Sugar - the devils food?

Morgan

It’s maybe tasty, it’s definitely moreish, it’s probably addictive to some.

But, does it actually have any positive benefits?

I think not.

• Replies 101

• Dawnrazor

• ri Alban

• JudyJudyJudy

19 minutes ago, Der Kaiser said:

Should we presume you mean added sugar?

If I’m understanding you correctly, then yes.

Really, really high sugar content desserts are not a good feeling.

Nausea, bloating, diarrhoea and shakiness are just the tip of the iceberg!

This, coming from the person (me) who started a thread on Gu cheesecakes a few months ago too!

AlimOzturk

Naturally occurring sugars in fruit and vegetables - perfectly healthy 

Refined sugars - shocking for your health and as you say, addictive. 

Edited by AlimOzturk

2 hours ago, Morgan said:

It’s maybe tasty, it’s definitely moreish, it’s probably addictive to some.

But, does it actually have any positive benefits?

I think not.

If you've a spare hour or so... 

Spellczech
2 hours ago, Morgan said:

If I’m understanding you correctly, then yes.

Really, really high sugar content desserts are not a good feeling.

Nausea, bloating, diarrhoea and shakiness are just the tip of the iceberg!

This, coming from the person (me) who started a thread on Gu cheesecakes a few months ago too!

At least Gu come in a defined portion size - same cannot be said for things like Sticky Toffee Puddings...

We need to get back to eating butter rather than margarine, and try to avoid puddings and sweets entirely.

If the Govt was serious about obesity they would ban confectionary - none of the confectioners are UK companies anymore anyway...

Edited by Spellczech

11 minutes ago, Pap said:

No parent should be giving their children cereal in this day and age.

WhatsApp-Image-2023-02-21-at-15.41.50.jpeg.jpg

Edited by escobri

Coco Pops per 100g
Sugars 17g

Alpen Original per 100g
Sugars 21g

:tlj:

Edited by Cade

New Town Loafer

Any adult that eats cereal like coco pops, Frosties etc. is a ****ing nonce.

3 hours ago, Pap said:

No parent should be giving their children cereal in this day and age.

1 hour ago, Cade said:

Coco Pops per 100g
Sugars 17g

Alpen Original per 100g
Sugars 21g

:tlj:

Aye need that no added sugar Alpen.I thought I was being healthy once eating granola.Tasted amazing but then noticed and then read more and it's ****ing terrible for you.

AlimOzturk
16 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Porridge Oats is the only way for breakfast. 

With natural honey. 

yum. 

Dawnrazor
2 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

With natural honey. 

yum. 

Aye, we get local Heather Honey from a bloke who has his hives behind my house, gorgeous stuff and he gives us a year supply! I mix it in when I'm making it rather than put it on the top.

Edited by Dawnrazor

18 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Porridge Oats is the only way for breakfast. 

Yes

1 minute ago, AlimOzturk said:

With natural honey. 

yum. 

And indeed yes.

Breakfast every morning. Porage made with water and served with a spoon of local honey 👍

Dawnrazor
1 minute ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Yes

And indeed yes.

Breakfast every morning. Porage made with water and served with a spoon of local honey 👍

Half water half milf for me.

*edit*

"Milk" bloody predicted text 😳😅

Edited by Dawnrazor

AlimOzturk
3 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

*edit*

I personally make mine with water, mix through the honey, served thick with a splash of cold milk. 

Just read that back 

:oohmatron:

Edited by AlimOzturk

*edit*

Freudian 😂😂

Dawnrazor
Just now, AlimOzturk said:

I personally make mine with water, mix through the honey, served thick with a splash of cold milk. 

Porridge or Rolled Oats?

Dawnrazor
1 minute ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Freudian 😂😂

Honest tae **** 🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️

Just now, Dawnrazor said:

Honest tae **** 🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️

The worrying thing for you is your phone went straight to milf.

Ya fecking deviant 😂😂

AlimOzturk
1 minute ago, Dawnrazor said:

Porridge or Rolled Oats?

Either or for me. 

Dawnrazor
Just now, The Mighty Thor said:

The worrying thing for you is your phone went straight to milf.

Ya fecking deviant 😂😂

Aye, that fact hadn't gone un noticed😆

Dawnrazor
1 minute ago, AlimOzturk said:

Either or for me. 

