7 in a row and counting

Silvery_Moon

It's so important though when we have momentum to keep hammering it home against them.

1st January 1998. We were on a 7 game unbeaten run against them (5 wins and 2 draws) and going for the league whilst they battled relegation. We were 2-0 up and let it slip and they got away with a 2-2. The unbeaten run went to 8 games but they beat us in the next game and would go on to have the best spell of form against us (we had just 1 win in 12) in my time supporting Hearts.

I'm not saying that is going to happen this time but they got a boost that day just as they did in the 2016 Cup game. Hearts must not allow that to happen this time.

Edited by Silvery_Moon

• Replies 162

• martoon

• Tom Hardy’s Dug

• Silvery_Moon

29 minutes ago, Silvery_Moon said:

It's so important though when we have momentum to keep hammering it home against them.

1st January 1998. We were on a 7 game unbeaten run against them (5 wins and 2 draws) and going for the league whilst they battled relegation. We were 2-0 up and let it slip and they got away with a 2-2. The unbeaten run went to 8 games but they beat us in the next game and would go on to have the best spell of form against us (we had just 1 win in 12) in my time supporting Hearts.

I'm not saying that is going to happen this time but they got a boost that day just as they did in the 2016 Cup game. Hearts must not allow that to happen this time.

Sorry to ruin the party but we aren’t going for the league this year.

Without any argument at all (that makes any sense) that 2-2 game was a far far worse result than today.

36 minutes ago, Silvery_Moon said:

Did they not go down that season?

Not seeing the boost Tbh, it was just a poor result against a poor team. 

It will happen. 

We won't win every game. 

Dundee beat us at home last season, it was a pump result but they still went down. 

Until we ate more clinical we'll draw games that we could have won. 

Midfield is still my issue. 

Edited by Bazzas right boot

Mind 1986?

We lost 6-2 to St Mirren. Couldn’t score enough goals against Clydebank (twice) and failed to beat Dundee twice. 

Lost us the league.

DoddieOot!

3 hours ago, davemclaren said:

Yip, we’re the only team in the league not too have completed our squad yet. 🥸

How do you know mate?

58 minutes ago, Tom Hardy’s Dug said:

Mind 1986?

We lost 6-2 to St Mirren. Couldn’t score enough goals against Clydebank (twice) and failed to beat Dundee twice. 

Lost us the league.

DoddieOot!

Nae cups, serial loser. 

Shite manager. 

Taken 2 attempts for promotion and couldn't even win the diddie league either-the one with plumber's in it. 

Had players like Robbo, jc, Smith, McKay amongst others  at his disposal. 

Imagine if jkb has been about back then. 

😭😭😭😭

Since the match thread has been stunk out by someone who is clearly unwell, one piece of shite being thrown about there is the lack of wins at Fester Road. Just worth pointing out that in this 7 game window, we can thank the blessed Daniel for his one contribution in starting this run.

1 win and 2 draws at the vermin

1 win and 1 draw at Tynecastle

2 wins at Hampden

We will learn from this and we now know that Boyle is their only real threat. Track his runs better and shooting practice all week before the next derby should see us win the next derby and the one after that. It takes 90 plus minutes of concentration to win, we only did it for 90 today without the plus.

4 hours ago, JALBO said:

Disappointing of course, as it should have been a win - but the story so far in the 2020s;

Hearts 4 wins
Hibs 0 wins
Draw 3

Add in the 2010s and it's even worse. 

4 minutes ago, indianajones said:

Try going back to the 80s....

1980s
Hearts 11
Hibs 3
Draw 12

1990s
Hearts 18
Hibs 6
Draw 13

2000s
Hearts 14
Hibs 11
Draw 13

2010s
Hearts 17
Hibs 10
Draw 11

2020s
Hearts 4
Hibs 0
Draw 3

Naisys Tackle
12 minutes ago, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

We will learn from this and we now know that Boyle is their only real threat. Track his runs better and shooting practice all week before the next derby should see us win the next derby and the one after that. It takes 90 plus minutes of concentration to win, we only did it for 90 today without the plus.

Aye because that wasnt evident by absolutely everyone on this forum before. :lol: 

Smoked-Glass

Clutching.  Let's wait till it's a big number before we talk about this.  Today was a disgrace for heart of Midlothian football club.  

30 minutes ago, Smoked-Glass said:

Clutching.  Let's wait till it's a big number before we talk about this.  Today was a disgrace for heart of Midlothian football club.  

