crazy thing you have seen or heard about at hearts games

Masonic

1 hour ago, Jamhammer said:

It wasn’t a wee dog either IIRC. Speaking of dogs anyone know the boy who wears the Scooby Doo onesie in the Gorgie Stand?

Shaky. A real character. Drinks in the International Bar usually, and in Tynie arms or the BMC on matchdays I think. Daft as a brush.

• Replies 224

• millerjames398

• TyphoonJambo

• Weakened Offender

• Harry Potter

I remember after the Scottish Cup semi against Hibs we were doing a conga from the Diggers along to the Sample Rooms and there was a naked bloke with a Hoover he’d found in a bin hoovering the road. 

N Lincs Jambo
29 minutes ago, Locky said:

Shaky. A real character. Drinks in the International Bar usually, and in Tynie arms or the BMC on matchdays I think. Daft as a brush.

If it’s the Shaky I saw protesting outside Tynecastle in October I think I was in the same class as him at primary school. We weren’t great mates but he was sound!

Prague 1986 crossing the border from west Germany into Czechoslovakia was rather daunting. The train stopped for ages and soldiers boarded it with other soldiers pointing guns at the train. It reminded me of a war film as there were guard towers dogs and wire fences everywhere. Also same trip but coming back when a few of us got off to get food from a vending machine as the train was scheduled to stop for 10 mins. We are just off and it starts going with me being last on and getting hauled on by my mates one of whom had to shove a German railway cop out of the way

5 hours ago, Forza Cuore said:

Was in there..was only a few hundred Jambos but we made it out without a mark on us. 

Was in there as well, was only a couple of hundred, we got escorted around the pitch at the end

JamboBrisbane

Being outside this big Irish bar in Bordeaux with hundreds of other Jambos drinking on the street, flags draped over every wall and monument in sight, guys spilling onto the road, guys drinking in the central reservation of the road and the French riot vans start driving towards the pub......everyone’s thinking ‘what the f##ks going to happen here’!!......van doors open and riot police just start building a big f##k off fence around us all and let us keep partying!!!!😆😆

Also the scenes when big De Vriees scored were mental😆😆 and the Bordeaux fans clapping us after the game outside the stadium was a nice touch👍🏻

Heart of Darkness
7 hours ago, 22games nro said:

Dressing as santa for away trip in leige, ( was early November 1992)  went in disguise as was supposed to be on a work course in england.

Then our bus (Portobello) we gave a few english guys a lift back to the city centre only for the bus To be stormed by police to arrest the chelsea mob that had been causing trouble 

If my memory can stretch that far back! I recall that there wasn't that many Chelsea  lads on this particular trip!!

There was one certain JM who was very impressed with the Hearts Casuals holding their own whilst being vastly  outnumbered......allegedly. 

A few of us in Liege, sat all night in a wee bar with the owner saying he would stay open as long as we kept buying beer.

We didn't use our hotel room for the 2 nights.

Actually can't remember the match 🍺😂

Pittodrie,early  90s? they were doing their ground up and Hearts fans had been banned,my Dad had been working in Aberdeen the previous week and got me and my mate tickets,sitting in the sheep end S******g ourselves,teams came out,little pockets of jambos stood up all around the ground,we all got taken out,marched round the ground and put in a corner of the beach end where they pelted us with coins for 90 mins then waited for us after the game and chased us over the sand dunes. 

5 hours ago, JamboBrisbane said:

Being outside this big Irish bar in Bordeaux with hundreds of other Jambos drinking on the street, flags draped over every wall and monument in sight, guys spilling onto the road, guys drinking in the central reservation of the road and the French riot vans start driving towards the pub......everyone’s thinking ‘what the f##ks going to happen here’!!......van doors open and riot police just start building a big f##k off fence around us all and let us keep partying!!!!😆😆

Also the scenes when big De Vriees scored were mental😆😆 and the Bordeaux fans clapping us after the game outside the stadium was a nice touch👍🏻

After the Prague match, whilst leaving the ground we were also applauded by the home fans. 

16 hours ago, TheStig said:

A celtic fan getting put through a window is funny.

I think that may have also been the time we chased a bunch of them onto the roof of a garage on Gorgie road. Mental times. 

