What business would you like to start

That jobs you hate thread got me thinking about how much I'd like to have my own business and work for myself avoiding all the shite that comes with working with ***** (apart from myself Amirite :smuggy: )

What sort of business would you love to start? Has it become a reality and you are living your dream?

I'm a self-employed translator.

Sitting in the sun on the balcony translating?

Aye, nae bad.

What kind of stuff are you translating?

Aye, nae bad.

Good money? Ideas for expanding or anything?

I'd love to start my own business but I don't have an idea. Looking to steal one from here.

Bookshop or music store. High Fidelity sort of thing. No money in it, obviously.

Have always wanted to work in a book shop as well. A second hand book shop would be brilliant.

Drinking tea all day whilst having some Howlin Wolf playing in the background. So many romantic misunderstandings with the mature female customers.

It was always be the dream.

Good money? Ideas for expanding or anything?

I'd love to start my own business but I don't have an idea. Looking to steal one from here.

:lol: The exact reason I'm reading this thread, would really like to have my own business but don't have a clue what kind or where to even start!

Hannibal Lecter

:lol: The exact reason I'm reading this thread, would really like to have my own business but don't have a clue what kind or where to even start!

Add me to that list too :lol:

NotVincentGuerain

i was s/e making digital videos for 3 years. had good and bad moments, not really a business tho. better than jobs, i thought, cos when you are busy -you are flat out. and when you are not-just do what you want.

i'd like to write game show formats.

Have always wanted to work in a book shop as well. A second hand book shop would be brilliant.

Drinking tea all day whilst having some Howlin Wolf playing in the background. So many romantic misunderstandings with the mature female customers.

I'm there with you in spirit. Some nice second-hand bookshops just up from the Grassmarket and there's a wee cluster just over the bridge from Canonmills.

I once went into the bookshop in Dunkeld to order a reprint of an obscure book by one of my relatives. I had to tell the outstanding female behind the counter with a straight face that it was by John Thomas Publishing. She was fairly merciless.

Apps for apple or android would be good. Worldwide audience for that.

I'm too stupid for that kinda thing tho. Great idea for anyone in the know.

A wine/specialised beer shop (seriously.) About a year and a half ago I was seriously considering it while unemployed, but the first step of trying to work in shop like that was incredibly hard to get into. I love my wine and my craft beers and certainly love helping people select something that would suit them, though Edinburgh is flooded with these shops.

Leginten, all sorts, right now a novella.

Contracts, marketing material, patents and expert reports are my bread and butter.

My most interesting assignment was translating the Treaty of Utrecht into modern English for the, Spanish financial regulator, who wanted to get wired into Gibraltarian taxes.

Anybody who wants to work in a second hand bookshop should read Orwell's essay on it. Many.people thought McFeely's, where I worked, was a second-hand depository. Not so.

Leginten, all sorts, right now a novella.

Contracts, marketing material, patents and expert reports are my bread and butter.

My most interesting assignment was translating the Treaty of Utrecht into modern English for the, Spanish financial regulator, who wanted to get wired into Gibraltarian taxes.

Anybody who wants to work in a second hand bookshop should read Orwell's essay on it. Many.people thought McFeely's, where I worked, was a second-hand depository. Not so.

I'm reading a book about translating at the moment. Quite erudite and amusing.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/That-Fish-Your-Ear-Translation/dp/0241954304/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1381351955&sr=8-1&keywords=David+bellos

I did a very limited amount of translation when I was younger. Always thought it would be a good thing to get into full-time or at least freelance.

Have you got a translation qualification if you don't mind my being nosey?

Leginten, no. I applied for and got a job at a translation company (one of the leading such companies in Spain, who've now expanded to China) and they said they were open to people without translation degrees because (a) they had good knowledge of other fields and (B) translation degrees, in their opinion, focused more on theory than on practical experience with deadlines and dealing with different clients' demands. Having that company on my CV opened doors for me when I decided to go freelance, which I did because the company was keeping 2/3 of the value of my work. Experience is what is sought, more than qualifications. I have a qualification in interpretation.

