Stormzy"s Rant/ Brit Awards.

10 hours ago, John Findlay said:

You may lose your naivety one day.

and the award for the most patronising post of 2018 goes toooo........

Hopefully it will be at the same time you lose your miserable old man persona 

• Replies 175
4 hours ago, i8hibsh said:

The amount of times Stormzy mentioned the fire hazard of Grenfell Tower block before the 14th June 2017 = zero.

The amount of Grenfell victims Stormzy was friends with = zero.

The amount of ****s Stormzy gave about the residents of Grenfell before the 14th June 2017 = zero.

The amount of times I had heard of Stormzy before approx 8am yesterday = zero.

The amount of people who watch the Brits = zero.

The amount of talent Stormzy has = zero*

*unless taking your top off, getting wet and talking fast is now considered a talent.

One of these days we will see these 'celebrities' get political about issues because they truly mean something to them and not just because they are trending and they want to get retweets, column inches and likes.

Is there anything that the Tories are not responsible for to the left? For him to think it is Teresa May's money he is spending shows him up to be an imbecile. How dare he demand Teresa May just gives my money away, how dare he.

That is all these ghastly award shows are nowadays. Platforms for political and racial commentary. Each celebrity trying to out virtue one another. Truly horrendous. I cringe beyond any possible state of cringe at the thought of the next one. Next up the Oscars. I will give that (as always) the widest of berths. Celebrities all backslapping one another, trying to win the compassion battle before they speed off in their limo to their after show party, drink the finest Bubbly and snort Cocaine of top class hookers breasts. Utterly nauseating on every level.

The Oscars will be a succession of people trying to hide the fact they were happy to pose with Weinstein on the red carpet for the last two decades. 

I dont mind musicians being political, it’s always been part of it (especially folk music) and any musician can use a platform to make a point. That’s a freedom we enjoy. 

I hate when people say 'keep politics out of football/music etc ec'

Football and gigs are about the only time working class people get together en masse.

It should be encouraged.

3 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

The Oscars will be a succession of people trying to hide the fact they were happy to pose with Weinstein on the red carpet for the last two decades. 

I dont mind musicians being political, it’s always been part of it (especially folk music) and any musician can use a platform to make a point. That’s a freedom we enjoy. 

Meryl Streep and the like will be in full flow at the Oscars. Truly horrendous.

Political lyrics are part of music. Some of my fav songs are political. Back in the day it meant something and was for heartfelt causes.This conveyor belt of self publicising platitudes nowadays are purely for social media acceptance. 

Just now, southcap said:

Football and gigs are about the only time working class people get together en masse.

It should be encouraged.

Except politics is not exclusive to the working class. It is for everyone.

Just now, i8hibsh said:

Except politics is not exclusive to the working class. It is for everyone.

I must have missed that bit where I said politics were just for the working class.

Working class people have a long history on not engaging in politics, whether through choice or ignorance.

When the working classes get together en masse, the opportunity to exploit that must be used to it's maximum. 

27 minutes ago, The Brow said:

and the award for the most patronising post of 2018 goes toooo........

Hopefully it will be at the same time you lose your miserable old man persona 

I see you are 36 this year. Still plenty time for you to gain some wisdom. You have my best wishes.

18 hours ago, Jefferson Davis Hogg said:

Has the government not already provided 58 million for grenfell? 

They may have but how much of that 58M has actually filtered down to the folk that were directly affected?

I dont know for sure but I heard that one bloke got almost £20K or something. Doesn't seem that much considering your entire life went up in smoke and you watched your neighbours burn to death.

No, I am positive that £58M is one of those 'headline amounts' from the government and the arseholes who read the Daily Mail believe it and everything else they are fed by the tories. 

BTW, Who TF is 'Stormzy'?

3 hours ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

I hope they got the leak in the roof fixed. The chap'll catch his death getting that soaked! 

#pray4stromzy

17 hours ago, John Findlay said:

You may lose your naivety one day.

What's happened to you, John?

You used to be a reasonable poster but you've gone all curmudgeonly.

1 minute ago, Governor Tarkin said:

What's happened to you, John?

You used to be a reasonable poster but you've gone all curmudgeonly.

Got to match his looks with his persona now that John revealed all on the plastic surgery thread.....

::troll::

6 hours ago, southcap said:

It should be encouraged.

I see i8 is back playing the arsehole again. 

6 hours ago, southcap said:

It should be encouraged.

NOt sure the working class can attend a lot of gigs by the Stormzys and Rita Oras etc- £100 + per ticket and rising

that's a whole lot of politics being thrown at middle class folks pretending to be down with the downtrodden- rich folks watching rich folks singing about poor folks to make themselves feel better about being rich.