Hearts fans at McDonalds in Amsterdam waiting on the buses to Rotterdam. “Large Big Mac meal with coke Hen” lady behind till “large coke” que of grown men “waaaaaaaayy”. And repeat. 

School end in the early 00’s. Some fan standing up and shouting at Stevie Fulton to chase manny panther “F sake Fulton, stop that Panther” 😂

16 hours ago, Deodato said:

The Shed was home to my craziest memories. 

I remember, as a kid, waiting for the game to begin in the shed and an argument broke out between some union jack waving Hearts fans from Livingstone and a Scottish nationalist Hearts fan who was there with his girlfriend. It kicked off and got really ugly. 

The leader of the Livingstone mob's tactic for resolving the heated dispute was to pull out his cock and piss all over his opposite number and his girlfriend. I didn't stay around to watch what happened after that, but I'm pretty sure the police did. Kicked off. 

Also, I remember the pisser around the back of The Shed not because I was brave enough to go there but when you looked up the slope of the shed you could see the steam rising. The shed pissed was home to plants that couldn't grow in the Botanics. Unreal, looking back at it. 

As a kid i used to climb in, with mates, through the school. Our route took us over the fence, landing in a few inches of piss in these "toilets". 

6 hours ago, Heart of Darkness said:

If my memory can stretch that far back! I recall that there wasn't that many Chelsea  lads on this particular trip!!

There was one certain JM who was very impressed with the Hearts Casuals holding their own whilst being vastly  outnumbered......allegedly. 

Munich was pretty mental .. hearts fans attacking the Chelsea lot in city centre and getting the police to remove their flags in the ground

Phil D. Corners
7 hours ago, JamboBrisbane said:

Reminds me of Stuttgart when a few of us were having a Chinese and drinks on the pedestrian König Straße. A police car drove along  and stopped by us. Everyone went a bit quite for a moment.... :eek1:

The door opened and a police man got out... then two Jambos got out the back. The policeman got their baggage out the back of the car. As he got back in the car waved both hands at us to indicate we should get partying before driving off. 

Basically two Jambos got lost so police picked them up and looked for other Jambos for them to join. 

I also recall a guy taking his youngish son to the hookers. Or it might of been a lap dance. Either way... was weird. 

Bologna trip getting back on our supporters bus (we were based in Rimini) about six of the lads came back from the stadium with an Italia 90 foam Italian Banner ripped off the wall outside the stadium must have been about the length of the bus Christ knows how they managed to get it back on our bus.

Coming back form Sarajevo (Zelzinescar game) our supporters bus got cut up by a lorry driver just as were heading into a tunnel towards Slovenia our coach driver took umbrage and put his foot down and overtook the lorry in the tunnel and when we came out the other side the lorry's front windscreen was covered in keech form our loo on the bus not sure how the driver managed that one but it was a good laugh. We also joined the queue at a checkpoint going through Croatia i think when a bus load of nuns en route to Lourdes stopped next to our bus needless to say the Hills are alive with the sound of music got belted out and the usual are you Hibees in disguise.

Connemara Bar in Bordeaux was the drinking hole for the bulk of the jambos crazy day and Watson (Aberdeen based jambo) dressed up as Del Boy priceless. Watson was always good for a laugh dressed as Elvis in Sarajevo, Batman in Braga not sure if he did any others.

17 hours ago, Hectormasson said:

I remember a new year game down at easter road that was rearranged ,,,due to postponement   1987  ?      It was on a wedneday,,,2-2  draw "   around 2,300, hearts fans being housed in with the hibbys in the old cow shed ??   No idea why ,  but that could have got nasty ,,,,just a few bizzys and stewards in between ?       Couldn't see that happening again , , or why it happened then ?      Crazy

That’s after the first game was postponed after they let us in, and because they where handing back the tickets as we all left, some got more than they arrived with the rest of us where given comp tickets for the old family enclosure. 

At the final whistle of the infamous 3-2 loss at home to Celtic 2006, a guy in front of me in the main stand ran down the steps and launched himself, spread eagle in an attempt to get at Lennon. 
He landed on the wee tunnel that comes out from the dressing rooms. 

