Favourite Hearts player ever?

No Idle Talk

1 hour ago, Sleepystujam said:

Neil Pointon- Hard as nails, helped bring through young guys like Naysmith & Ritchie, getting away with THAT tackle on Joe Miller in the Semi against Aberdeen, his 98 cup final video & having one of the greatest nicknames ever!

Dissa!

• Replies 161

• Marvin

• No Idle Talk

• Maroon Sailor

3 minutes ago, Spitonastranger said:

Drew Busby hero growing up 

Kevin McKenna always have a soft spot for him, playing in different positions and scoring some great goals. 

Yeah as kid Busby my first favourite.

In my time (mid 70s on):

Fave Hearts XI:

Gordon

McLaren 

McKinlay

Levein 

McPherson

Cameron 

Hartley 

Skacel

Colquhoun

Clark

Robertson

But in the spirit of the op a second XI would be:

Niemi

Kidd

Fyssas

Pressley 

Webster

Brellier

(A) McDonald

Millar 

Busby

Crabbe

Prentice 

Too many to name tbh. When they were wearing maroon. Robbo, McCann, Cameron, Hartley, Pressley, Niemi, de Vries, Gordon, Stevenson. 

Aussie Jambo
1 hour ago, Smith's right boot said:

Not allowed him. 

Shite. Never read the first bit. 

Maybe Donkey then. 

Paul Shark

Obviously a seriously divisive figure more recently but Craig Levein followed by Alan McLaren.

Edited by Paul Shark

Not the best keeper (Niemi and Gordon better) but when young Henry Smith was always my favourite player (after Robbo and JC of course).

Seen him make some amazing and very important saves (among some howlers) and as the OP says you nearly always got a wave after a chorus of Henry, Henry give us a wave.

No Idle Talk
5 minutes ago, Paul Shark said:

Obviously a seriously divisive figure more recently but Craig Levein followed by Alan McLaren.

It's really sad that Craig Levein has become a "divisive figure". He was such a good player for Hearts. I wish he had never been Hearts manager and we could all just remember him as the classy centre back he was.

1 hour ago, Rave MacPherson said:

He always seemed to fall over when his mazy run took him near the half way line though😂😂

One at Kilmarnock once the crowd were amazed he actually stayed on his feet. It was like when you were young and were at full pelt, tripped but managed to stay up by using massive strides, practically horizontal to the ground. 

"Oh....oh.....ooohhh.....OOOH" (getting closer to their box) "OOOOHHHHHH" (even the Killie fans are on their feet by this time) then he had a pop..."AAAWWWWWW" :laugh2:. He won us a corner though.

I think even the Killie fans would have celebrated had he scored that :laugh2:

Luscious Laryea

Growing up it would have been Neil McCann, especially in the 98 cup run.

Juanjo for cult hero value. Incredibly inconsistent but could pull off tricks and flicks I haven't seen since.

More recently for his first couple of games I thought Alexandros Tziolis would be an absolute star and was amazed we'd pulled off a signing of that caliber. Didn't quite happen!

Roxy Hearts

Donald Ford when I was younger. As can't pick JR it's Craig Levein, absolutely tremendous player. Pity about his injuries as would've been exceptional.

1 hour ago, martoon said:

In my time (mid 70s on):

Fave Hearts XI:

Gordon

McLaren 

McKinlay

Levein 

McPherson

Cameron 

Hartley 

Skacel

Colquhoun

Clark

Robertson

Niemi

Kidd

Fyssas

Pressley 

Webster

Brellier

(A) McDonald

Millar 

Busby

Crabbe

Prentice 

e8b2b0350886211856b1d9118dac73c5.jpg

16 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

Donald Ford when I was younger. As can't pick JR it's Craig Levein, absolutely tremendous player. Pity about his injuries as would've been exceptional.

CL the player would've gone on to international glory if it wasn't for his injuries.

1 hour ago, martoon said:

In my time (mid 70s on):

Fave Hearts XI:

Gordon

McLaren 

McKinlay

Levein 

McPherson

Cameron 

Hartley 

Skacel

Colquhoun

Clark

Robertson

Niemi

Kidd

Fyssas

Pressley 

Webster

Brellier

(A) McDonald

Millar 

Busby

Crabbe

Prentice 

That midfield normally picks itself! normally 3/4 of them depending on when you were born and how old you were are in most peoples 11's 

1 hour ago, Absolute Scenes said:

Mirsad Beslija

Just remembering the days when Beslija would knock in the crosses for Makela to score. OK, the day then.

A few of my favourites over the years.

Davie Holt, Eddie Thomson, Jim Cruickshank, Donald Ford, Craig Levein, Steven Pressley, Steve Fulton, Colin Cameron

If I had the time I could name dozens more.

21 minutes ago, Marvin said:

e8b2b0350886211856b1d9118dac73c5.jpg

Only saw Fordie play once or twice in the flesh, Marv, so didn't include him.

Much the same as Cruickie.

Edited by martoon

1 hour ago, No Idle Talk said:

How good was Cruickshank? Who would he be comparable to in the modern game, ability wise?

He was before my time but my auld man speaks very highly of him.

I know I'm biased but there is no one that comes close 

1 minute ago, martoon said:

Only saw Fordie play once or twice in the flesh, Marv, so didn't include him.

Being born in 72 I have vague memories of him and the buzzbomb. I do remember being at the games with my dad but after years of beer and chemicals, my memory isn't what it was.

Just now, Marvin said:

Being born in 72 I have vague memories of him and the buzzbomb. I do remember being at the games with my dad but after years of beer and chemicals, my memory isn't what it was.

1968 for me.

First two games were Cup ties v. Dundee and Montrose about a year apart in the mid 70's. Not sure if Donald played in both.

Saw a wee bit more of Cruickie as he stayed on a bit longer than Fordie, iirc.

Saw Drew and Rab more than enough in the latter 70's to include them.

Hearts1975
2 hours ago, colinmaroon said:

Comes a close second to my hero as I passed into my teens,

Alex Young.

The Golden Vision.
Way before my time, but my old man was good friends with an Evertonian, and I remember, between the pair of them, getting told countless stories, and about him as a player, and what he could do with a ball, and when I was a wee boy 

The Tackle
4 hours ago, Weonly151 said:

Scottish player Neil McCann

Foreign player Takis Fyssas 

Snap

4 hours ago, Smith's right boot said:

Not allowed him. 

Willie Hamilton then 👍

wattie exploited

Jim Cruikshank, 

Donald Ford ,

Drew Busby.

,Colin Cameron 

paul hartley

miko

just a few great players we have had :rifle:

Gary Mackay was my favourite when he was playing. I'm surprised no one has mentioned him yet. Maybe his outspoken comments in recent years have gone against him.

8 minutes ago, Ally Bee said:

Gary Mackay was my favourite when he was playing. I'm surprised no one has mentioned him yet. Maybe his outspoken comments in recent years have gone against him.

I've always thought when he played well Hearts played well.

Colin Cameron for me though

1 hour ago, Ally Bee said:

When I was manager of Spar at Longstone, I use to serve Gary his morning papers. Top bloke and always loved chatting about The Famous. 

Broxburn Jambo

Started watching 1964 So

1960s Tommy Traynor 

1970s Donald Ford

1980s Kenny Black

1990s Stephane Adam

2000s Paul Hartley

2010s Ian Black 

2020s Craig Gordon

If you asked me again the list could be completely different 

When we announced John Sutton had signed, I genuinely thought it was going to be the signing of the decade.  Shame how that one turned out, I was ready for him to be a favourite :lol:

Other than the obvious ones in the OP, would probably have to be Callum Paterson.  Loved him!

Andrew Gilbert Wauchope
8 hours ago, otterjohn said:

John Cummings ,Drew Busby, or Jim Cruickshank. Find it hard to choose just one of those legends

8 hours ago, TypoonJambo said:

Jim Cruikshank,  Donald Ford or Drew Busby. Niemi was also class 

6 hours ago, Ford Prentice said:

Torn between Donald Ford and Rab Prentice. Bet no-one saw that coming.

More recently Miko.

Now Irving - he makes things happen.

I'm not old enough to have seen John Cumming, but the 70s - not the bext time in our history - was when I started regularly going to games. The 70s did give us one or two great players and an occasional epic night (Lokomotiv Leipzig, anyone?)..  And, from that time, it would certainly need to be one of the above (plus maybe Willie Gibson as well). 

However, for me, it has to be Donald Ford.  Where we would have been without his goals, I dread to think. 

Edited by Andrew Gilbert Wauchope

Robbo and Rudi. Might as well chuck another R in Robbie,  just for shits n giggles  :)

Antti Niemi inspired some hero worship and Craig Levein was always a favourite too. Gary Mackay I was a big fan of too.

Ian Jardine, Neil Berry and John Millar were all pets

As a wee boy going to football:  Henry super Henry.

Early teens:  Neil McCann

Late teens/early 20s:  Elvis/Sir Paul.

Then: Ryan Stevenson.

Foreigners:  Bruno, Adam, Fuller, Niemi, MDV, Miko.  

Edited by Last Laff

HillmanHearts

Awfy difficult but here goes :

Runners up :

Boyhood Idol  Donald Ford.

Mr Class act : Sandy Jardine.

Cult hero : Pasquale Bruno.

The Janny : Gary Mackay.

Perfect season : Stevie Fulton.

Joint winners :

Colin Cameron & Paul Hartley.

Interesting thread,

I would always usually go for rudi without the restrictions.

I always quite liked Ryan Stevenson, hardworking player who gave everything on the pitch and seemed to just get us over a short period of time. He would probably be my favourite over the last 10+ years or so.

Kevin Kyle was a great character and always liked him as a player but probably wasn't at the club long enough to be considered my favourite.

Ryan Mcgowan is another player who was a great character and a solid player for us.

In the current team I would probably say Liam Boyce or John Souttar.

Also i get a feeling that ginelly could be a fans favourite if he stays a while.