How serious are we taking the Celtic game?

Locky

Hearts have only ever beaten Celtic once at Tynecastle in the Scottish Cup.

How many attempts?

And also when was the league 40-year barren run?

I know London Hearts is the place to look but you seem to have the stats at your finger tips :)

My thoughts also,,,another weeks rest for Prince?

Wonder how Mckays foot is today.

Jason Holt to start again with 3 in central midfield?

Will be interesting

What happened to mckays foot?

As fans, are we even up for this? I can't wait personally but almost every Jambo I've spoken to lately doesn't seem to care.

I know cups aren't priority but I'd love it if we stuffed them and personally I think we can. We'll be more organised and prepared for them this time round and with a European hangover I reckon they'll be somewhat vulnerable.

Plus, knocking them out early doors puts us in a good position to go on a run. Personally hope we get a good crowd and a great atmosphere like yesterday.

I view it what might be considered somewhere in between, sort of a win win situation. While we will go into the game as underdogs I would be pleased to see us beat them, I go along to all games with the same hope, that we win. However, if we lose, I will not be overly disappointed. The focus for this season has to be on getting back to the top league, and we are well on the way to that, and don't want anything to act as a detraction from that aim.

The one thing I would prefer most is a result next Sunday, either win or lose, I don't fancy a trip through to Parkhead midweek in December.

Hearts Heritage

How many attempts?

And also when was the league 40-year barren run?

I know London Hearts is the place to look but you seem to have the stats at your finger tips :)

Home

1926-02-20 Sat Hearts 0-4 Celtic Scottish Cup R3 50500   [Thomas McInally;Thomas McInally;James Edward McGrory;Patrick Connelly] link--->

1939-02-18 Sat Hearts 2-2 Celtic Scottish Cup R3 49572 Warren Freddie;Garrett Archibald Campbell; [James Delaney;Malcolm MacDonald] link--->

1951-02-24 Sat Hearts 1-2 Celtic Scottish Cup R3 47672 Conn Snr Alfie; [John Britton Weir;John [1] McPhail] link--->

1962-02-17 Sat Hearts 3-4 Celtic 15:00 Scottish Cup R3 35045 Blackwood Bobby;Hamilton Johnny;Paton Danny; [John Divers;Thomas Steven Chalmers;John Divers;Patrick Timothy Crerand pen] link--->

1966-03-05 Sat Hearts 3-3 Celtic 15:00 Scottish Cup QF 46965 Wallace Willie;Anderson Alan;Hamilton Johnny; [bertie Auld;Joe McBride;Thomas Steven Chalmers] link--->

1972-03-27 Mon Hearts 0-1 Celtic Scottish Cup QFR 40354   [Luigi Macari] link--->

1987-02-21 Sat Hearts 1-0 Celtic 15:30 Scottish Cup R4 28891 Robertson John; [-] link--->

2004-02-07 Sat Hearts 0-3 Celtic 12:15 Scottish Cup R4 15372 SKY  [stilian Petrov;Stilian Petrov;Henrik Larsson] link--->

2013-12-01 Sun Hearts 0-7 Celtic 15:00 Scottish Cup R4 10636 BBC  [Kris Commons;Kris Commons;Scott [2] Brown;Joe Ledley;Mikael Lustig;Kris Commons pen;Scott [2] Brown] link--->

Away

1902-02-22 Sat Celtic 2-1 Hearts Scottish Cup QFR 25000 Bell Mark; [Alexander McMahon;Alexander McMahon] link--->

1906-02-24 Sat Celtic 1-2 Hearts Scottish Cup QF 52000 Walker Bobby;Menzies Alex; [James McMenemy] link--->

1913-03-08 Sat Celtic 0-1 Hearts Scottish Cup QF 66000 Walker Bobby; [-] link--->

1921-03-05 Sat Celtic 1-2 Hearts Scottish Cup QF 37000 Wilson Willie;Lochhead Arthur; [Patrick Gallagher] link--->

1939-02-22 Wed Celtic 2-1 Hearts AET Scottish Cup R3R 80840 Warren Freddie; [John Crum;John [1] Divers] link--->

1963-03-06 Wed Celtic 3-1 Hearts Scottish Cup R2 38000 Wallace Willie; [Robert White Murdoch;John McNamee;John Hughes] link--->