I support the ideals behind it, but lets face it - its really just the uber rich performers asking the government to throw cash gathered from people less well off than they are at a cause they could easily dip into their own millions and solve

I'm thinking bono, di Caprio et al

Thanks for the lecture guys,and when I reach the free-champagne-then a limo back to my £1million+ gaff  stage I'll give a bit more and not just ask the tax payer to fix it

Champage socialists boil my pish

1 minute ago, doctor jambo said:

NOt sure the working class can attend a lot of gigs by the Stormzys and Rita Oras etc- £100 + per ticket and rising

They don't need to. It was on the telly.

Just now, Governor Tarkin said:

It was the "football and gigs are about the only times working class can get together en masse" I was referring to.......

Football- fair enough-  5 of us at Tynie can be done for £73 last  time we did it

Little Mix for 2 standing in a field was £87 for 2 tickets- ie well over £200 had the 5 of us gone

Don't really see Stormzy being much cheaper (don't grudge him it though)-

hold a benefit gig

Grande did it for Manchester , Sheerin did it for terminally ill kids- respect that more than empty grandstanding

18 hours ago, deesidejambo said:

Stormzys music is shite.

The Brits are shite, as evidenced by the large drop in viewing figures from previous years.

So how many albums as he sold word wide then?:jj_facepalm:

Millions? 

Pretty good for an artists who as you say is shite.:greggy:

TV  viewing figures has feck all to do with his rant being noted , for one  its all over social media. Not to mention some MSM newspapers.  

People are not tied  to their tv"s for information nowadays or even to see or hear about Sromzys rant and  the spread of it :laugh:.

He even got Mays spin doctor to come out the woodwork.:laugh:

7 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

It was the "football and gigs are about the only times working class can get together en masse" I was referring to.......

Football- fair enough-  5 of us at Tynie can be done for £73 last  time we did it

Little Mix for 2 standing in a field was £87 for 2 tickets- ie well over £200 had the 5 of us gone

hold a benefit gig

Grande did it for Manchester , Sheerin did it for terminally ill kids- respect that more than empty grandstanding

Did Stormzy not perform  in the Manchester benefit gig .

1 minute ago, doctor jambo said:

hold a benefit gig

I know I was just being a dick.

Thing is, none of us have any idea what - if any - charity work 'celebrities' get up to out of the public eye. 

I just don't get the cynicism.

4 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

I know I was just being a dick.

Thing is, none of us have any idea what - if any - charity work 'celebrities' get up to out of the public eye. 

I just don't get the cynicism.

Guess so, but in generations of luvvies posturing and lecturing us all, they seem to never get any poorer unless they spend all their money on yachts, villas and divorces, or get caught in tax dodges (just as bad as the bankers do) and the poor never seem to get noticeably wealthier.

Geldof is still minted, and the poor keep suffering

7 hours ago, IronJambo said:

I would guess that they pretty much all know what Grenfell is. It's the ghetto that's being represented here remember, the people most effected. 

:thumb:

My point in starting  this thread was to highlight the fact  that a well known music celeb had uttered a grievance on national  TV towards the PM May.

In fact, i knew form the off, that some would jump at the chance to politicise it , and steer it away from the  attack on this government that was made  from a music celeb  on a very sensitive tragedy like Grenfell.

Still no utterances from this government on who and why these fire hazard blocks were allowed to be built on that tower block in the first place.

Still not one  word on who was to blame that cost over 70 lives.

Water sprinkler  systems and fire proof blocks were given a body sever, why? because they cost too much, that says it all.

If rich celebs want to use their medium to air their anger or ask awkward  questions on such tragedies  like Grenfell then they have my blessing.

52 minutes ago, Debut 4 said:

Got to match his looks with his persona now that John revealed all on the plastic surgery thread.....

::troll::

Damn tootin.:levein_interesting:.

8 minutes ago, maroonlegions said:

:thumb:

My point in starting  this thread was to highlight the fact  that a well known music celeb had uttered a grievance on national  TV towards the PM May.

In fact, i knew form the off, that some would jump at the chance to politicise it , and steer it away from the  attack on this government that was made  from a music celeb  on a very sensitive tragedy like Grenfell.

Still no utterances from this government on who and why these fire hazard blocks were allowed to be built on that tower block in the first place.

Still not one  word on who was to blame that cost over 70 lives.

Water sprinkler  systems and fire proof blocks were given a body sever, why? because they cost too much, that says it all.

If rich celebs want to use their medium to air their anger or ask awkward  questions on such tragedies  like Grenfell then they have my blessing.

They have my blessing too.

