Joe Savage leaves Hearts ( updated )

Agentjambo
Posted
2 minutes ago, Scott Leitch said:

😂 You still pretending you know what goes on at the club 😂 😂 😂 

You can even see it on here from some posters responses…don’t believe me.I couldn’t care less mate.

• Replies 1.9k

• RustyRightPeg

• soonbe110

Heart&soul
Posted

Disappointed to read this news, Savage appeared to be an important part of turning us into the team we are now.
If we’re randomly guessing a replacement, my tuppence worth would be Andy Webster. This is based on absolutely nothing other than it being the first name that pops in my head. 

Stendelnator
Posted
2 minutes ago, Smithian said:

I don’t like this one bit. 

I hope the Hearts continue a DOF model and Savage is replaced by an experienced scout or executive, not a coach. 

This club must always have an eye on the long term and an empowered DOF is best way to do that.

Why the pant wetting? Man fancies career change and you've got us dismantling the entire structure

Famous 1874
Posted

Imperative that we bring in someone who has a somewhat similar approach to Savage. That way it’s a far easier transition. 

Posted

I would like to know if there's a suitable internal candidate. I also wonder if Naismith drove the "Scottish" focus.

Hungry hippo
Posted
36 minutes ago, Tour22 said:

He got some amount of abuse during his time so not surprised. Will be hard to replace in my opinion.

Totally agree.

Posted

As others have said, that slightly worrying thing in this is timing. While we have the structure in place for recruitment, it was still Savage who was the one who sold players and agents moving to Hearts and negotiated the deals. So do we have someone in place in the meantime who is able to do that effectively?

It does seem from ours and others search for a director of football, that it takes a while to recruit a person. Hopefully we are already starting the recruitment process now.

Posted
19 minutes ago, Stendelnator said:

By all accounts, he never entirely saw eye to eye with Naismith so this isn't a massive surprise. It's only a blow for stability but I'm quite sure we can improve on him. That said, the club has made some positive strides with him in the role so wish him all the best

I wouldn't say they didn't see eye to eye its just Joe and Robbie really got on.

It's like in any job when someone moves and is replaced. You might not have the same personal chemistry with the new person it doesn't mean you don't get on and it certainly doesn't mean you both won't be professional.

I wish him all the best as well. Done wonders for the club.

Scott Monument
Posted

Good luck Joe for the future and thanks for bringing in some top players 

Posted
8 minutes ago, Scott Leitch said:

😂 You still pretending you know what goes on at the club 😂 😂 😂 

It's incredible he keeps this charade going. Never seen the likes 😂

Penrices left boot
Posted (edited)

Shame, but secondary to the actual scouts and manager in terms of importance to player recruitment imo.

Naismith will know the type of players he wants and then the scouts need to come back with options.

He was a good middleman but not irreplacable.

I'd like a foreign dof that directly opens up new markets that we have little or no Influence on.

Dutch, German, Spanish, Easter European, maybe even a big name that attracts attention.

Good luck to him unless it's to the OF, then I hope he eats a big slice of jobbie pie. 

Edited by Bazzas right boot
Posted

I'm wondering if he has been struggling to recruit for this summer (outside the easy SPFL pickings) and has chosen to walk before it becomes apparent and he has to kop some flak. 

Jim Panzee
Posted

This is such a shame - and typical when we're on the up.

Lets hope we can find someone equally as good if not better to replace him

Posted
Just now, Homme said:

I'm wondering if he has been struggling to recruit for this summer (outside the easy SPFL pickings) and has chosen to walk before it becomes apparent and he has to kop some flak. 

What on earth makes you come to that conclusion? 

Posted
38 minutes ago, Tour22 said:

He got some amount of abuse during his time so not surprised. Will be hard to replace in my opinion.

He'll have a thick enough skin to cope with that. He certainly seemed to love the away Euro trips, and mingling with the fans.

Stendelnator
Posted

The likes of David Weir and Takis Fyssas should be our first ports of call. 

Posted
Just now, Stendelnator said:

The likes of David Weir and Takis Fyssas should be our first ports of call. 

