19 Points behind

rick witter

2 hours ago, Eldar Hadzimehmedovic said:

They finished this or more ahead of us a lot in the early 70s when it was 2 pts for a win. 

Scariest stat to me is the very real chance they'll have a bigger gap over us than we had over them in the Championship. That is a stunning turnaround. 

When did  hIbs finish 20 points ahead of us in the early 70s? From 72/73 to 74/75 they finished the equivalent amount translating the current gap to two points for a win which is I assume what you mean. It isn't much comfort. 

Your second point is spot on.

• Replies 549

One swallow does not a summer make.

The Leith Galictico's will soon be back in their box. 

Hopefully some people will have the decent to at least cringe when they read back some of their light years ahead comments.

We're just one too many mornings and a thousand miles behind.

Bob Dylan

1960 odd

2 hours ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Spot on Hendricks. Blind faith in Levein is simply bizarre. The assumption that Hibs will somehow fade away next season given that Lennon added 2 strikers in January that score on a weekly basis, equally so. If they lose a player they replace him. Simple. Who was on the line defending our first goal last night? Naismith. Our expensive striker who is played as a deep lying midfielder under Levein. Get him out.

Lennon added two strikers because he had to due to his own mess with stokes and the Lith. He also brought in another keeper as he did not trust the one he signed at the start of the season. He then used his Celtic connections to get Allan and moved on another striker he had signed. You would be having a Heart attack if it was CL that done the same. Lennon also inherited the core of the team he has been lucky so far and actually no where near the managerial genius some make him out to be.

What concerns me is this is their first season back up and they will build again next year even if they lose McGinn. We're going to be doing well just to stand still with Rotter in charge. Depressing times. 

Just now, Rents said:

Lennon added two strikers because he had to due to his own mess with stokes and the Lith. He also brought in another keeper as he did not trust the one he signed at the start of the season. He then used his Celtic connections to get Allan and moved on another striker he had signed. You would be having a Heart attack if it was CL that done the same. Lennon also inherited the core of the team he has been lucky so far and actually no where near the managerial genius some make him out to be.

And his team are 19pts ahead of the rubbish Levein has put together. All I hear are excuses. "His own mess" :rofl:what about Levein's shambles. Sells Gonacalves and doesn't replace him. Lennon is on a completely different level to Levein in 2018.

Enzo Chiefo
2 minutes ago, Rents said:

Levein inherited the core of his team too. Berra, Souttar and Lafferty. For all the excuses you are making you can't deny that Lennon is a far superior manager and is better at identifying players that hit the ground running. We sign players that are either injured , unfit or simply can't cut it. 

2 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Levein inherited the core of his team too. Berra, Souttar and Lafferty. For all the excuses you are making you can't deny that Lennon is a far superior manager and is better at identifying players that hit the ground running. We sign players that are either injured , unfit or simply can't cut it. 

I will judge Lennon soon enough like I have said to other posters we will revisit this at the end of next season. 

its a disgrace, need to put more money into the club with signing new players that we can build the team around for next season

Class of 75
8 minutes ago, Rents said:

As a  Hearts fan I hate saying this but the vermin have signed better players this season and Lennon appears to know what players he needs to fill the positions. Compare that to our scatter gun approach at recruitment under Levein and that is where the problem lies. Just look at his signings so far; a 36 year old who cannot run, a so called target man from League 2 i.e Stockton mark 2, Mulraney who has 45 minutes of game time at Inverness and can't get in the first team and finally looking to sign 38 year old Hughes for another year. One word, shambles.

2 hours ago, dc-jambo said:

Can anyone tell us, btw, when WAS the last time they finished 19 points ahead of us? I can’t recall it ever happening, unless you count when we were relegated in the early 80s

Because of 2 points for a win, we've gotta go all the way back to an immortal season in Scottish football. 1966/67.

So, Hibs. That club was an absolute joke on and off the park for years and years and years. Ridiculous managerial appointments. The most laughably incompetent CEO in the league. Fans who continually deluded themselves about some mythical "Hibs way" all the while their team played not like Brazil, but like Alan Brazil.

