Favourite Edinburgh Words.

droid

I've always loved slang terms/words/expressions that are exclusive to the Capital.

Guffy is my absolute favourite, what's everyone elses?

• Replies 203

Edinburgh is the only place ive heard the word fud

Used in Glasgow as well.

Mostly by neds.

Neds also love the word "fandan".

Shoaty.

Love the fact it has numerous meanings too.

Siver

What does that mean?

I grew up in West Lothian and went to school in Edinburgh for the last two years. I had never before heard the word "shan". The bounciness of the Edinburgh accent and the continual "...eh?" do grate.

What does that mean?

I grew up in West Lothian and went to school in Edinburgh for the last two years. I had never before heard the word "shan". The bounciness of the Edinburgh accent and the continual "...eh?" do grate.

A siver is what people in Perth call a "condie" - a grate over a drain.

Siver is the drain at the kerbside

I had nae idea. I would call it a "grate". Thanks. Is it pronounced "sivver" or "syver"?

Shoaty.

Love the fact it has numerous meanings too.

As in can I get a shoaty yer bike?

"Pagger" - never heard it used anywhere else!

Pagger isn't unique to Edinburgh. Not used often enough though.

As in can I get a shoaty yer bike?

Pagger isn't unique to Edinburgh. Not used often enough though.

More like...

'Keep shoaty fur the polis'

or...

Shoaty! The polis ur comin''

:ohmy:

More like...

or...

I've never heard it like that tbh.

More like...

or...

Lovely.

I've never heard it like that tbh.

Probably just showing my age!

:(

Probably showing my age now but does anywhere else say "ben the hoose" as in "Where's mum?" "She's ben the hoose" i.e. in the kitchen.

I'd never heard "chore" until I moved to Edinburgh and never heard it anywhere else, ken?

Favourite Edinburgh word? Sauce. As in "salt n' "

Shoaty is an all time favorite, it's barry ken.

As regards Siver, it was a regular thing as kids to see the "Sivermen" who would come round the streets and clear the sivers. Never seen a siver getting cleared for yonks.

There's nae a shan word frae Edinburgh , there a' barry likes , eh.

Any'hing else just turns me radge likes

Shoaty is an all time favorite, it's barry ken.

As regards Siver, it was a regular thing as kids to see the "Sivermen" who would come round the streets and clear the sivers. Never seen a siver getting cleared for yonks.

I used siver in the Pans and the only "sivermen" I'd every seen was on Dr Who. My big brother done more to keep me away from the sivers," that's where they live", than my mum's " you'll get Scarlet Fever".

Probably showing my age now but does anywhere else say "ben the hoose" as in "Where's mum?" "She's ben the hoose" i.e. in the kitchen.

After spending my first five years of life down in newcastle before moving back to edinburgh, my wee gran said to me "its ben the room" i looked at her with a blank expression totally clueless at what she meant, once explained to me everything was ben the this ,ben the that even named my grans budgie Ben ! Top word

Cxnt is a word used allot

Nothing worse being stuck on a bus and have to listen to a burd use this kind of language, some classy burds out there haha

Cxnt is a word used allot

Nothing worse being stuck on a bus and have to listen to a burd use this kind of language, some classy burds out there haha

We're the only race that can use the c word as a term of endearment. I'm quite proud of this fact!

"A right good cant he is"

We're the only race that can use the c word as a term of endearment. I'm quite proud of this fact!

"A right good cant he is"

A beautiful word with many meanings

MORT... Commonly misunderstood as to meaning Slag or Dirty, when in actual fact means Bird/Girl.

Gam

As weird as this is, I had to explain that word to several of my Glaswegian friends today.

Strange.

Who says "shoaty"??? i always heard it said as "shottie".....

I always said it like it was spelt shoatie

Edinburgh is the only place ive heard the word fud

Late seventies/early eighties when I first heard it used ... embarrassed for anybody that uses it today.

More like...

or...

Or indeed 'shoaty/shottie, it's so & so' as in you're no bothered/so ffin what.

Also, and I'm none the wiser whether it's particular to our grand city but the word : 'mocket' or 'mauket' - not sure how one spells it in the vernacular ... she's mocket; she's mingin'; she' no the prettiest.

Heard most of these in East Lothian. Colly bucky (sp?) Is one I've only ever heard in Edinburgh.

"Shoaty!" often followed by "Stoorie it!"

Quite regularly heard when getting chased after throwing bangers in somebodies stair.

"You keep shoaty!"

Normally the last words of the brave group member before climbing the garden fence to chorey apples.

BoJack Horseman

Clart's surely an Edinburgh word?

I'd say so definitely.

Gantin

What's your definition of gantin? I've always understood it to be fairly synonymous with mingin. My mate from up north uses it as a synonym for gaggin, as in "gaggin on it". It gets confusing when he tells me a bird was gantin so he pumped her.

"Pagger" - never heard it used anywhere else!

I was in Paris for a Weedgie mate's stag do and just mentioned the morning after the night before that I was "paggered". Another attendee, who was from Nottingham, was amazed to hear someone use this word. Apparently it is used down there by travelling folk. Means the same

"Shoaty!" often followed by "Stoorie it!"

Quite regularly heard when getting chased after throwing bangers in somebodies stair.

"You keep shoaty!"

Normally the last words of the brave group member before climbing the garden fence to chorey apples.

Shottie, here come the Polis. Stoorie nash!