Not celebrating the league

Corstorphine Jambo
10 minutes ago, myself said:

I don't understand the misplaced snobbery and delusions of grandeur on display here. It is reminiscent of the sort of stuff that we normally expect from the Hibs support and we rightly ridicule them for it.

Hearts were at the foot of the table when COVID-19 hit hard and, whilst it may have seem unfair the way it was done, Hearts have played in a lower league for that reason.  If Hearts had been playing better at the time, they would have been playing in the Premiership and nobody would give a damn about the rights and wrongs of the way it happened or the fate of the demoted club.  We can spend all day theorising about what might have happened if the remaining games had gone ahead last season, but they didn't, so move on and deal with the hand we were played.

The Club have managed to stay at the top of the Championship, so it would be very disrespectful to them and the other Championship clubs not to celebrate winning promotion after a single season.  Remember, it took Hibs three seasons to get back up!

You’re obviously a lot more forgiving than me. Fair enough

• Replies 294

• kingantti1874

16 minutes ago, myself said:

I don't understand the misplaced snobbery and delusions of grandeur on display here. It is reminiscent of the sort of stuff that we normally expect from the Hibs support and we rightly ridicule them for it.

Hearts were at the foot of the table when COVID-19 hit hard and, whilst it may have seem unfair the way it was done, Hearts have played in a lower league for that reason.  If Hearts had been playing better at the time, they would have been playing in the Premiership and nobody would give a damn about the rights and wrongs of the way it happened or the fate of the demoted club.  We can spend all day theorising about what might have happened if the remaining games had gone ahead last season, but they didn't, so move on and deal with the hand we were played.

The Club have managed to stay at the top of the Championship, so it would be very disrespectful to them and the other Championship clubs not to celebrate winning promotion after a single season.  Remember, it took Hibs three seasons to get back up!

disrespecting the championship clubs is one of the positives 😂 

with the exception of Inverness - **** every single one of them, shitebag pointless institutions who’ve got what they voted for! Another season in the championship. And **** Neil Doncaster - would be a good move if he never sets foot in tynecastle again.

These points, you can’t force fans to celebrate something which cannot in any way be considered an achievement.

38 minutes ago, myself said:

It’s because the championship is beneath us. I stopped reading after the first paragraph, so if you had anything really important to add then I’m sorry I missed it.

10 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

I notice the games on the last day are all on a Friday at 7;05.  Do we think one of them will be on the telly? 

By that time it's possible that some fans will be able to attend so, no. Not at all likely.

Just now, davieholt said:

By that time it's possible that some fans will be able to attend so, no. Not at all likely.

Why would fans being at games affect if it’s on telly on a Friday night? There were games on tv on a Friday before Covid. 

1 hour ago, davemclaren said:

Just a shandy? 😎

Just be glad the word 'hand' was nowhere near that sentence...

Last time there was an element of positivity. Fan movement growing, Budges takeover, beating Hibs & Rangers to the title (and neither got promoted either :D

This isn't a league title worth celebrating. The club should make a deliberate point of knocking back any celebrations etc. from the league. **** them. 

37 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

It’s because the championship is beneath us. I stopped reading after the first paragraph, so if you had anything really important to add then I’m sorry I missed it.

Thank you for reinforcing my point.

I'll be amongst the 2/3k outside the gate with Bucky, flares and flags as the players huddle together to celebrate with us. Next day I'll be in the corteo marching from Gorgie to Haymarket with a police escort.

Its allowed now.

40 minutes ago, OTT said:

Last time there was an element of positivity. Fan movement growing, Budges takeover, beating Hibs & Rangers to the title (and neither got promoted either :D

This isn't a league title worth celebrating. The club should make a deliberate point of knocking back any celebrations etc. from the league. **** them. 

and no flag should be flown at tynecastle 

Japan Jambo
2 hours ago, gashauskis9 said:

I suspect the police will be in about the 30 fans that turn up outside Tynie.  

yup, perhaps they could wear Rangers or Celtic scarves to give them immunity from arrest? 

1 hour ago, kingantti1874 said:

disrespecting the championship clubs is one of the positives 😂 

with the exception of Inverness - **** every single one of them, shitebag pointless institutions who’ve got what they voted for! Another season in the championship. And **** Neil Doncaster - would be a good move if he never sets foot in tynecastle again.

These points, you can’t force fans to celebrate something which cannot in any way be considered an achievement.

If someone does chuck the league trophy in the bin, I'll raise another few glasses wherever I am in honour of that particular achievement.

Absolutely shafted by 8 teams in that league.  Treat them and their trophy with the contempt they all deserve.

gashauskis9
47 minutes ago, FinnBarr Saunders said:

I'll be amongst the 2/3k outside the gate with Bucky, flares and flags as the players huddle together to celebrate with us. Next day I'll be in the corteo marching from Gorgie to Haymarket with a police escort.

