Oysters

FWJ

Had half a dozen as a starter at lunchtime today.

Salty snotters or a delicious treat?

I've had a craving for those things for years while not actually ever having one. 

I pretty much love all seafood. 

Anchovies, not so much. 

Edited by Greedy Jambo

Overhyped pretentious bogeys.

Mussels is where it's at. 1kg of Mussels and a basket of good bread.

10 minutes ago, FWJ said:

Honkin'

5 minutes ago, Cade said:

Mussels is where it's at. 1kg of Mussels and a basket of good bread.

Well, this place had moules marinière as a starter/main as well.  I went for the beef skirt with gratin dauphinois as my main.

Happy with my choice.

Maple Leaf
1 hour ago, Cade said:

They're tasteless without some kind of seafood sauce or lemon juice.  They're also expensive.

I haven't eaten them for years.  Raw oysters can make a person sick as a dog.

Had them a few times. I just find them to be meh. I think folk eat them to try and be a bit bougie. 

Bit like Lobster, it's just meh, just like a big prawn. Pretentious nonsense. Crab is the superior crustacean imo. 

Snails in garlic butter though. Exquisite.👌🏻

Shallots & vinegar reduction (on the side)

Don’t know what ‘bougie’ means - if, as I suspect, it means ‘pretentious’ then I’ll say escargots in garlic butter are just chewy bits of elastic that taste like garlic ordered by those who go “ooooo get me!  I just ate snails!”

8 minutes ago, Cade said:

Snails are just a shite substitute for whelks .

FTFY

Der Kaiser
6 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Oysters with lemon juice and Tabasco.  :sweeet:

Oysters with Vodka and lemon juice works really well also

PortyJambo
1 hour ago, Cruyff said:

Had them a few times. I just find them to be meh. I think folk eat them to try and be a bit bougie. 

Bit like Lobster, it's just meh, just like a big prawn. Pretentious nonsense. Crab is the superior crustacean imo. 

Snails in garlic butter though. Exquisite.👌🏻

With you on lobster...but definitely not on the rest. Love oysters, lobster definitely a bet meh, but always disappointed with crab.

Snails though are :boak:

ArcticJambo
1 hour ago, Maple Leaf said:

They're tasteless without some kind of seafood sauce or lemon juice.  They're also expensive.

I haven't eaten them for years.  Raw oysters can make a person sick as a dog.

I was about to ask what they're like, tastewise but you've answered that for me. :thumbsup:

What's the attraction then, are they really a tonic for the wee felly doonstairs?

Edited by ArcticJambo

33 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Oysters with lemon juice and Tabasco.  :sweeet:

Was offered Tabasco, declined.  Wanted to taste the sea.

Maple Leaf
11 minutes ago, ArcticJambo said:

I was about to ask what they're like, tastewise but you've answered that for me. :thumbsup:

What's the attraction then, are they really a tonic for the wee felly doonstairs?

To crack an old joke .... I was told that oysters are great for a man's libido so I ate a dozen.  Only eight of them worked.    :whistling:

cosanostra

Not really a fan of raw oysters but oysters kilpatrick are phenomenal.

If you've never had oysters and want to try them, start there.

AlimOzturk

Love them but can’t eat shellfish due to gout problems. 

Love mussels, whelks, razor clams, clams - definitely love scallops, lobster and crab - but...not keen on oysters.

Salty snotters.

gordiegords

Oysters are superb, i went through a phase of going down to the restaurant Ondine in city centre during late afternoon where they would have oyster hour, oysters of a pound, get a plate of 12 with a negroni, superb.

Had them a few times, including deep fried in batter (in Newzeland).  Got relatives in whitstable and attended the *oyster festival a few years back, all in all a bit meh…….likely to never have them again.  Although as mentioned, I do like to rustle up some mussels, white wine, onion, garlic and a splash of cream with some fresh crusty bread…..super easy to make as well.

* all closed down now apparently with too much human shit being flushed out too close to the shore.

Edited by highlandjambo3

Jamstomorrow
On 27/04/2024 at 19:50, FWJ said:

After you scoffed them, were you gagging for a shag?

Legend Claws
On 27/04/2024 at 20:08, FWJ said:

Well, this place had moules marinière as a starter/main as well.  I went for the beef skirt with gratin dauphinois as my main.

Happy with my choice.

Where was that?

