Anyone got photos of the 80s games?

Aussie Jambo

Back when we took 15000 hearts fans in the away end. Was at this game. Bloody scary I can tell ya. Especially when the majority were pished. 
Anyone got any more photos like this?

100 bonus points for the sprinter. 

That would be ace on a tshirt. 

Edited by Aussie Jambo

• Replies 109

• dannymack

• PaddysBar

• martoon

• Sir PH

Aussie Jambo

1984 Easter Road

IMG_0209.jpeg

IMG_0210.jpeg

IMG_0211.jpeg

IMG_0212.jpeg

Edited by Aussie Jambo

4 minutes ago, Benny Klack said:

Great photos but 15,000 away fans at ER ?? Are you sure?

Wouldn’t be far off. Iirc, the Dunbar End held 11,000 and change and we got 50% of their main stand a lot of the time. A couple of occasions their benches (now the Famous Five-One Stand) were also infiltrated. Probably shy of 15,000 but not a stretch to say that on occasion Hearts had 13,000+ fans at away derbies regularly.

7 minutes ago, Benny Klack said:

Was it not nearer 7000?

Mr Sifter
7 minutes ago, Benny Klack said:

Used to be a regular occurrence naw? Massive Dunbar end packed to the gunnels, and a good part of the main stand too. 

21 minutes ago, Mr Sifter said:

Used to be a regular occurrence naw? Massive Dunbar end packed to the gunnels, and a good part of the main stand too. 

Used to get fans behind the goal at the opposite end too. "Hearts fans, Hearts fans give us a wave" 😂

TexasAndy

The guy in the hideous union jack vest.  I mean you couldn't advertise yourself for a day of trouble more than that!!

Different world back then. Quite difficult to explain it to anyone not around then. FTH.

Walking back up Easter Road after another victory was quite the thing. Filled, from side to side and all the way up, with us singing and twirling scarves. Great times.

21 minutes ago, SectionDJambo said:

Walking back up Easter Road after another victory was quite the thing. Filled, from side to side and all the way up, with us singing and twirling scarves. Great times.

That was great. Always used to take a look back at the massive crowd heading up. 👍 

2 hours ago, Marvin said:

Was it not nearer 7000?

Dunbar end capacity was around 10000 if I remember correctly. We also used to get part of their West Stand.

Benny Klack
2 hours ago, Mr Sifter said:

Fair enough - used to stand at the Dunbar end back in the day but thought 15k was excessive. Maybe if adding in main stand allocation and others up the cow shed it could be nearer - no biggie.

I always preferred ER derby games - used to love walking up ER after stuffing the bassas!

Great pictures - would love to see more!

Edited by Benny Klack

4marsbars

As recently as the mid-70s a typical attendance at NYD match home or away would be between 30 and 35,000.

Before segregation, it was pay at the gate, and everyone mixed (apart from the minority on both sides who self-segregated in the Shed to do Shed-type things, or its Easter Road equivalent, known as the Cave or the Bus Shelter, behind the goals at the north end).

So 15,000 away fans is a reasonable estimate. And without segregation, they didn't all enter and leave together. I went to plenty Derbies without ever crossing the bridge of doom.

Also in the 60s and 70s, Hibs often had larger crowds than Hearts, not least because their terracing was bigger and they were in Europe more often.

That, as we now know, was an aberration, but for a while they were the bigger, better team.

PaddysBar
1 hour ago, SectionDJambo said:

I did the ‘look back down once you’d reached the top of Easter road’ with my 14 year old son for the first time in December. 

He was quite impressed but looked nowhere near as good with a much smaller away support. 

An away day at Easter Road in the 80s and 90s was a proper day out. 

Pints with hibby family and pals before the game (never after), then down to Easter road. 

Fozzy on the fence was the best up until the Mercer derby. Ooft. 

PaddysBar
2 hours ago, Marvin said:

Used to get fans behind the goal at the opposite end too. "Hearts fans, Hearts fans give us a wave" 😂

I think it was more of a case of Hearts fans buying tickets as the away end / main stand / enclosure had sold out rather than us officially being allocated it😀

TexasAndy
1 hour ago, SectionDJambo said:

My earliest memory of this was after a late Bobby Prentice goal gave us a 1-1 draw around 75-76.  We hadn't had much joy down there for a while so that goal was heavily celebrated and the crowd atmosphere heading back up Easter Road was tremendous.  

Edited by TexasAndy

henrysmithsgloves
2 hours ago, TexasAndy said:

The guy in the hideous union jack vest.  I mean you couldn't advertise yourself for a day of trouble more than that!!