David Weir is the sporting director at Brighton. There’s no chance in hell he gives up that gig to come here 😂

Rick Sanchez
Posted

Takis has played with Webster before. I'm sure he'd get on well with Naisy, they're both winners.

Get applying my man.

Posted
Just now, RustyRightPeg said:

What on earth makes you come to that conclusion? 

Just throwing it out there along with all the other potential reasons already being mentioned

Posted
6 minutes ago, Stendelnator said:

Why the pant wetting? Man fancies career change and you've got us dismantling the entire structure

Because I think Joe Savage did a good job. I don't think he is irreplaceable, but I do think a change in leadership is inherently risky.

And I don't want to dismantle the structure. Read my post again, I want them to continue a structure with an empowered DOF whose background is that of a scout or other executive. That was Savage coming in from a Championship club where he served as head of recruitment. That's what I want, an established executive from a big club that is well resourced but can't outspend the competition. I don't want to pull a Hibs and hire Malky Mackay or a Hearts of yesteryear and hire Levein who will just be looking over the manager's shoulder nonstop.

Posted
11 minutes ago, Shooter McGavin said:

We’ve got some utter welts on here who just expect every single signing to be amazing, or else the guy recruiting them is s*ite.

Happy to ignore the all the signings that go right, but then lose their minds over the 1 or 2 that didn’t go so well.

But I think the sane majority of us realise football isn’t as simple as that, and we recognise what an excellent job Savage has done during his time at us.

Our recruitment was horrific in the years leading up to Savage joining us.

thats is true, but it’s also true of most clubs who are at the top and want to improve.

I doubt if he moves to a similar club he will find the fanbase any more forgiving 

mellors1874
Posted

Apparently been on the cards for a while as he has not seen eye to eye with curtain people in the club.

We need to aim higher if we want to get to next level.

Posted (edited)

From the outside looking in, the 3 pre contract signings all look like Naismith's. Maybe forced Savages hand.

Edited by droid
Luckies1874
Posted

How is he only 39 😂

Has certainly had some success stories but should be replaceable. Actually excited to see who is interested in the job and the level of ambition we show. It's a very attractive gig. 

Posted
Just now, Homme said:

Just throwing it out there along with all the other potential reasons already being mentioned

So we’ve been more proactive than ever as you’ve pointed out. Easy pickings as you’ve called them (despite Dhanda and Spittal having alternative offers) yet we’re struggling to attract players? 😂

Posted
30 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

If that’s the reason he’s leaving then maybe football isn’t for him. 

and if that’s the reason he’s left he won’t be going to a bigger club.

Maybe the job was too much for him. Mental health is rightly in the news a lot these days so folk might be more likely not to let a job effect their well being. 

Still think it’s more likely he’s got something else lined up. What’s Alex Neil up to?

Posted
2 minutes ago, mellors1874 said:

Apparently been on the cards for a while as he has not seen eye to eye with curtain people in the club.

Who hasn’t he seen eye to eye with? McKinlay, Naismith or both?

mellors1874
Posted
Just now, GinRummy said:

Who hasn’t he seen eye to eye with? McKinlay, Naismith or both?

Haven't been told names at this time.

Posted

I'm going to have to change my ****ing profile photo now too. 

Does Joe not realise how much I hate change? Selfish prick :lol: 

Posted
18 minutes ago, Chimp said:

That could be a great shout mate. Pretty sure he'd have a very good network of contacts.

Unlikely, unfortunately.   Would be delighted though.

Posted
3 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Maybe the job was too much for him. Mental health is rightly in the news a lot these days so folk might be more likely not to let a job effect their well being. 

Still think it’s more likely he’s got something else lined up. What’s Alex Neil up to?

agreed.  I can’t believe anyone would leave a job in football because they were hurt by a little fan criticism. there is not a job in football you you get stuck on occasion.

