*** official match thread - the Spartans v Heart Of Midlothian ***

Hampden Demolition

weegie jambo

Strongest team please and make sure Shankland starts thereby cup tieing him. We can bring on subs when we are comfortable.

• Replies 2k

• iantjambo

• Wee Mikey

• Hearts007

2 hours ago, Armageddon said:

Im not actually joking, the surrounding areas are like Beruit!!

You should be ok then. 

IMG_0800.jpeg

3 minutes ago, UchesPackage said:

shankland not in squad tomorrow, rumours hes ill

How is Peebles looking today?

Pans Jambo
47 minutes ago, Tazio said:

You should be ok then. 

IMG_0800.jpeg

Ainsley Park area's looking braw these days 👍

• davemclaren changed the title to *** official match thread - the Spartans v Heart Of Midlothian ***
1 minute ago, ShedBoy said:

Quite fancy Vargas to get 2 or 3 tomorrow. Hearts to win to nil. 👍🏻

Would love that.  I really think he just needs a wee confidence boost to kick on. That goal he scored against Livi was such an assured finish. I doubt he’d have had that confidence if he hadn’t scored against County in the previous game. Just needs belief. 

14 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Ainsley Park area's looking braw these days 👍

They’ve updated Granton Beach as well. You can’t quite see the Anchor Inn from this angle though. 

IMG_0802.jpeg

10 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Would love that.  I really think he just needs a wee confidence boost to kick on. That goal he scored against Livi was such an assured finish. I doubt he’d have had that confidence if he hadn’t scored against County in the previous game. Just needs belief. 

Agreed, I think if we play him in the ‘Ginelly’ role tomorrow he’ll have a field day. Comes across as a good lad who loves being here. I hope he stays

12 minutes ago, Tazio said:

They’ve updated Granton Beach as well. You can’t quite see the Anchor Inn from this angle though. 

IMG_0802.jpeg

If you zoom in you can just about see the police tape....

1 minute ago, ShedBoy said:

Agreed, I think if we play him in the ‘Ginelly’ role tomorrow he’ll have a field day. Comes across as a good lad who loves being here. I hope he stays

Just an opinion but if Naismith is still manager at the end of the season then Vargas is made permanent. 

Wee Mikey
3 hours ago, conn artist said:

All of them have been distributed/sold via season tickets holders, sponsors, youth teams, women’s teams, the foundation, shareholders etc. which equates to 2700.

And many, many of them being Jambos.

Cannae wait now.

A convincing win is on the cards.

Go hearts!!!

2 hours ago, UchesPackage said:

shankland not in squad tomorrow, rumours hes ill

He’s got Vlad flu apparently!

conn artist

Just been down to Ainslie Park to drop my son at training. Pitch is looking superb. New pellets, been dragged and some special salt suitable for the surface has been applied to prevent frosting apprantly. Place is a hive of activity with everything getting set up. 

12 minutes ago, Turkishcap said:

Are we staying overnight at the Commodore Hotel?🙃

I'm old enough to remember that place!

7 minutes ago, Armageddon said:

Can’t believe how much offence I’ve caused 😂

🤣 I’m certain the car parks at both Stew Mel and Broughton High will be open (if you don’t mind a walk)

Boris5115
53 minutes ago, conn artist said:

Just been down to Ainslie Park to drop my son at training. Pitch is looking superb. New pellets, been dragged and some special salt suitable for the surface has been applied to prevent frosting apprantly. Place is a hive of activity with everything getting set up. 

Robbos brother Chris is the Groundsman at Spartans. Good Jambo too. 

14 minutes ago, Boris5115 said:

Robbos brother Chris is the Groundsman at Spartans. Good Jambo too. 

My first Jambo favourite. Good striker in his day.

Pans Jambo
2 hours ago, Tazio said:

IMG_0802.jpeg

:laugh2: Lovely that

Shankland ill so possibly won’t feature

Boyce just started non contact training so a few weeks away 

Grant and Beni back but both won’t start 

Edited by PTBCAL

24 minutes ago, PTBCAL said:

22 minutes ago, PTBCAL said:

And one of our defenders rested on bench 

Based on this I will throw out a suggestion 

Gordon

Lembikisa

Kent

Halkett

Cochrane

Oda

Nieuwenhoff
Denholm

Forrest

Vargas

Tagawa

Then Kingsley would be the rested defender on the bench with Clark, Sibbick, Haring, Beni, Tait and Pollock

33 minutes ago, BigAlim said:

Based on this I will throw out a suggestion 

Gordon

Lembikisa

Kent

Halkett

Cochrane

Oda

Nieuwenhoff
Denholm

Forrest

Vargas

Tagawa

Then Kingsley would be the rested defender on the bench with Clark, Sibbick, Haring, Beni, Tait and Pollock

That team. But Beni for nieuwenhoff.