Its allowed now.

To be fair, it’ll probably be June before Raith manage to play their games in hand.  

Ill settle for quiet appreciation that the job has been done, whilst simultaneously worrying that we might end up back there after a season

10 hours ago, davemclaren said:

Like it or not we will have achieved promotion ( some supporters of other clubs hoped we wouldn’t survive demotion and a pandemic ) if and when it comes. I doubt there will be many parties, and there will be no supporters there to witness it, but I will celebrate our return with a wry smile and a few beers in my hoose. 

There will be a presentation and flag raising at some point. The club would be better selling some ‘we’re back!’ Or ‘Only Hearts’ style stuff for those that want something I think. If there’s a commercial opportunity I don’t see the point in not taking it. 

Good post. Can't disagree with any of the points you made 

1 hour ago, GinRummy said:

Beneath us???  Sorry but I've always gone with the idea that you can only beat what you are up against. 

After we got over the emotional maelstrom and challenges of actually winning the Championship we then have to decide if visiting away grounds is allowed again in the Premiership. 😄

All assuming away spectators are allowed back next season, of course. 

18 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

After we got over the emotional maelstrom and challenges of actually winning the Championship we then have to decide if visiting away grounds is allowed again in the Premiership. 😄

All assuming away spectators are allowed back next season, of course. 

A nope from me, but as I only get every 3rd weekend off its not a decision that will actually effect me too much.

I’ve no intention of celebrating what has been - without doubt - a season to forget in more ways than one. I’ll have some satisfaction when we are competing at the level that should be expected with the financial muscle and infrastructure we have in place (top 5 minimum). 

For the avoidance of doubt I do not think Neilson is the person who will get us to that level, in fact - based on what I have witnessed on the pitch and heard Neilson say - I have little expectation other than a hard slog (bottom five) next season.

8 hours ago, eyesandears said:

Well said mate. I expect the club to get a range of merchandise done and get it flogged to the families with kids, the younger ones who never have experienced Hearts winning a trophy. Let them buy the flags and Tshirts and get their photo with the trophy and let them enjoy the moment. There are far too many of our so called supporters who cant see past the length of their own nose.

Very fair point. I won't celebrate myself but my 10 year old probably will. First thing we've (when it comes) won he's been aware of. He was 2 when we hammered the H1b5 and 4 when we won the Championship last. If they do merch and he wants a t-shirt I'll happily buy it for him.

13 minutes ago, Ethan Hunt said:

I’ve no intention of celebrating what has been - without doubt - a season to forget in more ways than one. I’ll have some satisfaction when we are competing at the level that should be expected with the financial muscle and infrastructure we have in place (top 5 minimum). 

For the avoidance of doubt I do not think Neilson is the person who will get us to that level, in fact - based on what I have witnessed on the pitch and heard Neilson say - I have little expectation other than a hard slog (bottom five) next season.

Time will tell. 

When we return to the top league it will be like getting out of prison after serving a sentence for a crime that has not been committed. Nothing to celebrate, but the anger remains.

Japan Jambo
15 minutes ago, Heart of Darkness said:

Nae flags - just a bottle of Balvenie!! 🥃

nice idea, wrong tipple - Ardbeg Corryvreckan 😉

Broxburn Jambo
11 hours ago, davemclaren said:

Like it or not we will have achieved promotion ( some supporters of other clubs hoped we wouldn’t survive demotion and a pandemic ) if and when it comes. I doubt there will be many parties, and there will be no supporters there to witness it, but I will celebrate our return with a wry smile and a few beers in my hoose. 

There will be a presentation and flag raising at some point. The club would be better selling some ‘we’re back!’ Or ‘Only Hearts’ style stuff for those that want something I think. If there’s a commercial opportunity I don’t see the point in not taking it. 

I find myself agreeing with this

Will I have a huge celebration if we win the league? Nope, but I will be pleased and happy. Life is too short, so take some joy out of things.

I will celebrate that those around us tried everything possible to throw roadblocks in our way to try and remove advantages we would have. They put us down, reduced the season by 9 games (a longer season helps the team with the bigger and more quality squad, i.e. us,) they stopped us (and only us) training early for the flimiest of reasons (meaning we couldn't be further ahead of other teams in fitness, giving a head start,) they voted to only have 7 players on the bench and 3 subs as opposed to every other league in SPFL which had 9 players on bench and 5 subs (which meant that teams with more quality players lost the advantage of the game.) 

I will celebrate that we can have our chance to get revenge on the Premiership teams who looked to demote us to save their own skins, refused reconstruction, and told us to take our medicine.

11 minutes ago, henryheart said:

When we return to the top league it will be like getting out of prison after serving a sentence for a crime that has not been committed. Nothing to celebrate, but the anger remains.