We had our boot on their necks. No matter how difficult things might've been for us at times, we always had Hibs to console ourselves with. Their goalkeepers. Their seemingly endless conveyor belt of ned players who'd destroy themselves off the park. And above all, their never-ending capacity to Hibs it up. 5-1 wasn't even the culmination of that; their somehow managing to go down in the most hysterically funny way despite having none of the problems we did was. No, correction: the Falkirk playoff was. It consigned them to a third season in the Championship, again in the most hilarious fashion.

But then, the Cup Final. A Cup Final we'd allowed them to reach. And they got the not inconsiderable matter of a 114-year-old boulder off their shoulders. And since then? Yikes. Transformation, under a very good manager who fits them as well as Jim Jefferies fit us. 

They don't choke any more. They're not scared of us any more. They play football which is so much better than us, it looks like a different sport. Today, they even managed a wee tribute act to Hearts 97/8: who also beat Killie 5-3 in an amazing game. And for months now, they've been playing like the second best team in the country. 

Credit to them. With similar resources, they're showing us how it's done. They're doing what we should be doing. How long will it last? Who knows? It's awfully difficult to imagine it doing so once Lennon leaves - but we don't know when that'll be, and his appointment itself was a sign that they were finally being ambitious, finally prioritising football. That ambition is resulting in their ST sales going up, while ours may be about to head into reverse.

But I'll tell you one thing. We won't get back on top of them by consoling ourselves with history or any other such bollocks. History is gone. All we have is the here and now. And in the here and now, they are miles ahead of us. A disgraceful set of affairs which should infuriate any Hearts fan anywhere. 

Class of 75
3 minutes ago, shaun.lawson said:

Because of 2 points for a win, we've gotta go all the way back to an immortal season in Scottish football. 1966/67.

So, Hibs. That club was an absolute joke on and off the park for years and years and years. Ridiculous managerial appointments. The most laughably incompetent CEO in the league. Fans who continually deluded themselves about some mythical "Hibs way" all the while their team played not like Brazil, but like Alan Brazil.

We had our boot on their necks. No matter how difficult things might've been for us at times, we always had Hibs to console ourselves with. Their goalkeepers. Their seemingly endless conveyor belt of ned players who'd destroy themselves off the park. And above all, their never-ending capacity to Hibs it up. 5-1 wasn't even the culmination of that; their somehow managing to go down in the most hysterically funny way despite having none of the problems we did was. No, correction: the Falkirk playoff was. It consigned them to a third season in the Championship, again in the most hilarious fashion.

But then, the Cup Final. A Cup Final we'd allowed them to reach. And they got the not inconsiderable matter of a 114-year-old boulder off their shoulders. And since then? Yikes. Transformation, under a very good manager who fits them as well as Jim Jefferies fit us. 

They don't choke any more. They're not scared of us any more. They play football which is so much better than us, it looks like a different sport. Today, they even managed a wee tribute act to Hearts 97/8: who also beat Killie 5-3 in an amazing game. And for months now, they've been playing like the second best team in the country. 

Credit to them. With similar resources, they're showing us how it's done. They're doing what we should be doing. How long will it last? Who knows? It's awfully difficult to imagine it doing so once Lennon leaves - but we don't know when that'll be, and his appointment itself was a sign that they were finally being ambitious, finally prioritising football. That ambition is resulting in their ST sales going up, while ours may be about to head into reverse.

But I'll tell you one thing. We won't get back on top of them by consoling ourselves with history or any other such bollocks. History is gone. All we have is the here and now. And in the here and now, they are miles ahead of us. A disgraceful set of affairs which should infuriate any Hearts fan anywhere. 

Spot on mate. Good post.

I am not defending Levein he definitely has not meet expected standards this season. 

What sticks in my craw is the Lennon love in I am confident he will get found out soon.

As for Hibs they will finish fourth and that is a big thing for them which is pathetic. 

heartandsoul
14 minutes ago, shaun.lawson said:

Shaun has got this spot on.

Johnny Sandiego
1 hour ago, Ali Lawrie said:

Embarrassing but hardly surprising. The way the club is run is a joke.

Aye its a major concern this £40m odd debt and heading towards admin. Not sure if we will be at Tynie next season either and the influx of Lithuianian trialists is a major concern.......

