Washington’s goal from the Hibs end - mass evacuation

2 minutes ago, The Old Tolbooth said:

He was superb all night, he done what was asked of him by running their defence ragged, and chipped in with a goal, he was an utter menace to them and we’re seeing what he’s capable of now 

And he's only just getting match fit.  Which he has never been at Hearts before.  

• Replies 141

• Cruyff

• maroonshrew

• HMFC01

• Seaside jambo

1 minute ago, Cruickshank for Scotland said:

Wait a minute are you having a go at Washington there? 🤔

No really a go tbf. 

JamboAndrew
Just now, Cruickshank for Scotland said:

Wait a minute are you having a go at Washington there? 🤔

To be fair, if you watch the replay he spends an age looking for a pass.

Really happy for him and hope this gets him up and running.

Kidd’s Boots

I really think we are about to see what we were all hoping to see from Washington before the injury. His work rate has been incredible over the past few games. He has played the system really well and now needs to have the belief in himself in that 18 yard box, one game at a time we seeing improvements, and not just from him.

He was brilliant tonight.

Absolutely love how he plays the game. Totally unselfish yet when called upon, finds a finish.

Hes a diamond 💎 

You always want your strikers to score but he adds a lot to the team. If he makes space for others to score that's fine with me. 

The Goalscoring Knee
2 minutes ago, Absolute Scenes said:

Where’s that fud from Hamilton now? Get it round he ya festering hobo snowflake 

Funny how certain posters are nowhere to be seen when there's joy to be shared, huh?

CloustonHMFC

He played very well tonight and on Saturday. I wish he’d score more but if he puts in performances like the last two then I can live with others scoring. He’s a very unselfish player and think he needs to be looking for the shot more than the pass at times. Good player though. 

13 minutes ago, FWJ said:

Think you can get ointment for them...

Headline brought tears to my eyes!

Th work rate from him in the last two games was utterly sensational. 

Delighted for the lad to get a much deserved goal as well. 

if hypercritical he gave the ball away too often and picked the wrong ball too many times, much like Boyce but I go back to his work rate and running. Superb. 

Edited by hearts00

16 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

Only reason he scored was because he had no one to pass to,or he'd have passed it. Should have tried to lob the keeper as well, Boyce would have. 

Had a good game though, put in a cracking shift. 

But equally the only reason he was onside was that he had ****ed over their defence all night with his running that they boy was too ****ed to stand up.

Its also why he scored - the defence was too ****ed to pressure him properly because of the running he did.

It all builds up - the more we press their defence, the more we being on fresh attackers the less chance the other team has of building play from the back - whether we score again or not

Defending from the front in a purist sense.

Edited by Jammy T

22 minutes ago, The Old Tolbooth said:

He was superb all night, he done what was asked of him by running their defence ragged, and chipped in with a goal, he was an utter menace to them and we’re seeing what he’s capable of now 

Agree. I said on the match day thread we need to get him running at flapper Hanlon and that’s exactly what he did.......and Hanlon flapped!    :jj:

Edited by Debut 4

18 minutes ago, CostaJambo said:

OK OK, should've said "Scores". Feel the mods will be too busy to correct my typo tonight. Not really bothered, off the bottom, yasssss!

What, the sores? No wonder you're happy.

• Maple Leaf changed the title to Washington Scores! (title amended)

If he adds goals to his game then he will be an incredibly valuable players for us. His energy and fitness are something else. 

Kirky Jambo
25 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

Only reason he scored was because he had no one to pass to,or he'd have passed it. Should have tried to lob the keeper as well, Boyce would have. 

Had a good game though, put in a cracking shift. 

I said the same at the game - the goal will give him the confidence to shoot more often. He is great at bending his runs to get in behind. Was his goal onside?

Delighted for him.

He does an awful lot of running off the ball and brings others into the game. It was only fitting that all that effort gave him a goal. Finally.

Well played Connor!

Finlay James

I love him.

That was a proper centre forwards performance tonight, he led the line superbly and created so much space for others.  Boyce was very clever also, quieter but very effective.

He is the common factor in three of our best performances of the season. Works so hard and tonight scored when our main goal threats missed chances to make it 5-1

25 minutes ago, everton_jambo said:

I said the same at the game - the goal will give him the confidence to shoot more often. He is great at bending his runs to get in behind. Was his goal onside?

Yep, hopefully he'll do that more regularly now. Yeah, he was miles on, great run in behind. 

Washington is the type of player that separates the football fans who know who a player is and those who don't. 

Hiya JiH.

2 hours ago, Gashauskis9 said:

Even Allan claimed it FFS

Just after that photo was taken, you see Allan putting both hands to his head - oh naw!!!

Oh, that cheating wee ratbag Clancy.  Does it against us time after time after time!

1 hour ago, Scallywag said:

If ever a player deserved a goal it's Washington. Another tremendous shift from him.

This!! He works tirelessly for his teammates . I was delighted for him

Interesting that hes a lawyer in his day job. Specialises in health & safety according to his bio... another game, another corrupt referee.  We've literally had zero decisions go our way this season, it took him an age to give the penalty too.

1 hour ago, Suso Santana said:

Smashed it in. Fair play. 

Maybe we'll see a goal scorer now?

Either way, he thoroughly deserves his place in the team. 

1 hour ago, maroonshrew said:

I said similar to friends. He's such a likeable player but before you know it he's Played 10, scored 0 but he's worked so hard and run so much. I do wonder if he takes that strike at 0-0 or if a second player emerges. So glad he did though, hopefully he grows in confidence for that clinical element to his game 

He has an incredible shots on target percentage 

2 hours ago, Gashauskis9 said:

Even Allan claimed it FFS

Tbf to Allan, he put his heads in his hands expecting his teammate to be sent off.

Probably the most obvious stamp I've ever seen. Never even tried to disguise it. Clare didn't make too much of it to be fair. Others would have rolled half way down the pitch.