I had rolled oats a couple of weeks ago at a mates, I can't ever remember anything other than Porridge Oats but I enjoyed the Rolled ones for a change.

19 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

*edit*

When i was weight training,  i used to make mine with 10 egg whites and two full eggs, whisked and nuked in the microwave or cooked in a  frying pan with Pam spray, topped with peanut butter. Miss the lifting. 

Now, just traditional. Water and Salt.

Dawnrazor
Just now, ri Alban said:

When i was weight training,  i used to make mine with 10 egg whites and two full eggs, whisked and nuked in the microwave or cooked in a  frying pan with Pam spray, topped with peanut butter. Miss the lifting. 

Now, just traditional. Water and Salt.

My son and his mates make it with protein shakes!

Just now, Dawnrazor said:

My son and his mates make it with protein shakes!

I'd do that now and then. Fecking Barking. :yucky:

Dawnrazor
6 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

I'd do that now and then. Fecking Barking. :yucky:

🤣🤣 he seems to like it, but he likes Carona Lager too!

😀 

Gorgiewave

I didn't realise until about a year or two ago that porridge can be eaten as is. Just add milk, like corn flakes.

I'd only ever seen it heated.

Sooperstar
2 minutes ago, Gorgiewave said:

I didn't realise until about a year or two ago that porridge can be eaten as is. Just add milk, like corn flakes.

I'd only ever seen it heated.

That sounds awful. Will have to try it. 

Gorgiewave
2 minutes ago, Sooperstar said:

That sounds awful. Will have to try it. 

I now wouldn't eat it any other way. Porridge, soya milk, blueberries and raspberries. Glorious.

Dawnrazor
Just now, Gorgiewave said:

I now wouldn't eat it any other way. Porridge, soya milk, blueberries and raspberries. Glorious.

You want burning at the stake.

Gorgiewave

Don't tell me you want to steal a wee calf's food?

image.jpeg.07f8ab25139f4e1024dc834d9cbc9cf7.jpeg

Oat milk for me. 🧯

Dawnrazor
Just now, Gorgiewave said:

Don't tell me you want to steal a wee calf's food?

image.jpeg.07f8ab25139f4e1024dc834d9cbc9cf7.jpeg

They both are "Food"!

Dawnrazor
Just now, ri Alban said:

Oat milk for me. 🧯

You'll be on that bus to the Lions at Blair Drummond ya ****in freak!

Sooperstar
5 minutes ago, Gorgiewave said:

Naaaahhh. Never tried soya milk so I will resist the temptation to judge it. Blueberries are shite though. 

5 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

You'll be on that bus to the Lions at Blair Drummond ya ****in freak!

The wife takes almond milk. Extortionate. 

Dawnrazor
1 minute ago, ri Alban said:

The wife takes almond milk. Extortionate. 

I honestly hope you pair have never reproduced!!

Jamhammer
7 hours ago, AlimOzturk said:

However, everything in moderation as they say. 

Apart from crack

As moreish as cheddars, apparently 

I honestly hope you pair have never reproduced!!

Too late.

He drinks the coos milk.

Dawnrazor
Just now, ri Alban said:

Too late.

He drinks the coos milk.

Thank **** for that, good lad him😉😎😆

Sooperstar
11 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Too late.

He drinks the coos milk.

Well done to your wife for breastfeeding. Too many don't these days. 

Most muesli is rolled oats anyhow, so having cold porridge isn't that much different.

Can't really do that with pinhead oatmeal or you'll crack all your teeth.

I do prefer my porridge cooked in water with a wee bit salt, and stirred properly so the oats release all the gloopy texture.
Topped with honey, jam or fruit. But one topping and one topping only.

None of this gobshite trend of 27 different toppings that constitute 60% of the bowl. 

Granola is easy as feck to make at home too; just mix the grains, nuts, seeds and dried fruits of your choice with some organic honey (plus maybe some crushed sea salt and spices like cinnamon) then bake it gently for 15-20 minutes then break it up. 

Sooperstar
2 minutes ago, Cade said:

Granola is easy as feck to make at home too; just mix the grains, nuts, seeds and dried fruits of your choice with some organic honey (plus maybe some crushed sea salt and spices like cinnamon) then bake it gently for 15-20 minutes then break it up. 

And loads of sugar too yeah? 

29 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Too late.

He drinks the coos milk.

At what age will he move on to cider?