2. We probably couldn't afford a fraction of what he's on 3. Would be name checked for every Rangers job ranging from commie chef to CEO every week An absolute non-starter. David Weir is not director of football. He deals with youth and youth loans. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lou Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 2 minutes ago, bigdav said: Time for Robbo? Seen him in the media this week saying he is looking for a new role Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GinRummy Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 Just now, Portable Badger said: Joe also recruited and negotiated for the women’s team as well. Not sure Naisy would be up to that as well He quietly passed some of those responsibilities to Sean Burt a while ago so he could “concentrate on the men’s team”. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lord Beni of Gorgie Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 51 minutes ago, Dougie Masterton said: That would be hard seen as he’s teetotal 37 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said: Ffs Whooooooooooosssssshhhhhh Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lou Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 1 minute ago, johnking123 said: David Weir is not director of football. He deals with youth and youth loans. That's the impression I was under Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dazo Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 The timing of this is a shocker and he can gtf if he has just dropped this on us. If he was feeling like this I hope he has kept the club fully informed and we have already made steps towards his replacement. If not a couple of weeks before preseason is a shocking time to just announce your leaving. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RustyRightPeg Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 2 minutes ago, johnking123 said: David Weir is not director of football. He deals with youth and youth loans. No he isn’t. He got promoted mid season last year when Chelsea raided them for all their staff. He is technical director. Not related to youth. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rick Sanchez Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 A Technical Director is responsible for the overall management and strategic direction of the football aspects of a club. They oversee the club's operations including player recruitment, coach development, performance analysis, sport science and strategic planning. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JamboJoker98 Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 Dissapointed in that, obvious stability and improvement is clear to see. Need to make the next appointment a good one. My suspicioun is that it will be Webster to step up but we shall see. But lets put the Weir and Fysass chat to bed now, I love both but there's next to zero chance of either!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DxB Hearts Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 5 minutes ago, johnking123 said: David Weir is not director of football. He deals with youth and youth loans. He's technical director: https://www.brightonandhovealbion.com/news/2637052/weir-appointed-technical-director "Weir will oversee all football operations; including recruitment, analysis, medical and player welfare, across both the men's and women's set-up." That's almost word for word what Savage did for us. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walter Kidd Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 41 minutes ago, Shooter McGavin said: We’ve got some utter welts on here who just expect every single signing to be amazing, or else the guy recruiting them is s*ite. Happy to ignore the all the signings that go right, but then lose their minds over the 1 or 2 that didn’t go so well. But I think the sane majority of us realise football isn’t as simple as that, and we recognise what an excellent job Savage has done during his time at us. Our recruitment was horrific in the years leading up to Savage joining us. Well said. Every arsehole that takes part in this would be better saving their pennies for their bus fares to Ibrox. You know who you are. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckies1874 Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 3 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said: No he isn’t. He got promoted mid season last year when Chelsea raided them for all their staff. He is technical director. Not related to youth. Indeed. Literally the most recent article on their official website starts with the words, "Technical Director David Weir"!! https://www.brightonandhovealbion.com/news/3991950/david-weir-delighted-with-van-hecke-and-verbruggen-breakthroughs There is next to zero chance a clever guy like Weir is leaving a stable EPL club like Brighton where he is probably earning more than any Hearts first team player! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lovecraft Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 11 minutes ago, bigdav said: Time for Robbo? Great shout. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turkishcap Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 Sad but better than losing Shanks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wee Mikey Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 25 minutes ago, OTT said: I'm going to have to change my ****ing profile photo now too. Does Joe not realise how much I hate change? Selfish prick Not if we hire Al Murray or Dara O'Briain ... just keep the same photo and nobody will be any the wiser. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hømme Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 1 minute ago, Lovecraft said: Great shout. Na. Game has progressed far too much for him to do a role like that these days. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RustyRightPeg Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 13 minutes ago, bigdav said: Time for Robbo? Robbo would be nice and tick a box but from a purely footballing perspective and “is he better than other candidates?” I’m not so sure. There will be a queue of applicants for the job the second it goes live. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