1966-03-09 Wed Celtic 3-1 Hearts Scottish Cup QFR 72100 Wallace Willie; [James Connolly Johnstone;Robert White Murdoch;Thomas Steven Chalmers] link--->

1972-03-18 Sat Celtic 1-1 Hearts 15:00 Scottish Cup QF 47500 Renton Derek; [John Kelly (Dixie) Deans] link--->

1983-03-12 Sat Celtic 4-1 Hearts 15:00 Scottish Cup QF 25458 MacDonald Alex; [Murdo Davidson MacLeod;Francis Peter McGarvey;Charles Nicholas;Charles Nicholas] link--->

1989-03-18 Sat Celtic 2-1 Hearts 15:00 Scottish Cup QF 46348 Bannon Eamonn; [Mark Edward McGhee;Robert Sime Aitken pen] link--->

2001-03-11 Sun Celtic 1-0 Hearts 14:35 Scottish Cup QF 34529 SKY  [Henrik Larsson] link--->

Neutral

1901-04-06 Sat Celtic 3-4 Hearts Scottish Cup Final 17000 Porteous Bill;Bell Mark;Thomson Charlie;Bell Mark; [William McOustra;James Quinn;Alexander McMahon] link--->

1907-04-20 Sat Celtic 3-0 Hearts Scottish Cup Final 50000   [William Orr pen;Peter Somers;Peter Somers] link--->

1912-03-30 Sat Celtic 3-0 Hearts Scottish Cup SF 43000   [James McMenemy;James McMenemy;John A Brown] link--->

1933-03-18 Sat Celtic 0-0 Hearts Scottish Cup SF 87219   [-] link--->

1933-03-22 Wed Celtic 2-1 Hearts Scottish Cup SFR 63756 White John; [James Edward McGrory;Alex [1] Thomson] link--->

1956-04-21 Sat Celtic 1-3 Hearts 15:00 Scottish Cup Final 133583 Crawford Ian;Crawford Ian;Conn Snr Alfie; [Mike Haughney] link--->

1988-04-09 Sat Celtic 2-1 Hearts 15:00 Scottish Cup SF 66466 Whittaker Brian; [Mark Edward McGhee;Andrew Francis Walker] link--->

2005-04-10 Sun Celtic 2-1 Hearts 12:15 Scottish Cup SF 38505 SKY Cesnauskis Deividas; [Christopher Roy Sutton;Craig Douglas Bellamy] link--->

2012-04-15 Sun Celtic 1-2 Hearts 12:45 Scottish Cup SF 36609 SKY Skacel Rudi;Beattie Craig pen; [Gary Hooper] link--->