Canny wait until Stormzy stands up and condemns poor folk in Britain for their lack of attempts at breast feeding that leads to babies in Britain being more likely to die than in most other developed countries in numbers that makes Grenfell look like nothing

58 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

that's a whole lot of politics being thrown at middle class folks pretending to be down with the downtrodden- rich folks watching rich folks singing about poor folks to make themselves feel better about being rich.

I support the ideals behind it, but lets face it - its really just the uber rich performers asking the government to throw cash gathered from people less well off than they are at a cause they could easily dip into their own millions and solve

I'm thinking bono, di Caprio et al

Thanks for the lecture guys,and when I reach the free-champagne-then a limo back to my £1million+ gaff  stage I'll give a bit more and not just ask the tax payer to fix it

Champage socialists boil my pish

Most working class people in full time employment can afford that if they don't have a family to support.

Champagne socialists annoy you? So once you are wealthy you must stop try to help those less fortunate than you? Strange attitude. Give me a champagne socialist over a champagne quaffer any day of the week.

I hate the attitude that successful folk from a working class background must either;

1. Be successful, become a Tory and shut up or,

2. Give all their wealth away to prove they care

Feel free to add any other options in.

2 subjects here, nothing wrong in having at go at May or any of her lot, cant be ersed with rap or grime and have given up on this show, Loved Royal Blood a couple of years ago on it but think I am finished now. Instead I went to my wee howf and watch the Tower of Song Leonard Cohen concert from last November proper music proper musicians. But its an age thing and I know have a sort of understanding as to how my late father would leave the room when TOTP came on.

Mr Brightside
1 hour ago, maroonlegions said:

So how many albums as he sold word wide then?:jj_facepalm:

Millions? 

Pretty good for an artists who as you say is shite.:greggy:

TV  viewing figures has feck all to do with his rant being noted , for one  its all over social media. Not to mention some MSM newspapers.  

People are not tied  to their tv"s for information nowadays or even to see or hear about Sromzys rant and  the spread of it :laugh:.

He even got Mays spin doctor to come out the woodwork.:laugh:

According to wiki his album has had 69,000 sales in the UK, that’s nothing special. Seems to have had a lot of streams 13million but not sure how that equates to other artists.

Nothing against him making a political statement, Damon Albarn done the same on the night. However his music and pretty much everyone on the brits (excluding LG) was gash, or maybe I am just too old now.

1 hour ago, doctor jambo said:

They have my blessing too.

Canny wait until Stormzy stands up and condemns poor folk in Britain for their lack of attempts at breast feeding that leads to babies in Britain being more likely to die than in most other developed countries in numbers that makes Grenfell look like nothing

You could make  up all kinds of ridiculous political rhetoric  but the fact remains he said what he said and the far right hate it, which pleases me greatly.

You do sound bitter though.

Grenfell look like nothing, tell that to those who lost friends and loved ones.

Neo cons all over this tread with bitterness, which was expected.:clyay:

The governments continued silence on who is responsible speaks volumes for there contempt of the poor.

Whats next , criminalise people for being poor. :bolt:

16 minutes ago, Mr Brightside said:

According to wiki his album has had 69,000 sales in the UK, that’s nothing special. Seems to have had a lot of streams 13million but not sure how that equates to other artists.

Nothing against him making a political statement, Damon Albarn done the same on the night. However his music and pretty much everyone on the brits (excluding LG) was gash, or maybe I am just too old now.

World wide sales  outside the UK are bigger i think, still to win what he did is special.

Still, his rant got a lot of publicity on social  media. 

1 hour ago, southcap said:

Most working class people in full time employment can afford that if they don't have a family to support.

Champagne socialists annoy you? So once you are wealthy you must stop try to help those less fortunate than you? Strange attitude. Give me a champagne socialist over a champagne quaffer any day of the week.

I hate the attitude that successful folk from a working class background must either;

Feel free to add any other options in.

:robbo:

And therein lies the two  primary far right attacks.

25 minutes ago, Mr Brightside said:

That's the most controversial statement on this thread. Whilst I'm not a massive fan of his Damon Allbran is one of the finest musicians this country has seen in the last 20 years. He's an unbelievable talent. 

Punks No Deid

One of our own - Wattie - The Exploited have/has been very vocal politics wise from day one. Not to court favour and/or jump on a bandwagon but just to stick to their principles

3 hours ago, maroonlegions said:

The governments continued silence on who is responsible speaks volumes for there contempt of the poor.  

The government set up the Grenfell enquiry FFS.

1st report due out early April.

Mr Brightside
4 hours ago, IronJambo said:

That's the most controversial statement on this thread. Whilst I'm not a massive fan of his Damon Allbran is one of the finest musicians this country has seen in the last 20 years. He's an unbelievable talent. 

