For all the Callum bashers

theschoolend

For gods sake give the guy a break.

He will never be a top scorer but did contribute today as he has done a number of times this year. He is not a Robbo but will never be one. And while Im at it all the Robbie bashers should give it a rest as well.

We have what we have.

Lets get real - the side of 2005-06 was a good one and would wipe the floor with this on just now. But I would point out Eliot and Neilson were part of that good side that we all crave!!!!!!!!!!!!!

He will never be a top scorer but did contribute today as he has done a number of times this year. He is not a Robbo but will never be one. And while Im at it all the Robbie bashers should give it a rest as well.

We have what we have.

Lets get real - the side of 2005-06 was a good one and would wipe the floor with this on just now. But I would point out Eliot and Neilson were part of that good side that we all crave!!!!!!!!!!!!!

why should we give it a rest ? .. he is simply not good enough to play for Hearts ... it's the bigger picture I'm concerned with, not worrying whether I'm hurting the feelings of Youtube's very own twinkletoes

I'm sorry but when you get into a goal-scoring opportunity then slip FIVE times, you're not going to make it.

Elliot made a couple of good crosses today and,yes,contributed early on but if he could only stay on his feet.....!Never "bashed" him as I never "bash" any player.The simple fact is that a good striker would have scored a couple of goals against a poor ICT defence today.In a bottom six environment with no relegation issues,you really should see players relax and show what they can do.Its a worry that Calum can't seem to impose himself better.

Pete Seeger
Most of the people that rated Elliot as 'rubbish' today rated him at about five to three.

100% correct. Most people are on a downer with him and won't see any positives from him.

Only a Game

He will never be a top scorer but did contribute today as he has done a number of times this year.

Could you help me out here and specify what his contribution amounted to today and the other times throughout this year.

I accept that he scored twice at Inverness so there's a start. Anything else outwith that springing to mind ?

I'm sorry but when you get into a goal-scoring opportunity then slip FIVE times, you're not going to make it.

He must have forgot his ice skates for his Dancing on Ice audition....

We have what we have.

Oh God.

Tell me...what's the point in a striker who will never be a top scorer?

Let's keep him though...he contributed...though not as effectively as the defender brought on to replace him eh?

Whilst I never boo players during a game Elliot was garbage today as he usually is these days. I frankly find it baffling as to why a young player who put in some fantastic performances when he first broke through is now so bad.

We seem to have too many players like him these days who only play to a decent standard one every ten or so games and it's not good enough. The players are paid well at Hearts and if they can't play at a standard to win things (or at least come third easily) they should be replaced.

oh ah grantona

gary glenn 2 games (APP) 2 goals

callum elliot 97 games (APP) 12 goals

the boy is not a striker is not class and is not worthy of a starting berth as a striker and he is no better than any midfielder so get rid. He may get boed i think the boos are more about the decision to keep playin him and frail still tells everyone he is class

Its Elliott's attitude that really ****es me off about him.

Every time something doesn't come off for him he moans that the ball was crap or he was being held or something. What a whiney-faced little Thora he is.

I think we would all have loved to see Elliot do well/show his early promise but it is not happening in fact its getting worse and more difficult for him,frail is not wrong to offer backing to the lad but is wrong to persevere with him on the pitch ,He should have took him off earlier ,I feel sorry for him he is trying its just not there ,He and the club needs to either think about a new club or putting him out on loan next season out of the spotlight for a while the 1ST division or abroad.

coppercrutch
100% correct. Most people are on a downer with him and won't see any positives from him.

Same thing has happened to other players. Miko being the best example. Miko has, thank ****, taken heed off the moaning and worked his arse off to play better. I think the problem people have with Elliot is he does not appear to be doing the same.

He is like Neilson or Goncalves. Just not good enough, not a football player. Should change his career. IMO. Hopefully proves me wrong. :)

grumpyjambo

We have what we have.

Elliiot GTF!

30 seconds on the floor moaning when he slipped.

Slip once? Unlucky.

Slip twice? Change your boots.

Slip five times in good positions? See a mental health specialist.

Pete Seeger
Elliiot GTF!

Thats a well thought out post. Congratulations on your support for the hearts youngsters.

gowestjambo

"Whip round for a set of studs for Clum anyone?"

Pete Seeger
Whilst I never boo players during a game Elliot was garbage today as he usually is these days. I frankly find it baffling as to why a young player who put in some fantastic performances when he first broke through is now so bad.

We seem to have too many players like him these days who only play to a decent standard one every ten or so games and it's not good enough. The players are paid well at Hearts and if they can't play at a standard to win things (or at least come third easily) they should be replaced.

I think the main reason is because his heads down. Probaly due to getting constant stick from the fans. He wasn't helped during the season playing as a lone striker. The management held him (and other strikers) out to dry this year. It's clear for all to see that Elliot won't come good this season because his confidence is non existant.

coppercrutch
30 seconds on the floor moaning when he slipped.

Slip once? Unlucky.

Slip twice? Change your boots.

Slip five times in good positions? See a mental health specialist.

Was that towards the end in front of the Wheatfield ? Pretty shocking I agree. Just sitting there feeling sorry for himself.

What gets my goat with calum is whenever he is nudged off the ball or he miscontrols it ,his body language is that of many 10-11 year olds in school football. i.e. its always someone elses fault and its not fair he moans and stays down too long.

He should take a look at GAry Glen for inspiration he chased everything and if he was pushed off the ball he jumped straight back up and kept plugging away AND when a chance came he hit the target. He is much more mature in everything he does and thats why I think Calum Elliot is as good as he ever will be. He is far too petulant to make it.

What gets my goat with calum is whenever he is nudged off the ball or he miscontrols it ,his body language is that of many 10-11 year olds in school football. i.e. its always someone elses fault and its not fair he moans and stays down too long.

He should take a look at GAry Glen for inspiration he chased everything and if he was pushed off the ball he jumped straight back up and kept plugging away AND when a chance came he hit the target. He is much more mature in everything he does and thats why I think Calum Elliot is as good as he ever will be. He is far too petulant to make it.

Totally agree.

He reminds me of Steven Simmons :mad:

I think the main reason is because his heads down. Probaly due to getting constant stick from the fans. He wasn't helped during the season playing as a lone striker. The management held him (and other strikers) out to dry this year. It's clear for all to see that Elliot won't come good this season because his confidence is non existant.

The confidence reason/excuse is IMO getting a bit old. Someone else mentioned Simmons on this thread and I'm afraid that is who Elliot reminds me off. Simmons, like Elliot looked a great prospect then totally lost his way and ended up wasting his career. That is Elliot's future if he doesn't get the finger out.

To be honest Frail hasn't helped his cause, with the fans anyway, with his constant talking him up and saying he is a 'class' player.

He showed a lot of early promise and then went on loan. Never has been the same and I just can't see him getting it back. Well at us anyway.

He has had his chances. People go to games thinking "Elliot! Bollocks. He's pish". But he has only really shut they fans (Me included) up once. At Inverness.

Best if he moves on.

Most of the people that rated Elliot as 'rubbish' today rated him at about five to three.

Not me Walter, I rated him at five to five, and he was still murder!!!!

He started getting on to Miko for not placing the ball where he wanted it, when in truth if he had read it right then he would have been on the end of a decent ball, he then got onto Gary Glen for something too, which was Clums fault also!

In the second half, he went down looking for a free kick and moaned like hell at the linesman when he hadn't even been touched because nothing is EVER his bloody fault!!! :evilno:

He seems to think that he's Pele, when in fact he's not even good enough for Spartans!!

Well said.

Perhaps if we gave him a bit of support during games(thought he got more today) he might actually improve.

People seem willing to give Miko years to see if he improves,Elliot deserves the same.Give the bloke a chance.

We have what we have.

Sorry mate both are mince and we will never go anywhere while they are in the team, cant fault there effort, its just they are not good enough, they are 1st division players not good enough for Hearts.:107years:

I was out with my a mate of mine, who knows Calum, the other night. He is convinced Clum will come good. Was saying when they played together Clum was a great player. He was good in U20 world cup. So was he just lucky or just not filled potential?

I'd love him to form a partnership with Glen. Sadly I'd don't see it happening hes had one too many chances but I'd love him to prove me wrong.

why should we give it a rest ? .. he is simply not good enough to play for Hearts ... it's the bigger picture I'm concerned with, not worrying whether I'm hurting the feelings of Youtube's very own twinkletoes

That'll explain the 'We Need A Manager' and other Vlad-criticism chants I never heard today then.......nah, it was just boo-ing a guy who is clearly out of his depth and struggling.

Always the easy targets with Hearts fans these days.

I was out with my a mate of mine, who knows Calum, the other night. He is convinced Clum will come good. Was saying when they played together Clum was a great player. He was good in U20 world cup. So was he just lucky or just not filled potential?

I'd love him to form a partnership with Glen. Sadly I'd don't see it happening hes had one too many chances but I'd love him to prove me wrong.

Was he good in the U20 World Cup? The difference between him and Fletcher was huge at that tournament.

only saw a few games personally. He worked hard though and seemed to help the team. Looked a decent enough prospect then, did he not score a few to? I could be wrong though. I thought he got quite good reviews generally from that competition?

Absolutely spot on

I think Elliot will come good eventually i just dont think it will be at Hearts. Too many people are going to get on his back and i think he always going to be a target for the boo boys.

I think that its probably best for all if he leaves in the summer, maybe drop down to the first division and get some confidence and then maybe if he can hack it at that level get a move to a better club.

I do think he'll turn out to be a fairly good player but not if he stays at Hearts.

"Whip round for a set of studs for Clum anyone?"

whip, studs and Calum Elliot in the same sentence.

no, I'm not surprised either. :P

this 1 guy wiz moain all match that people were slaggin elliot honestly he might improve in future but just now hes crap

Bob Malcolm used to contribute alot for Rangers still did not change the fact he was gash.Elliot is our Malcolm only in a dirrerent position.

Elliot cannae score in a disco never mind on a pitch and the sooner he bails out the better he'll never make an impact maybe the odd goal whenever that happens

Drew Busby !

We have what we have.

I'm not even goisng to read ONE MORE POST IN THIS PESH THREAD. NO NEED, CLUM IS TOTAL AND UTTER SCHECHT OF THE FIRST ORDER.

I can only hope his gay dancing career takes off and saves us from more of his on-field total and utter peshness.

What is it that Frail sees in him though?? I mean he had a goal spell before he went on loan to 'Well( good spell as in scored a few goals,front post tap ins etc),but he has been terrible since. His attitude during a match is one of a spoiled child,and for every man that boos him in the crowd there are 2 that cheer on anyone in maroon to drown it out. He played for about 15 minutes in total yesterday and made some good runs and passed the ball well but thats nowhere near enough in a game of 90 minutes. Big Zal had more effect up front beside Glen as Clum is never going to win much in the air against a sturdy defender.

I am afraid we are ending the season and once again we will all be crying out for a better striker to come in during the close season.

MIKO 1 - ICT HUDDY DEFENDER 0;)

I think Elliot will come good eventually i just dont think it will be at Hearts. Too many people are going to get on his back and i think he always going to be a target for the boo boys.

I think that its probably best for all if he leaves in the summer, maybe drop down to the first division and get some confidence and then maybe if he can hack it at that level get a move to a better club.

I do think he'll turn out to be a fairly good player but not if he stays at Hearts.

Aye could see him at somewhere like Raith and doing not too badly.

gtf clum your time was up over a year ago and i will never change my mind, too many chances and i have seen nothing that tells me you deserve a jersey

brellierlegend

Personally I do not rate him. Would not boo him but he is definately not good enough for Hearts.

Add to that his sour face moaning everytime something doesnt go his way. Its no wonder he is not a fans favourite. It would be 100 times better for both parties if he moved on.

I also hope to god we do not invoke the renewal clause in Stewarts contract.

Glenn has shown the imposter Clum up for what he is in the last 2 games. Get rid asap - division 1 beckons for this very poor player.

wish I could see positives;-

1/. Pace...............no

2/. goal scorer.......no

3/. control.............no

4/. passing............no

5/. effort...............plenty of this but go and watch any junior game and there is an equal measure of effort - so this quality should be a "given"

Sorry, not good enough for Hearts (but isn't alone in this i hasten to add!) can't see him being anything other than a Dunfermline or Partick player and the sooner the better for me!

Walter Payton
Glenn has shown the imposter Clum up for what he is in the last 2 games. Get rid asap - division 1 beckons for this very poor player.

Sorry Nelly, the only way Clum will be division 1 standard will be if we follow the English example and rename Division 1 "The Championship" or some other guff and Division 2 becomes the new division 1. Looking at the QotS game and the St Johnstone game I'd take any of their strikers over Clum.

I don't boo players who play in maroon and white, however I think SF has to take some responsibility for Clums demise. He simply is not good enough to play in the team, nobody could say he hasn't been given the opportunity to prove himself which is a lot more than can be said for a few other "under achievers". By playing him every week he is leaving him open to criticism by the fans who feel frustrated by his lack of skill, commitment and finishing.