Vancouver/Seattle

Jamhammer

I'm off to see my daughter next month in Canada. We've got three days each in Vancouver and Seattle as well as a couple in Whistler. I know there's a lot of KB'ers abroad. Anywhere/thing I shouldn't miss when I'm in these places. When we went to New York a year or so ago I got loads of top suggestions on here.

I like historical sites and rock and roll related places. Doesn't look like we're gonna manage a sporting event as the Seahawks are playing the Broncos and you cannae get a ticket for love nor money.

Cheers

Weather permitting get yourself to stanley park in Vancouver. You can either walk round it or rent a bike and cycle round it. Also English bay at the end of Denman is really nice if the weather is good. Would definitely recommend going to granville island as well. A walk down through gas town and into the china town is also well worth it. If you've got time you could go to the Capilano suspension bridge plus take a bus to grouse mountain. There might also be dome pre season friendlies at the ice hockey. And check to see if white caps (mls) or bc lions (cfl) are playing Never been to Seattle but check to see if the mariners are at home and go watch a baseball game.

I'm off to see my daughter next month in Canada. We've got three days each in Vancouver and Seattle as well as a couple in Whistler. I know there's a lot of KB'ers abroad. Anywhere/thing I shouldn't miss when I'm in these places. When we went to New York a year or so ago I got loads of top suggestions on here.

I like historical sites and rock and roll related places. Doesn't look like we're gonna manage a sporting event as the Seahawks are playing the Broncos and you cannae get a ticket for love nor money.

Cheers

Have you tried NFL ticket exchange?

Edit- I just looked. Plenty available, but you are looking at $300 upward.

Make sure you take in the EMP Museum in Seattle if you like your rock n rock stuff. Also id recommend you go up the spaceneedle at night for some great views of the city lit up.

Could wander round the pike place market area for hours, the first ever starbucks is opposite and a few doors along from that is a russian bakery thats out of this world!

Enjoy

Whitecapjambo

Alright..everything that has been said so far are excellent suggestions. I would recommend the Lynn Canyon suspension bridge in North Vancouver. Capilano costs you $40, Lynn canyon is free. Not as spectacular but more picturesque. Easy enough to get to by bus.

There is a new gondola near Squamish on the way up to whistler. Takes you up to a restaurant walks up the back. Meant to be nice.

Breweries. if you're into that. A recent change in the laws here has seen a big number of microbreweries open up. The area of Main st and Broadway has quite a few. Nice spots.

For seattle....try to get out of downtown / stadium area if you can. I really like Ballard and Fremont. Nice areas by the water. Lots of cool shops, bars restaurants.

EMP is great. Also, if you have a car I would recommend heading out to Jimmy Hendrix's grave. It's beautiful and well worth the trip, about 20 minutes out of town.

Sport: The Whitecaps might be playing, good standard and cheap. Canucks may have a pre-season game. It is easy enough to get tickets outside most games. You could also try craigslist (basically gumtree). Should be the same for the Seahawks game too.

I am close enough to downtown Vancouver, feel free to PM me if you have any questions. Have a great trip!

If you like rock n roll EMP is a must in Seattle. Im not a fan of that sort of music vut found the Hendrix and Nirvana exhibitions that were on brilliant and had good fun in the recording studio.

A bit random but on our first day we were up very early with jet lag and went to the aquarium when it opened. It was pretty cool. And pick up a cheap lunch from a vendor in pike place market, have a wander round and weather permitting eat it outside overlooking the water.

Guest jonesy

There's a music/rock museum in Seattle - I think some of the posters have alluded to it. Great fun, including a Van Halen play-along game.

I was wrecked for 3 days in Portland before encountering Seattle, and that's one of the few memories I have of the place, other than arriving at the youth hostel we were staying in, only to find a stack of Japanese porn under the bed with all the faces cut out of the mags.

From what I remember, Vancouver is one of the greatest cities on earth, especially if you can get to an ice hockey game. Even the lower league stuff is great.