On a second read I can see why you responded the way you did. My point was that Stormzy and the other performers I seen (I don’t think Gorillza played) are gash.

I quite liked Blur back in the day, Parklife was one of the first albums I owned.

1 hour ago, felix said:

The government set up the Grenfell enquiry FFS.

1st report due out early April.

Don't worry Labour would have had it all done and dusted a week after the tragedy happened.

19 hours ago, i8hibsh said:

The amount of times Stormzy mentioned the fire hazard of Grenfell Tower block before the 14th June 2017 = zero.

The amount of Grenfell victims Stormzy was friends with = zero.

The amount of ****s Stormzy gave about the residents of Grenfell before the 14th June 2017 = zero.

The amount of times I had heard of Stormzy before approx 8am yesterday = zero.

The amount of people who watch the Brits = zero.

The amount of talent Stormzy has = zero*

*unless taking your top off, getting wet and talking fast is now considered a talent.

One of these days we will see these 'celebrities' get political about issues because they truly mean something to them and not just because they are trending and they want to get retweets, column inches and likes.

Is there anything that the Tories are not responsible for to the left? For him to think it is Teresa May's money he is spending shows him up to be an imbecile. How dare he demand Teresa May just gives my money away, how dare he.

That is all these ghastly award shows are nowadays. Platforms for political and racial commentary. Each celebrity trying to out virtue one another. Truly horrendous. I cringe beyond any possible state of cringe at the thought of the next one. Next up the Oscars. I will give that (as always) the widest of berths. Celebrities all backslapping one another, trying to win the compassion battle before they speed off in their limo to their after show party, drink the finest Bubbly and snort Cocaine of top class hookers breasts. Utterly nauseating on every level.

Sorry, Very non-PC. But that's the first post on JKB I have laughed out loud at for a long time.

I dunno what’s Stormzy’s lyrics are generally based on but it’s actually refreshing to see artists speaking about important issues rather than bragging on about their fabulous wealth and booty (which, I know, is a very American thing)

19 hours ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Whose TV were the working class gathering en masse in front of?

1 minute ago, Francis Albert said:

Whose TV were the working class gathering en masse in front of?

Not mine. I was watching the snooker.

On 22/02/2018 at 14:33, Cade said:

It's promised that amount, but nowhere near that much has actually been paid

What should they have done? Open a bank account with £58m and tell the Grenfell folks to "fill their boots"?

The evil far right tories are not really trying hard enough in their efforts to further drive down the oppressed working class. They could have taken a leaf out of the book of the govermment after aberfan, the last disaster on this scale and equally man made. They could have forced the charity raising public disaster relief funds to provide over £2.5 m towarfs the cot of replacing cladding on other high rise flats.

On 2/22/2018 at 09:53, maroonlegions said:

Aye, so were is it then.

And why still not any prosecutions  for blatant health and safety  regulations.

Ask those who lost homes and loved ones in that fire wold be a better option.

This government never lies though. 

It is not the first time Stormzy has taken aim at Mrs May at a public event.

In September last year, he labelled her a “paigon” at the GQ Men of the Year Awards.

According to the Urban dictionary, a paigon is “a friend that lies, betrays and isn’t true to you”.:laugh:

Lawyers and ''consultants'' still deciding how to divvy it up among themselves.

On 2/22/2018 at 15:15, John Findlay said:

Yes why not if, he can afford to.

John, I like your posts here, but for FFS man.

5 hours ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

What should they have done? Open a bank account with £58m and tell the Grenfell folks to "fill their boots"?

Given that someone is already in jail for trying to con the money I can understand why care needs to be taken.

but hey this is KB just write blank chèques out to whoever wants money.  Stormzy said so.

8 hours ago, Nookie Bear said:

I dunno what’s Stormzy’s lyrics are generally based on but it’s actually refreshing to see artists speaking about important issues rather than bragging on about their fabulous wealth and booty (which, I know, is a very American thing)

His lyrics if I've the right guy. :facepalm:

"You're never to big for your boots" ffs:getout:

But he's spot on here.

5 hours ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

The Tories can go and take a feck to themselves with a great big hot poker from hell. And everyone who voted for them can join in.

16 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

The Tories can go and take a feck to themselves with a great big hot poker from hell. And everyone who voted for them can join in.

Is that a Stormzy lyric?

1 minute ago, deesidejambo said:

Is that a Stormzy lyric?

Just a bit pissed aff with the score at snake mountain, dee. Hopefully Scotland will do them at Murrayfield.

I wonder when some celebrity will be really brave and come out in support of the vote in favour of Brexit  by the majority of the working class they care so much about. Probably never because the working class are in the minds of the radical left of course too thick to know what's good for them.