If only we could find someone who could find someone to step in and pay the CVA, steady the ship, revamp the youth development, build a new stand and get us on a good finacial footing where we can progress again. 

I agree, the way the club is being run is a joke.

7 hours ago, Absolute Scenes said:

Its been discussed in numerous different threads, its a bit boring now.

Get a life guys and go outside

Oh the irony :facepalm:

3 hours ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Spot on Hendricks. Blind faith in Levein is simply bizarre. The assumption that Hibs will somehow fade away next season given that Lennon added 2 strikers in January that score on a weekly basis, equally so. If they lose a player they replace him. Simple. Who was on the line defending our first goal last night? Naismith. Our expensive striker who is played as a deep lying midfielder under Levein. Get him out.

Hendricks may not be the most popular poster on here but the truth is that he’s right a hell of a lot more than he’s wrong. He’s absolutely nailed it on this thread.

Johnny Sandiego
1 hour ago, shaun.lawson said:

Yet more Hibs arse licking on here. What utter rubbish. 

The day I procalim that tin pot shite house outfit from Leith are "showing us how its done" is the day i stop supporting football. Grow some balls man. They have had one good season. One. Thats it. 

You can come back with this pish in 5 or 6 years time if they manage to sustain the upward curve but until then just put your tounge back in your jaws and calm down. 

Our season has been a shambles but for **** sake stop trying to alter reality by claiming this Hibs team is the 2nd coming of Christ. The f##kers currently sit 4th. A good return for a 1st term back but thats it.

Im sick of hearing rubbish like this. Your wee 97/98 gambit also riled me no end as you claimed during the week on another thread that we only won the cup in 98 as Rangers were an "ageing team". Your one of many Hibs appologists on here at the moment and attitudes like that can do one.

13 minutes ago, Johnny Sandiego said:

Our season has been a shambles but for **** sake stop trying to alter reality by claiming this Hibs team is the 2nd coming of Christ. The f##kers currently sit 4th. A good return for a 1st term back but thats it.

Im sick of hearing rubbish like this. Your wee 97/98 gambit also riled me no end as you claimed during the week on another thread that we only won the cup in 98 as Rangers were an "ageing team". Your one of many Hibs appologists on here at the moment and attitudes like that can do one.

You, like anyone on here, have a pretty simple choice. You can either acknowledge reality, or keep obsessing with the past if it makes you feel better. The latter strikes me as a pathetic, weak as piss attitude.

"2nd coming of Christ"?! No. They have the same resources as we do - yet while they focus on football, we comfort ourselves with our work on the stadium. Funny, that sounds familiar - have we swapped roles, or something? And you do realise that if they win their last three - perfectly possible - they'll have matched our total from 2005/6, when we spent more than double what they're spending now? They've already matched our total from our first season back up, when there was no Rangers in the league either.

Incidentally, I said nothing of the sort about 97/8. My point was simply about timing. Rangers 95/6 were quite a lot better than Rangers 97/8. Heck: Celtic 95/6 were quite a lot better than Celtic 97/8. Rangers 92/3 were light years better than Rangers 97/8 or Hearts 97/8. Timing is part of why teams win, or miss out: it's the same across sport. If you're going to sit there and pretend that a Rangers side which lost the league for the first time in a decade wasn't ageing and in slow decline (which was why Smith left, Advocaat joined and they signed a whole new team), this reality thing is clearly not for you. 

That doesn't take away the slightest thing from the 1998 Hearts side. They're all legends. They gave us some of the happiest moments of our lives. They had their opportunity, and they took it. Just as Hibs did 18 years later against a very very poor Rangers. Unfortunately, Hibs have used that to push them on; we've sat on our laurels and hurtled backwards.

Johnny Sandiego
1 minute ago, shaun.lawson said:

You, like anyone on here, have a pretty simple choice. You can either acknowledge reality, or keep obsessing with the past if it makes you feel better.

"2nd coming of Christ"?! No. They have the same resources as we do - yet while they focus on football, we comfort ourselves with our work on the stadium. Funny, that sounds familiar - have we swapped roles, or something? And you do realise that if they win their last three - perfectly possible - they'll have matched our total from 2005/6, when we spent more than double what they're spending now? They've already matched our total from our first season back up, when there was no Rangers in the league either.

