The Maroon Unit

tian447

Did I say that?

I started the Twirly post and strongly think we should be doing it more and improve the atmosphere as a whole inside the ground

There is so much vile towards our own players I sometimes think we should welcome back the young team.

The longer it continues the team will only head one way unless they are fully backed

Never lambasted a Hearts player in my puff and it is embarrassing how fans get on the back of the players

Support the team with passion

A lot of the time it's the "I paid my money I'll boo if I want" folk who moan the most about the "lack of atmosphere". 

They'll tell you that drums and chanting are important because making a din and supporting the team can make you the twelfth man, and has a positive effect on the players.

They'll also insist that booing is a brilliant idea and definitely doesn't have a negative impact on the players. 

Logic, you see.

• Replies 210

I'd love a singing section to really take off. I think it could really add something if it was done well.

Rangers sympathising tweens who think banging a drum for 90 minutes and stealing chants from Motherwell constitutes 'atmosphere' probably aren't going to get the buy-in they need from the rest of the support though.

I'd love a singing section to really take off. I think it could really add something if it was done well.

Rangers sympathising tweens who think banging a drum for 90 minutes and stealing chants from Motherwell constitutes 'atmosphere' probably aren't going to get the buy-in they need from the rest of the support though.

A properly organised section allowing fans who want to sing and chant would be a good idea. Provided it's not full of pluke faced wannabe sevco fans.

This is why a safe standing area should have been looked at imo. It's not forcing anyone to stand or join in and gives people choice, standing also creates a better atmosphere than sitting it's just an instinct thing I think.

All those hardcore fans that go to all the away games and create an atmosphere should all just clump together and start the singing  at home games.  

Dedicate singing  section for all those who attend away games.??

Special STs discount seats based on loyalty points from purchased away tickets or briefs if  paying by cash gate.??

FTH. 

Best atmosphere I've seen in a long time was the home game against Rangers. It would be brilliant if it was like that all the time, completely intimidating for the away side and fans. It's a great idea, I'm all for it. Gorgie Loyal HHGH.

Another excuse for certain throbbers to moan their chops off and ask for bans when the singing section start doing what most do at games ....... sing songs and create an atmosphere.

Got to agree Rudi, sure I've seen a few reading books during the game!!

Marooned Abroad

The question I was asked earlier:-

"Can you tell me when Tynecastle was "rocking" on a regular basis outwith "big" games ?"

Rangers 2-0 this season - I would class as a "big game"

Celtic, Aberdeen and Hibs I would class as "big games"

Other than these "Big Games" the place is like a morgue with fans throwing vile abuse at our players as mentioned by others on this thread. Not the atmosphere that some people and TV pundits kid on Tynecastle is. Particularly the vile abuse, that has reached a new low point this season. The way Sammon was treated during the Maltese game and then in the Gorgie Suite after it - shocking

I understand it is difficult when the football on offer is not very entertaining at times, but someday soon, hopefully we will get a team that will encourage passionate support from the stands.

I am not a racist, homophobic, sectarian or abusive language sort of person, and I also understand that there are lines/boundaries that must not be crossed. The Male Voice Choir comment was just a bit tongue and cheek.

I just want the team to do well, and to help that, having a "12th man" can only help

That's just my opinion though, each to their own

Atmosphere at Tynecastle .I am one of the lucky ones who has experienced it through the 60s and later years.IMO there is no easy answer to creating it.Its spontaneous .In the days I'm talking about we went in and just created havoc.Im sure there's still a few of us about.If you look round in the stands we look like old men(not fat wasters).My personal opinion is you will never get what we experienced cos there's no real terracings.Im afraid these days have gone.Still I had my days.Good luck to you all in the future.HHGH.

This might sound a bit shan (so apologies in advance), but could the new TV screens maybe help, say with little prompts here and there.

On 30 mins "H - E - A .." 

That sort of thing? Maybe count down from five - four - three...

Son Of Anarchy

This might sound a bit shan (so apologies in advance), but could the new TV screens maybe help, say with little prompts here and there.

That sort of thing? Maybe count down from five - four - three...

Waaaaaay too "American"

Marooned Abroad

Totally agree with Beige Jambo on this. I've been a staunch supporter since the late 50s and have seen and heard a lot at Tynie. If I was starting out now I'd think twice about going to matches if I had to put up with the sort of vile abuse being bandied about from certain quarters. Sure, we're entitled to vent our frustrations when things arent going right but there is a line which any reasonable person knows should exist....particularly when young kids are in the crowd. Call me an old f**t if you like but that's my view!

On the downside if no-one buys into this it could be a total anti-climax and could leaves us looking a bit silly. So I'm out.

Any more signings yet? Any more signings yet? Any more signings yet?

What about now?

Totally agree with Beige Jambo on this. I've been a staunch supporter since the late 50s and have seen and heard a lot at Tynie. If I was starting out now I'd think twice about going to matches if I had to put up with the sort of vile abuse being bandied about from certain quarters. Sure, we're entitled to vent our frustrations when things arent going right but there is a line which any reasonable person knows should exist....particularly when young kids are in the crowd. Call me an old f**t if you like but that's my view!

To be fair, the oldies would have said the same about us in the early to late 80's even 90's and then their oldies would have said same about them, huge difference being there's wasn't a platform like the internet/social media for them to foam about it, and of course we didn't have the who can be the most morally superior competition or the who can be the most offended competition, by the hypocritical PC brigade.

Area 51?

Sorry.

This concept is alien to me.

To be fair, the oldies would have said the same about us in the early to late 80's even 90's and then their oldies would have said same about them, huge difference being there's wasn't a platform like the internet/social media for them to foam about it, and of course we didn't have the who can be the most morally superior competition or the who can be the most offended competition, by the hypocritical PC brigade.

yip....

Tynie was rocking when we beat Rangers 2-0 this season.

It really wasn't, louder than usual aye but rocking? Nah definetly not.

Started going to games in the 80's every week , home and away and would say that the abuse and sectarianism has reduced greatly from then. It's probably been a change of around 30 years to get to this point , perhaps in another 20 years we will have eroded it out eh door at our club, whilst managing to produce a fantastic atmosphere each week.

Guffy :lol:

N Lincs Jambo

Atmosphere at Tynecastle .I am one of the lucky ones who has experienced it through the 60s and later years.IMO there is no easy answer to creating it.Its spontaneous .In the days I'm talking about we went in and just created havoc.Im sure there's still a few of us about.If you look round in the stands we look like old men(not fat wasters).My personal opinion is you will never get what we experienced cos there's no real terracings.Im afraid these days have gone.Still I had my days.Good luck to you all in the future.HHGH.

Totally agree. First went to Tynie just 3 months shy of my 7th birthday in Feb 70 for a league game against St Mirren. Crowd just over 8000 (checked on London Hearts before posting). Although I was in the main stand with my old man, my memory is of the unbelievable noise generated by the singing crowd who in those days stood at the half-way line underneath the pie stand and TV gantry. It might have been my first game but even at the age of six, I knew that was where I wanted to be. When you look at Tynecastle (or probably most grounds now), does anywhere have that same, "that's where I want to be atmosphere?"

Aside the erse cheeks . Do other clubs have debates about their fans singing ?

Just get singing .... ALL OF US!

Not rocket science.

Here here!!. I Put this on the Djoum thread, not many songs for players nowadays so this was my shit attempt at one:

Arnaud Djoum Djoum Djoum

He's our man from Cameroon

Arnaud Djoum Djoum Djoum

He loves to wear Maroon

On the left or the right he will rip the pish all night

Arnaud Djoum Djoum Djoum

He is ****inggggg dynamite. [emoji23]

Can we just fold as a support if we're reduced to this? Or can we merge with Hull "mauled by the tigers" City after their attempts to do similar, and try to form some sort of parody group?