innerjambo Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 I would prefer someone with plenty experience in this specific role. Otherwise what's the point. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GinRummy Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 1 minute ago, Homme said: Na. Game has progressed far too much for him to do a role like that these days. How do you know that? You don’t is the answer just to save you the bother of typing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GinRummy Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 2 minutes ago, innerjambo said: I would prefer someone with plenty experience in this specific role. Otherwise what's the point. Well savage made decent fist of it and he didn’t have the experience. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rick Sanchez Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 I'd prefer someone who has or could focus on creating a network abroad. I trust Naismith 100% on recruiting in Scotland. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jamboinglasgow Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 4 minutes ago, Homme said: Na. Game has progressed far too much for him to do a role like that these days. Yeah, I agree. I like Robbo and he wouldn't do badly in the role but Sporting director is a role that has really evolved in recent years and has become a really technical role. I wouldn't mind someone from outside the UK. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hømme Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 4 minutes ago, GinRummy said: How do you know that? You don’t is the answer just to save you the bother of typing. Cool 👍 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DxB Hearts Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 1 minute ago, GinRummy said: Well savage made decent fist of it and he didn’t have the experience. He had been chief scout at Hamilton, Norwich and Preston. Robbo is a club legend but has little of the experience a DoF we need right now. We should be way more ambitious then that - Fyssas is an example of that (if he'd come). Away from former players, we will be able to attract someone who has direct experience across Europe for some really decent clubs. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Famous 1874 Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 Lee Darnborough would have been good. Announced that he is on his way to Stoke this week from Hull. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Star Lizard Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 Aye but potatoes ken lol Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bill Sikes Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 Doubt anybody on here has a Scooby about what the job actually entails. Its most certainly a new modern thing that wasn't required in football for the past 100 years. If we have a recruitment dept then i struggle to see what else a "Sporting Director" will contribute that nobody else can. My take is its a go-between for the Head Coach & the Board and also someone who is responsible for football operations but without getting their hands dirty. Just get Naisy a PA and be done with it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GinRummy Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 Just now, DxB Hearts said: He had been chief scout at Hamilton, Norwich and Preston. Robbo is a club legend but has little of the experience a DoF we need right now. We should be way more ambitious then that - Fyssas is an example of that (if he'd come). Away from former players, we will be able to attract someone who has direct experience across Europe for some really decent clubs. Aye that’s what I meant. He had no experience as a DoF. Sounds like a big step up to me. Robbo has vast experience of Scottish football and I tend to think a lot of the job is about contacts. I’m not saying he’d be the best we could get but I don’t see how the average joe can dismiss him as a poor choice. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Go for it 1308 Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 27 minutes ago, GinRummy said: 😂 look at the shine on those teeth. He might have shiny teeth...but there's some shite that comes out of that gob Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ford Prentice Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 7 minutes ago, DxB Hearts said: He had been chief scout at Hamilton, Norwich and Preston. Robbo is a club legend but has little of the experience a DoF we need right now. We should be way more ambitious then that - Fyssas is an example of that (if he'd come). Away from former players, we will be able to attract someone who has direct experience across Europe for some really decent clubs. Was Robbo not DoF at Inverness for a while? Shouldn't write him off so quickly. Would be surprised if he wasn't interviewed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Star Lizard Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 As long as we dont do anything silly like giving it to someone just because they are a Hearts legend or great . No Gary MacKay or Gary Locke please Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bring Back Paulo Sergio Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 Robbo Aye? Terrible shout. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hughesie27 Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 Robbo shouldn't be anywhere near that job. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mellors1874 Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 44 minutes ago, MattyK82 said: The ones who hung his curtains in his office? I'd be raging too. Hahahaha just noticed lol Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hughesie27 Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 Just now, Bring Back Paulo Sergio said: Robbo Aye? Terrible shout. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GinRummy Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 3 minutes ago, Go for it 1308 said: He might have shiny teeth...but there's some shite that comes out of that gob Probably why he needed the old brown one replaced 🤢 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mellors1874 Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 44 minutes ago, Swanny17 said: Bloody hotel staff causing issues already? If it wasn't for blinds it'd be curtains for us all... Need to pull themselves together Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EH11 2NL Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 Can anybody blame the guy, anything goes wrong and the halfwits come out in force blaming him 😅 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JimmyCant Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 9 minutes ago, jamboinglasgow said: Yeah, I agree. I like Robbo and he wouldn't do badly in the role but Sporting director is a role that has really evolved in recent years and has become a really technical role. I wouldn't mind someone from outside the UK. If we’re talking ex players you’ve got to have Weir right at the top of the list and Robbo some way behind. I’m not sure Robbo has the full skill set or the mental health to do the job. I’m not sure Weir is going to jump unless he sees it on his career route for some reason. Neil McCann would be interesting. Very intelligent. Educated. Will have contacts. Steve Clark might fancy a change of direction. Be a major coup if we could persuade him as I think he’ll leave Scotland after the Euros. No one wholly qualified, apart from Weir, springs to mind. Fysass a rank outsider for me but would also be a coup Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GinRummy Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 Just now, Bring Back Paulo Sergio said: Robbo Aye? Terrible shout. 1 minute ago, hughesie27 said: Robbo shouldn't be anywhere near that job. What is it he couldn’t do? We have managers, recruitment teams, a ceo and an academy team, assistants everywhere so what is it you think Savage could do that Robbo couldn’t? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watt-Zeefuik Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 1 hour ago, jamboinglasgow said: I do wish some fans would realise that abuse does have consequences, staff at the club are not emotionless robots. Exactly. Being a paying fan does not entitle anyone to be an arrogant and abusive arse. We've done very well under Savage. It's not all down to him but he did his job quite well. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jambof3tornado Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 1 hour ago, RustyRightPeg said: What on earth makes you come to that conclusion? 2+2=36 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckies1874 Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 (edited) I wonder where Craig Gordon fits into things over the next couple of years. Club legend, vastly experienced, winner, knowledgable, articulate, significant contacts throughout football, no need for any upheaval of family etc. Can't believe we won't be integrating him into some part of the club. Edited May 31, 2024 by Luckies1874 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pans Jambo Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 To be honest, I have no idea what he did or didn't do for the club, what he was involved in and what players he managed to attract to Hearts, what he did on a day to day basis or how he got on with Steven Naismith. I suspect most on here don't either. I don't know if I'm sad, raging or not even bothered about this news to be honest... I do wish him the best of luck in his new career choice though (with the usual caveat being if he's going to another Scottish Premiership club then I hope all his shites have antlers). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hansel Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 Yas! No more projects! Spoiler Just kidding! Sad to see him go! All the best 👍 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fort Vallance Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 Why is everyone so angry. Most of you wanted him binned a year ago. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rick Sanchez Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 4 minutes ago, GinRummy said: What is it he couldn’t do? We have managers, recruitment teams, a ceo and an academy team, assistants everywhere so what is it you think Savage could do that Robbo couldn’t? Absolutely nothing tbh. I think a lot of people, myself included, think we could use this as an opportunity to try and take a step forward. It'll be hard though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GinRummy Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 Just now, EH11 2NL said: Can anybody blame the guy, anything goes wrong and the halfwits come out in force blaming him 😅 It’s his own fault. He’s front and centre at every signing chatting about challenging the old firm and winning the league. He’s been more than happy to chat to the press and put himself out there when things were going well, especially when Neilson was head coach. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ked Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 1 hour ago, Tour22 said: He got some amount of abuse during his time so not surprised. Will be hard to replace in my opinion. When you say abuse do you mean criticised on here or actual abuse ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tian447 Posted May 31, 2024 Share Posted May 31, 2024 Why whenever something like this comes up do people always jump to ex-players. It's a far more business-oriented role, so putting an ex-player in a suit and hoping for the best is hardly ever going to be the right move. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...