The Eurovision Song Contest 2022

FWJ

3 hours ago, dtgj said:

Ukraine not hosting next year. The UK as runner up have been asked to host: 

https://eurovision.tv/mediacentre/release/ebu-statement-2023-eurovision-hosting 

Could host it at Edinburgh Castle. Let's hope it's not in Glasgow as that place is a shitehole and an embarrassment to Scotland and UK.

• Replies 670

• Ulysses

• FWJ

• Cade

• JudyJudyJudy

2 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Could host it at Edinburgh Castle. Let's hope it's not in Glasgow as that place is a shitehole and an embarrassment to Scotland and UK.

Quelle surprise Elsie has called on bbc to hold it in her beloved Weeg and not Scotlands capital city which she evidently has no time for 

11 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Quelle surprise Elsie has called on bbc to hold it in her beloved Weeg and not Scotlands capital city which she evidently has no time for 

There is literally a whole area at Pacific Quay that is suitable for a concert this size and the broadcasting infrastructure already in place. 

Did you even think before posting or was it just another excuse to troll/bash Sturgeon ? 

Ach If only Edinburgh had the infrastructure to hold the biggest arts festival in the world we might have  managed a wee Eurovision 

19 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Ach If only Edinburgh had the infrastructure to hold the biggest arts festival in the world we might have  managed a wee Eurovision 

That's a belter... hunners of wee venues so we can cope. It's not the coping that's the problem, it's the lack of a large scale venue like the Hydro that makes it a non starter. 

Edited by Mysterion

46 minutes ago, Mysterion said:

That's a belter... hunners of wee venues so we can cope. It's not the coping that's the problem, it's the lack of a large scale venue like the Hydro that makes it a non starter. 

Edinburgh castle is spectacular venue to hold this in. Would provide a great backdrop for Scotland to be seen.

If you have it in Hydro, then may as well have in London, Manchester, Birmingham, Cardiff or anywhere else in UK that have the exact same copycat type of venue and don't resemble a warzone.

3 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Edinburgh castle is spectacular venue to hold this in. Would provide a great backdrop for Scotland to be seen.

If you have it in Hydro, then may as well have in London, Manchester, Birmingham, Cardiff or anywhere else in UK that have the exact same copycat type of venue and don't resemble a warzone.

Correct... however you'd have to put a roof over the esplanade.

It's a non starter. Eurovision is all about a glossy music show in an arena, not an outdoor event prone to the elements or a tent at Ingliston.

5 minutes ago, Mysterion said:

It's a non starter. Eurovision is all about a glossy music show in an arena, not an outdoor event prone to the elements or a tent at Ingliston.

Imagine daring to do something different. That just won't do. Well in that case, anywhere but the shit hole that is Glasgow. 

It is after all a UK event and no reason why a city that desperately doesn't want to be in UK should hold it.

It'll never be in Glasgow, if the UK hosts it, it will be Manchester or Liverpool.  You know how these things go, Scotland is an afterthought, and that's if we're lucky. 

On 17/06/2022 at 21:42, tian447 said:

It'll never be in Glasgow, if the UK hosts it, it will be Manchester or Liverpool.  You know how these things go, Scotland is an afterthought, and that's if we're lucky. 

Good, there are plenty of places in UK that can hold this event, instead of defaulting to Glasgow. Stirling, Aberdeen, Inverness, Edinburgh, Dunfermline could all be put forward to represent Scotland, but as usual, the Glasgow mafia and it's acolytes feel usurped if they aren't automatic first choice.

Personally, let England hold it as it is shit anyway.

On 17/06/2022 at 21:42, tian447 said:

Edinburgh was the first place in the U.K. outwith London to host it.

Graham Norton and Nigella please. She was great in ‘15 - all the languages and trolling the Brexiteers with her dress/brooch combo.

Does Edinburgh even have an indoor venue large enough to host Eurovision? It's usually in venues that have somewhere between 10,000 and 20,000 seats, but I can't think of anywhere remotely suitable. 

Could pop a temporary roof over Easter Road, plenty of empty seats there every week, sure they wouldn't have any difficulty fitting people in.  They could even have Hibs playing as a comedy warm up act... 

The host venue must be able to accommodate at least 10,000 spectators, a press centre for 1,500 journalists, should be within easy reach of an international airport and with hotel accommodation available for at least 2,000 delegates, journalists and spectators.

The Hydro in the weeg is the only venue in Scotland that meets the criteria.

51 minutes ago, Cade said:

The host venue must be able to accommodate at least 10,000 spectators, a press centre for 1,500 journalists, should be within easy reach of an international airport and with hotel accommodation available for at least 2,000 delegates, journalists and spectators.

The Hydro in the weeg is the only venue in Scotland that meets the criteria.

It is also an enormous technical feat putting it on. I read the technical specs for it a couple of years ago and to someone who works in that side of things it was utterly mind boggling. So it needs to be a venue with easy access for major transport logistics. 

2 hours ago, tian447 said:

Does Edinburgh even have an indoor venue large enough to host Eurovision? It's usually in venues that have somewhere between 10,000 and 20,000 seats, but I can't think of anywhere remotely suitable. 

Could pop a temporary roof over Easter Road, plenty of empty seats there every week, sure they wouldn't have any difficulty fitting people in.  They could even have Hibs playing as a comedy warm up act... 

Not now.

It was in the Usher Hall (1972)

Vicky Leandros won with ‘Apres Toi’.  The U.K. was represented by The New Seekers with ‘Beg, Steal or Borrow’.  They came ……  second.

