• Ulysses

• been here before

• spirt of 98

16 hours ago, been here before said:

Not originally. Jona Lewie wrote it as an 'everyman' anti war song about soldiers everywhere (originally the Crimea) and the record company picked up on the wishing to be at home for christmas line, added some bells and voila.

I'm not well today and was about to post about the bells (and the sentiment to be home for Christmas).

Then read your post and was wracking my brain to think where the viola solo came in. 

16 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Who cares ? It’s pish 

Says the man who slammed me for expressing an opinion on John & Yoko's tune in the Christmas Song thread. 

Some shite about that not having been the question???

2 minutes ago, spirt of 98 said:

This even a question seeing as it say something about being home for Christmas. You joking??

Is there any possibility that you could write this in English?

That would be most helpful, and would allow me to understand your post and subsequently answer it appropriately.

Thanks.  :thumb:

17 hours ago, Sooperstar said:

It's an anti-war song about a soldier who wants to be home for Christmas, where the accompanying video shows snowy scenes and images of a living room with Christmas tree and decorations up. It also includes a brass band and other Christmas like music.

It's not even a debate. 

oh yes it is

Monty Python's “Argument Clinic” as an Allegory for Social Media | by Ben  Fathi | Medium

28 minutes ago, spirt of 98 said:

This even a question seeing as it say something about being home for Christmas. You joking??

Theres also something in it about Churchill saying we're doing splendidly but its not about Churchills running of the war is it?

Theres also something about Mary Bradley waiting in her nuclear fall out zone but its not about the cold war...

Of course it is.  I think artists kid themselves on sometimes and when asked want to portray their song as having a profound meaning no one noticed.  

It’s got a Christmas vibe and melody about it and lyrics. It’s about longing to be back home for Christmas.  

🎅 🎁 

5 minutes ago, Der Kaiser said:

It's the BEST Christmas song!!!!!

Close thread. No discussion needed.

Actually quite angry now......

It is the best one for sure.

There is someone on here who has it as a tradition involvong dancing around the living room with their son, whilst doing trumpet impersonations. Thinking now it might be you? 

19 hours ago, Ulysses said:

Won't you stay another day? :girl_hug:

You, on the other hand, can shag off. 🖕

:lol::lol::lol:

As for the song itself, one of the best Christmas songs out there

1 hour ago, Better call Saul said:

Answer me this why is East 17s stay another day a bloody Xmas song ? 

The song is actually about the brother of one of the band members committing suicide and how much he wanted to have one last day with his brother. 

Pretty tragic really. 

They added some bells etc as it was released at Christmas to make it more appealing. 

Great song. 

48 minutes ago, PaddysBar said:

The song is actually about the brother of one of the band members committing suicide and how much he wanted to have one last day with his brother. 

Pretty tragic really. 

They added some bells etc as it was released at Christmas to make it more appealing. 

Great song. 

It's also on my "less than entirely shite" Christmas playlist.

4 hours ago, Morgan said:

Is there any possibility that you could write this in English?

That would be most helpful, and would allow me to understand your post and subsequently answer it appropriately.

Thanks.  :thumb:

You must be fun at parties. Aw wait you’re a fud. 

Typed on my phone with fat fingers but if you get your kicks picking up people on this forum you fill you boots saddo. 

51 minutes ago, spirt of 98 said:

Typed on my phone with fat fingers but if you get your kicks picking up people on this forum you fill you boots saddo. 

1 hour ago, spirt of 98 said:

Your phone has fat fingers?

1 hour ago, spirt of 98 said:

What, pray, is a ‘boots saddo’?  🤷🏿‍♂️

4 hours ago, Sooperstar said:

It is the best one for sure.

There is someone on here who has it as a tradition involvong dancing around the living room with their son, whilst doing trumpet impersonations. Thinking now it might be you? 

20220531_154631.gif.15a13c69b1275ccc3eb188e682063d75.gif

Did it this year.

The big yin is 16 and surprisingly still agrees. I've told him the dream is to be doing this with grandkids in tow years from now......

4 hours ago, Der Kaiser said:

Phil Spector has just been on the phone*. Not happy, not happy at all.

It is the best Christmas song since then though.

*from the dead.

For me yes. Not my favourite but I only hear it at Christmas so it’s a Christmas song for me.

A space man came travelling would be my personal favourite! 

