Vincent Guerin

jambovambo

Jim_Duncan
2 minutes ago, bigdav said:

Good wee player for the short time we had him.

Still had some nice touches despite being at the end of his career. 

Mister T

Another in a long line of players and games I have zero memory of unfortunately. 

Jim_Duncan
2 minutes ago, Baxfee said:

Nope, never heard of him

:cornette_dog:

Madjambo21

Was he the French captain at one point.

Not sure if he was Stephan Adam's brother in-law or something like that

Remember him being a big name when coming but as it was still early in my time following football did not fully appreciate his pedigree until I had an old copy of the Euro 96 game and remember the commentator in the game saying his name when you play as France. Seemed a bigger player after that.

Cut The Crap
5 minutes ago, Madjambo21 said:

Was he the French captain at one point.

Not sure if he was Stephan Adam's brother in-law or something like that

Pretty sure Steph’s brother-in-law was Fabien Leclercq, central defender who appeared to be scared of the ball.

Madjambo21
4 minutes ago, Cut The Crap said:

Pretty sure Steph’s brother-in-law was Fabien Leclercq, central defender who appeared to be scared of the ball.

Could have been.

Sure I read somewhere that Adam played with Zizu in the French Army team.

Pity he couldn't convince him to join 😁

Yep the legs had gone but the brain was evident. Classy is how I'd describe him.

Did we not manage to get him due to a medicinal unfortunate incident* otherwise he would have been nowhere near us?

* Drugs

I seem to remember him crashing a free kick off the underside of the bar at the School End, when I sat in the Gorgie. I was sure it was in and was up celebrating, but alas it had bounced down and out. 

As others have said, a class player but too old by the time he came to us. 

You could see the ability but as said above, he didn’t have the legs any more.

He took the last minute short free kick that David Ginola then (in)famously battered into the box against Bulgaria, who then quickly went up the field, scored and cost France their place at the 1994 World Cup. 

Similar to Tommy Gronlund and Dave McCreery from my recollection. Very tenacious, industrious midfielders who we got because they were past their best but could still play a bit.

Heart of Darkness
43 minutes ago, cazzyy said:

Did we not manage to get him due to a medicinal unfortunate incident* otherwise he would have been nowhere near us?

* Drugs

Think he got caught smoking weed!!

He was best friends with Eric Cantona and Stephane Paille.  

From Cantona's biography:

"Eric and Stephane recruited the team!  I'll always remember how Stephane called Vincent Guerin (who was then at Brest) "Hei, Vincent, ca va?  We're in Montpellier, would you join us?" and he did!"  

Valois No1
6 hours ago, SectionDJambo said:

Similar to Tommy Gronlund and Dave McCreery from my recollection. Very tenacious, industrious midfielders who we got because they were past their best but could still play a bit.

Tommy Gronlund was a class player for us. Really rated him but he wasn’t the same type of player as Guerrin who was defo more silky. His touch and passing with sublime but he was slower than a week in the jail. Gronlund was a battler and excellent at it. I seem to recall getting a match programme sent to the house one season where all st holders got it on match days. Gronlund was referred to as the shield. 

8 hours ago, PaddysBar said:

I seem to recall he was cracking away to Motherwell one night. 

Think he scored but pretty sure we lost 3-2 

WASTREL
8 hours ago, PaddysBar said:

You bet .... that was when we knew we had a player.  He showed all his old touches that night. 

Last time I saw him was as the official photographer (his new vocation after football) when Gilles Rousset and his wife renewed their wedding vows at Aberlady Church.  

Benny Klack
8 hours ago, cazzyy said:

* Drugs

Stephane Paille 

cosanostra
11 minutes ago, Benny Klack said:

Stephane Paille 

Guerin failed a drug test too but it got overturned due to possible contamination or something.

He was a quality player but Light years past his best when he came to us. The brain was still there but the legs were long gone.

He also ran weird. I remember he always ran with his arms down by his side. 🤣

cosanostra
9 hours ago, PaddysBar said:

There was a game away to Motherwell that we won 2-0 and Paille was pretty good. Scored a header in front of the Hearts fans and maybe Robbo scored the other.

You maybe thinking of that one?

Was just talking about Guerin yesterday! He would pick passes that nobody else on the pitch could even see. He was a joy to watch. Even if he couldn't run!

The Tackle

His scooped pass for De Vries to score in the original 5-1 was a thing of beauty 

gordiegords

He had a touch of class about him but nae legs 😆, still remember being impressed when Jeffries signed him.

Jim_Duncan
18 minutes ago, The Tackle said:

His scooped pass for De Vries to score in the original 5-1 was a thing of beauty 

:notsure:

LarrysRightFoot

I’m sure he had a good game in a home victory v Celtic. 

cosanostra
34 minutes ago, The Tackle said:

Valois?

The Tackle
15 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

:notsure:

:lol: that was Valois I was thinking of

The Tackle
1 minute ago, cosanostra said:

Valois?

Yeah I’m an old fud

cosanostra
2 minutes ago, The Tackle said:

Yeah I’m an old fud

Still though, what a goddamn pass. 

gordiegords
Just now, Cruyff said:

I can remember him hitting the bar with a 30 yard freekick v Killie? 

Didn’t it skelp the bar then  Bounce on the line but didn’t trickle over 🙉

14 minutes ago, gordiegords said:

Didn’t it skelp the bar then  Bounce on the line but didn’t trickle over 🙉

It went in but not given. Miles over. :lol:

5:20 seconds in.

58 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

I can remember him hitting the bar with a 30 yard freekick v Killie? 

and McSwegan failed to score the rebound from less than a yard out., hitting the post.

I think GMcS still hadn't scored for us by that point, the doubters were seriously doubting.

Benny Klack
5 hours ago, cosanostra said:

Guerin failed a drug test too but it got overturned due to possible contamination or something.

He was a quality player but Light years past his best when he came to us. The brain was still there but the legs were long gone.

He also ran weird. I remember he always ran with his arms down by his side. 🤣

Ah never heard that before - cheers.

Agreed that he was quality on the ball but past it fitness wise when he played for us.

Benny Klack

Anyone mind Tommy Gronland from about the same time ish ???

Maybe the season or so after actually?

gordiegords
1 hour ago, Cruyff said:

It went in but not given. Miles over. :lol:

5:20 seconds in.

Doesn’t look over 🤔