What Lord BJ says is true. Sometimes the idea of a guaranteed salary at the end of the month appeals, this year more so when I'm doing a degree at the same time.

I'm set up freelance self employed and have designed my own website, I just haven't bought a domain yet for the site and won't release things until I'm fully set up with all my materials and insurance.

You're definitely going at it the wrong way round though - find a skill you have that is marketable first and then look to go self employed/ltd company.

If you don't have a skill you think is marketable then don't worry too much - it's quite easy to find one. (girls do it all the time, yoga instructor/zumba instructor/nail technician/masseus/holistic etc...try finding a male equivalent of this type of thing. Then you can maybe even work part-time in an office and have enough money coming in from your other bits to make up the rest. Best of both worlds?

Off the top of my head...web design or development (i.e. specialise in a programming language or CMS)? TEFL? Personal Trainer? Event Organiser? Comms? Marketing? Photography? DJ? Editing? Carer? High School Tutor? Musician?

Load up the Edinburgh College course lists and see if there is sometihng you think you can pick up quite quickly or something that interests you - a couple years down the line you can maybe start making some money from it and tell your employer to gtf.

Pet hate is the cringeworthy usual chat from people who say "A'd luv tae own ma own restaurant" and then I ask - "Well, what do you know about food? Are you passionate about food?".....No but a just like the idea of it, a wouldny be involved in the food.

Rambo's kitchen nightmares right there. :facepalm:

Of course if you have a "career" already that can go self employed or a trade then simply look into that. Joiner/plumber/engineer etc...

I'm set up freelance self employed and have designed my own website, I just haven't bought a domain yet for the site and won't release things until I'm fully set up with all my

Doing?

If anyone does want to set up a website quicker - www,wix.com I found was one of the better ones and very professional. I think it uses html 5 and very impressive content mgmt system.

Very easy to use.

Maybe in a good few years after I've done my time in big business, I'd quite like a crack at opening a craft distillery.

If anyone does want to set up a website quicker - www,wix.com I found was one of the better ones and very professional. I think it uses html 5 and very impressive content mgmt system.

Very easy to use.

Web design is something I've thought of doing as I like computers and would like to work from home.

Which course should people start on with that?

A mate of mine overseas wanted to come back to UK so went to a franchise exhibition with a completely open mind.He ended up running a business providing drinking water to business premises but with a charity angle.

Me, I would love to do what people do on Homes Under the Hammer some day with the missus.

Guest C00l K1d

I'd like to own a fairly big production company.

Have someone else run it, and go and tour with all the bands that the company is doing the show for while no having to do all the shifting and lifting.

Would be class :D

I'd open my own gym.

It wouldn't be like the large chains like Bannatyne's or Virgin Active, it would be a gym not geared to wards lazy middle-aged women but to the people who really want to get results. There'd be none of those daft wee pink dumbbells or Zumba classes but there'd be a load of squat racks, benches, heavier free weights and some studios to run mma and boxing classes. It would be a gym stripped of all the crap that's there to entice casual users and one focused on the needs of regulars.

I don't have access to the kind of money I'd need to get something like off the ground, and as much as I'd want to see it, I'm not sure just how profitable such a venture would be with such a narrow focus.

Snake, I'll be your first member.

Want a gym like that so bad.

Be a dream owning & living comfortably off one.

I'd open my own gym.

It wouldn't be like the large chains like Bannatyne's or Virgin Active, it would be a gym not geared to wards lazy middle-aged women but to the people who really want to get results. There'd be none of those daft wee pink dumbbells or Zumba classes but there'd be a load of squat racks, benches, heavier free weights and some studios to run mma and boxing classes. It would be a gym stripped of all the crap that's there to entice casual users and one focused on the needs of regulars.

I don't have access to the kind of money I'd need to get something like off the ground, and as much as I'd want to see it, I'm not sure just how profitable such a venture would be with such a narrow focus.