51 minutes ago, Tazio said:

It is also an enormous technical feat putting it on. I read the technical specs for it a couple of years ago and to someone who works in that side of things it was utterly mind boggling. So it needs to be a venue with easy access for major transport logistics. 

I reckon it’s a toss-up between Glasgow & Manchester.

9 minutes ago, Tazio said:

The NEC in Birmingham could be a good shout. 

I wonder though - it was in Birmingham the last time (though that will have been 25 years previously) and they’re about to host the Commonwealth Games, so they might try to spread the love a bit.

Maybe the soi disant  ‘city of music’ Liverpool might have a go?

Jambo-Jimbo

I'd think the organisers would want as much Ukrainian input as possible, maybe even Ukrainian presenters, maybe joint Ukrainian/UK presenters, after all it's still going to be Ukraine's show, just that it's being held in the UK, for obvious reasons.

On 17/06/2022 at 16:45, Mysterion said:

Eurovision is all about a political music event that doesn't see the best band win.

It's shite.

However Edinburgh is sadly lacking the infrastructure of Glasgow.

It’s probably the least interesting news item today . Some of  My friends will no doubt be in ecstasy  if it comes to Scotland . It’s been described as “ the gay World Cup “ ! I much prefer the Oscar’s 

4 hours ago, Ked said:

Eurovision is all about a political music event that doesn't see the best band win.

It's shite.

However Edinburgh is sadly lacking the infrastructure of Glasgow.

Edinburgh council is run by egotistical tossers who care more about tourism than those living here.

• 3 weeks later...

Shortlist of cities for 2023 announced this morning - Liverpool, Leeds, Sheffield, Newcastle, Manchester, Birmingham and the obvious winner, Glasgow.

Maybe I should have started a Eurovision Song Contest 2023 thread? 

On 26/07/2022 at 00:22, frankblack said:

Edinburgh council is run by egotistical tossers who care more about tourism than those living here.

Hmmmmm…..

I wonder how many of the ‘tourist’ numbers in Glasgow are actually people from Aberdeen / Inverness / Dumfries etc staying the night because they’re going to something at the Hydro?

Edinburgh is already awash with tourists - a big arena would mean more visitors and more hotels to accommodate them.  Would that be popular?

(This isn’t to say Edinburgh shouldn’t have a >10k venue - it’s absurd it doesn’t - but it’s all stuff to think about)

40 minutes ago, FWJ said:

Hmmmmm…..

I wonder how many of the ‘tourist’ numbers in Glasgow are actually people from Aberdeen / Inverness / Dumfries etc staying the night because they’re going to something at the Hydro?

Edinburgh is already awash with tourists - a big arena would mean more visitors and more hotels to accommodate them.  Would that be popular?

(This isn’t to say Edinburgh shouldn’t have a >10k venue - it’s absurd it doesn’t - but it’s all stuff to think about)

Yes, it would be popular because it would be inclusive and provide a much needed facility for residents.

All we get are the odd stadium gig at Murrayfield or a scattering of outdoor gigs in July/August at the castle or the bandstand.

When its cold and miserable we need a venue for large indoor events.

58 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Yes, it would be popular because it would be inclusive and provide a much needed facility for residents.

All we get are the odd stadium gig at Murrayfield or a scattering of outdoor gigs in July/August at the castle or the bandstand.

When its cold and miserable we need a venue for large indoor events.

I agree, it’s crazy Edinburgh doesn’t - especially when Aberdeen can sustain an arena.

But you can bet your boots that there are plenty would moan about the additional visitors and associated facilities required.

22 minutes ago, FWJ said:

I agree, it’s crazy Edinburgh doesn’t - especially when Aberdeen can sustain an arena.

But you can bet your boots that there are plenty would moan about the additional visitors and associated facilities required.

The crazy thing is (never mibd arenas) they allowed the Picture House which held 1500 to be butchered and want to build a 1000 capacity opera house.

:wtf:

Birmingham would be the best choice. Carry on from the CGs. Glasgow/Edinburgh or another will hold it soon enough, when Scotland is independent. :thumb:

The castle capacity is 8k isn't it so ruled out...but wow what a venue if a week of no rain in May.

Time for Tynecastle to step up to the mark in 20 years time.

Edited by DETTY29

@frankblack @FWJ

Seriously, where could we put a 10k indoor venue on Edinburgh?

Imo, you need to use that Castle, Calton Hill, Arthur's Seat backdrop....somehow.

Edited by DETTY29

4 hours ago, DETTY29 said:

@frankblack @FWJ

Imo, you need to use that Castle, Calton Hill, Arthur's Seat backdrop....somehow.

Anywhere outside the city like Ingliston.

That is exactly what other cities do.

Piece of piss.

8 hours ago, DETTY29 said:

@frankblack @FWJ

Put a temp roof on Tynecastle or Murrayfield.

On 27/09/2022 at 21:47, Cade said:

2023 narrowed down to either Liverpool or Glasgow as host city.

Getting announced shortly on BBC 1

Like the Commonwealth Games, I was sure that, after being in Edinburgh the provincial cities would get their turn.  Not to be though.  Better luck next time Glasgow.

A good decision. Liverpool produced Beatles, Glasgow produced Gerry Cinnamon.

Suck it up Glasgow, Eurovision deserves more than your shithole of a city can offer.

1 minute ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

A good decision. Liverpool produced Beatles, Glasgow produced Gerry Cinnamon.

Suck it up Glasgow, Eurovision deserves more than your shithole of a city can offer.

A real city you mean.