Hearts Heritage

44 years without an away league win

1901-11-30 Sat Celtic 1-2 Hearts Division 1 17 of 18 10000 Houston Robert;Thomson Charlie; [Alexander McMahon] link--->
1902-09-29 Mon Celtic 2-2 Hearts Division 1 09 of 22 14000 Thomson Charlie;Walker Bobby; [John [14] Campbell;Peter Somers] link--->
1903-10-24 Sat Celtic 4-0 Hearts Division 1 10 of 26 5000   [James McMenemy;Gilligan;Gilligan;Bennett] link--->
1904-09-03 Sat Celtic 1-1 Hearts Division 1 03 of 26 19000 Thomson Charlie; [Peter Somers] link--->
1906-04-21 Sat Celtic 1-0 Hearts Division 1 30 of 30 7000   [James Quinn] link--->
1906-09-15 Sat Celtic 3-0 Hearts Division 1 05 of 34 15000   [David Hamilton;James Quinn;David Hamilton] link--->
1908-04-20 Mon Celtic 6-0 Hearts Division 1 33 of 34 5000   [James McMenemy;James Quinn;James Quinn;James Quinn;Loney;Hamilton] link--->
1909-01-09 Sat Celtic 1-1 Hearts Division 1 21 of 34 15000 Sinclair George; [James Quinn] link--->
1909-11-06 Sat Celtic 1-0 Hearts Division 1 11 of 34 16000   [David Hamilton] link--->
1910-10-15 Sat Celtic 0-0 Hearts Division 1 10 of 34 9000   [-] link--->
1912-01-06 Sat Celtic 1-1 Hearts Division 1 21 of 34 20000 Dawson Percy; [James Quinn] link--->
1912-11-09 Sat Celtic 1-0 Hearts Division 1 12 of 34 13000   [James McMenemy] link--->
1914-03-24 Tue Celtic 0-0 Hearts Division 1 32 of 38 30000   [-] link--->
1915-01-30 Sat Celtic 1-1 Hearts 15:20 Division 1 27 of 38 45000 Graham Harry; [Andrew McAtee] link--->
1916-04-22 Sat Celtic 0-0 Hearts Division 1 36 of 37 18000   [-] link--->
1916-09-30 Sat Celtic 1-0 Hearts Division 1 08 of 38 12000   [John Browning] link--->
1918-02-09 Sat Celtic 3-0 Hearts Division 1 25 of 34 6000   [James McMenemy;Patrick Gallagher;Adam McLean] link--->
1918-11-09 Sat Celtic 1-1 Hearts Division 1 13 of 34 11000 Wilson Andy; [Patrick Gallagher] link--->
1920-05-01 Sat Celtic 3-0 Hearts Division 1 42 of 42 8000   [John Reid McKay;Arthur F McInally;William Cringan] link--->
1921-03-19 Sat Celtic 3-2 Hearts Division 1 35 of 42 16000 Miller George P;Sharp John; [William McStay pen;William McStay pen;Joseph [1] Cassidy] link--->
1921-11-05 Sat Celtic 3-0 Hearts Division 1 15 of 42 20000   [Joseph Dodds;Joseph [1] Cassidy;Joseph Dodds] link--->
1923-04-07 Sat Celtic 2-1 Hearts Division 1 36 of 38 11000 Henderson James A; [Alex [1] Thomson;Joseph [1] Cassidy] link--->
1924-02-26 Tue Celtic 4-1 Hearts Division 1 30 of 38 8000 Bird Walter; [Ramage Jock og;Joseph [1] Cassidy;Joseph [1] Cassidy;Joseph [1] Cassidy] link--->
1924-10-11 Sat Celtic 1-0 Hearts Division 1 12 of 38 10000   [Peter [1] Wilson pen] link--->
1925-11-25 Wed Celtic 3-0 Hearts Division A 16 of 38 7000   [Thomas McInally;James Edward McGrory;Alex [1] Thomson] link--->
1926-11-13 Sat Celtic 1-0 Hearts Division A 14 of 38 20000   [Adam McLean] link--->
1928-03-17 Sat Celtic 2-1 Hearts Division A 33 of 38 12000 MacMillan Lachlan; [James Edward McGrory;Adam McLean] link--->
1928-12-15 Sat Celtic 1-0 Hearts Division A 19 of 38 14000   [Patrick Connelly] link--->
1929-08-10 Sat Celtic 2-1 Hearts Division A 01 of 38 35000 Battles Jnr Barney; [James Edward McGrory;James Edward McGrory] link--->
1930-11-08 Sat Celtic 2-1 Hearts Division A 14 of 38 12000 Murray Willie; [Peter Scarffe;Charles Edward Napier] link--->
1931-08-19 Wed Celtic 3-0 Hearts Division A 03 of 38 15000   [Charles Edward Napier;Peter Scarffe;Peter Scarffe] link--->
1933-02-11 Sat Celtic 3-2 Hearts Division A 30 of 38 15000 Smith John J;Johnstone Robert; [James Edward McGrory;Robert Austin Thomson;James Edward McGrory] link--->
1933-09-02 Sat Celtic 0-0 Hearts Division A 05 of 38 20000   [-] link--->
1934-12-29 Sat Celtic 4-2 Hearts Division A 23 of 38 30000 McCulloch David;McCulloch David; [John Crum;James Edward McGrory;James Edward McGrory;James Edward McGrory] link--->
1935-09-28 Sat Celtic 2-1 Hearts Division A 10 of 38 18000 McCulloch David; [James Delaney;John Crum] link--->
1937-02-06 Sat Celtic 3-2 Hearts Division A 29 of 38 36000 Walsh Bill;Walsh Bill; [James Edward McGrory;James Edward McGrory;William Ralston Murray Buchan] link--->
1937-09-18 Sat Celtic 2-1 Hearts Division A 08 of 38 35000 Walsh Bill; [John Crum;James Delaney] link--->
1938-12-31 Sat Celtic 2-2 Hearts Division A 23 of 38 50446 Black Andrew;Garrett Archibald Campbell; [John [1] Watters;John [1] Watters] link--->
1940-08-24 Sat Celtic 2-1 Hearts Wartime S 03 of 30 15000 Phillips Willie; [John [1] Conway;John Crum] link--->
1941-11-22 Sat Celtic 4-4 Hearts Wartime S 16 of 30 9000 Walker Tommy;Allan Thomas;Allan Thomas;Walker Tommy; [Joseph McLaughlin;Frank Murphy;James Delaney;James Delaney] link--->
1942-11-07 Sat Celtic 3-0 Hearts Wartime S 14 of 30 8000   [McCauley;Malcolm MacDonald;John Lochery Riley] link--->
1944-01-08 Sat Celtic 4-0 Hearts Wartime S 23 of 30 8000   [William Patrick Gallagher;Hugh Long;John McPhail;Matthew Lynch] link--->
1944-08-12 Sat Celtic 4-1 Hearts Wartime S 01 of 30 25000 Donaldson Les; [William Patrick Gallagher;Patrick McAuley;Patrick McAuley;William Patrick Gallagher] link--->
1945-12-29 Sat Celtic 3-5 Hearts Wartime Div A 21 of 30 15000 Cox Charlie;Baxter Bobby pen;Kelly Archie;McCrae Alex;Conn Snr Alfie; [John [3] Gallacher;John Aloysius Paton;John [3] Gallacher] link--->