I went to a gym like that a few times in cambodia. Metal clunkimg away sweat dripping off the 1980s arnold schwarzenegger posters and a wee women making protein shakes for about 2 pence that you could buy and she'd make up for you.

It was beautiful. :sob:

Ive seen some warehouse freelance gyms in edinburgh but even they seem a bit posey and they seem to be only interested squats and overall fitness. Yes we all know squats are important but thays not an excuse for lack of equipment - get some benches in there.

There really is a market for that. There hasn't been a proper free weights gym in Edinburgh since Marco's shut.

Quite a few people do good functional stuff in lock up's but a bigger place with rings, one of those new multifunctional frames for doing chin up's etc some boxing gear, and a big selection of free weights would clean up.

If I was starting a business it would be selling automatic defibrillators.

They are coming down in price, becoming much easier to use and lots of clubs and community organisations are investing in them.

In Highland communities, where ambulances are far away, they have started sticking them in old phone boxes.

I would start a business that helped with fundraising, supplied the defib along with all the kit like replacement pads, then trained up people to use it.

At the moment you have to do it all separately. If you gave support from the fundraising stage right through to the training you'd do well.

There really is a market for that. There hasn't been a proper free weights gym in Edinburgh since Marco's shut.

Quite a few people do good functional stuff in lock up's but a bigger place with rings, one of those new multifunctional frames for doing chin up's etc some boxing gear, and a big selection of free weights would clean up.

If I was starting a business it would be selling automatic defibrillators.

They are coming down in price, becoming much easier to use and lots of clubs and community organisations are investing in them.

In Highland communities, where ambulances are far away, they have started sticking them in old phone boxes.

I would start a business that helped with fundraising, supplied the defib along with all the kit like replacement pads, then trained up people to use it.

At the moment you have to do it all separately. If you gave support from the fundraising stage right through to the training you'd do well.

Dont give away your big idea big c!

In regards to the market for a free weights gym, id agree - but it does beg the question why marcos shut and no one bought it over. To be fair it was a big facility not just a gym. I miss marcos. An edinburgh institution.

Assassin for hire. Willing to work cheaply to expand my business at first, then delegate the grunt work as we expand and then cherry pick the killing of rich no goodniks in the Cayman Islands.

Women cost double, no kids.

Sterling Archer

Start a Process Improvement consulting firm. Probably be a couple of years before I give it a shot though.

I wouldn't say I'm living the dream but being self employed has even good to me.

I earn very good money for the amount of time I work doing contract cleaning. In fact, some of the jobs I have pay ridiculous amounts of money for the time spent on the job. I have some extremely good customers in both the commercial & domestic sector and because I do such a good job I rarely hear from them so no boss or anything like that breathing down your neck. All of my jobs are key jobs so nobody is around when I'm 'on the job'. It's all pretty good and due to the customer base and income I've built up over 15 years of doing this I'd really struggle to find the same pay/hours elsewhere.

Downside is undoubtedly getting up at 4am. Finishing at 11 is little consolation when the alarm goes off at that time on a cold winter morning.

However having spoken with mates who work for firms like HBOS/Standard Life etc, I believe I have an easy gig. Some of the absolute arseholes and workload/stress that people have to put up with isn't great.

I might add that I'd eventually like to start (in addition to my current business) a factoring agency. But like, do it properly and provide a good service.

The companies I have knowledge of are absolutely woeful and it's a wonder some of them are still allowed to operate.

Snake, I'll be your first member.

Want a gym like that so bad.

Be a dream owning & living comfortably off one.

Get Creepy in on this and we'll open something up.

I went to a gym like that a few times in cambodia. Metal clunkimg away sweat dripping off the 1980s arnold schwarzenegger posters and a wee women making protein shakes for about 2 pence that you could buy and she'd make up for you.

It was beautiful. :sob:

Ive seen some warehouse freelance gyms in edinburgh but even they seem a bit posey and they seem to be only interested squats and overall fitness. Yes we all know squats are important but thays not an excuse for lack of equipment - get some benches in there.

