Frontal temporal dementia

JudyJudyJudy

I had never heard of this type of dementia before . Sadly it can affect any age . The young woman in the video is documenting her mothers experience of it and it’s very moving . her mother is only 60 .  Luckily never known anyone in my family to have this or any types of dementia but one of my mates mother has dementia and he’s under a lot of stress managing it and her . It must be very difficult . It’s such a cruel disease 

https://vm.tiktok.com/ZGeevtQgX/

IMG_6467.jpeg

1 minute ago, vegas-voss said:

Bruce Willis suffers from this 

I didn’t know it was that type of dementia . 🙏

My dad died of this during lockdown.  Wasn't diagnosed for nearly 10 years but you could tell something changed.  It robbed our kids of their granddad and the world of a simple kind man.

It's also one of the reasons I'm now a student nurse aged 48 and a bit as caring for him at end of life during COVID was the hardest yet most rewarding thing I've ever done.  

Typically people with FTL dementia go one of two ways - either they go sleepy or their character completely changes and they lose all inhibitions and can become violent - I'm not religious but thank god my old man just went sleepy - not sure we would have coped with anything else.

Btw 1 in 3 of us will end up with dementia and there's almost no support available to help... There's 1 admiral nurse (like Macmillan nurses but for dementia) for whole of Scotland.  Sounds cràp but it's almost better getting cancer as the support for that is so much better. 

Here to talk if anyone needs it.   

1 hour ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

. Very emotional stuff here . 

https://vm.tiktok.com/ZGeecYAS6/

IMG_6469.jpeg

And that's brought back so many memories.  With dementia you grieve whilst they're still here...    

Hug your family tonight for no-one knows what tomorrow brings.  

4 minutes ago, cannonfoda said: