Favourite Edinburgh Words.

droid

• Replies 203
heartgarfunkel

All these words take me back to games of football in the park in the days when you'd see white dog5hit.

Porno mags would regularly be found in parks, in undergrowth, etc., back in those days. Also when did proper tramps stop? Last saw a none 'up the toon' tramp about the mid 80s.

Yes Shy and Bye Kick not used much these days

I still call it these, & I do get funny looks.

BoJack Horseman

Can't beat a cheeky Bag Off aswell!

I loved this. There's no proper way to say you bagged off with a bird any more. The only options sound queer.

I still use it to this day, it seems like people nowadays days don't like the term??? Weirdos.

Did we not call lemonade etc skoosh as well.

In Bo'ness, a bottle of 'Lemonade' was a generic term for a any bottle of skoosh. So the sentence; Get us a bottle of lemonade. What flavour? Cola!.... made sense to us as kids.

If you actually wanted lemonade, it was a bottle of clear.

BoJack Horseman

I still use it to this day, it seems like people nowadays days don't like the term??? Weirdos.

It's not used in my generation. I'd get funny looks if I used it. It was bag off, it was snog, now it appears to be "pull". I opt for fire in.

Schneks still commonly used around my way ;)

BoJack Horseman

Schneks still commonly used around my way ;)

Forgot about that one. That's also used and accepted. Snog can gtf.

Barry for yer naggins Gadgie, gets the funniest looks... Haaa

Is tadger (as in wee willy) a Scots or Edinburgh word?

For some reason Tadger sounds West Coast to me(could be completely wrong however?)

Not sure if its strictly Edinburgh, but for all the years ive worked beside guys from other cities or toons i never heard them say "cuff" or "cuffed" as in......."Herts cuffed that lot the last time we played them"..............Oh, there`s another one that doesn`t go down well with the posh lot on JKB...calling Hearts "Herts"...... :curtain:

Deek, pagger, barry and shan are some of my favourites.

What amuses me is the way some people, including myself, from Edinburgh speak in general.

Everythings a question ken eh?

Tourdaes & colly Bucky (no idea what they are) are the only two that I haven't heard in Fife so I would guess most of the others are East coast/Central Scotland rather than being just Edinburgh words.

John Gentleman

In Bo'ness, a bottle of 'Lemonade' was a generic term for a any bottle of skoosh. So the sentence; Get us a bottle of lemonade. What flavour? Cola!.... made sense to us as kids.

If you actually wanted lemonade, it was a bottle of clear.

Lumsden's no doubt?

Is 'barry' no a weejie word aswell?

Ermm no, 20 years ago no one in Glasgow would have had a scooby what barry meant.

Tourdaes & colly Bucky (no idea what they are) are the only two that I haven't heard in Fife so I would guess most of the others are East coast/Central Scotland rather than being just Edinburgh words.

Tourdae (running through back gardens)

Colly Buckie, (piggy back,getting carrieed on some 1's back)

Bagsie - lay claim to something and is akin to signing a contract that is legally binding.

"I bagsie sitting in the front seat". Or,when playing tig, "cannae tig yer butcher - no changes, I bagsie"

Guest C00l K1d

Ermm no, 20 years ago no one in Glasgow would have had a scooby what barry meant.

Cool, always associated it with the west for some reason

Barleys up said with two thumbs up, requesting a time out in a game.

A common word used in the 50's and sixties was Git. As in get moving you Git.

Barleys up said with two thumbs up, requesting a time out in a game.

A common word used in the 50's and sixties was Git. As in get moving you Git.

'Get' in the Droid household.

My familiarity with the word was mainly in the Niddrie area when it was used as an endearment, F---k Off ya Polis Git. :crowngrin:

Niddrie Marshall Gardens for me Bob, must have evolved into 'get' by the time I was growing up ;)

Both of these work with the Git/Get.

Niddrie Marischal was part of the Niddrie beat in those days working from the Box at Wauchope Avenue. Leave the box, through Greendykes to Niddrie Marischal where you were politely referred to as a Polis Get :devilish: , then down Hay Avenue to the phone pillar to ring in, on to Niddrie Mains Terrace where you became Polis Git, even prior to coming to Canada I had to be bilingual. :cool4:

There's a whole new range of slang terms, again not sure if there exclusive to the Capital ie: patching, Pieing, Dingy all meaning much the same thing! To ignore someone.

Winchin'?

In my late teens as an apprentice and usually single, old Ray in the workshop would say "are ye no winchin yet !"

great word but is it scotland wide in its use?

BoJack Horseman

There's a whole new range of slang terms, again not sure if there exclusive to the Capital ie: patching, Pieing, Dingy all meaning much the same thing! To ignore someone.

Not heard patching, wouldn't be surprised if pie and dingy are Edinburgh words.

Stoory - ie Fecksake here come the *insert rival scheme gangs name* lets stoory.....

Never said it myself, being a good Saughton Mains man boy :verysmug:

:lies: :(

A friend, brought up in Gorgie and moved to Clermiston in his teens, insists that his father used a phrase " A game for the Zulus" in the 60's. I wonder if this was a family phrase or if anyone else has heard of it?

yeah ive heard of it, some of the old guys in the workshop would use it when i was an apprentice, not quite sure but an insult of course !

How

I don't think outside the Lothians that How means Why

It does in Selkirk. A teacher at high school from another Borders town thought it was funny when we said it.

He even explained 'how' it was stupid. :laugh: