***Official Heart of Midlothian v Celtic Match Thread***

Beni with a cracking debut , that run down the wing where they just couldnt get him off the ball was it for me

• Replies 2.1k

• milky_26

• sadj

• Cruyff

Fantastic start to the season. Didn't think we played particularly well but equally you can't say the victory flattered us either.  

1 minute ago, Special Agent Dale Cooper said:

We were awful. Don't care. Happy Days!!!!!

We were excellent until we scored, and for the last 20. A better team would've pummeled us in the intervening period. Thankfully Celtic are shite, and our genius manager recognised this. 

ford donald
2 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Never in doubt. Neilson once again starting the season with a massive win. Why is anyone even surprised?

Beni looks a fantastic signing - MoM. Credit to everyone.

Craig gets the last laugh again!

Fantastic result,Beni looks like a real quality player,plays like he knows the game inside out,best signing by a distance, apart from CG of course.

best in the land
4 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

To be fair brining Haring on changed the game into our favour again.

Should've been done at half time imo

I see, according to the BBC, that we just inflicted Celtic's first opening day defeat in 24 years. Icing on the cake.

Batistuta87

Craig Gordon: 14

Michael Smith: 7

Stephen Kingsley: 7

Craig Halkett: 7

John Souttar: 11

Alex Cochrane: 8

Andy Halliday: 8

Beni Baningime: 9

GMS: 8

Josh Ginnelly: 8

Liam Boyce: 8 

2 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Rank rotten with about £12m in new signings in the team.

Looks like Levein isn't the only one who can spunk millions on shite. Credit to Anje for doing it in such a short period. 

1 minute ago, ToqueJambo said:

Indeed. Right starting line-up. Brave pitching the new signing in. Slight lull in the middle for 70 minutes or so then the right subs change the game.

I wasn't being entirely serious.....but we got a result. WiP

Special Agent Dale Cooper
Just now, Governor Tarkin said:

We were excellent until we scored, and for the last 20. A better team would've pummeled us in the intervening period. Thankfully Celtic are shite, and our genius manager recognised this. 

Absolutely.

Haring turned the game. 

I am in shock, things were looking dire for long periods, the only ray of hope though was when we did pressure them on the odd occasion they weren't dealing with it well, I think they ran out of gas and ideas and we scored the winner off a nice set piece, I am so happy!

Just now, ToqueJambo said:

Indeed. Right starting line-up. Brave pitching the new signing in. Slight lull in the middle for 70 minutes or so then the right subs change the game.

Don't care how we do it though, there is never a bad way to beat that lot. Shades of the 2012 Semi final 👍🏻

look at souttars goal, just before the ball is played in he nudges starfelt to get the space and then places it in the net. starfelt should have been stronger and he looks absolutely popescuesq

1 minute ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Imagine not been able to fully enjoy a win against Celtic.🤔

3 minutes ago, Deevers said:

The serial moaners and cabbage plants will be noticeable by their absence tonight.

Aye, the oot brigade will be seething tonight. 

Just now, redjambo said:

I see, according to the BBC, that we just inflicted Celtic's first opening day defeat in 24 years. Icing on the cake.

Must have been to hibs? Chic charnley goal. 

2 minutes ago, Riccarton3 said:

Extended highlights or whole game?

Highlights 

Just now, Batistuta87 said:

Bit tight mate. 

Just now, Batistuta87 said:

Is that how many touches each player had in 90 minutes cause that's what it felt like lol

Just now, redjambo said:

Must have been to hibs? Chic charnley goal. 

Just now, Governor Tarkin said:

Looks like Levein isn't the only one who can spunk millions on shite. Credit to Anje for doing it in such a short period. 

I would strongly criticise their substitutions. The Japanese lad helped hand us the initiative. 

Excellent subs. Haring pushed us forward, Gnado scared the shit out of the Celtic defenders just by his prescence.

I'm away to get pissed. How long will Celtics new manager last, before the greatest fans in the world turn on him? 

Onwards and upwards HHGH.

Japan Jambo
1 minute ago, Jeff said:

5000 fans outstanding!

yup what a noise, what a difference it makes to the whole experience 

6 minutes ago, Special Agent Dale Cooper said:

We were awful. Don't care. Happy Days!!!!!

Cracking  for 7mins , crap for 70mins good for 13mins , mental for 4mins

Edited by sadj

Was disappointed with the Lions but right now, a toss about them I could not give.

If 8 had the choice of Hearts beating Celtic or ending child poverty, child poverty would win.

Just!! 😂😂

I’m eating humble pie. I doubted we had the personal but I was proved wrong. 

image.gif.35536dc1d5ecc7e4b40584033204e28c.gif

Glamorgan Jambo

Loved Finlay Pollock’s celebrations on the sidelines when Souttar scored. Great result and some good spells. Also some worrying spells too. It’ll mean nothing if we don’t put away St Bribery next week.

3 minutes ago, Riccarton3 said:

Extended highlights or whole game?

Sorry it’s bbc Scotland 

WE had to be patient but if that's the standard of our signings then keep doing it !!!

Thought Beni was MOM till Craig's late saves, and Cochrane was excellent

7 minutes ago, Auldbenches said:

Sport Sportscene on at half ten.  Listened to it on the radio and can't wait to see the save.  

Double save.  Well save on the one on one then another great save from the resultant corner.

Tennant's  6's

Proud as punch with that performance.  Might even get kitted out in my full hearts strip when I cycle long the forth clyde canal tomo 😂😂

Buzzing, but we need to continue, hammer stmidden, dont let us down. Keep this going, feed off the adrenaline & swat the dross away 

Edited by Tennant's 6's

Just now, milky_26 said:

look at souttars goal, just before the ball is played in he nudges starfelt to get the space and then places it in the net. starfelt should have been stronger and he looks absolutely popescuesq

Classic defensive masterclass of conceding a goal to a high, deep free kick. Bain's positioning as well. 

6 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Rank rotten with about £12m in new signings in the team.

:pleasingao:

6 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

To be fair brining Haring on changed the game into our favour again.

As you and I noticed as well, their pressing game ran out of puff.

If Celtic are going to play like that they need to be winning games by 60/70  minutes, it reminds me of Gerard at Rangers and Klopp early years at Liverpool.

They are no where near as bad as many think and will hammer a few teams, you can see his style.

Hopefully he gets sacked and they start again, unlike Klopp and Gerrard who got time.

No surprise at the post match chat talking about Celtic being pish

1 minute ago, Riccarton3 said:

I wasn't being entirely serious.....but we got a result. WiP

Me neither, but it was a fantastic win. We hardly ever beat them and almost never on the first day of the season. Maybe could have change things earlier but who cares how we do it? Brilliant first day win.

Funny how your view of the game can completely change when you get a result. I now think we played really well😂

Great performance by the players, great performance by the fans in the stand.  :bravo:

Just now, Diadora Van Basten said:

Did Celtic not ask Craig Gordon to drop his wages by 75% :jj:

then signed a huddy for £5m then ended up with Bain in goals.:glorious:

1 minute ago, Glamorgan Jambo said:

Loved Finlay Pollock’s celebrations on the sidelines when Souttar scored. Great result and some good spells. Also some worrying spells too. It’ll mean nothing if we don’t put away St Bribery next week.

Just enjoy the moment.

• JKBMod 3 locked this topic