'We need to sign more British players'

Ibrahim Tall

Really?

McGhee

Nicholson

Walker

Paterson

Four 'local' homegrown guys never mind British players and all four have ****ed of at the first opportunity. One thought he was too good for Hearts and Scottish football before he was even a regular, one an apparent Jambo ran his contract down and left to one of few places where the club couldn't get any compensation.

Now the current 'diehard' is doing everything he can to join a rival in the shittiest way possible.

Paterson is the only one to come out of the scenario with any degree of respect and he's the one who wasn't a Hearts fan!

But aye, foreigners are mercenaries that don't 'get Hearts'. What do people expect when even our own are wanks.

Likely to be controversial but I tend to agree. Pampered spoiled brats.

Wait 5 minutes their da their uncle and cousins will be on telling us they were offered a fiver a week

Your digs at Walker and Nicholson are based on pure speculation from here.

Getting sick of new threads popping up 7 times a day that aren't even thinly veiled pops at our team/players/board - they're just straight up abuse for the sake of it.

Ibrahim Tall

Your digs at Walker and Nicholson are based on pure speculation from here.

Getting sick of new threads popping up 7 times a day that aren't even thinly veiled pops at our team/players/board - they're just straight up abuse for the sake of it.

Digs at Nicholson?

So he didn't refuse a new contract and leave on a free transfer to the US?

Tbh it's getting to the stage that signing anybody is a plus. Because at the moment we have a worse team than last year which lets be honest only Cathro could achieve. A worse team than last year :rofl: Let that sink in.

Digs at Nicholson?

Refuse a new contract, yes.

Leave on a free transfer to the US, no.

Is this is a new thing where players are apparently obliged to do everything they can for their current club rather than think about their own careers? there are probably reasons why all these players appear to be quite happy to leave at the first sniff of interest.

Ryan Jarman

Tbh it's getting to the stage that signing anybody is a plus. Because at the moment we have a worse team than last year which lets be honest only Cathro could achieve. A worse team than last year :rofl: Let that sink in.

What a load of old agenda driven shite. 

We had a clear out of dead wood and players that didn't prove themselves beyond a 6 month deal. Have brought in a solid center half and still have plenty time to recruit players. 

How that can 'only' be achieved by Cathro, who is not solely responsible for player recruitment, is a load of slavered pish and you know it.  

What a load of old agenda driven shite.

We had a clear out of dead wood and players that didn't prove themselves beyond a 6 month deal. Have brought in a solid center half and still have plenty time to recruit players.

How that can 'only' be achieved by Cathro, who is not solely responsible for player recruitment, is a load of slavered pish and you know it.

Agenda :lol:

We've lost Nicholson, Paterson, Walker(looks like), Reilly.

Signed Berra.

But of course, our teams streets ahead of last year at the moment.

Ibrahim Tall

Is this is a new thing where players are apparently obliged to do everything they can for their current club rather than think about their own careers? there are probably reasons why all these players appear to be quite happy to leave at the first sniff of interest.

That's not the point I was making.

Rather as a support we've crucified the likes of Djoum for stating they'd like to move to England etc for having no loyalty and disrespecting the club yet the Scots are no better.

McGhee left because he wasn't close to getting a game for us and he was offered a chance at a Premiership club. He'd have been crazy not to go.

Nicholson hasn't left yet. We've got no idea what's going to happen with him.

Seems like you've jumped the gun a little.

Ibrahim Tall

McGhee left because he wasn't close to getting a game for us and he was offered a chance at a Premiership club. He'd have been crazy not to go.

Nicholson hasn't left yet. We've got no idea what's going to happen with him.

Seems like you've jumped the gun a little.

Nicholsons been training in Minnesota or else their directors are lying.

Escobar PHM

All down to money. Something that will never change.

It doesn't matter where you were born, there are no allegiances or loyalty in football these days. Money speaks the same language to Jamie Walker that it speaks to Arnaud Djoum.

Walker and Paterson have been our best 2 players, by a distance, in the last 2 years. Nicholson less so and McGhee never cut the mustard. I think they all had in common that they generally tried 100% in the time they were here.

Compare that to the numerous players we have had from elsewhere in the world over the years who have robbed the club blind. Not just your Kingstons and your Pinillas, but folk like Struna and Tzoilis and Watt and Djoum.....in fact the list is pretty big.

Personally I wish all 4 of them luck wherever they end up and thank them for 100% effort whilst they were here. If we got that level of effort from certain other players and incoming players, we wont miss departing players too much.

Ryan Jarman

Agenda :lol:

We've lost Nicholson, Paterson, Walker(looks like), Reilly.

Signed Berra.

But of course, our teams streets ahead of last year at the moment.

I agree. Our squad at the moment looks worse than last season but, it's only been 3 and a bit weeks since last season finished. We have 4 weeks until the League Cup starts and seven weeks until the league starts. Folk need to cool their jets a little, we will bring in players soon. 

Its all Cathro's fault but. 

If they are good enough and apply themselves properly I couldnt give a shoite where they were from.

As for players wanting to move on to bigger clubs its called ambition. No problems with that, however players running down contracts/agents playing funny buggers etc should get the treatment their actions deserve.

Said it for long enough, its not 'foreigners' that's the problem at Hearts, its the attitude of the players which is the problem.

There are endless number of examples of foreign players over the years who have come in and conducted themselves impeccably at the club - see messrs  Skacel and Fysass to name a couple of obvious ones.

Folk like Walker and Nicholson aren't fit to lace the boots of folk like Skacel and Fysass.

Atleast when they are here, they normally give their all for Hearts...

Paterson yes. Rest no.

Nicholsons been training in Minnesota or else their directors are lying.

We know that he trained with them but we don't know if they've offered him anything or that he'll go there if they do.

There's work to done, for sure.

The team as it stands would be bottom.

Plenty time, tho...

I think what the OP was trying to say is that Hearts will always be viewed as a stepping stone club by any player, regardless of where they come from.

The board have said openly that we're a selling club, so this is only to be expected.

What is annoying is the number of players that leave on a free, which makes a mockery of the selling club ethos.

We can't make any money if they keep sneaking out for nowt.

I think what the OP was trying to say is that Hearts will always be viewed as a stepping stone club by any player, regardless of where they come from.

The board have said openly that we're a selling club, so this is only to be expected.

What is annoying is the number of players that leave on a free, which makes a mockery of the selling club ethos.

Now that's a good post.

It comes down to the type of person.

It also doesn't help with outside influence from agents.

It takes a strong person to stand their ground and do the right thing but alot of these young players panic a bit because they think they have to jump on the first chance of big money.

Digs at Nicholson?

As is his right, to further his career.

If they won't sign contracts, there is little the club can do. These things are rarely simple.

The Board will be criticised no matter what they do.  If they had accepted Rangers offer of ?500k for Walker, the agenda driven posters will say we should have held out for ?1m.  If we try to hold out for ?1m and there are no takers, Walker will walk for free.  The agenda driven posters will then slam the club for not taking the ?500k when it was going.

Doesn't reflect well on the director of football that so many players are leaving on a free. Especially guys like Paterson who we should be getting decent money for.

Escobar PHM

Doesn't reflect well on the director of football that so many players are leaving on a free. Especially guys like Paterson who we should be getting decent money for.

I think what we're seeing relates back to when we went into admin. We just couldnt afford to tie up the big assets on long deals with decent money. By the time we were more able, the players concerned had already made up their mind not to stay for whatever reasons, mostly money I assume but we don't really know if something is amiss in the background that no one is talking about.

Just before Skacel left the first time, he signed a three-year deal on the understanding that we'd sell him right away.

He got his move to Southampton, Hearts bagged ?1.6million.

That's how it should be done.

Escobar PHM

The Board will be criticised no matter what they do.  If they had accepted Rangers offer of ?500k for Walker, the agenda driven posters will say we should have held out for ?1m.  If we try to hold out for ?1m and there are no takers, Walker will walk for free.  The agenda driven posters will then slam the club for not taking the ?500k when it was going.

Whereas the reality is Walker is uncapped, has a knee issue and is in the last year of his contract. We don't have the upper hand now and a wee bit more than ?500k has to be taken now. ?650 ought to do it. We wont get ?1 million. He isn't worth ?1 million.

Escobar PHM

Just before Skacel left the first time, he signed a three-year deal on the understanding that we'd sell him right away.

Craig Gordon did the same thing. For every Skacel/Gordon there are half a dozen Websters unfortunately.