Incidentally, I said nothing of the sort about 97/8. My point was simply about timing. Rangers 95/6 were quite a lot better than Rangers 97/8. Heck: Celtic 95/6 were better than Celtic 97/8. Rangers 92/3 were light years better than Rangers 97/8 or Hearts 97/8. Timing is part of why teams win, or miss out: it's the same across sport. If you're going to sit there and pretend that a Rangers side which lost the league for the first time in a decade wasn't ageing and in slow decline (which was why Smith left, Advocaat joined and they signed a whole new team), this reality thing is clearly not for you. 

That doesn't take away the slightest thing from the 1998 Hearts side. They're all legends. They gave us some of the happiest moments of our lives. They had their opportunity, and they took it. Just as Hibs did 18 years later against a very very poor Rangers. Unfortunately, Hibs have used that to push them on; we've sat on our laurels and hurtled backwards.

Where to start...

"yet while they focus on football, we comfort ourselves with our work on the stadium." - Maybe you've spent the last 15 years living in outerspace but a blind man could tell you we needed to redevelop the main stand to not only secure our future at Tynecastle but to also give us the facilities to grow revenue and ultimately grow the club. Theres no comfort here, it was essential. 

As for "obsessing about the past" - What the hell are you on about. You of all people, as statistic obsessed as you are, should realise every dirty dog has its day. Hibs finish above us roughly once every 3 or 4 seasons. Fact. Look back and you will see. When they do, its generally been because we are going through transition.

History tells me we come out the other side, stronger than them as always.

rick witter
4 hours ago, whodanny said:

No offense Rick but. It is what it is now, no sense making ourselves any more sick about it. I'm a Hearts fan til I die, we need to regroup and re-gather for next season, as Fans. Changes need to happen, I don't know if they will, we all have different ideas. I don't have the energy or the will just now. We are woeful. I hope fervently that next season is better. That's all I can wish for at the moment. HHGH. FTH.

Love your obvious passion mate. I seem negative at times but all I want is the best for us all. Your right we are where we are I just think with a change now we would be far better off 

8 minutes ago, Johnny Sandiego said:

History tells me we come out the other side, stronger than them as always.

And that's exactly what I mean. Chapeau for proving my point immediately.

rick witter
2 hours ago, Rents said:

One swallow does not a summer make.

The Leith Galictico's will soon be back in their box. 

Hopefully some people will have the decent to at least cringe when they read back some of their light years ahead comments.

Aye ok mate tell you what we will re visit this at the end of next season and their is £500 on the line that Hibs will be above us . 

We are nowhere near them over a season. 

Johnny Sandiego
1 minute ago, shaun.lawson said:

And that's exactly what I mean. Chapeau for proving my point immediately.

I can do that without rimming Hibs though. I was brought up to despise those f##kers and never credit them with anything. Grandfather, to father, to son, to future sons.

Not a chance i will ever go on a Hearts forum and claim Hibs are somehow showing everyone how its done. Its not on.

4 hours ago, Johnny Sandiego said:

I can do that without rimming Hibs though. I was brought up to despise those f##kers and never credit them with anything. Grandfather, to father, to son, to future sons.

Not a chance i will ever go on a Hearts forum and claim Hibs are somehow showing everyone how its done. Its not on.

Rest assured, they're not exactly top of my Christmas card list. I hate being behind them, let alone this far back. It's that which isn't on in my world. 

Edinburgh beat Glasgow in the rugby and Hogg plays for Glasgow.

That's the best dig I can have at the Pilrig rabble at present other than their hilarious derby record.

5 hours ago, It should have been ten said:

Enough to give you the boak ?

05DCFD09-7361-4809-93AC-8224DFA9D642.thumb.jpeg.7db9394724ab2fc1f81ecaf5a2011de9.jpeg

Assuming that's gowser who's liked it? 

Dearie me 

6 hours ago, It should have been ten said:

05DCFD09-7361-4809-93AC-8224DFA9D642.thumb.jpeg.7db9394724ab2fc1f81ecaf5a2011de9.jpeg

But he's got a valid point. 