I think it's a fantastic chance for us. A win would be a huge declaration of intent of where Hearts are going. We get them at Tynie, where we have our best chance to beat them, clearly, and with Celtic gone winning the whole thing would be that much easier. (has any club ever won the cup while in a lower division?)

I realize it's unlikely, but the chance to be in the stadium if we won would be easily enough to make me go if I could.

If we win the cup opens right up with half the top teams getting knocked out. A wee cup run would also keep the later part of the season interesting after we have secured a very early promotion.

Home

1926-02-20 Sat Hearts 0-4 Celtic Scottish Cup R3 50500   [Thomas McInally;Thomas McInally;James Edward McGrory;Patrick Connelly] link--->

1939-02-18 Sat Hearts 2-2 Celtic Scottish Cup R3 49572 Warren Freddie;Garrett Archibald Campbell; [James Delaney;Malcolm MacDonald] link--->

1951-02-24 Sat Hearts 1-2 Celtic Scottish Cup R3 47672 Conn Snr Alfie; [John Britton Weir;John [1] McPhail] link--->

1962-02-17 Sat Hearts 3-4 Celtic 15:00 Scottish Cup R3 35045 Blackwood Bobby;Hamilton Johnny;Paton Danny; [John Divers;Thomas Steven Chalmers;John Divers;Patrick Timothy Crerand pen] link--->

1966-03-05 Sat Hearts 3-3 Celtic 15:00 Scottish Cup QF 46965 Wallace Willie;Anderson Alan;Hamilton Johnny; [bertie Auld;Joe McBride;Thomas Steven Chalmers] link--->

1972-03-27 Mon Hearts 0-1 Celtic Scottish Cup QFR 40354   [Luigi Macari] link--->

1987-02-21 Sat Hearts 1-0 Celtic 15:30 Scottish Cup R4 28891 Robertson John; [-] link--->

2004-02-07 Sat Hearts 0-3 Celtic 12:15 Scottish Cup R4 15372 SKY  [stilian Petrov;Stilian Petrov;Henrik Larsson] link--->

2013-12-01 Sun Hearts 0-7 Celtic 15:00 Scottish Cup R4 10636 BBC  [Kris Commons;Kris Commons;Scott [2] Brown;Joe Ledley;Mikael Lustig;Kris Commons pen;Scott [2] Brown] link--->

Away

1902-02-22 Sat Celtic 2-1 Hearts Scottish Cup QFR 25000 Bell Mark; [Alexander McMahon;Alexander McMahon] link--->

1906-02-24 Sat Celtic 1-2 Hearts Scottish Cup QF 52000 Walker Bobby;Menzies Alex; [James McMenemy] link--->

