The King o'er the Water

9 minutes ago, FWJ said:

I would have thought the Stuarts were too Catholic for the Kirk’s liking rather than too liberal.

Not really, while they were Catholic (Mary) they didn't enforce worship on anybody of any faith, unlike The Kirk who made people turn. After all, James wasn't Catholic, was he.

1 minute ago, ri Alban said:

Not really, while they were Catholic (Mary) they enforce worship on anybody of any faith, unlike The Kirk who made people turn.

So you think the Kirk would have been quite happy to have a Catholic monarch?

And how about the growing bourgeoisie in the towns and cities of the Central Belt.  Happy to have an absolute monarchy or happier with parliamentary supremacy?

16 minutes ago, FWJ said:

And while raising a glass to this secret portrait

http://www.westhighlandmuseum.org.uk/collections/the-jacobites/secret-portrait/

I have to say that the heavily revisionist sentiment for this vainglorious narcissist does the tourist business in Fort William no damage at all.... 

Nor for Traquair House, where the romanticism of Bonnie Prince Charlie & the Jacobite movement brings in tens of thousands of tourists, especially Americans every year, does also help to have deep associations with Mary Queen of Scots as well, including several of her personal possessions, shoes, purses etc.

31 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Charlie would have loved to grab your sword :oohmatron:

Short tartan mini skirt some make up and me pissed I'd have probably let him.

Long as he shaved his legs mind.

20 minutes ago, FWJ said:

And how about the growing bourgeoisie in the towns and cities of the Central Belt.  Happy to have an absolute monarchy or happier with parliamentary supremacy?

The Kirk were not happy, but they could not touch the Popular Stewarts. 

If the Royal Stewarts were so authoritarian the Kirk would still be Catholic. Either through force or that's what the Kirk was looking for. Not the liberal loving Royals. They wanted to dictate faith to the people.

Anyway, it doesn't really matter, now or it shouldn't, what faith the royal family is, because we shouldn't have one, in this day and age.

Happy New year when it comes to you and ever Hearts supporter. 🍻

28 minutes ago, FWJ said:

One person one vote. PR democracy and an elected head of state, if we need one that is.

46 minutes ago, FWJ said:

And while raising a glass to this secret portrait

http://www.westhighlandmuseum.org.uk/collections/the-jacobites/secret-portrait/

I have to say that the heavily revisionist sentiment for this vainglorious narcissist does the tourist business in Fort William no damage at all.... 

But does nothing at all for the Scottish psyche.

I prefer the truth whatever that maybe.

And tell me, will we never hear the end
Of puir bluidy Charlie at Culloden yet again?
Though he ran like a rabbit down the glen
Leaving better folk than him to be butchered
Or are you sittin in your council house dreaming o' your clan?
Waitin' for the Jacobites tae come an free the land?
Try goin doon the broo with your claymore in your hand
And count a' the princes in the queue

For there's no gods and there's precious few heroes
But there's plenty on the dole in the Land o' the Leal
And it's time now to sweep the future clear
Of the lies of a past that we know was never real

Edited by whodanny

3 minutes ago, Zlatanable said:

No Gods And Precious Few Heroes

Yep, written by Brian McNeil, performed by the great Dick Gaughan. (Aye, I Know, he's a Hibby). One of Scotland's great Troubadors. 

23 hours ago, Boris said:

The Scots seemed quite happy to get rid of this Papist branch of the Stuarts.

Pretender in deed.

Some did some didn’t 

The Hanoverians showed their love of the Scots by murdering men women and children after Culloden and sending others away into slavery 

The fact that Scotland was under military occupation for decades afterwards gives a truer picture of the relationship between England and Scotland

Whatever the ins and outs nobody can argue that Scotland was subjugated by the English in the aftermath which was always their goal

England never wanted a Union of equals they wanted to destroy Scotland as an enemy once and for all and that was what happened