Working in retail on xmas eve

iantjambo

I've been working in retail for 20 years now, 16 years at the Waverley and Haymarker branches of WH Smith, now xmas eve in those stores were very busy but fairly stress free. However for the last 4 years I've been working for Asda and this is a completly different kettle of fish as I get to see normally sane people turn into snarling,rabid lunatics.

I'm talking jumping between 2 women who were about to start punching the shit out of each other over a bag of potatos, getting dogs abuse for having no pigs in blankets/turkey/gravy/stuffing etc left (Aye it's my fault you left your xmas dinner till the last minute you ****). But my favorite is without doubt the jakey today who was in with his young son abd who wanted me to mark down some already reduced items to 10p "no sorry mate I can't do that" says I, "aw c'mon mate you can reduce it" says jakey "no I can't, I can get sacked for doing that" "Aw but mate I need to feed my kids and I'm nearly skint, c'mon what are my kids going to eat for the next few days?"

"Well sir how about you put back the 2 litre bottles of smirnoff vodka that you have in your trolley then you'll have more money to feed your kids"

"aw ah canny dae that mate ah need ma voddy at christmas likes"

DICK!!!!

Anyway fellow retail workers you have my sympathy today :)

• Replies 100
  • Created
  • Last Reply

worked 5 christmas eves in morrisons, some of them on checkouts. my experience is mob mentality and extreme selfishness takes over.

it is people shopping like the shops are going to shut for weeks and not a day or two.

idiots

Was in Sainsbury this morning, you'd think they are closing for a month the way people are filling their trolleys

I have been out at Tesco and The Gyle yesterday and Sunday and was pleased to find that everyone I interacted with was very polite.

Dusk_Till_Dawn