3 hours ago, JALBO said:

1980s
Hearts 11
Hibs 3
Draw 12

1990s
Hearts 18
Hibs 6
Draw 13

2000s
Hearts 14
Hibs 11
Draw 13

2010s
Hearts 17
Hibs 10
Draw 11

2020s
Hearts 4
Hibs 0
Draw 3

Reads well, nice to be reminded

13 hours ago, Silvery_Moon said:

Don't recall any last gasp equalisers for them during 17 or 22 though. They were there for the taking today and we blew it.

There was only one I can think of. Game 8 of the 17 we were 2-0 up with 5 minutes to go and Joe McBride scored twice. 
Yesterday was a kick in the staines but it was an equaliser and got over it after a few jars. Garry O’Connor’s last minute goal that was chucked in by Tepi Moilanen hurt more. 

9 hours ago, JALBO said:

1980s
Hearts 11
Hibs 3
Draw 12

1990s
Hearts 18
Hibs 6
Draw 13

2000s
Hearts 14
Hibs 11
Draw 13

2010s
Hearts 17
Hibs 10
Draw 11

2020s
Hearts 4
Hibs 0
Draw 3

But they dominated the 2010s. 😂

10 hours ago, indianajones said:

But that’s the decade of dominance!

Isn’t it?

Oh…

10 hours ago, JALBO said:

1980s
Hearts 11
Hibs 3
Draw 12

1990s
Hearts 18
Hibs 6
Draw 13

2000s
Hearts 14
Hibs 11
Draw 13

2010s
Hearts 17
Hibs 10
Draw 11

2020s
Hearts 4
Hibs 0
Draw 3

You can understand looking at those numbers why they might feel the need for a pitch invasion after an injury time equaliser.

jambo_4_eva
4 minutes ago, Ked said:

You can understand looking at those numbers why they might feel the need for a pitch invasion after an injury time equaliser.

Even from 2002- 2011 man city managed 9 wins v the good man utd teams with fergie in charge. Its a derby there meant to be hard to win. Tbf I think the last 2 derbies they semi turned up.

My own opinion is there fans gave the players wee bit extra motivation Yesterday. The wee plastic flag things and unveiling boyle fired them up. They still never won though. noticed last season in a draw game at easter round they had fireworks. Must be ron the con thing to fire them up. Maybe we should do something similar at tynecastle next time. Most important thing is we win the next one. 

Their derby record is honking and they know it. Even when they think they have had the upper hand the stats don't back it up. They managed to get to 9 games with about 5 draws in that period. I'll be surprised if they beat us this season, on the evidence of yesterday they aren't up to much. They have a couple of decent players and a decent keeper for a change, however the big Rocky at the back is an accident waiting to happen. I'm hoping he plays again at Tynie in January as going by his last performance there he is bambi on ice. Hopefully we put together another long run and get into the mid teens at least. 

15 hours ago, Silvery_Moon said:

During the 17 in a row in game 8, they scored twice in the last 5 minutes to come from  2 down in a game we should have won about 5 nil.

They used the momentum from that to win 3 of the next 35 derbies

11 hours ago, JALBO said:

1980s
Hearts 11
Hibs 3
Draw 12

1990s
Hearts 18
Hibs 6
Draw 13

2000s
Hearts 14
Hibs 11
Draw 13

2010s
Hearts 17
Hibs 10
Draw 11

2020s
Hearts 4
Hibs 0
Draw 3

Their modern glory time was when they only lost 3 less than us. 😂😂😂😂😂

6 minutes ago, Diego10 said:

During the 17 in a row in game 8, they scored twice in the last 5 minutes to come from  2 down in a game we should have won about 5 nil.

😂😂👍

11 hours ago, JALBO said:

1980s
Hearts 11
Hibs 3
Draw 12

1990s
Hearts 18
Hibs 6
Draw 13

2000s
Hearts 14
Hibs 11
Draw 13

2010s
Hearts 17
Hibs 10
Draw 11

2020s
Hearts 4
Hibs 0
Draw 3

8 hours ago, edramone said:

Reads well, nice to be reminded

2 hours ago, Shaggy2 said:

But they dominated the 2010s. 😂

1 hour ago, boag1874 said:

But that’s the decade of dominance!

Isn’t it?

Oh…

1 hour ago, Ked said:

Since the 1980's we have won more than double the derbies Hibs have. 

64 vs 30.