Perhaps we could start a new chant of " another vowel please Carol"

I think part of the problem, is a lack of decent new songs. Our support is so divided, no new songs ever seem to take off.

That sort of thing? Maybe count down from five - four - three...

No offence or anything but I think if we clocked Hibs doing this we'd be all over it :lol: It is very shan.

I think part of the problem, is a lack of decent new songs. Our support is so divided, no new songs ever seem to take off.

Our support representatives Scotland as a whole quite well.

Good point.

And they wont really until a group like this pick up, since i was young was started by the young team i believe and was ridiculed at first. Something needs to change, whether this lot are the ones to do it i dont know.

Good point.

And they wont really until a group like this pick up, since i was young was started by the young team i believe and was ridiculed at first. Something needs to change, whether this lot are the ones to do it i dont know.

Since I was young is STILL ridiculed on here to this day by folk who claim its awful / rubbish / stolen.

All in spite of the fact it was, for a considerable period, by far the most popular and loudest belted out song by our support week in week out home or away.

Go figure.

Too many folk on here who deem themselves to be 'above' certain elements of our support.

Good point.

I agree with you to a point. I am one of those supporters who thinks 'Since I was young' is a shit song though. That's just a personal opinion though.

I do think it's sad that nobody can get any good new songs of the ground. Timeless classics like:

The Hearts Song

South Morocco

European Song

etc...

All good songs. Something a bit more imaginative like that. I mind speaking to a guy in Dickens who pointed out some boy in there who he claimed made up the European Song and a couple of others. We should get that guy on it imo, because a lot of the recent ones have been a bit poor. Again, all imo.

One thing in life I hate is folk that say something is shit, but have no idea of an alternative.

If you think our songs are shit, think of one to replace it.

If not, join in and stoap greet'n and let folk bring some banter and nonsense to the game.

Very true.

A big difference previously was that folk would pick up on songs they liked and ignore others.

Now any song started by certain groups, no matter the content, will be dismissed by some automatically.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

Son Of Anarchy

TBF The European Song is one of the best songs produced by football fans in Britain.

Quite a few on here don't like it :(

Bring Back Paulo Sergio

Quite a few on here don't like it :(

Really? I genuinely can't comprehend how any Hearts couldn't like The European Song. It's one to be proud of.

Son Of Anarchy

Really? I genuinely can't comprehend how any Hearts couldn't like The European Song. It's one to be proud of.

I know, crazy but true sadly.

Since I was young is STILL ridiculed on here to this day by folk who claim its awful / rubbish / stolen.

All in spite of the fact it was, for a considerable period, by far the most popular and loudest belted out song by our support week in week out home or away.

Go figure.

Too many folk on here who deem themselves to be 'above' certain elements of our support.

Excellent post.

Bring Back Paulo Sergio

Excellent post.

Since I was young is pish. We might as well call ourselves Red Bull Edinburgh.

I've heard and read some ridiculous statements in my time but that's in front by a distance.

Please explain your reasoning.

Bring Back Paulo Sergio

I've heard and read some ridiculous statements in my time but that's in front by a distance.

Please explain your reasoning.

Soulless.

I don't understand why people are so defensive about this song. It's okay not to like it.

It's not bad, not outstanding either.

Better than singing nothing certainly, which is what we specialise in recently.

Bring Back Paulo Sergio

It's not bad, not outstanding either.

Better than singing nothing certainly, which is what we specialise in recently.

Eh? Your defence of it is that it's better than nothing? :unsure:

Bring Back Paulo Sergio

Personally enjoy "SIWY". The entire stand singing it at fester rd was superb :thumbsup:

It's definitely better than singing nothing :laugh:

Eh? Your defence of it is that it's better than nothing? :unsure:

No, my defence would be that I think it's a song that is in a style which active football support has embraced all across the world, where we are somewhat behind the times. It's a stepping stone if you like, to a different type of some, more melodic, that last for longer. Some of our support is very backward and outdated in this respect.

The style of support in describing is the polar opposite of the type of support that would endorse Red Bull. Could not be more different.