1913-03-08 Sat Celtic 0-1 Hearts Scottish Cup QF 66000 Walker Bobby; [-] link--->

1921-03-05 Sat Celtic 1-2 Hearts Scottish Cup QF 37000 Wilson Willie;Lochhead Arthur; [Patrick Gallagher] link--->

1939-02-22 Wed Celtic 2-1 Hearts AET Scottish Cup R3R 80840 Warren Freddie; [John Crum;John [1] Divers] link--->

1963-03-06 Wed Celtic 3-1 Hearts Scottish Cup R2 38000 Wallace Willie; [Robert White Murdoch;John McNamee;John Hughes] link--->

1966-03-09 Wed Celtic 3-1 Hearts Scottish Cup QFR 72100 Wallace Willie; [James Connolly Johnstone;Robert White Murdoch;Thomas Steven Chalmers] link--->

1972-03-18 Sat Celtic 1-1 Hearts 15:00 Scottish Cup QF 47500 Renton Derek; [John Kelly (Dixie) Deans] link--->

1983-03-12 Sat Celtic 4-1 Hearts 15:00 Scottish Cup QF 25458 MacDonald Alex; [Murdo Davidson MacLeod;Francis Peter McGarvey;Charles Nicholas;Charles Nicholas] link--->

1989-03-18 Sat Celtic 2-1 Hearts 15:00 Scottish Cup QF 46348 Bannon Eamonn; [Mark Edward McGhee;Robert Sime Aitken pen] link--->

2001-03-11 Sun Celtic 1-0 Hearts 14:35 Scottish Cup QF 34529 SKY  [Henrik Larsson] link--->

Neutral

1901-04-06 Sat Celtic 3-4 Hearts Scottish Cup Final 17000 Porteous Bill;Bell Mark;Thomson Charlie;Bell Mark; [William McOustra;James Quinn;Alexander McMahon] link--->

1907-04-20 Sat Celtic 3-0 Hearts Scottish Cup Final 50000   [William Orr pen;Peter Somers;Peter Somers] link--->

1912-03-30 Sat Celtic 3-0 Hearts Scottish Cup SF 43000   [James McMenemy;James McMenemy;John A Brown] link--->

1933-03-18 Sat Celtic 0-0 Hearts Scottish Cup SF 87219   [-] link--->

1933-03-22 Wed Celtic 2-1 Hearts Scottish Cup SFR 63756 White John; [James Edward McGrory;Alex [1] Thomson] link--->

1956-04-21 Sat Celtic 1-3 Hearts 15:00 Scottish Cup Final 133583 Crawford Ian;Crawford Ian;Conn Snr Alfie; [Mike Haughney] link--->

1988-04-09 Sat Celtic 2-1 Hearts 15:00 Scottish Cup SF 66466 Whittaker Brian; [Mark Edward McGhee;Andrew Francis Walker] link--->

2005-04-10 Sun Celtic 2-1 Hearts 12:15 Scottish Cup SF 38505 SKY Cesnauskis Deividas; [Christopher Roy Sutton;Craig Douglas Bellamy] link--->

2012-04-15 Sun Celtic 1-2 Hearts 12:45 Scottish Cup SF 36609 SKY Skacel Rudi;Beattie Craig pen; [Gary Hooper] link--->

Incredible attendance!!!

I'd like to see us start with this 

Alexander

Paterson McKay Ozturk Eckersly

Nicholson Pallardo Robinson Walker

Holt

Keatings           

Good chance to give some guys a run out who don't usually start and give the guys coming back from injury a run out from the bench.

I'm torn

I said before a ball was kicked that I wanted us to challenge the league for an outright first and if second to everything in our power to go back up and didn't give a shit about cup runs. However, now i have my ticket and we just whapped rangers, i think we have a chance to beat celtic. I was disappointed by the last result as i thought we could have won that which in itself is testament to how we have progressed

I want us to win but if we lose I'll be over it in minutes. That said, as a route in to europe we probably shouldn't discount it completely.

The league is my priority though and I'd do nothing to jeopardise that even at the risk of losing to that shower

A win for us would be another psychological blow for our league oponents.  Bad enough for them already knowing we are the best side in the league.  Best side in the country would be a bit more demoralising.

12august1893, do you happen to know if anyone has ever won the Scottish Cup while playing outside the top tier?