Enzo Chiefo
6 hours ago, It should have been ten said:

Ryan McGowan disagrees with you. What is it with the truth that so many of our fans find hard to accept??  They would rather hang on to the coat tails of a failing club legend who is well out of his depth than see the necessary changes to make us a force again.

10 hours ago, Eldar Hadzimehmedovic said:

They finished this or more ahead of us a lot in the early 70s when it was 2 pts for a win. 

Scariest stat to me is the very real chance they'll have a bigger gap over us than we had over them in the Championship. That is a stunning turnaround. 

The gap, when we started the season with minus 15 points, under the much aligned and mocked Locke was less. 

8 hours ago, Rents said:

I am not defending Levein he definitely has not meet expected standards this season. 

What sticks in my craw is the Lennon love in I am confident he will get found out soon.

As for Hibs they will finish fourth and that is a big thing for them which is pathetic. 

Given our pre season target, fourth was a big thing for Budge also. 

The whole thing can be traced back to a shitebag second half display against them in the cup, followed by the “money spinna” comment, and then a tepid performance at their place that set the tone in how we approach these games. 

They went on to win the cup and have not looked back. We have got softer, slower and effectively disappeared up a black hole of negativity and a broken philosophy. 

It will change eventually though, I have no doubt. 

19 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Ryan McGowan disagrees with you. What is it with the truth that so many of our fans find hard to accept??  They would rather hang on to the coat tails of a failing club legend who is well out of his depth than see the necessary changes to make us a force again.

When you reach maturity, and your Hearts credentials are set in stone, you can feel comfortable stating facts that show we are lagging behind the likes of hibs. 

Leave it it to the jammy wearers to have arguments with their work mates about ground capacities, season tickets and ”who has the most points since 1955”. 

Publicly, of course, I am a blinkered arsehole when it comes to them. 

9 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

When you reach maturity, and your Hearts credentials are set in stone, you can feel comfortable stating facts that show we are lagging behind the likes of hibs. 

Leave it it to the jammy wearers to have arguments with their work mates about ground capacities, season tickets and ”who has the most points since 1955”. 

Publicly, of course, I am a blinkered arsehole when it comes to them. 

But then there's always Queen Anne and Craig 5 year plan to cheer everyone up. 

8 hours ago, Franko123 said:

its a disgrace, need to put more money into the club with signing new players that we can build the team around for next season

Signing players is easy and not an issue for us. Signing the right player, having balance in a squad of men and not pansies who are winners is. We, as fans are also very good at throwing money at the club so much so the club imo are starting to take advantage. We have had 2 terrible managers recently who are born losers with about as much an eye for the right player than what I suspect a 70 year old granny would. 

Even now I see the physical huddies who Levein is bringing in for the next loserfest season. I question my financial contribution every day. I bust my bollocks every day and for what? A bunch of losers wearing our shirt? From Sowah to Struna, Swanson to Sammon, Oshinwa to Martin, Kitchen to Stockton I have had enough. We are now at about 60 signings since the Budge era, 4 rebuilding seasons and a different starting XI week in week out. Hibs have had the same midfield for the past 3 seasons. The only constant in our midield is the fact they will get bullied week in week out.

**** Levein and his second rate management team and fourth rate signings and **** our no good piece of shit loser whimps of players (Berra and Souttar excl.).

1 minute ago, Shedro said:

But then there's always Queen Anne and Craig 5 year plan to cheer everyone up. 

Ha. 

Not going to get drawn into criticising Ann too much, but it’s just another example of our club talking a good game and then failing to deliver where it counts. 

Mind you, we have recently starting talking an awful game, so that’s progress!

Jean Louis Valois
13 hours ago, jock _turd said:

ANYBODY WHO THINKS HEART of MIDLOTHIAN FOOTBALL CLUB IS IN DECLINE IS ON THE WRONG FORUM... end of... we may have had a poor season but in DECLINE GTF !

Yes we are, until Levein is gone the club is only going to go downhill. More mid table mediocrity beckons next season, can't wait. 

1 minute ago, i8hibsh said:

Signing players is easy and not an issue for us. Signing the right player, having balance in a squad of men and not pansies who are winners is. We, as fans are also very good at throwing money at the club so much so the club imo are starting to take advantage. We have had 2 terrible managers recently who are born losers with about as much an eye for the right player than what I suspect a 70 year old granny would. 

Even now I see the physical huddies who Levein is bringing in for the next loserfest season. I question my financial contribution every day. I bust my bollocks every day and for what? A bunch of losers wearing our shirt? From Sowah to Struna, Swanson to Sammon, Oshinwa to Martin, Kitchen to Stockton I have had enough. We are now at about 60 signings since the Budge era, 4 rebuilding seasons and a different starting XI week in week out. Hibs have had the same midfield for the past 3 seasons. The only constant in our midield is the fact they will get bullied week in week out.

**** Levein and his second rate management team and fourth rate signings and **** our no good piece of shit loser whimps of players (Berra and Souttar excl.).

What we are seeing now is not the Hearts Way and I find it impossible to get behind it now. 

9 hours ago, Kiwidoug said:

We're just one too many mornings and a thousand miles behind.

Bob Dylan

1960 odd

Good song KD, Johnny Cash does a great cover version.

14 hours ago, iainmac said:

4. They didn't completely change their playing style when they got promoted. 

Exactly this. The change started to take place once we had sealed promotion. The game at ER when we had won the league, and we got beat, there was a marked difference in our style of play. It had the hallmarks of CL’s style of play written all over it and, as me and my mates discussed at the time, unfortunately were likely to expect more of the same come the following season.

9 hours ago, Rents said:

If finishing fourth is no big thing, why are we excusing finishing sixth?  Unless we get a better manager than Hibs, this will continue due to the fact that Lennon is a better manager than Levein.    

10 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Well I can't argue with any of this.

Indeed. For the first time in JKB history there is almost nothing we can read on here that we disagree with (Terrace). We seem to all know our inadequacies and how to fix. We know it, The pundits know it and our opposition know it (and are able to exploit). Sadly our loser management team do not and are able to drag us down more week in week out under an owner who sees lego buses, face painting community days and LGBT laces as our bottom line. Before people start I know community cohesion etc is great and should be a part of a wholesome environment we create but it is not the bottom line and should never be. Winning is the bottom line.

Is it a co-incidence we became soft as shite and a bunch of losers since Ann Budge too over? Obviously open for debate but I am convinced it is not. She is a good woman and she played her part in our survival but so did many of us. We are the new St Johnstone. A nice community club who will soon have the crowds to match.

15 minutes ago, i8hibsh said:

Indeed. For the first time in JKB history there is almost nothing we can read on here that we disagree with (Terrace). We seem to all know our inadequacies and how to fix. We know it, The pundits know it and our opposition know it (and are able to exploit). Sadly our loser management team do not and are able to drag us down more week in week out under an owner who sees lego buses, face painting community days and LGBT laces as our bottom line. Before people start I know community cohesion etc is great and should be a part of a wholesome environment we create but it is not the bottom line and should never be. Winning is the bottom line.

Is it a co-incidence we became soft as shite and a bunch of losers since Ann Budge too over? Obviously open for debate but I am convinced it is not. She is a good woman and she played her part in our survival but so did many of us. We are the new St Johnstone. A nice community club who will soon have the crowds to match.

The club feels more like Boroughmuir than Hearts just now.  We need our bite back. Utter toothless just now.  

9 hours ago, Class of 75 said:

Spot on mate. Good post.

I was thinking of taking that blether off ignore for a while .

Then you quoted his latest pile of poo. Think I'll just leave things as they are.

23 minutes ago, Elmore said:

If finishing fourth is no big thing, why are we excusing finishing sixth?  Unless we get a better manager than Hibs, this will continue due to the fact that Lennon is a better manager than Levein.    

Precisely. And I challenge anyone to suggest Levein is better than Lennon. The latter's on another level from clapped out Craig I'm afraid.

18 minutes ago, shaun.lawson said:

Precisely. And I challenge anyone to suggest Levein is better than Lennon. The latter's on another level from clapped out Craig I'm afraid.

Not one club would take levein over Lennon.  Someone on another thread suggested we won't sign any more strikers. We need pace up front and we sign a 35 year old who can't play in all our away games.  We are shite away from home and we sign an old striker who can't play in all our away games. It's  actually becoming weird now.