Skacel was on loan. We agreed to take up the option to pay the fee to Marseille and then sold him straight away to Southampton for a profit.

It's worth also pointing out that unless you're Real Madrid, Man Utd or Barcelona, every club on Earth is a selling club and stepping stone to bigger and better things.

If we were playing on Saturday, I'd share you view but we're a club that is performing major surgery in the close season. Loads of players will leave, but loads will come in. We're about four weeks away from our first League Cup group stage games. Deals will be getting done right now. Players will arrive, and in numbers.

Bowmans_Boot

It's worth also pointing out that unless you're Real Madrid, Man Utd or Barcelona, every club on Earth is a selling club and stepping stone to bigger and better things.

We are one of the very few who use this as their main selling point to attract players, though.

It doesn't matter if it's Hearts, Charlton, Raith, Lincoln, Sheffield Wed, Aberdeen, Middlesbrough: when a player is in talks with a club, part of the 'sell' will always be "if you do well for us, Son, you'll earn a move to ***insert the next level up***"

The fact that Hearts make no secret of this fact doesn't alter the overwhelming probability that it happens elsewhere.

Atleast when they are here, they normally give their all for Hearts...

Both Nicholson and Walker got themselves red carded foolishly, or not so foolishly perhaps. Not really representing the club in a fit and proper manner

Yep passports make better players...

SPL TV deal may be a bit rubbish but there is no doubting that you'll have more chance of being noticed at Hearts than at third league (perhaps even Championship) in England or in Norway...

It doesn't matter if it's Hearts, Charlton, Raith, Lincoln, Sheffield Wed, Aberdeen, Middlesbrough: when a player is in talks with a club, part of the 'sell' will always be "if you do well for us, Son, you'll earn a move to ***insert the next level up***"

The fact that Hearts make no secret of this fact doesn't alter the overwhelming probability that it happens elsewhere.

Spot on folk acting like we are Real Madrid.

Hearts have sold players to larger clubs for a long time before this lot came along. Its even worse now for clubs like Hearts since the Bosman Ruling.

Whereas the reality is Walker is uncapped, has a knee issue and is in the last year of his contract. We don't have the upper hand now and a wee bit more than ?500k has to be taken now. ?650 ought to do it. We wont get ?1 million. He isn't worth ?1 million.

Don't take up negotiation as a career! Aberdeen are getting it right with Hayes, a 30 year old with dodgy hamstrings and they are about to plunder 1.3 million for a player with virtually no international experience and no sell on value

Who cares about nationality, we are missing two things- Desire and willingness to win.

If players want to run down their contracts then that is their legal right, however while they are under contract I expect 100% effort.

Patterson aside, how many players showed that desire and willingness to win last season.

Lets be honest, the technical ability of our players should be a decent standard (these are professional footballers after all), however that should not be the only requirement. If we take Struna for example, I think technically he was very good, better than Patterson, however did he have the same desire and impact on the team as Patterson, then absolutely not.

If our players gave 100% and were able to perform under pressure then the mood around the club would be much better.

Escobar PHM

Don't take up negotiation as a career! Aberdeen are getting it right with Hayes, a 30 year old with dodgy hamstrings and they are about to plunder 1.3 million for a player with virtually no international experience and no sell on value

He is an international and he's barely missed a game for Aberdeen in 4 years, and with respect he's a better player than Walker in a better team earning better money. And he hasn't downed tools and behaved like Walker has of late.

I recall the Skacel deal, also Gordon signing a new deal a short time before signing for Sunderland.

Think the difference between the situation at that time and the present regime is that we are being very careful with money. Do you think we should break our wage structure and take a chance on offering big contracts?

Of course I'd like to have seen Patterson and Walker getting new deals but I fully support the club's financial prudence. The plan is to build the club up in a sustainable way so that in a few years we will be able to raise the wage cap.

Both Nicholson and Walker got themselves red carded foolishly, or not so foolishly perhaps. Not really representing the club in a fit and proper manner

I don't want to seem like i'm looking for something which isn't there but I do find it very suspect that Walkers red card stopped him playing against his potential employer.

I couldn't care where players come from. Paterson gave his all, Suso did the same. Plenty of Lithuanian players gave us nothing and many British players have done likewise.

A little ability combined with a great work rate can get you far in the SPFL.