Lawrence is The Machine

heartgarfunkel

His goals to games ratio for the Jam Tarts.  His treatment of the criminality from the Lochend bucket-raker missile chuckers.  He's just class.

jambopilms

Anyone got a clip of his chip the just went over the bar. Goal of the season if that had went in, and if Messi had done the same it would be shown all over the world

28 minutes ago, jambopilms said:

Anyone got a clip of his chip the just went over the bar. Goal of the season if that had went in, and if Messi had done the same it would be shown all over the world

His speed of thought is what makes it special.

Apart from his goals, the amount of work the guy does elsewhere is just different class. Last night he fought for everything up front, battling away & was back defending, clearing a ball off the line. The guy is a true leader & getting right up the hobo mongrels as well of course.

The lad is an absolute diamond.

Benny Klack

The guy is an absolute diamond - just continuing to enjoy him whilst he’s here. An absolute brilliant professional when you think of all the setbacks in his career. Lucky to have him. 

3 hours ago, heartgarfunkel said:

His goals to games ratio for the Jam Tarts.  His treatment of the criminality from the Lochend bucket-raker missile chuckers.  He's just class.

Lochend bucket-raker missile chuckers!

1 hour ago, Nelly Terraces said:

Apart from his goals, the amount of work the guy does elsewhere is just different class. Last night he fought for everything up front, battling away & was back defending, clearing a ball off the line. The guy is a true leader & getting right up the hobo mongrels as well of course.

The lad is an absolute diamond.

12 minutes ago, Benny Klack said:

The guy is an absolute diamond - just continuing to enjoy him whilst he’s here. An absolute brilliant professional when you think of all the setbacks in his career. Lucky to have him. 

Find your own term, Benny.  

Good lad.  👍

We'd have been chucking pies as well if that penalty was given against us. 

If Shankland doesn't sign a new contract, we're fecked.

Naismith has done well, considering he doesn't even have his coaching badges, but everything is in place for him to do so.

I'm sticking with him, but i wouldn't be surprised if the shit hits the fan. 

What Derek McInnes and even Stephen Robinson have done on shoe string budgets is far more impressive to me. 

I know i'm going to get absolute hate and abuse for this, but it is what it is. 

Clear few
Just now, Greedy Jambo said:

Naismith has done well, considering he doesn't even have his coaching badges, but everything is in place for him to do so.

What Derek McInnes and even Stephen Robinson have done on shoe string budgets is far more impressive to me. 

It was given against you 🤨 

Just now, Greedy Jambo said:

You still raging that got given?

KyleLafferty
2 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

We didn’t finish 3rd with Shankland so how would we be fecked? 

Is own goals still our next best striker?

We totally would be fecked if he leaves. 

But my point is, how good could we be if we signed a manager with experience? instead of constantly handing out apprenticeships?

Edited by Greedy Jambo

3 hours ago, heartgarfunkel said:

totally🏴‍☠️🇶🇦🇱🇻🇶🇦🇱🇻

1 hour ago, pettigrewsstylist said:

His speed of thought is what makes it special.

hes magic, just wish we had a couple more like him we,d really be something🇱🇻🇱🇻🇱🇻🫶

5 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

But my point is, how good could we be if we signed a manager with experience? instead of constantly handing out apprenticeships?

PaddysBar

Love Shankland. My preference is he signs a new deal before this one runs out. 

Failing that, we keep him for next season and he leaves in the summer of 2025. No point in selling him for £1-2m this summer. 

1971fozzy
18 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

Yet, some on here would drop him!

beggars believe eh. Blind as a bat

2 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

20 league goals on Sunday 

Bit ambitious,  cannae see us scoring more than 4.

PaddysBar
3 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

Bit ambitious,  cannae see us scoring more than 4.

Aye but Celtic will probably tire in the second half👍

1 minute ago, PaddysBar said:

Aye but Celtic will probably tire in the second half👍

Aye, bit still, 20- unless they actually tire to the point of having a nap, I'm sticking at 4.

26 minutes ago, PaddysBar said:

Love Shankland. My preference is he signs a new deal before this one runs out. 

Failing that, we keep him for next season and he leaves in the summer of 2025. No point in selling him for £1-2m this summer. 

Totally, but the challenge is him agreeing to that. 

1 hour ago, Greedy Jambo said:

I'll oblige. Away and throw shite at yersel.

It's a damn sight easier to get behind the ball and scrap like Killie and St Mirren with top 6 seen as success.

Taking the game to your opponents including 8 or 9 teams you are expected to beat who sit in and scrap for the ball is a little more difficult. 