Could maybe get Raphael Rowe to narrate a new hearts documentary about crimes we did not commit 😂😂.

7 minutes ago, jamboinglasgow said:

Will I have a huge celebration if we win the league? Nope, but I will be pleased and happy. Life is too short, so take some joy out of things.

I will celebrate that those around us tried everything possible to throw roadblocks in our way to try and remove advantages we would have. They put us down, reduced the season by 9 games (a longer season helps the team with the bigger and more quality squad, i.e. us,) they stopped us (and only us) training early for the flimiest of reasons (meaning we couldn't be further ahead of other teams in fitness, giving a head start,) they voted to only have 7 players on the bench and 3 subs as opposed to every other league in SPFL which had 9 players on bench and 5 subs (which meant that teams with more quality players lost the advantage of the game.) 

I will celebrate that we can have our chance to get revenge on the Premiership teams who looked to demote us to save their own skins, refused reconstruction, and told us to take our medicine.

Good post. 

skinnybob72

Collect the trophy and then boot it up and down the North Bridge like the Scottish Rugby team did with the Calcutta Cup.

29 minutes ago, henryheart said:

Succinctly and correctly put.

I do hope it is Mr McGregor's medicine men that we replace as well.

Batistuta87

Will be happy when it's all over, but I won't be celebrating. I don't really want to see any sort of ceremony or players celebrating in "Champions 20/21" tshirts. 

Fact is, we shouldn't be here, but we'll have got ourselves out and earned our place back where we belong.

Doncaster can ram his trophy and any medals right up his arse. 

Edited by Batistuta87

I'd feel like celebrating if we go up with ICT and 2 of the clubs that shafted us go down.

Batistuta87
6 minutes ago, Kiwidoug said:

I'd feel like celebrating if we go up with ICT and 2 of the clubs that shafted us go down.

I'd be very happy if ICT were promoted 👍🏻

Bret the Hitman Hearts

I like the idea of not acknowledging it at all, and maybe launching the trophy off the Forth bridge just for good measure

12 hours ago, davemclaren said:

Spot on, Dave.  Not sure whether it'll be celebration or relief, but I'll have a bottle of beer or four to mark promotion.

1 hour ago, henryheart said:

That’s as good an analogy as I’ve seen. 

1 hour ago, jamboinglasgow said:

Good post. The one thing I will celebrate is whoever it is getting relegated from the Premiership. **** them and the other 33. 

Heart of Darkness
1 hour ago, Japan Jambo said:

nice idea, wrong tipple - Ardbeg Corryvreckan 😉

I've had Ardbeg a few times and have always enjoyed them 😋

I will put an order in for a bottle Corryvreckan tomorrow. 

Cheers JJ. 👍🥃

2 hours ago, jamboinglasgow said:

Thank you. Saves me typing all of that. 👏

43 minutes ago, Zico said:

That’s as good an analogy as I’ve seen. 

Good post. The one thing I will celebrate is whoever it is getting relegated from the Premiership. **** them and the other 33. 

I’m hoping two will fall from the Premiership. Sadly one won’t be St Mirren but that will come in due course. 

15 hours ago, Fort Vallance said:

Couldn't agree more with the opening post.

Whit?

I've booked the Central Bar in Arbroath for the Championship Party!

18 minutes ago, iainmac said:

Whit?

I've booked the Central Bar in Arbroath for the Championship Party!

Count me in. 

Oh, do they have real ale?

3 hours ago, Batistuta87 said:

Will be happy when it's all over, but I won't be celebrating. I don't really want to see any sort of ceremony or players celebrating in "Champions 20/21" tshirts. 

Fact is, we shouldn't be here, but we'll have got ourselves out and earned our place back where we belong.

Doncaster can ram his trophy and any medals right up his arse. 

Could have a "we took our medicine..and spat it in yer face"20/21 tour, t-shirts and mugs😂🇱🇻

8 hours ago, The Treasurer said:

Beneath us???  Sorry but I've always gone with the idea that you can only beat what you are up against. 

I don’t see how the championship being beneath us changes that. 

Randy Marsh
8 hours ago, henryheart said:

Superbly put.  Well played sir. 

The postman doesn't celebrate delivering the post.

It's also not worth celebrating a league where some of our opponents are postie's. 

David McCaig
9 hours ago, jamboinglasgow said:

A decision to stop training which also played a major part in John Souttar breaking down in rehab!!

I’ll celebrate the fact our entire season in the lower league has had no fans so everything those shitty clubs voted for didn’t happen. 

To bounce straight back up without suffering financially (largely thanks to FoH and gov grant) while giving Inverness a payday is a proper FU to those clubs.

And in all honesty, we’ve probably benefitted from being a league below during all this. That’ll be the hardest realisation for the rest.