Pre Season Friendlies 2021/22

10 minutes ago, CornhillHearts said:

You'd be surprised how often that happens Stu. He had a bigger lad asking for a selfie at the other game as well 😉

received_2730093800629005.jpeg

:scenes:

• Replies 433

• Footballfirst

• Lord Beni of Gorgie

• Stu_HMFC

• John Findlay

25 minutes ago, Jambof3tornado said:

This weekend is it not. Ayr Friday and falkirk Saturday ?

Yeah, sorry, I meant this weekend, 2/3 July. Lost track of what day it is!

54 minutes ago, CornhillHearts said:

Aaron's my son John, I'd still be cycling 🚲🚲

A ken. He past me and my laddie as he turned into Pilton Drive from Boswall Parkway, as we were walking up. Did you have your car parked by the side of the leisure centre last night? If so me and my laddie past you and Aaron on the way out onto Pilton drive.

11 minutes ago, August Landmesser said:

Yeah, sorry, I meant this weekend, 2/3 July. Lost track of what day it is!

So did I coz I typed tomorrow and Saturday to start with,wishing my week away......

Aussie Jambo
13 hours ago, Smith's right boot said:

Cannae see it we play lc group games v soon. 2 weeks? 

Building up fitness, getting everyone game time to carry into the lc group stages and with Covid restrictions I don't see the point in a "glamour friendly"- hardly any one can go. 

I was actually being sarcastic SRB  😂 Hence McDonalds & LRT bus drivers aka Spartans & some pub team. Just very sad that gone are the days when we went down south to play English teams pre season. Don’t need any fans anyway just a good camera angle so we can actually see the game. That footage of Spartans was like Evening News spot the ball from the 70s/80s. Even with my Gregory Pecks on I could nae see hee haw.  

Never mind.. no long now. 

Mon the JTs. 

1 minute ago, Aussie Jambo said:

I was actually being sarcastic SRB  😂 Hence McDonalds & LRT bus drivers aka Spartans & some pub team. Just very sad that gone are the days when we went down south to play English teams pre season. Don’t need any fans anyway just a good camera angle so we can actually see the game. That footage of Spartans was like Evening News spot the ball from the 70s/80s. Even with my Gregory Pecks on I could nae see hee haw.  

Never mind.. no long now. 

Mon the JTs. 

Fair doos. 

I couldn't even watch the Spartans game, was like a loading screen of a football manger game on the spectrum. 

Aussie Jambo
1 minute ago, Smith's right boot said:

Fair doos. 

I couldn't even watch the Spartans game, was like a loading screen of a football manger game on the spectrum. 

😂😂

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS0zKoqSdKDjx4hSsP5plF

9 minutes ago, Aussie Jambo said:

😂😂

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS0zKoqSdKDjx4hSsP5plF

😂😂

That's better than the highlights. 

I can make Boyce out. 

Aussie Jambo
18 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

😂😂

That's better than the highlights. 

I can make Boyce out. 

😂😂

CornhillHearts
1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

A ken. He past me and my laddie as he turned into Pilton Drive from Boswall Parkway, as we were walking up. Did you have your car parked by the side of the leisure centre last night? If so me and my laddie past you and Aaron on the way out onto Pilton drive.

I wasn’t there last night John, the main reason Aaron was on a bike between matches. 

Was “rehydrating” at that point in time after a roasting hot round of golf in Peebles.

11 hours ago, CornhillHearts said:

I wasn’t there last night John, the main reason Aaron was on a bike between matches. 

Was “rehydrating” at that point in time after a roasting hot round of golf in Peebles.

👍👍

4 hours ago, Jambof3tornado said:

Largs for the Ayr and Falkirk matches 

When are they being played?

Ticket for my first football match since that dark night in Paisley arrived.  My two favourite teams. 

ADB30CFE-1784-449F-B0AB-708F12C44951.jpeg

Bob Loblaw

I noticed that McKinlay said we were hoping for 2000 at the LC games and for a friendly on the 17th.  I wonder who it'll be against.

On 30/06/2021 at 19:42, CornhillHearts said:

Great stuff.

A big well done to Aaron 👍

2 hours ago, davemclaren said:

Ticket for my first football match since that dark night in Paisley arrived.  My two favourite teams. 

ADB30CFE-1784-449F-B0AB-708F12C44951.jpeg

Where can you get tickets ?