Hey! That looked cool back in the day😳

Aussie Jambo
4 hours ago, Benny Klack said:

Aye. Remember they we’re taking cash at the gates and let in too many fans in. The guys on the gate were pocketing the cash and sticking it down the troosers and jackets. That’s why all the fans are on the pitch. A massive Gorgie sway and too many fans. It says only 16k at the game but easy that in our end. I’d say close to 15k. It was rammed. After the 2nd goal it was carnage. Mind all the windows getting tanned going up Easter Rd. Definitely a different time. I don’t think the youth could handle that nowadays. It was like the shed x3. 

Edited by Aussie Jambo

1 hour ago, PaddysBar said:

I think it was more of a case of Hearts fans buying tickets as the away end / main stand / enclosure had sold out rather than us officially being allocated it😀

Yup that's what happens when they couldn't sell their own tickets. 

gordon simpson
1 hour ago, henrysmithsgloves said:

Hey! That looked cool back in the day😳

aye cool as a chicken vindaloo 

4 hours ago, PaddysBar said:

Been down there queuing a few times, at ticket office. Head doon, zero eye contact.

3 hours ago, Aussie Jambo said:

Aye. Remember they we’re taking cash at the gates and let in too many fans in. The guys on the gate were pocketing the cash and sticking it down the troosers and jackets. That’s why all the fans are on the pitch. A massive Gorgie sway and too many fans. It says only 16k at the game but easy that in our end. I’d say close to 15k. It was rammed. After the 2nd goal it was carnage. Mind all the windows getting tanned going up Easter Rd. Definitely a different time. I don’t think the youth could handle that nowadays. It was like the shed x3. 

White trainers in those days was a waste of time lol. Trashed.

There's absolutely no chance I could sit in the vermin end at a derby.

I'd get sussed out and leathered within 10 seconds.

1 hour ago, pettigrewsstylist said:

You were lucky if you got out the ground with them still on your feet...

Percival King
7 hours ago, pettigrewsstylist said:

Different world back then. Quite difficult to explain it to anyone not around then. FTH.

It was great, glad I lived through that era but happy to have a seat and a better view now. Remember the celebrations when we scored back in those days, would end up however many steps further down the terracing, separated from my pals, hugging strangers. Loved going to Easter Road then. Good times. But a lot more spit in those days!

PaddysBar
59 minutes ago, Le Chat said:

There's absolutely no chance I could sit in the vermin end at a derby.

I'd get sussed out and leathered within 10 seconds.

I did it once. Neil Pointon scored to put us one up but got beat 2-1. 

Was a bit weird but I kept it shut. 

Aussie Jambo
11 hours ago, pettigrewsstylist said:

Aye.  Always knew to wear your worst trainers to Easter road. Well the tramps might steal them or if one came off your foot you didn’t worry too much as long as you didn’t stand on any broken glass bottles. 

Edited by Aussie Jambo

dannymack
22 hours ago, TexasAndy said:

Hideous ? The Union Flag t-shirt wasn't hideous at the time, a common and regular item of clothing for the Skinhead movement of the late 70s early 80s.

This is August 1984, the casual scene had already kicked off in Scotland with Aberdeen and Motherwell showing their styles, Hearts had a few dressers in amongst their ranks at that point too, the lad with the Umion Flag t-shirt probably retired it not long after this game. 

Gillsland jack
21 hours ago, PaddysBar said:

I did the ‘look back down once you’d reached the top of Easter road’ with my 14 year old son for the first time in December. 

He was quite impressed but looked nowhere near as good with a much smaller away support. 

An away day at Easter Road in the 80s and 90s was a proper day out. 

Pints with hibby family and pals before the game (never after), then down to Easter road. 

Fozzy on the fence was the best up until the Mercer derby. Ooft. 

Should it not be the Mercer Derby up to the Fozzy on the fence? Mercer Derby was 1990, Fozzy Scoring in the SC was 1994.

section s heart
22 hours ago, TexasAndy said:

My earliest memory of this was after a late Bobby Prentice goal gave us a 1-1 draw around 75-76.  We hadn't had much joy down there for a while so that goal was heavily celebrated and the crowd atmosphere heading back up Easter Road was tremendous.  

Remember that one, first point gained at ER in my time, earlier 70s were inevitably one sided. Pretty sure we had a 2-1 late 70s, before the EOSS 2-1 win in 82 (?)with Gordon Rae's OG. 

PaddysBar
55 minutes ago, Gillsland jack said:

Should it not be the Mercer Derby up to the Fozzy on the fence? Mercer Derby was 1990, Fozzy Scoring in the SC was 1994.

Eh, aye. Just call me Benjambo Button😀

Gillsland jack
Just now, PaddysBar said:

Eh, aye. Just call me Benjambo Button😀

Nae bother Paddy Button, apologies if I came over slightly pedantic, was concerned about my own mental deterioration 🤪

PaddysBar
2 minutes ago, Gillsland jack said:

Nae bother Paddy Button, apologies if I came over slightly pedantic, was concerned about my own mental deterioration 🤪

You didn’t mate. For some reason when posting, the Mercer derby seemed more recent. 