Beni should run rings around lower division teams.

Wee Mikey

Spartans 0 - 4 Hearts

never bet, but that's gonna be the score.

What's more, it'll be our B team players who do the biz.

I'm now buzzin' for this 🏆 tie.

3 hours ago, pettigrewsstylist said:

My first Jambo favourite. Good striker in his day.

I thought he was a goal scoring midfielder.

Wee Mikey

I'm hoping that Beni finds his shooting boots and surprises all of us leading to a chant of:-

🎶🎵🎶

"We love you Beni, we do;

We love you Beni, we do;

We love you Beni, we DO,

Oh, Beni, we love you."

🎶🎵🎶

33 minutes ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

nah definitely a forward 

never a prolific scorer though 

Edited by The White Cockade

Makes sense to rest Kingsley for this one. He's always picking up stupid wee niggles and strains. He's a straight replacement for Rowles and we'll need him for league duty so we don't have a repeat of the embarrassment last season. 

Naismith seems to want to play a 4231, so I suppose this gives him the chance to trial it.

Gordon

Dexter Halkett Kent Cochrane

Haring Denholm

Oda Tait Forrest

Vargas

Could maybe look at giving Vargas and Tagawa a half each at CF and see who looks more convincing there.

Keen to see Denholm and Tait clock up more minutes, and its a good chance to give Gordon his first game back too. 

7 hours ago, conn artist said:

Superb?  It’s ****ing plastic, that’s not possible!

conn artist
1 hour ago, Fozzyonthefence said:

Superb?  It’s ****ing plastic, that’s not possible!

I see it weekly. It’s clearly had work been done on it this week to bring it up to its best which wouldn’t get done for a typical league fixture. In terms of the type of pitch it’s looking the best it can be. 

Wee Mikey

***Weather Report***:-

Just been oot & aboot in the vicinity for a Saturday Gruiniad & Private Eye.

Currently wet and breezy, but mild.

A waterproof jacket is recommended, but my 5 layers, including full thermals, is probably a tad OTT. 😆

Very wet and windy down this neck of the woods at present.

Gorgierools
1 minute ago, gordiegords said:

Weather is howling the now

BBC saying it's going to calm down a bit by midday 

Just been passed on walkway full of activity down there the now floodlights on advertising boards switched on lorry loads of BBC trucks about and loads of Spartans volunteers getting stuff in Morrisons 

12 hours ago, PTBCAL said:

And one of our defenders rested on bench 

Vargas and Tagawa up front 

Grant in

Beni and Shanks dropping out

Back four with Halkett and Kingsley in the middle

Kent rested

Is my prediction

Gordon

Cochrane

Kingsley

Halkett

Lembikisa (sp)

Forrest

Grant

Denholm

Oda

Tagawa

Vargas

That is my prediction 

10 hours ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

Striker. He's talked about  in robbos book.

8 hours ago, OTT said:

Makes sense to rest Kingsley for this one. He's always picking up stupid wee niggles and strains. He's a straight replacement for Rowles and we'll need him for league duty so we don't have a repeat of the embarrassment last season. 

Naismith seems to want to play a 4231, so I suppose this gives him the chance to trial it.

Gordon

Dexter Halkett Kent Cochrane

Haring Denholm

Oda Tait Forrest

Vargas

Could maybe look at giving Vargas and Tagawa a half each at CF and see who looks more convincing there.

Keen to see Denholm and Tait clock up more minutes, and its a good chance to give Gordon his first game back too. 

That team could make the game interesting. 

Aberdeen played their strongest side and only won 2-0 v the worst league team in the country after a post was hit at 0-0.

We've not been playing well or dominate enough imo to be making too many changes.

Edited by Bazzas right boot

9 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

That team could make the game interesting. 

Aberdeen played their strongest side and only won 2-0 v the worst league team in the country after a post was hit at 0-0.

We've not been playing well or dominate enough imo to be making too many changes.

Exactly . Hope we don’t play a weakened team or we could end up humiliated. 

Play our strongest team , get a lead. Then bring on the subs