The best comparison is the codheids. Jim Goodwin couldn't make the leap and Aaaaiiibirdeen fans expected a lot more of the guy with the third biggest budget than sitting in and scrapping for the ball. They have now tried  Glass, Goodwin, Robson and Colin. None of them have delivered anything to suggest they have a better model. I'll leave you to make a case for the shite if you can. 

feedthefox

In time we will all have our favourite Shanks moments and no doubt in years to come there will be threads discussing as much.

Love the guy, no matter how bad a game he's having he has it in him to change everything in seconds.

Edited by feedthefox

Imagine how good he could be with a team that actually creates chances for him. Can’t blame him if he wants to earn what he deserves next season, which we really can’t afford. 

1 hour ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Vargas is. 
An experienced manager would ask far more of our SD and CEO. 

Wee Mikey

Good grief!

A thread praising Shankland and not even into page 2 before someone sees fit to steer it towards a continuation of a Naismith Oot thread.

2 hours ago, Clear few said:

It was given against you 🤨 

You'd better tread carefully, lol. Some individuals, however anti-Hearts their musings appear, are simply mis-guided and following an inscrutably wierd agenda.

I have a funny feeling, given the greenaciousness of certain posts that there are a few posters identifying as maroon but whose natural colour is anything but.

Often, those choosing to present as maroon simply make a spectacle of themselves but must be treated with respect and understanding.

Furthermore, with today's emerging zeitgeist, even the most commited hobophobe* must recognise that questioning those types, let alone ridiculing them is no longer acceptable.

*being hobophobic, thankfully, remains de-rigueur for PHM and PHW alike.

Edited by Wee Mikey

HeartsandonlyHearts
3 hours ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Loser.

HeartsandonlyHearts
3 hours ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Loser.

Jim_Duncan
8 hours ago, KyleLafferty said:

Because once some folk have pished their knickers, they just game to pretend that they’re in the ocean. 

Edited by Jim_Duncan

8 hours ago, Greedy Jambo said:

You'll deserve it too, either a scuttler or a troll. Not sure which but either is low.

Andrew Gilbert Wauchope
9 hours ago, Greedy Jambo said:

"Someone, up in the Roseburn, chucked a pie..." 

Sing along, everybody.

Edited by Andrew Gilbert Wauchope

WorldChampions1902
45 minutes ago, Andrew Gilbert Wauchope said:

"Someone, up in the Roseburn, chucked a pie..." 

Sing along, everybody.

:note: “Nobody does it better” :note2:

(Theme tune from ‘The Pie Who Loved Me”.).

Machine indeed. Genuinely no more words can be used to describe this man.

Jim Panzee
10 hours ago, KyleLafferty said:

:rofl: I love kickback 

PapaShango
11 hours ago, Bazzas right boot said:

Yet, some on here would drop him!

Aye the most bizarre take I've seen on here was leaving him out of the derby! He's scored 6 derby goals in around 7 or 8 games. Clearly loves sticking one on them as well. 

11 hours ago, 1971fozzy said:

A diamond. Our diamond.

what a player. His goal to game ratio is unbelievable. 

0.68 this season, probably end up with about 27 goals at that rate.

Benny Klack
14 hours ago, Morgan said:

Find your own term, Benny.  

Good lad.  👍

What a weird thing to call out. Well done you. 

Benny Klack

A feel good thread quickly derailed by doom mongers and trolls.

Sums up JKB.

Back on topic - Shankland is the most ‘complete’ striker we have ever had and if he doesn’t win player of the season something is far wrong (regardless of how the rest of the season pans out).

Shanks is some player right enough be we do tend to rely on him too much, he can score goals but he can't carry the whole team on his shoulders. Summer recruitment will see if we get a partner or replacement, but we certainly need someone to help him. Had thought Vargas could step up and he is showing signs but needs a lot more time, perhaps too long for our needs. Can't see Tagawa ever getting there so that leaves Oda.

Just hope Shanks stays fit and injury free as goals from elsewhere are few and far between.

4 hours ago, Benny Klack said:

What a weird thing to call out. Well done you. 

Thanks, Kenny.  :thumb:

4 hours ago, Benny Klack said:

A feel good thread quickly derailed by doom mongers and trolls.

Sums up JKB.

Back on topic - Shankland is the most ‘complete’ striker we have ever had and if he doesn’t win player of the season something is far wrong (regardless of how the rest of the season pans out).

Yes, he's good.  In fact, he's very good.

But, the most complete striker we have ever had?

hmfcbilly

That headline though....got me thinking he's also Florence's brother?!