That sounds like my kinda gym :jjyay:

The closest I've experienced to that was a little place in Lincoln where I did my Instructor course. The place was just crammed with equipment, some I've never seen outside of it since (a rack for T-Bar rows for instance). The decor was tatty posters of people like Jay Cutler, Ronnie Coleman and Dorian Yates. There were maybe a dozen treadmills, the showering facilities were basic as the main focus of the place was the weights. There was also a wee bar area for protein shakes and other supps, it was just beautiful, the sort of place I'd love to be able to go to but could only enjoy a little taste of.

In my head, my place would be like that on a larger scale with facilities for boxing, mma and Muay Thai. A place for bros and sisters to get their sweat on. It's a beautiful dream :sob:

The only idea I've had for a business is to take my Procurement knowledge and create a Purchasing Co-Operative for small to medium tradesmen.

Basically for an annual membership fee the co-operative would consolidate every members spend and negotiate discounts with the likes of MKM, Jewson, Plumb Centre, Screwfix etc and because of the consolidation the discounts available would more than cover the membership cost.

Would eventually look to expand and provide full admin, accounting and taxation services!

JamboInSouthsea

Looking to start up my own business too and hopefully get funding sorted out fairly soon.

I'm planning to provide business support for other sole traders including basic websites (then more serious e-commerce after a bit more practise), other I.T. services and as just passed bookkeeping course that as well.

Have a few clients that have expressed an interest already, I just need to get myself setup.

Friend of mine also came up with a cracker of an idea last night which I might pursue also as I don't think such a service exists...certainly in Portsmouth.

Watching shows like Propety Wars on Discovery gives me interest in starting in that area. Given the housing market there must be money to be made at the moment but risks levels and capital required would be obvious issues.

Get Creepy in on this and we'll open something up.

That sounds like my kinda gym :jjyay:

The closest I've experienced to that was a little place in Lincoln where I did my Instructor course. The place was just crammed with equipment, some I've never seen outside of it since (a rack for T-Bar rows for instance). The decor was tatty posters of people like Jay Cutler, Ronnie Coleman and Dorian Yates. There were maybe a dozen treadmills, the showering facilities were basic as the main focus of the place was the weights. There was also a wee bar area for protein shakes and other supps, it was just beautiful, the sort of place I'd love to be able to go to but could only enjoy a little taste of.

In my head, my place would be like that on a larger scale with facilities for boxing, mma and Muay Thai. A place for bros and sisters to get their sweat on. It's a beautiful dream :sob:

When your back, yourself, stenners and I can make this a reality.

Stenners will have to ditch his EDL sympathising beliefs though. Cant have any bad press.

Sandwich shops have huge mark ups and are always busy, so can't be too bad.

There use to be one on Queensferry Street, where you still had to make the sandwich yourself.

All the staff/shop use to do, was lay out the bread and the filllings for you, and stick your sandwich in a bag, charging you around ?3.00 for the privilidge.

I would have liked to have worked in prop making / costuming / visual effects for TV and film.

It is a dying art since CGI came along but a lot of the studios are now going back to it.

I know guys who work in it and have made a living at it but Scotland isn't quite London or Hollywood and I am 42 and work in Electronics and Electrical work so it isn't going to happen now.

Just hobby stuff for me now.

Bookshop or music store. High Fidelity sort of thing. No money in it, obviously.

I can dig this.

Being a librarian, I suppose I would though...

Great idea with the gym, I think there is def a market for something like that.

I'd open a penis beaker shop.

Maybe in a good few years after I've done my time in big business, I'd quite like a crack at opening a craft distillery.

Same here, though not sure if I could be arsed waiting three years for the fruits of my labour.

So a brewery it is then!

A wine/specialised beer shop (seriously.) About a year and a half ago I was seriously considering it while unemployed, but the first step of trying to work in shop like that was incredibly hard to get into. I love my wine and my craft beers and certainly love helping people select something that would suit them, though Edinburgh is flooded with these shops.

I'd love to do the same!