Both great days that I’m glad I witnessed in person. I remember feeling knackered after the Fozzy derby. A few pints perked me up though😀

Americana

Makes me jealous missing it having been born in 87. Look at all those bodies not single fan complaining about standing up (for obvious reasons), greetin about what song you were singing and everybody look as though theyd have a good skinful before kick off. Working class game and not a prawn sandwich in sight. 

Gillsland jack
29 minutes ago, PaddysBar said:

You didn’t mate. For some reason when posting, the Mercer derby seemed more recent. 

Both great days that I’m glad I witnessed in person. I remember feeling knackered after the Fozzy derby. A few pints perked me up though😀

Mercer Derby was scary getting up London road after the game, angry Hibby's jumping out from behind the tree's looking to square go anyone in Maroon☺️

Fozzy Derby was a session and a half, culminating in a nightclub until 4.00am, so a non stop whirlwind from 11.00am the previous day🤪Could not do that today!

TexasAndy
1 hour ago, section s heart said:

Remember that one, first point gained at ER in my time, earlier 70s were inevitably one sided. Pretty sure we had a 2-1 late 70s, before the EOSS 2-1 win in 82 (?)with Gordon Rae's OG. 

Yeah 78-79 we had a 2-1 win McQuade and O'Connor.  We actually had a 3 game spell of winning at Aberdeen 2-1, beating Celtic 2-0 at home followed by the 2-1 at Easter Road which makes it hard to understand how we completely fell away in last 2-3 months of the season for our 2nd successive relegation.

Peakybunnet
On 21/02/2024 at 10:57, TexasAndy said:

October 76. My first Derby game. 

18 hours ago, PaddysBar said:

I did it once. Neil Pointon scored to put us one up but got beat 2-1. 

Was a bit weird but I kept it shut. 

Ye I was at that game - that was new year's day and was the game where Hans Eskilsson famously missed that chance because the crowd put him off!! 

section s heart
1 hour ago, TexasAndy said:

Yeah 78-79 we had a 2-1 win McQuade and O'Connor.  We actually had a 3 game spell of winning at Aberdeen 2-1, beating Celtic 2-0 at home followed by the 2-1 at Easter Road which makes it hard to understand how we completely fell away in last 2-3 months of the season for our 2nd successive relegation.

All coming back to me. Without checking, was it not McQuade "typical Denis McQuade goa!" and O Connor at Pittodrie too and Busby double v Celtic. 

colinmorewasgash
2 hours ago, Gillsland jack said:

Mercer Derby was scary getting up London road after the game, angry Hibby's jumping out from behind the tree's looking to square go anyone in Maroon☺️

Fozzy Derby was a session and a half, culminating in a nightclub until 4.00am, so a non stop whirlwind from 11.00am the previous day🤪Could not do that today!

It was great day don't remember many hubs at trees a few across road and at top of london road they use to congregate but in those days we were so large in size going up easter road and took no shit in numbers I never felt safer. Never ever had any problem on bridge of doom either in spite of their constant spraffing targetting us yams 

colinmorewasgash

I also remember after one derby we got escorted by police all way into town with a group of hearts casuals in middle of us and some hibs casuals on other side of road in princes street 80s and 90s were interesting at footy.

Absolutely great times. Loved every minute, good and bad and wouldn't change it. But if I'm honest I wouldn't want my grandsons to be experiencing most of the stuff we did. 

2 hours ago, Gillsland jack said:

Except they didn't do square go's. Took liberty's then and still do.

The Wrinkly Ninja
On 21/02/2024 at 10:34, PaddysBar said:

I think we were allocated part of that end on at least once. Remember being on the benches closest to the main stand and it was all hearts fans. Don't think my auld man would have got us tickets in the Hibs end but might be wrong. A John Colquhoun identikit double in a rearranged new year game that ended 2-2 I think ( might be getting my matches mixed up). We were escorted along the side of the pitch to the hearts end after the game to get out between the Dunbar and main.

dannymack
3 hours ago, Gillsland jack said:

My memory from the aftermath of that game was battling with a few Hibees at Dofos pet store then up by where the Omni Centre is now.

Definitely not scary or intimidating with that lot, just human beings the same as you and I with a different colour of scarf on or in the case of when we got into The Waverley Station there was two better dressed Hibees (minus the scarves) who had been at Doffos, full of it, who were quietly minding their own business as they waited to board the same train we were getting 😄 "alright boys, did you enjoy yourselves at Dofos" my mate asked... no liberty's were taken from then on in.