Anyone ever play 'STING' at school?

Mr Sifter

Or was it just a Gracemount thing? We could have up to 100 laddies playin at any one time.

There was a massive big rectangular alcove in the side of one of our blocks. "The Cave". So anyway, laddies would throw a tennis ball off the inside of the cave and hope that no one caught it on the way back out. This would last a few minutes, everyone spread around, havin to throw the ball at the wall from wherever they managed to pick it. Eventually, someone would get caught...and they'd be "in the cave". The purpose of the game thereafter, was to try and smash the wee dude with the ball. But if he managed to retrieve the ball BEFORE it left the shallow recess of the cave, the wee guy who'd thrown it would have to join him in the cave. And so on and so on.

Depending on how long the game was takin, some one would should "tens a revvy" or somethin (meant that when there was ten or so outfield boys left, with the majority now in the cave, there would be a revvy..looshun and start again).

Now, if the laddies in the cave DID get a hold of the ball, they had to try and hit one of the boys outside. Cue 70 odd boys trying to skip oot the road of wherever this wee prick fancied launchin this ball. But, and here's the money shot...

If someone in the cave launched the ball out at the masses, and someone out there clean caught it, that was A FREE STING!!! Everyone else in the cave had to step into the corners, leaving this poor wee bugger alone. On the wall. With someone about to take a free shot at you from about 7 yards.

It eventually got banned, but we must've got a good two years out of sting. It was magic.

We played sting where if you knocked the ball wide of the goal playing crossy you had to stand on the goal line, bend over and the others took penalties trying to hit your arse. The Hyvots way.

Mac_fae_Gillie

mind doing same thing back in 80s against a wall at Gracie.

only about 10-20 boys though cant remember how the 1st person got put against wall but throwers lined up to sting him if they miss they go against wall too.

If a person on the  wall gets ball then that person comes of wall, if someone on wall catches ball before bounce then it was complete turn round,,all on wall become throwers etc.

We played sting where if you knocked the ball wide of the goal playing crossy you had to stand on the goal line, bend over and the others took penalties trying to hit your arse. The Hyvots way.

Later adopted by Sevco under Ally McCoist. Findings suggest it wasn't the most effective football training technique.

No, but we did play a charming game called 'Hunt The C***', which was basically hide and seek where the victim was paggered.

Burdiehouse banter.

Very similar to our version in Hailesland.

mind doing same thing back in 80s against a wall at Gracie.

only about 10-20 boys though cant remember how the 1st person got put against wall but throwers lined up to sting him if they miss they go against wall too.

If a person on the wall gets ball then that person comes of wall, if someone on wall catches ball before bounce then it was complete turn round,,all on wall become throwers etc.

that's how I remember it but some people had big parkers on so it didn't sting so much

No, but we did play a charming game called 'Hunt The ^^^^', which was basically hide and seek where the victim was paggered.

Burdiehouse banter.

also had bowes and arrows with nails in the arrows

This is the way we played it as well.

We also played a volleyball style version, where you made a ring around one person sitting down in the middle.  You had to pass the ball volleyball style around the ring of people, but you could go for a "spike" when you nailed it down trying to hit the person in the middle.  If you missed, you joined them in the middle, and the game continued.  If you hit them, you continued as normal.  Sounds easy, but it's dead easy to miss a one handed punch down of a football, so you usually ended up with everyone in the middle.  However, if someone in the middle managed to catch the ball first time (no rebounds or bounces), the person that went for the spike went in the middle instead.

It was ****ing brutal with a size 4 football :rofl:

We played Wacky 7's. You had to score from a volley or header. It couldn't bounce before you headed or volleyed it (so no half volleys) and you couldn't set yourself up. If you missed or had your attempt caught you went in goals. Whoever was keeper after 7 goals got battered :lol:

I actually liked playing British Bulldog, a version of tig with more paggering.

Oh, and cuddieback (sp) rides, not so much paggering involved in that one, mind you.

We used to have some great snowball fights, too.

Sadly, Burdiehouse Primary is now just a patch of waste ground.

What was the name of the game where one person turned their back then had to guess who'd moved while said back was turned?

Better call Saul
Rousset1, on 11 Apr 2016 - 09:42 AM, said:Rousset1, on 11 Apr 2016 - 09:42 AM, said:

No, but we did play a charming game called 'Hunt The ^^^^', which was basically hide and seek where the victim was paggered.

Burdiehouse banter.

You beat me to that ! lol

imagine games like that now

Juan Rom?n Riquelme

Used to enjoy a wee game of hunt the *****, hot ass and British bulldog.

Violence - the essential ingredient to young, working class boy's childhoods it would seem. 

Used to enjoy a wee game of hunt the *****, hot ass and British bulldog.

Violence - the essential ingredient to young, working class boy's childhoods it would seem.

Ahh i think i was mixing hot ass up with sting.

We played it using one of those bouncy balls that's the size of a tennis ball. Solid lump of rubber it hurt like feck if it got you. Someone launched it off a wall and I jumped up to catch it, someone else gave me a wee nudge and I missed, cracked me right on the nose which just exploded blood everywhere.

Good times.

Walter Payton

We played Wacky 7's. You had to score from a volley or header. It couldn't bounce before you headed or volleyed it (so no half volleys) and you couldn't set yourself up. If you missed or had your attempt caught you went in goals. Whoever was keeper after 7 goals got battered :lol:

We played the same game, but the keeper was only allowed to let in 3 before getting battered- known as "3 and a kick-in" :D

As someone who grew up in Hyvots/Southhouse in the 70's & 80's,I remember playing most of these games,youngsters nowadays have never lived!!

When we were in first year at secondary we used to play a game called Hammers On. Basically if you were all waiting outside a class to get in someone would shout hammers on. You then had to keep quiet and the first person to say anything got a kicking from everyone else. Eventually it was banned when one unfortunate lad said something and the guy nearest him kicked him in the face and knocked a couple of teeth out.

Sting was the punishment for losing at black marks (headers and volleys). You got ten life's each time someone scored into you you lose a life hit it wide and your in goals.

Loser stands against a wall while they fire the ball at you.

My memory's a bit hazy but we played it very similar to this at Orwell early to mid 80's. Only difference was last person in goal once everyone was out then had to wrap himself around a pole and the others took shots with the ball at his arse with the objective of crushing his gonads :lol:

bajthejambo

Our version was volleys from a certain distance. No tap ins from close range. If you conceded the certain amount of goals then everyone playing got to hit the ball at you from 10 yards. 7 and it was bend over, 14 and it was bare arse and 21 was the aptly named "crucifixion" which involved standing facing forward with your arms out.

was at Gracemount in the 70's

can remember playing miss a kicky and pitch and toss

also if somebody wasn't too popular or cliped to the teachers

they were put through the "lines"

basically they had to run between to lines of ;lads who kicked the shit out of them

a lot of us played golf in the school field as well as massive sided games of fitba

Burdiehouse banter.

We did this in Loanheid. Character building game.

friendly_jasper

suicide fitba...   played with a tennis ball vigorously kicked about if it hit you above the knees you got paggered.....  forrester high school early 80s.

Sting with a mitre mouldmaster. Volleys and headers only. 7 successful strikes and you'd get stung from all competitors. Miss the target and you were in. A lot of shitebags scared to shoot when you got down to 1. Some severe bruising and burst blood vessels were par for the course.

5 and a kickin was another favourite.

Great days growing up in the Hailes.

suicide fitba... played with a tennis ball vigorously kicked about if it hit you above the knees you got paggered..... forrester high school early 80s.

Was still keenly contested in the late eighties.