One new year our bus (pivot) arrived in Dunfermline only to be told the game was off ,driver take us to Easter road hibs v rangers ,the rest is history 😃

N Lincs Jambo
1 minute ago, troy said:

One new year our bus (pivot) arrived in Dunfermline only to be told the game was off ,driver take us to Easter road hibs v rangers ,the rest is history 😃

Yeah I remember Archie MacPherson losing his shit about that on Sportscene. Those big bad Hearts fans! 😂

Not crazy but certainly funny.  Tynecastle v Rangers around 84.  We are 2-0 down with about 2 minutes to go.  This fat Rangers fan is giving us dogs abuse from up in the main stand, he's laughing away giving the V signs etc.  we are just gesticulating back telling him to F off.  Next thing Hearts score 1-2.  We looked up and he was sat back down and went glum for a moment as we gave him some 'up ye' signage!!  Anyway he quickly realised Rangers were still winning and went back to giving us abuse.  ROBBO 2-2  After a mental dance to celebrate we just managed to catch his fat A*** storming out in disgust.  Wonderful.  

19 hours ago, jake said:

Remember thinking things were going too well.

I was reading the papers that morning. Was thinking atleast we have Burley, as the Vlad stories were getting madder every day. Sacked..

38 minutes ago, Dino Velvet said:

At the final whistle of the infamous 3-2 loss at home to Celtic 2006, a guy in front of me in the main stand ran down the steps and launched himself, spread eagle in an attempt to get at Lennon. 

That is a great story. Sitting in the Gorgie Stand it's pretty quiet but you do always get that guy in the big games shouting at certain players, everyone will turn round and scowl at them furiously. 

3 minutes ago, TexasAndy said:

Not crazy but certainly funny.  Tynecastle v Rangers around 84.  We are 2-0 down with about 2 minutes to go.  This fat Rangers fan is giving us dogs abuse from up in the main stand, he's laughing away giving the V signs etc.  we are just gesticulating back telling him to F off.  Next thing Hearts score 1-2.  We looked up and he was sat back down and went glum for a moment as we gave him some 'up ye' signage!!  Anyway he quickly realised Rangers were still winning and went back to giving us abuse.  ROBBO 2-2  After a mental dance to celebrate we just managed to catch his fat A*** storming out in disgust.  Wonderful.  

I was behind the goals that day and half the shed was already passing on their way out when the first went in. Squashed up like sardines as everybody stopped in their tracks. Pure bedlam when the equaliser went in.

Worthing Jambo
2 hours ago, Ray has bus pass hooray said:

Bologna trip getting back on our supporters bus (we were based in Rimini) about six of the lads came back from the stadium with an Italia 90 foam Italian Banner ripped off the wall outside the stadium must have been about the length of the bus Christ knows how they managed to get it back on our bus.

Coming back form Sarajevo (Zelzinescar game) our supporters bus got cut up by a lorry driver just as were heading into a tunnel towards Slovenia our coach driver took umbrage and put his foot down and overtook the lorry in the tunnel and when we came out the other side the lorry's front windscreen was covered in keech form our loo on the bus not sure how the driver managed that one but it was a good laugh. We also joined the queue at a checkpoint going through Croatia i think when a bus load of nuns en route to Lourdes stopped next to our bus needless to say the Hills are alive with the sound of music got belted out and the usual are you Hibees in disguise.

Connemara Bar in Bordeaux was the drinking hole for the bulk of the jambos crazy day and Watson (Aberdeen based jambo) dressed up as Del Boy priceless. Watson was always good for a laugh dressed as Elvis in Sarajevo, Batman in Braga not sure if he did any others.

Ray, the loo on the bus was emptied a few times.

Once on a convertible with the roof down, if I remember correctly.

Im surprised you remember any of the trip😂

Watson nearly came unstuck in Sarajevo when the local cops tried to get him into their car.

Luckily, one of the locals talked them out of it, I think the police thought he was of a certain persuasion 😲

I think I had my eyes shut most of the way through Bosnia🥺

Toilet roll thrown on the pitch at Brechin, still in the packet!

Arbroath was mental!

A dug carried oot upside doon!

A police land rover rolled down the hill.

A fair few never even got to the game, pished.

As usual, the Currie bus went back with a few missing.

"C'mon Cel'ic, get intae these Orange b******s".

Not me, but my dad was standing next to a young Irish priest who shouted this at the 1972 Cup replay at Tynecastle.

Probably a young Pat Bonnar.

32 minutes ago, N Lincs Jambo said:

Yeah I remember Archie MacPherson losing his shit about that on Sportscene. Those big bad Hearts fans! 😂

He called it a disgrace...

The conga at Steve Sherwoods testimonial down in Watford was good fun.  Really good Jambo turnout that day

When 5/600 of us were forced onto 2 or 3 carriages of a commuter train to get from central Athens to the olympic stadium in 2006, we started singing the Takis song. This was the catalyst for a greek builder seemingly on his way home from work who was apparently a panathanikos fan to join in and go  absolutely batshit mental (jumping around, punching the roof of the train, giving the fingers to the riot police etc), the whole scene was even more surreal considering that he was only wearing a pair of sandals and a pair of shorts that were more or less daisy dukes! Pretty sure he ended up in the hearts end at the game!

1 hour ago, troy said:

Did that too

Was my birthday party that night in Nicky Tams .. my parents were greeting folk as they arrived and were asking where so and so was and the replies varied between the cells or the hospital

They gave up quite quickly

2 hours ago, Dino Velvet said:

Dino, I must have been acouple of rows in front of you as the boy was sat directly behind us and just burst between me and my wee laddie springing off the seats for about 4 rows of the old bucket seats and then up on top of the away dugout in my memory where he stopped, kind of surprised at himself and where he had ended up. The big polis at the away dugout just looked up at him and with a bit of an amused look and just beckoned him down with his finger. Funny thing was the guy had sat behind us for ages, hardly opened his mouth ... just the sight of Lennon bigging it up in front of the stand set him off I reckon. It was a few weeks before he re-appeared in his seat 🙂

Hearts v Chelsea in the early 80s. The Gorgie Road end was the traditional away end however it was used as the boys gate for a period. Remember being in there with  all the other 10 and 11 year olds when the Chelsea Skins attacked us. 😃

Edited by Weakened Offender

40 minutes ago, RobboM said:

Dino, I must have been acouple of rows in front of you as the boy was sat directly behind us and just burst between me and my wee laddie springing off the seats for about 4 rows of the old bucket seats and then up on top of the away dugout in my memory where he stopped, kind of surprised at himself and where he had ended up. The big polis at the away dugout just looked up at him and with a bit of an amused look and just beckoned him down with his finger. Funny thing was the guy had sat behind us for ages, hardly opened his mouth ... just the sight of Lennon bigging it up in front of the stand set him off I reckon. It was a few weeks before he re-appeared in his seat 🙂

Ha. Away dugout it was then. Was certainly a sight to see. You’re right about him being quiet too. I never heard a peep from him all game. 

Basle :  Appearing on Swiss Tele in some pub that was absolutely rammed with JT''s !..left my broon sauce stained scarf with the wee blonde hotty who interviewed us ! (it was broon sauce...!)

Basle : Stayed at the Ramada Plaza...(Now the Hyperion) in the centre, top floor club/bar, mate bought 4 drinks....4 JD's....equivalent of 75 quid......wooooooft !

Basle....the tram ride back from the stadium.....bouncing the tram off the track...

Basle.... just before half time, the beers got the better of me, had to hoof it to the gents.... Sandy Clark nissed as a pewt.... stood in the old, one hand on the wall, the other syphoning pose   !

Shed.....Davy Davy where's yer teeth.....

8 minutes ago, Dino Velvet said:

Ha. Away dugout it was then. Was certainly a sight to see. You’re right about him being quiet too. I never heard a peep from him all game. 

They were brilliant seats to have, right up at the tunnel and close enough to the away dugout so you knew they could hear your shouts.