15 hours ago, Tom Hardy’s Dug said:

Of course - totally agree. It was a sore one. And we could have defended so much better in that last 30 seconds and I don’t know why we didn’t.

Perhaps because the players are human and make mistakes. 

Silvery_Moon
31 minutes ago, Diego10 said:

That's good. Here's to the same again  happening.

michael_bolton
17 hours ago, Led Tasso said:

During the 22 in a row, we only got 5 wins at ER. Wins at home and draws away are part of the natural order. They had to forgo millions and get their only dangerous player of the past 3 seasons back and even then it took a last minute equalizer to avoid us strolling out of there with three points.

FTH.

EDIT: Oops, should be six. Missed a SC result. Anyway, same basic idea.

We won 6/11 at Easter Road during 22 in a row.

That's not 'only', that's tremendous.

15 hours ago, Silvery_Moon said:

Spot on, I was talking about this yesterday when someone asked me if Andy Walker played for Hibs, still annoys me. They were also happy after the semi because they were going to get a doing. 

AC Mallin_51

Quite ironic that after whipping out that natural order flag they haven’t beaten us again at Easter Road. No wins this decade, another 2 defeats at Hampden. Yesterday was a sore one but it’ll soon sink in to them that a draw is nothing for them to be happy with either 

9 minutes ago, AC Mallin_51 said:

Quite ironic that after whipping out that natural order flag they haven’t beaten us again at Easter Road. No wins this decade, another 2 defeats at Hampden. Yesterday was a sore one but it’ll soon sink in to them that a draw is nothing for them to be happy with either 

Just puts them even further behind in the stats ………. after a Hearts victory a draw is the most likely out come of a derby 

13 hours ago, Smoked-Glass said:

:vrwow:

1 hour ago, Sooks said:

Just puts them even further behind in the stats ………. after a Hearts victory a draw is the most likely out come of a derby 

Hibs are getting close to being third in a two horse race at Easter Road. 

164 competitive derbies down there:

Hearts 64

Hibs 51

Draws 49

11 minutes ago, martoon said:

Hearts 64

Hibs 51

Draws 49

That is even better ……….. make this a thing please Hearts 😄 

23 minutes ago, martoon said:

Hearts 64

Hibs 51

Draws 49

😂😂😂

3 hours ago, michael_bolton said:

We won 6/11 at Easter Road during 22 in a row.

That's not 'only', that's tremendous.

Correct. So folk who are "raging" any time we "only" manage a draw at ER will spend a lot of time being angry during our best periods of dominance against Hibs. And if that's how they want to be, fine, but the implication that it's a loser mentality to not throw the toys out the pram whenever we don't manage a win at ER if frustrating. Of course it was disappointing to lose two points like that, but that's football.

Smoked-Glass

Doesn't really matter.  Going unbeaten is only good when WE are the ones getting last min equaliser n stuff like that.  Not the other way around.

Yesterday's end to the game was a disgrace to hmfc

1 minute ago, Smoked-Glass said:

Doesn't really matter.  Going unbeaten is only good when WE are the ones getting last min equaliser n stuff like that.  Not the other way around.

You might get the attention you are after. 

Keep going. 

20 minutes ago, Sooks said:

That is even better ……….. make this a thing please Hearts 😄 

8 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

😂😂😂

We've avoided defeat in 113 of our 164 visits.

An amazing stat.

4 minutes ago, martoon said:

We've avoided defeat in 113 of our 164 visits.

An amazing stat.

You got the Tynecastle record on hand? 

9 minutes ago, Smoked-Glass said:

It means plenty and of course it counts for goodness sakes :rofl:

22 hours ago, Salad Fingers said:

Indeed. Let them celebrate their draw. Masks the fact that they are utter dugshite. 

DVD in the pipeline.

298209075_356590933339960_3495344319586612653_n.jpg

Smoked-Glass

Neilson's tactics almost cost us extra time in the semi...v 10 men.

Should be attacking a weak team like hibs..bomb scare at the back

27 minutes ago, Smoked-Glass said:

Neilson's tactics almost cost us extra time in the semi...v 10 men.

Should be attacking a weak team like hibs..bomb scare at the back

This is a thread about the fact that Hibs haven’t beaten us since 2019, take your pish elsewhere & stop stinking the place out with your humming takes

3 hours ago, Smoked-Glass said:

I'm sorry, but it just wasn't. Hugely annoying and disappointing, but a disgrace? Have a word.