Buying a mid life crisis car (at 34)

Not getting it for a few months, but whats people's thoughts on this wee baby?

escort_005_smallts.jpg

Whats people's thoughts on this? Please take into account it aint going to be my first car, its a weekend only car. I was going to go for a 2 seater sports car, but TBH, I've had a love for Escorts since I was a youngster.

I would be interested to hear what the younger generation think of this motor.

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

So you dont like it then ASBO?

Ron Atkinsons Microphone
So you dont like it then ASBO?

It would look smart up at Crail racing!!

If you are buying it for going to ASDA on a Sunday afternoon, don't bother.

Get yerself a Reliant Robin.

A man (boy) that lacks class.

IMO.

Surely someone must like it. I have loved these cars all my life. Unfortunately its costing me more than it would to buy one new when they were first out.

Rawrrrrrrr

The car itself is smart, although not with the horrible paint job, the chrome is a bit too bright but I would assume yours would look a bit more original

Quite a fan of the late 70's, early 80's retro classics as long as they are not nedded up

Quite fancy a Mk1 golf gti - original not a nedded up one - in either the gunmetal silver or red

Need to wait a few years as no point in having that sort of car if you cannot afford to maintain it properly

The early VW Sciroccos aren't too bad either

Benny Factor

Andy, i've only just managed to stop laughing at you trying to make out you're only 34! :P

Ron Atkinsons Microphone
A man (boy) that lacks class.

IMO.

Surely someone must like it. I have loved these cars all my life. Unfortunately its costing me more than it would to buy one new when they were first out.

I'm still years off a mid life crisis sunshine. ;)

eddie fenwick
Don't listen to them me old son it looks the dogs bollocks ;)

no,it looks like a dogs bollock;)

Jed The Jedi
no,it looks like a dogs bollock;)

If i had a dog i would wish for it's bollocks to look just like that;)

eddie fenwick
If i had a dog i would wish for it's bollocks to look just like that;)

like to see that trying to walk:dribble:

eddie fenwick
You're 34? You must've had a hard paper round, Andy.

its an uphill swim to that oilrig 7 mornings a week:confused:

Harrrummmpf.

I am 34, with what I'd like to think a bit of taste in a motor car.

Wanted a Z4, the wife chucked that right oot the windae. Wanted a TT, same response as last one.

So I went back to my youth. People who diss these kind of cars are not capable of picking out a classic car if it bit them in the nutt's.

Eddie, I know yer 54, but thats no excuse. Thats a smart car. Here's the one I really want.

e.i.2006.mfs.ford.escort.RS2000.1979.orange.3999.r.00.60.JPG

I'm still years off a mid life crisis sunshine. ;)

You wont hit mid life you uncultured yoof.

eddie fenwick
Harrrummmpf.

I am 34, with what I'd like to think a bit of taste in a motor car.

Wanted a Z4, the wife chucked that right oot the windae. Wanted a TT, same response as last one.

So I went back to my youth. People who diss these kind of cars are not capable of picking out a classic car if it bit them in the nutt's.

Eddie, I know yer 54, but thats no excuse. Thats a smart car. Here's the one I really want.

e.i.2006.mfs.ford.escort.RS2000.1979.orange.3999.r.00.60.JPG

only kiddin yi mate,its a cortina i would want,

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volkswagen_Corrado

Get one of these, VR6 is a future classic and quite rare due to the majority being written off

Maybe not quite as desirable yet, but a seriously fast car, which will only increase in value and desirability

**** Off, No offence P, but naw.

Get a mustang. Stop beating about the bush.

This is my ultimate care mate, but just that wee bit out ma price range.

I love Mustang's more than members of my own family.

TBH I've always quite liked the look of the Corrado.

bobthejambo
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volkswagen_Corrado

Get one of these, VR6 is a future classic and quite rare due to the majority being written off

Maybe not quite as desirable yet, but a seriously fast car, which will only increase in value and desirability

my mates got a vr6,what a car very fast.

as you said not easy to get one now,never mind a good one.

Right, Prancer's the only one to come up with a mid life crisis car.

Come on people, who's next? Visuals would be good.

Ron Atkinsons Microphone
You wont hit mid life you uncultured yoof.

Just because you are into poofy cars doesn't mean you have to get stroppy with me my old chum.

eddie fenwick
Just because you are into poofy cars doesn't mean you have to get stroppy with me my old chum.

it is a bit gay andy

So whats your suggestion?

Ron Atkinsons Microphone
So whats your suggestion?

I have already said what you should get my favourite West Coaster.

bobthejambo
No a big fan o Capri's, but like them nonetheless.

Ford Cortina's are the same. My first car was a mk5 ford Cortina, but it was kinda crap.

Capri's remind me of the Professionals. Brilliant.

im the same aswell not a big fan of them,

would love a mk 1 golf gti,mk1 escort or pug 205 gti

maroongoals

Go for it, I have one of those with the bubble arches,great fun.

it is a bit gay andy

Gay, thats just proved how cool my choice is.

eddie fenwick
Gay, thats just proved how cool my choice is.

you could go ;cruisin; in it

escort_005_smallts.jpg

Whats people's thoughts on this? Please take into account it aint going to be my first car, its a weekend only car. I was going to go for a 2 seater sports car, but TBH, I've had a love for Escorts since I was a youngster.

Love it mate...

I'm almost 29, currently not driving because my licence has been medically revoked and am hoping to start driving again in December in something retro, assuming I stay healthy.

My first car back will be:

1. Ford Capri

2. Ford Cortina

3. Mini (old one)

or

4. A customised maroon and white version of this (takes deep breath, posts links and awaits abuse) http://www.algysautos.com/vw-mini-campers.html

escort_005_smallts.jpg

Every #obo now has a photo of it.

You'll be going through lots of tyres.

What about one of these?

sub%20integra%200611%20011.jpg

AEE08F6F47DABD6C88A5A6128CDF.jpg

I got one a couple of months ago after a year with an MR2, I enjoyed the MR2 as before that I had an almera but the MR2 seems slow compared to the Integra.

Not a bad car for just going A to B as well, 35ish MPG when driving normal.

20ish MPG when driving it like you are meant to.

Edit: Cannae get the bloody image to work, google a UK spec Integra type R and see for yourself

coppercrutch

Not bad CC. Don't like the colour though !!

Personally I reckon the best looking car of that era is the BMW 6 series.

bmw-m6-e24-front-1_136.jpg

That car shouts mid-life crisis. I love it.

escort_005_smallts.jpg

Definitely not the younger generation, but mmmmmmm, I like :)

The original RS2000 was a dream car for me when I was about 12.

Never took to the next version, with the droop snout.

By then, I was into these babies and would still have one if life allowed me that kind of a luxury in my spare time:

Alfetta_GTV6.jpeg