4 minutes ago, King prawn said:

For me yes. Not my favourite but I only hear it at Christmas so it’s a Christmas song for me.

A space man came travelling would be my personal favourite! 

Despite being a committed atheist, two of my favourite Christmas songs are both songs of faith. 

Later.  🎵

On 20/12/2023 at 08:36, been here before said:

Not originally. Jona Lewie wrote it as an 'everyman' anti war song about soldiers everywhere (originally the Crimea) and the record company picked up on the wishing to be at home for christmas line, added some bells and voila.

Probably one of the least heard of the usual christmas standards.

He still picks up a few bob in royalties.

Jona, (not his real name), is also known as Terry Dactyl and the Dinasaurs. Remember seaside shuffle back in the 70s...?

4 hours ago, Ulysses said:

It's also on my "less than entirely shite" Christmas playlist.

To be honest, it’s such a sad situation, especially at this time of year, it gets me every time, ‘oh don’t leave me alone like this, don’t say it’s the final kiss…’ 😭 

But I’ll post a more positive Christmas message in a minute and in my opinion the best  Christmas song (apart from white Christmas). 

2 hours ago, Costanza said:

Phil Spector has just been on the phone*. Not happy, not happy at all.

It is the best Christmas song since then though.

*from the dead.

I have no brother.....

8 hours ago, Der Kaiser said:

20220531_154631.gif.15a13c69b1275ccc3eb188e682063d75.gif

Did it this year.

The big yin is 16 and surprisingly still agrees. I've told him the dream is to be doing this with grandkids in tow years from now......

If he's still doing it at 16 then you're good for life now I reckon. 

11 hours ago, PaddysBar said:

Pretty tragic really. 

Great song. 

Beat out Mariah Carey for the Christmas number one that year as well

14 hours ago, Der Kaiser said:

Is it your good self, that marches around the room with his kids when it’s playing? 

Yes, it’s most definitely a Christmas song. One of the best as well.

1 hour ago, iantjambo said:

Is it your good self, that marches around the room with his kids when it’s playing? 

Got a feeling you're onto something there, Ian. 

2 hours ago, iantjambo said:

We all do. We swap the leader during the song and you have to follow regardless so you often try to go over beds and behind sofas to make it difficult. 

12 hours ago, Ulysses said:

You can still GTF, though.  :laugh: 

We need a dedicated 'Morgan GTF' thread, imo.

12 hours ago, Ulysses said:

Despite being a committed atheist, two of my favourite Christmas songs are both songs of faith. 

I'm a committed atheist anaw, but I like to dip my toes into a bit of faith around Christmas time ( :oohmatron:). 

I think it's the 'peace on Earth and goodwill to all mankind' message that resonates, tbh, and for the individual at least, how the birth of a child can change absolutely everything that matters.

Anyway, Christmas song, 'ave it.

3 hours ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

We need a dedicated 'Morgan GTF' thread, imo.

:sadrobbo:

To be honest, it’s been said that many times we could just merge them too.

Sorry guys, I'm concerned you may be missing my point.  I don't want Morgan to GTF.  I want Morgan to feel bad for enabling a shadow of uncertainty to be cast over the status of Stop The Cavalry as an iconic Christmas song.

But realistically, "you can just feel bad for enabling a shadow of uncertainty to be cast over the status of Stop The Cavalry as an iconic Christmas song" is not as pithy a slogan as "you can just GTF".

:ninja:

2 hours ago, Morgan said:

Although it's been said

many times, many ways

you can just :runaway:

16 minutes ago, Ulysses said:

Sorry guys, I'm concerned you may be missing my point.  I don't want Morgan to GTF.  I want Morgan to feel bad for enabling a shadow of uncertainty to be cast over the status of Stop The Cavalry as an iconic Christmas song.

But realistically, "you can just feel bad for enabling a shadow of uncertainty to be cast over the status of Stop The Cavalry as an iconic Christmas song" is not as pithy a slogan as "you can just GTF".

:ninja:

Phew!

15 minutes ago, Ulysses said:

Although it's been said

many times, many ways

you can just :runaway:

You giveth with one hand and take away with the other..

19 hours ago, been here before said:

Your phone has fat fingers?

Ooo a wee double act. Not sure which one is the biggest saddo you or that walloper Morgan. 

2 hours ago, Morgan said:

Don’t waste a thread on that wee virgin.