Another shout for Granville Island in Vancouver, especially the food market. Also go on the wee water busses that go around False Creek (I think) - the aquabus. Handy to get around and a great view if the city.

I have visited Vancouver and really enjoyed it despite some rainy days. That was back in the 90s it has to said so maybe it has changed a bit but the things I remember enjoying were Stanley Park where we fed a racoon, going up the chairlift on Grouse Mountain which you reach by ferry across to North Vancouver and taking a boat up to Squamish ( a logging town ) and returning on the Royal Hudson steam train which may or may not be still running. Also try to take the ferry to Victoria on Vancouver Island for some great views of the mountains of the Northwest US and Canada, and you might be also lucky and see some killer whales from deck of the ship as we did.

As everyone else is saying EMP is a must.

In Seattle I'd head to the U-District (by the University) and take a kayak out on Lake Washington. Great views of the city, Huskies stadium, some amazing houses and Sleepless in Seattle style houseboats, and loads of seaplanes taking off and landing. Worth taking a wander through the University campus as well - if you're there in September the cherry blossom will likely be out, which is a stunning sight.

To those still living there, would the orcas be by Vancouver Island at that time? I'd add that to the list if they are.

You would have to be very lucky to see orcas on the ferry from Van to Vic (Tsawwassen - Swartz Bay) though porpoises and sea otters are likely. Orcas most likely seen off west coast of Vancouver Island.

Speaking of Vancouver Island. Victoria is a nice wee quaint city worth a day trip to. Public transport and foot passenger on ferry is cheap and easily done. If you're more adventurous hire a car in Nanaimo and drive to Ucluelet or Tofino - long day mind. Great long , generally deserted beaches, and impressive example of a Temperate rainforest on the way into these two towns on the west coast of the island.

As for Vancouver itself, most highlights have been mentioned, however it you want to see the other side of the tracks head a bit east of gastown, into East Hastings. The warmer winter temperatures in the west and the liberal attitude to use of hard drugs 'in public' make this place a bit of an eye opener. Wouldn't visit at night mind.

I should know what to say, but in the 22 years since I left there it has changed dramatically. As far as the Orcas are concerned at one point in the year I could sit in my office look out the window and watch them progress throught the Burrard Inlet, Port of Vancouver, as they went to the top of the Inlet, Indian Arm quite a sight

iv watched all of season 1 of Grey's Anatomy and 5 eps in two season 2 and i've come to the conclusion that it always rains in seattle

Also constantly pisses down all the time in the US version of The Killing.

Aye, I was meaning more whether it'd be worth a day trip to there or the San Juan Islands.

You would have to be very lucky to see orcas on the ferry from Van to Vic (Tsawwassen - Swartz Bay) though porpoises and sea otters are likely. Orcas most likely seen off west coast of Vancouver Island.

Speaking of Vancouver Island. Victoria is a nice wee quaint city worth a day trip to. Public transport and foot passenger on ferry is cheap and easily done. If you're more adventurous hire a car in Nanaimo and drive to Ucluelet or Tofino - long day mind. Great long , generally deserted beaches, and impressive example of a Temperate rainforest on the way into these two towns on the west coast of the island.

As for Vancouver itself, most highlights have been mentioned, however it you want to see the other side of the tracks head a bit east of gastown, into East Hastings. The warmer winter temperatures in the west and the liberal attitude to use of hard drugs 'in public' make this place a bit of an eye opener. Wouldn't visit at night mind.

Aye, I was meaning more whether it'd be worth a day trip to there or the San Juan Islands.

Yah. Difficult to say. Just relaying what I have (or haven't) seen in many many instances of visiting the area over the past 20 yrs or so. Never been to the San Juans but I hear good things. Only done the jet boat from Victoria to Seattle and it's not great for standing on the deck. Was rammed as well.

Would think the San Juans are much like their Canadian equivalent, the Gulf Islands. Without a vehicle on Saltspring (main Gulf Isl.) for instance, it's difficult to get around and really take advantage. Sat morning market on Saltspring is interesting, hence probably the best day to do the island.