**** me, it's a cup game at home against Celtic.  Of course I'd take it 100% seriously.

Let's get ripped right into them, and do an old firm double.

It'll be fantastic.

Hearts Heritage

12august1893, do you happen to know if anyone has ever won the Scottish Cup while playing outside the top tier?

Of course. The answer is often given as 1 team shown in the spolier.

However there is also

Sat 11 Mar 1893 Queens Park 2 Celtic 1

1938042601.jpg

1938042701.jpg

As long as we don't pick up any red cards, injuries or take a bad beating, I'll get over the result quickly - whatever it is. Not really concerned about this trophy this year.

Any season the league should be the priority , then the cup. I think a few would be saying different things if we had drawn Hibs or a lower league side .

I think a few would be saying different things if we had drawn Hibs or a lower league side .

I think you're right there. We didn't though. We drew Celtic for the 3rd time in the last 4 cup tournaments. I'd rather use up our shite luck with tournament draws this year and last when we've clearly got bigger fish to fry.

Doubt if Celtic will try to kick us off the park.  That was always the forte of the liquidated club and clearly nothing has changed.

Honestly think that if it is close with 20 minutes to go we will win.  Very much believe it could go either way.

Winning the league is obviously the most important but a cup win would get us back in Europe. I miss Europe.

Ignore what league we are in.

Our current team is better than our last team that won the cup.

Why can't we win it this season?

What a double that would be.

Don't expect to hear RN say it but next week's match is a sideshow for us. Anyone who's carrying a knock should be sitting it out and we should be giving some of the squad who've had limited game time the chance to shine. Whatever, I'll be in my usual seat.

Also, since we've won the BIG cup 3 times in the last 15 years we should let one of the wee teams have some glory (as long as it's not H1b5)

Winston Ingram

Other thing we should bear in mind is that Celtic aren't up to much. By all accounts they were extremely lucky again on Saturday. They have dropped points at the likes of Dundee and Inverness this season. For all we lost the league cup game convincingly in the end, we matched them early on and but for two bad mistakes (Walker miss, Sow penalty) the story could have been pretty different.

Fully agree we have nothing at all to lose but we aren't playing some tremendous Celtic team. 

East Fife 1938/39

If we beat Celtic we will go onto win the cup, but beating QoS the week after IS far more important. Financially a good cup run will help, plus beating celtic might make the difference on who we get in, in January, A league and Cup double, the chance to become a hero for life, who would not want that?

I've splashed my 20 quid on a ticket so am taking it seriously. That said, if we lose & beat QoS the next week then I'll be happy.

I'm usually really up for the Scottish Cup games but I'm a bit "meh" this year. I will admit it would be really good to beat the other erse cheek and we could go onto win the cup if we beat them but really, I'm enjoying the league too much to care TBH.

Prince Buaben

If Robbie made wholesale changes i wouldnt be too disapointed but after them scoring 7 on the last visit. I wouldnt want a repeat perfromance of that.

I hope we take it seriously (I'm sure we will).

A few changes, but still a strong line up:

--------------------------Alexander--------------------

Paterson-----Ozturk---------McKay/or McGhee---------Eckersley

-----------------Gomis--------Pallardo---------------

--Nicholson------------Holt-----------------Walker--------------

------------------------Keatings---------------------

If Robbie made wholesale changes i wouldnt be too disapointed but after them scoring 7 on the last visit. I wouldnt want a repeat perfromance of that.

i can't see us being horsed by 7 at home to be fair.  

don't think i'm not wanting us to take this seriously, i just would rather avoid any more injuries.  it has been pointed out already though that celtic will probably at least try and play football rather than bloody tekken like that shower on saturday

Comes at a great time this actually as any league tie would be seen as a banana skin. Also get Sow and Wilson some game time and test out Pallardo and Bauben combination. If we lose this it wont be a disaster if we win it then thats a wee bonus.

Make no mistake the Weegie powers that be will not have liked the fact that Hearts were the innocent party and an OF team were shown up to be a bunch of thugs on Saturday.

I expect the OF biased status quo to be re-established on Saturday with any Hearts tackles being dealt with harshly and our players painted as the real thugs.

Some people fail to believe we can win 2 games in a row, away and **** off to Easter road

Oh dear.