Just for the record - oysters have absolutely no bearing on gout.

1 minute ago, Morgan said:

Just for the record - oysters have absolutely no bearing on gout.

Did you know Ruud Guillet has gout 

1 minute ago, rudi must stay said:

Did you know Ruud Guillet has gout 

I’m dreadfully sorry, I’ve never heard of this person you mention.

I had a bad experience with Oysters in New York Grand Central Station about 30 years ago.  🥸

People who enjoy oysters  usually wear no socks and pastel coloured corduroys 

14 hours ago, Morgan said:

I’m dreadfully sorry, I’ve never heard of this person you mention.

Apparently he's a person who has gout and eats oysters.

15 hours ago, Jamstomorrow said:

After you scoffed them, were you gagging for a shag?

I’d have made do with a cormorant

iantjambo

Never had them in my life. Honestly, they look bloody manky but I would definitely try them.

AyrJambo
7 hours ago, manaliveits105 said:

People who enjoy oysters  usually wear no socks and pastel coloured corduroys 

Better than white socks 

I love my seafood but, for me, oysters fall into the salty snotters category. 

You're told not to chew on them which just means you're glugging back this large thing with the consistency of phlegm. The taste left in your mouth is just brine. Unless you've gone for tabasco, lemon or any other trimmings, in which case, you could save on the cost of the oyster and just knock back salty water with some lemon and tabasco in it. 

Lobster and crab, though. Crab especially. One of my favourite restaurants in the world is Ministry of Crab in Colombo https://www.ministryofcrab.com/colombo/ 

6829b8881201d6f947a018518490376b.jpg

On 27/04/2024 at 22:26, Der Kaiser said:

Oysters with Vodka and lemon juice works really well also

Just noticed this - and yes, ice-cold vodka?

Need to wait until September now though!

4 hours ago, I P Knightley said:

You're told not to chew on them which just means you're glugging back this large thing with the consistency of phlegm. The taste left in your mouth is just brine. Unless you've gone for tabasco, lemon or any other trimmings, in which case, you could save on the cost of the oyster and just knock back salty water with some lemon and tabasco in it. 

Lobster and crab, though. Crab especially. One of my favourite restaurants in the world is Ministry of Crab in Colombo https://www.ministryofcrab.com/colombo/ 

Oh my, this looks and sounds absolutely fantastic. I love Sri Lanka and I love crab. Must try this one day.

5 hours ago, I P Knightley said:

I've been to Ministry of Crab too.  Great place.

Daktari

As Jonathan Swift said, "He was a bold man that first ate an oyster". Who looked at one of those in history and thought 'yum'.....:sick:

fast_blood
On 27/04/2024 at 22:53, FWJ said:

Was offered Tabasco, declined.  Wanted to taste the semen.

FTFY

Tried them and seaweed at some sort of  festival in Carlingford, Ireland. Glad they got handed out free because it gave me the hint never to buy either.

Sadly my pallet doesn't agree with any form of shellfish.

John Gentleman
17 hours ago, Stuart Lyon said:

Oysters, for our 19th century ancestors, were a cheap and abundant source of protein. And all washed down with cheap (hic) and abundant French claret as a bonus.
This 19th century felly enjoyed the odd oyster tae.

13 hours ago, Sydney said:

I've been to Ministry of Crab too.  Great place.

14 hours ago, Taffin said:

Oh my, this looks and sounds absolutely fantastic. I love Sri Lanka and I love crab. Must try this one day.

It's a wonderful place. Not cheap in the scheme of things in that part of the world but well worth the visit. 

The three guys who set it up are a TV celebrity chef who brought on board two of the country's most celebrated and revered cricketers. Between them, they strong-armed the actual Ministry of Fisheries (or whatever they're called) to suggest that the Ministry (real one) would probably not appreciate the adverse reaction if that cricket-mad nation were to discover that the minister had been offering the very best of the catch to buyers in Singapore rather than giving first dibs to these god-like cricketers. 

Jamstomorrow
On 29/04/2024 at 12:49, FWJ said:

I’d have made do with a cormorant

As long as you got a burd!!

52 minutes ago, Jamstomorrow said:

As long as you got a burd!!

That should be spelled ‘bursd’ 

Fresh oysters would be my choice of starter for my last meal.  I love them.  I don't go in for the knock them down your throat approach though, I like to chew on them a bit and actually taste what I'm eating.