David Weir should be #1 choice but next to zero chance he’d do it.  Leave a great life with Brighton, great club and a great lifestyle 

Posted
Just now, RustyRightPeg said:

So we’ve been more proactive than ever as you’ve pointed out. Easy pickings as you’ve called them (despite Dhanda and Spittal having alternative offers) yet we’re struggling to attract players? 😂

I cavaeated the whole post with 'I wonder' so at no point have I stated as fact we are struggling to attract players. And I meant players from outwith our league as it's blatantly obvious we can easily pick up players within our own borders. You say these players had offers outwith us...true but I bet it didn't take much to land them at Tynie. We are a very attractive club to a lot of players. Especially bottom 6 Scottish premier league ones.

You can't play a wee bit of devil's advocate on here without folk pissing themselves :lol:

I think the timing could not be worse for someone in Joe's position. 

Posted
8 minutes ago, mellors1874 said:

The ones who hung his curtains in his office? 

I'd be raging too.IMG_3128.png.8bf2ac73d49d49ccf93c737c57694529.png

Posted
Just now, kingantti1874 said:

agreed.  I can’t believe anyone would leave a job in football because they were hurt by a little fan criticism. there is not a job in football you you get stuck on occasion.

David Weir should be #1 choice but next to zero chance he’d do it.  Leave a great life with Brighton, great club and a great lifestyle 

Not keen on Weir because he'd be name checked every time someone so much as farts at Ibrox. 

However, sometimes to progress your career you need to take a step back to go forward. He could be the best paid Technical director in the world, but if he really fancies progressing to more senior roles, like Sporting Director, he needs to be prepared to take that initial step down for a few years and demonstrate his competence. 

Posted

Get big Sam in to replace him! 

😜

Posted
8 minutes ago, mellors1874 said:

Bloody hotel staff causing issues already? 

If it wasn't for blinds it'd be curtains for us all...

Posted

We cant argue we have done well since he came in and we have a great squad. I wish him well for the future. 

Really happy with the set up we have now a DOF. 

Posted

There’s been a significant change in strategy since Naismith came in so it’s no surprise to see him go. Quite honestly some of his signings have been rank and there’s still not a complete and balanced squad in place so as much as he’s got some things right I’m really not sorry to see him go. 

Posted
49 minutes ago, BigAlim said:

The scouts and recruitment analysts find the players, the head of recruitment Matt Lancefield put the list of options together and presents it to Naismith, Naismith picks the players he wants and McKinlay decides how much we can afford to pay.

Savage deals with the negotiating which is obviously an important cog in the wheel but him leaving doesn’t scupper our entire blueprint for the summer window

It's healthy to get a fresh view too.

Posted
3 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

Aye, like you said if they did they’re in the wrong job. 

Everyone one here seems to have a different view of what he actually does so I’ve no idea who would be a good replacement. 

DxB Hearts
Posted

Davie Weir:

1. Would not leave Brighton to come to us for basically the same role.

2. We probably couldn't afford a fraction of what he's on

3. Would be name checked for every Rangers job ranging from commie chef to CEO every week

An absolute non-starter. 

Bill Sikes
Posted

Always good to see the in the kenners knew about this yonks ago but did the right thing by only telling the rest of us now that the story has broken.

Don't see the need for a replacement myself. If Naismith can manage up then there's no need for a go-between.

Wage saved.

Posted

Good luck to him. Thanks Joe. You've done us solid. :lol:

Posted

His resignation possibly linked to these potential investor links Budge was talking about?

Maybe have our targets set on someone better and the club have given Joe a heads up and allowed him to resign now instead of being forced out the door...

Posted
3 minutes ago, Bull's-eye said:

Always good to see the in the kenners knew about this yonks ago but did the right thing by only telling the rest of us now that the story has broken.

Don't see the need for a replacement myself. If Naismith can manage up then there's no need for a go-between.

Wage saved.

That’s a good point tbh. Interested to see if people think he actually needs replaced. 

Posted

Thanks and bye bye. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Lovecraft said:

Time for Lee to come home.

2e81ba58-a30f-4876-8798-8ce9faa2d2db.jpg

😂 look at the shine on those teeth. 

Portable Badger
Posted
6 minutes ago, Bull's-eye said:

Wage saved.

Joe also recruited and negotiated for the women’s team as well. Not sure Naisy would be up to that as well