I remember one midweek game against Kilmarnock, Jim Jefferies and Billy Brown were in charge of them, it's a quiet passage of play and the Killie keeper (school end) plays the ball out to the centre half. My mate shouts out "KEEPER'S BALL!!!" and the centre half looks across the the dugout where the shout came from and just assumed it came from Billy Brown, turns and, for no reason whatsoever, rolls the ball back to the keeper. Keeper rolls it out to the full back and my mate does the same shout "KEEPER'S BALL" and the same trick worked. Probably the most petty and trivial thing  and still makes me laugh 🙂

andythejambo

I remember a game, late 60's, at Clyde's old ground Shawfield, where the game was held up by a swan on the pitch for about 15 minutes. None of the polis wanted anything to do with the thing hissing and flapping. Eventually, one of the braver one's rugby tackles the beast, and it took 3 more to get it out the ground, and back to the adjacent River Clyde. I think the Sunday Post christened it Sammy The Swan in their match report the following day. 🦢🇱🇻

3 hours ago, GinRummy said:

I was behind the goals that day and half the shed was already passing on their way out when the first went in. Squashed up like sardines as everybody stopped in their tracks. Pure bedlam when the equaliser went in.

One of my favourite clips on back from the brink video, looked like total bedlam when wee j.r scored his scissor kick past walker?🇱🇻

2 minutes ago, millerjames398 said:

One of my favourite clips on back from the brink video, looked like total bedlam when wee j.r scored his scissor kick past walker?🇱🇻

I was 14 then and with my uncles behind the goals. They were part of the golf umbrella brigade. They never let me go up to the shed that day (they would for smaller games) but luckily the shed came to us 😀

Worthing Jambo
1 hour ago, andythejambo said:

I remember a game, late 60's, at Clyde's old ground Shawfield, where the game was held up by a swan on the pitch for about 15 minutes. None of the polis wanted anything to do with the thing hissing and flapping. Eventually, one of the braver one's rugby tackles the beast, and it took 3 more to get it out the ground, and back to the adjacent River Clyde. I think the Sunday Post christened it Sammy The Swan in their match report the following day. 🦢🇱🇻

Are you sure it wasn’t this one?

7572BCE1-7E34-4217-B697-9790CACFA4E3.jpeg

6 hours ago, sandyk said:

The conga at Steve Sherwoods testimonial down in Watford was good fun.  Really good Jambo turnout that day

I didnt make it down but remember my brother telling me when he returned that the guy who gave them a lift down turned and said it was his first time on a motorway 😂

Standing outside a pub in Dublin , Cage and Parrot? before the St Pats tie, Hearts and Pats fans getting on great when up walk two couples with the men wearing celtic tops , the usual grey and green from a lack of washing. They marched into the pub , it was heaving, the two women looking somewhat worried , 30 seconds later the women run out followed by two men wearing around the contents of a keg of Guinness on them , absolutely ****ing drenched they were 😂

At the old Kilbowie stadium  ( younger ones can google it😉) one of the Clydebank fans ran onto the pitch and right in front of the Hearts fans he  knelt down and crossed himself, that got an incredible reaction from the travelling Hearts support 😂

• 8 months later...
On 03/01/2020 at 17:43, andythejambo said:

Is their an archive of this

wattie exploited

mind when i was a kid at the hearts hibs game at new year standing in the shed at half time when these two men were talking about there xmas and one of the guys was yeah i got this suit which he was wearing when a pie came flying over from the hibs end and smashed all over his suit he went f@cking mental I thought it was funny as F@ck :rifle:

A boy falling out of the stand at Brechin (Unhurt) whilst reaching for a ball. Even the players were falling about laughing.

Davie Dodds Elephant Man chants, 2 Andy Gorams, Hearts fans applauding a Hibs Goalkeeper (Goram) after he, almost single handedly saved them from a severe doing.

38 minutes ago, Jamhammer said:

A boy falling out of the stand at Brechin (Unhurt) whilst reaching for a ball. Even the players were falling about laughing.

Davie Dodds Elephant Man chants, 2 Andy Gorams, Hearts fans applauding a Hibs Goalkeeper (Goram) after he, almost single handedly saved them from a severe doing.

Was there not an "only 2 Mark Vidukas" chant after he admitted mental health issues. My favourite was always "some poor monkeys got Tony Mowbrays heed" 

Edited by TypoonJambo