4 minutes ago, jambo19 said:

Where can you get tickets ?

They were on sale online at their website. Sold out now unfortunately. 

Goals from first half here. Gnando made it 3-0 in 68th minute apparently too.

GOAL! KINGSLEY! The icing on the cake with two mins to go. Gnanduillet’s cross is struck towards goal and blocked, the ball spins to Kingsley ten yards out and he drills low into the far corner.

finished 4-0

15 minutes ago, Rods said:

Is Robert’s getting a second chance then? 

First game back but if damour is getting another chance then Roberts deserves one too

10 minutes ago, Newton51 said:

First game back but if damour is getting another chance then Roberts deserves one too

Agreed 

27 minutes ago, Newton51 said:

Can’t argue with that. 

On 30/06/2021 at 19:58, Footballfirst said:

Given that the season starts in 10 days time, the first team squad will be playing in the closed door games this weekend.

Saturday's game against Whitehill, Monday's game against Preston Athletic and next Friday's game against Fauldhouse will all be predominately youth sides.

We also have a game lined up against Bonnyrigg next Wednesday. I think there will be some senior players in that team, particularly those who won't be in the League Cup squad.

17 July is a date that is available for another game as the 1st team sits out that round of LC fixtures.  

Fauldhouse game off due to covid at Fauldhouse Utd

image.png.7c342dbe70581b931b10049246aa50ff.png

Two games this week. A bounce game this morning at Riccarton against Gala and an official friendly against Dunbar on Tuesday.

Looks like a full reserve squad this morning.

2 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

Two games this week. A bounce game this morning at Riccarton against Gala and an official friendly against Dunbar on Tuesday.

Looks like a full reserve squad this morning.

Halliday and Damour definitely featuring.

3 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said:

Halliday and Damour definitely featuring.

Walker, C Smith, Henderson, Pollock, Popescu, Roberts, McGill also

1 hour ago, Footballfirst said:

Walker, C Smith, Henderson, Pollock, Popescu, Roberts, McGill also

A few who featured yesterday. Pollock in particular getting decent game time. Thanks for the updates FF. 

13 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

3-2. 8 subs on

Who's playing goalkeeper, center half's, full backs?    Not asking for much, just the basic defensive line up, thanks.  

☺ 

I'll guess at Stewart, popescu, darge, flatman, Watson, c smith. 

Edited by HMFC01

11 minutes ago, HMFC01 said:

Who's playing goalkeeper, center half's, full backs?    Not asking for much, just the basic defensive line up, thanks.  

☺ 

I'll guess at Stewart, popescu, darge, flatman, Watson, c smith. 

Stewart

Damour Popescu Flatman

First half

Stone

Aitken Hamilton Flatman

Second half

Turns out it wasn't a bounce game after all, but the teams were playing for the "Alfie Conn Cup".  However the club didn't want to publicise it because it might attract a crowd.

Started with

Stewart

Damour Popescu Flatman

Smith McGill Pollock Halliday

Walker Henderson Roberts

Finished with

Stone

Aitken Hamilton Flatman

Darge Smith Tait McGill Watson

Kirk Denholm

5 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

Turns out it wasn't a bounce game after all, but the teams were playing for the "Alfie Conn Cup".  However the club didn't want to publicise it because it might attract a crowd.

Started with

Stewart

Damour Popescu Flatman

Walker Henderson Roberts

Finished with

Stone

Aitken Hamilton Flatman

Kirk Denholm

When did the Alfie Conn cup come into being and what’s the criteria around it?

15 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

When did the Alfie Conn cup come into being and what’s the criteria around it?

It started in 2016 when Gala beat Hearts 2-0 at Netherdale.  It was intended to be played annually since then, although pandemics don't help

Alfie Conn Snr was player manager of Gala late in his career, which is the connection.

Here is the report from the first game

https://www.gfrfc.co.uk/single-post/2016/07/09/gfr-win-the-alfie-conn-memorial-cup-in-style

Edited by Footballfirst

Niemi’s gloves
48 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

Started with

Stewart

Damour Popescu Flatman

Walker Henderson Roberts

Finished with

Stone

Aitken Hamilton Flatman

Kirk Denholm

Was thar Connor Smith in each case but in different positions?

5 minutes ago, Niemi’s gloves said:

Was thar Connor Smith in each case but in different positions?

Yes