Favourite Hearts player ever?

No Idle Talk

Just a few rules for this one.

Yer no allowed to say Robbo or Rudi or Craig Gordon or JC.

Who's yer favourite Hearts player outside of those obvious answers? Robbo is my all time fave but I want to see some different answers.

Sorry if I haven't worded this too well.

Mine's would be Henry Smith. He made some brutal mistakes in big matches but we'd never have made it to the big matches without some great saves fae Henry. I think that gets forgotten. Plus he was always good for a wave. 😁

• Replies 161

• Marvin

• No Idle Talk

• Maroon Sailor

2 minutes ago, No Idle Talk said:

Who's yer favourite Hearts player outside of those obvious answers? Robbo is my all time fave but I want to see some different answers.

Mine's would be Henry Smith. He made some brutal mistakes in big matches but we'd never have made it to the big matches without some great saves fae Henry. I think that gets forgotten. Plus he was always good for a wave. 😁

Robbo. 
Ok. 
Smith ffs. 
Favourite foreign player Pasquale Bruno, favourite Scot Alan McLaren. 

No Idle Talk
5 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Robbo. 
Ok. 
Smith ffs. 
Favourite foreign player Pasquale Bruno, favourite Scot Alan McLaren. 

Bruno was a cult hero. Liked him a lot. 👍

3 minutes ago, No Idle Talk said:

Bruno was a cult hero. Liked him a lot. 👍

So many though, started thinking about Cameron and Hartley, McCann, Fuller, Pinilla, Kingston, Fysass, Niemi  etc etc. 
Love a best foreign team v Scottish one. 

copa-mundial

McCann. Incredible winger. Electric pace. 

Elvis, (best club captain in my time supporting the club.) I know that will split a few opinions. 

Levein, the player. Injury hampered him. Could easily have went on to the highest level. 

Cameron, and in the same bracket. Hartley. 

Bruno. Cult hero. 

Davie Weir. Top centre half. 

Takis Fyssas. Coolness personified. 

Roman Bednar. Up until Big Marv done him. He got you off the edge of your seat. What a player. 

Jim Bett. Best two footed player I think I've ever seen. 

Could easily go on. 

Edited by copa-mundial

Steve Fulton. Great vision and passing. 

Dave McPherson. Solid at the back, popped up with a goal every now and then and loved a mazy run. 

Jim Cruikshank,  Donald Ford or Drew Busby. Niemi was also class 

Jim Cruickshank.

Best goalkeeper I have ever seen.

Was my hero when I was a wee boy and is still my idol today

Sleepystujam

Neil Pointon- Hard as nails, helped bring through young guys like Naysmith & Ritchie, getting away with THAT tackle on Joe Miller in the Semi against Aberdeen, his 98 cup final video & having one of the greatest nicknames ever!

Brighton Jambo

Without a shadow of doubt mine is Stephane Adam.  What a player.  

Two goals in the semi final and a winner in the final.  1998 just wouldn’t have happened without him and then who knows where we would have gone as a club. 

Adam

Elvis

De Vries

Niemi

Sandy Clark

Cameron

Fulton

Flogel

Edited by i8hibsh

Bobby Prentice from long time ago. 

Iain Jardine from next era. 

Recently, liked Pressley. 

Leveins Battalion
4 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Bobby Prentice from long time ago. 

Iain Jardine from next era. 

Recently, liked Pressley. 

Had a few pints with Bobby,some great stories from him from his time in Toronto.

Was before my time but my old man loved him.

Tosh, Levein, big Dave, Cameron, Mackay, Pressley. 

All pretty obvious ones Tbf. 

I loved Davie Weir, Frail and more recently Djoum as well. 

I reckon, depending on how things go Souttar and Boycey could join the list. 

7 minutes ago, Aussie Jambo said:

Has to be the wee felly. Was my fav from teen to adult. 

image.jpeg.3bac9a28af4dee0a2f9c097b934aac0d.jpeg

4 minutes ago, MTS1874 said:

Wee Robbo.

Not allowed him. 

The Gorgie

I had Driver & Berra on the back of my shirts years ago so I'd probably have to go with them, Velicka worth a mention too.

Ford Prentice

Torn between Donald Ford and Rab Prentice. Bet no-one saw that coming.

More recently Miko.

Now Irving - he makes things happen.

2 hours ago, Bickfest said:

Willie Wallace. Exceptional player.

Comes a close second to my hero as I passed into my teens,

Alex Young.

I thought Jose Goncalves was brilliant when I was a kid had 34 Goncalves on my top he was better going forward than defending. 

I'm 30 this year and to this day my favourite Hearts players are still 

Fulton 

Cameron 

Locke 

Hamilton 

Adam 

McCann

F'ing LOVED them. 

7 hours ago, No Idle Talk said:

Bruno and Busby.

2 minutes ago, Rave MacPherson said:

Phil Stamp will always have a special place in my heart for the injury time winner against hibs and for still celebrating as he went down the tunnel after his sending off. 

Good shout, missed that game as we had the bairns hallowean party in the mid yoken, great 

celebrations when the score came through.

Willie Gibson was my first Hearts "idol", but given I was six years old...

Growing up a bit, Levein was different class, and really liked Sandy Clark.  Gave his all week in week out.

Notable mentions for John Millar and Eammon Bannon (2nd time around).

Always thought McSwegan was a decent striker too, and felt Gary Wales was onto something until crudely crocked by Numan.

Scot - Sandy Jardine or Colin Cameron 

Overseas -Stephane Adam or Stefano Salvatori 

No Idle Talk
1 hour ago, The Treasurer said:

Jim Cruickshank.

Best goalkeeper I have ever seen.

Was my hero when I was a wee boy and is still my idol today

How good was Cruickshank? Who would he be comparable to in the modern game, ability wise?

He was before my time but my auld man speaks very highly of him.

Spitonastranger

Drew Busby hero growing up 

Kevin McKenna always have a soft spot for him, playing in different positions and scoring some great goals. 

8 hours ago, No Idle Talk said:

Flogel or Miko :wub: