Watching loved one's deal with Cancer

Better call Saul

My dad died of cancer two years ago, my aunty has just beaten it last year after a hysterectomy and my mum has just been diagnosed with a an extremely rare but treatable kind of cancer that effects the red blood cells, a few months ago.

Cancer is pure shite.

My dad died of cancer two years ago, my aunty has just beaten it last year after a hysterectomy and my mum has just been diagnosed with a an extremely rare but treatable kind of cancer that effects the red blood cells, a few months ago.

Cancer is pure shite.

Sorry to hear that.

Sounds like your family has really been through the ringer mate.

Cancer is pure shite.

Sorry to hear that mate. Hope your mum is ok.

Sorry to hear about that Jezza. Getting hammered doesn't help. I done it, ended up fighting and had to visit my gran covered in cuts and bruises.

It really doesn't help but nothing really will to the way you feel. Just got to keep the head up for you and your old mans sakes.

Hope your dad wins his fight mate :thumbsup:

Cheers mucka I'll shout you a pint in the coming season.

Sorry to hear that mate. Hope your mum is ok.

Cheers. It's treatable with chemotherapy tablets but long term they can ruin her bone marrow.

Cancer is a complicated thing, very different in all its forms. Truly horrible conditions.

Sorry about your old boy.

No booze not the answer,depend on whatever faith you have, religion or whatever. Give your dad all the support you can, there are treatments, they can be very difficult to take but can pull a person through. All very positive suggestions, but with cancer,a terrible dominating opponent, there is a possibility of successful treatment not being available. Again what is important is to stay strong. If it helps I will be thinking of you and your Dad and asking what I believe in to be with you.

Cheers. It's treatable with chemotherapy tablets but long term they can ruin her bone marrow.

Cancer is a complicated thing, very different in all its forms. Truly horrible conditions.

Sorry about your old boy.

Not too good.

Cheers man. Appreciated.

Its an utter c u next tuseday (sorry mods) of a disease. Lost my wife (46) to it in January this year, its taken me ages to pluck up the courage to actually reply to this thread. Like a few posters have said, watching someone who you love going through the sheer hell of this disease absolutley brings you to your knees. With my wife it was breast cancer that appeared about 5 years ago, a right old shock to the system to put it mildly, but the guys at the Western were outstanding, an operation followed by months of chemo, and they were delighted by the results. The funny thing is once she was back to normal, working, socialising etc after a while it just about got pushed to the back of my mind that she had actually had it, then boom December 2010, it reared its godawful ugly head again. More chemo but this time dont ask me how, i knew it was different and she gradually went down hill slowly over the course of 2011, it had spread to her brain and liver, i'll never forget sitting in the consultants office and him saying the words "2 months maybe a year", it took me all the willpower i had not to throw up on the spot. She went into St Columbace on the 27 December 2011 and passed away on the 5th of January 2012. At times i think im worse 5 months down the line than i was at the begining,a song, a silly thought, passing a pub you had a drink in can reduce me to tears instantly (welling up as i type this, silly sod). We were married for 25 years and had known her for 30 so i think its going to be a hell of a long time until i'm even half over her but i have 2 beautiful daughters to keep me going, both of whom are raising money like mad for the moonwalk in memory of their mum.

My sympathies to the above poster and to all who have suffered or watched Family / Friends suffer from this b*****d of a disease.(sorry mods)

I lost my Dad in '88 aged 56 to a tumor at the base of his spine . He was 6ft and about 15 stone but within 6 weeks He was just skin and bone and had passed away.

I then lost my Mum aged 56 to a Brain tumor a few years later. Unfortunately my Mum suffered for more than a year before she passed away . It was horrendous watching my Mum die a slow painful death . She lived at home until the very end, didn't want / refused to go into a Hospice and often begged me or my sister to give her an overdose of morphine to put her out of her misery but we both wouldn't and couldn't do it. Eventually on the 29th December Mum passed away and being honest and looking back now, it was a blessing and I wished she had passed away a lot earlier, As she suffered so so much.

Last year , I lost one of my mates that I played Darts with for years. Within 3 weeks of diagnosis of Lung Cancer he died aged 41. This year we lost a family friend to breast cancer aged 38, it was hereditary in her Family. But even with constant check ups she succumbed to Cancer. She had to have both breasts removed but to no avail. She left two teenagers and a 3yr old son. It truly is a horrible disease and unfortunately , It's been a prevalent disease throughout my life . I never ever walk passed a collector , who is collecting for Marie Curie or Macmillan and hopefully one day there will be a cure.

Kyle and others are spot on, drinking isn't the answer. Have been there myself after losing my papa to it and also ended up in a huge scrap as a result.

Got barred from the pub in question and would have lost my job if the boy in question had pressed charges.

The best advice I can give is to echo what has previously been posted and that is to stay as strong as you can and be there for your family. But don't try and carry all the pressure on your shoulders and don't be afraid to cry, even if it's just sitting yourself and shedding a tear, so no one else knows about it.

It's good to get it out and bottling it up does you more harm than good, take it from one who knows. :thumb:

Also, don't be afraid to accept support or ask for help, even if it's just from people on here.

Good luck!

yvonnejambo

Feel so much for all who have put their personal battles with this on here. At the moment I have someone very close to me going through it and its so horrible to watch. I was with her last week when she was told she will need chemo once she recovers enough from the op (pancraes cancer). It all happened so fast and the last month has been a bit of a blur.

I came home wishing i still lived closer( I live in the Highlands and she lives in the borders), but still feeling awful by not being able to see her as often as I would like. I then come home and 2 days later 1 of my best friends up here Mum died, no health problems and the shock of her just dropping dead is just so tragic, still really in shock, but I feel now a bit different as it shows tragedy can strike at any time and watching someone suffer with cancer is horrendous and especially if they are in pain, but maybe a bit selfish it gives you time to try deal with the thought they might not be around long and to try enjoy the time you have left with them. I phone her every day and she has the rest of her family around her so she is not alone and I am just trying to juggle work with visits down. Its the 1st time I have had someone close to me have it and its not easy. so I really feel for all of you have been through this with loved ones.

J Cheever Loophole

Mon then kickback tell me it's going to get better.

My old man has cancer in his neck and just got all his teeth removed yesterday as procedure as a pre op.

My big strong man dad is half the size he was even in march.

Any alternatives to not getting hammered when leaving the parents and getting home I would love to know.

You have to believe Jazza and be strong for your family mate.They will be looking for strength from some where in this nightmare and they wont find it from you, if you climb inside a bottle mate and I'm speaking from experience.

I truly will be rooting for your Dad,you and your family.

The Great Khali

Took me a while to even read through all this thread, never mind post on it. Had to keep clicking back after every few posts, as I didnt want to read on.

One my close friends wee brother lost his fight earlier this year. Only 19, diagnosed at 17. Cancer of the lung which, near the end, spread everywhere and really, really attacked him.

He was just a normal lad, funny, loud, loved a drink and a game of footie.

About ten of us all shaved our heads for him, raising money for the Teenage Cancer Trust. He dedicated his last two years on earth, raising money for the Trust, while fighting the disease himself. He found it odd that there wasn't a separate ward for children or teens, so he raised a wonderful amount of money, to go towards that.

We even had a bit of fun with the head shaving. We left ourselves with daft hair styles for a night, and we went out into Dalkieth for a night out. Mohawks, the "Ronaldo fringe" and so on. Got some dodgy looks but we made the wee man smile so it was all worth it.

He refused to stop playin five asides. Often taking a wee breather after ten minutes or so, but you could tell, he enjoyed the fact he could still kick a ball about.

He beat it, for a while, then it came back. So aggressive, so brutal. He was regularly getting taken into hospital to have litres (yep, litres) of blood taken out of his lungs. Near the end he was in a wheelchair and could only speak every so often, as he had no energy. It was truly brutal to watch.

His funeral was one of the hardest things we, as a group of friends have ever had to do. That day will live with me for the rest of my life. It was an emotional, horrible day but at the same time it, was a good day. I've never seen such a packed funeral, with everyone drinking and telling stories and remembering all the good times. Had a few cries about since (including as I write this) and will continue to have a few cries every now and then.

Rip lad.

I've tried to reply to the story above and deleted my first line 3 times now as nothing I can say seems right.

Lovely post even though sad.

You have to believe Jazza and be strong for your family mate.They will be looking for strength from some where in this nightmare and they wont find it from you, if you climb inside a bottle mate and I'm speaking from experience.

I truly will be rooting for your Dad,you and your family.

Great post Jambodee, I couldn't agree more. Drink isn't the answer,I bottled it all up inside until after the death of my Son , when i hit the drink real bad . It ended up with me being in Hospital for days and now I'm unable to partake in a few due to stomach problems. Eventually I was basically dragged to see a Bereavement Councillor. It did help but it took weeks and by jeez it was hard to let go.

Just read The Peoples Champ's post, such a sad sad story. I dunno what else to say.

Jazza be strong for your Family and I'm thinking of You and your Family at this time.

• 7 months later...

I wanted to bump this thread because just now my big cousin is battling hodgkins lymphoma but as well as that she has had blood clots on her lungs, kidney infections etc so she currently cant have her chemo and it is horrible to watch. She is only 26 and has a two year old son but the way she is dealing with this is so courageous. She is determined to win the battle and is showing such a positive attitude through it all but I am finding it really hard to deal with. I had gotten really close to her recently and I've never had any friend or relative go through this horrible illness before. I dont want to get upset about it in front of her but it is really hard.

While attending the Cancer clinic it never ceased to amaze me the courage, optimism and humor shown by people who were dealing with awful illnesses and sometime terrible treatments, chemo and radiation. If anything can stop a person being sorry for themselves it is the attitude of many others that provides the motivation, along with the support of family to get through the fight.

These two blogs about the subject are really good. One is quite moving, the other rather amusing:

http://www.lindsredding.com/

http://cancerouscapers.blogspot.co.uk/

Sorry to hear that, Shapes. Must be tough especially as she's got a 2 year old son. :(

My gran just passed away a few days ago. It was discovered that she had stomach and kidney cancer about 3-4 weeks ago, and she spent the last couple of weeks in Marie Curie hospice at Fairmilehead. She was 94 years old and very frail, so she was never going to fight it off like she did the last time she had it.

I have to say that all the staff at Marie Curie were brilliant and my Gran's last few weeks were comfortable and she didn't suffer too much. Went in her sleep.

My grandad and 3 auntys all died of cancer. All my mums family.

See the days when you sit moaning about a job that's a bit pish, not having more money, minor problems etc.

I don't think I know how lucky I am. And I'm not proud of being such an ungrateful prick.

When I came on kickback I didnt think i would end up greetin

To all the posters who have shared their stories, thank you

So here goes.... My old man was diagnosed last June, I sort of knew earlier, he had been unwell for some time and despite being a fighter all his life you could tell something wasn't right. After his family Hearts have always played an important part in his life. When he chose to miss the cup final v Hibs I knew something was wrong. Later after he told us, my uncle and I just looked at each other and nodded, we had both sussed it. I admit shedding a tear at kick off as for the first time since he took me to Hampden in 76 he wasnt beside me.

i called him at the end of the game and asked if that made up for 7-0 and he replied "aye son, that's it sorted". I knew he was happy and one wrong had been righted.

The last 9 months have been hard. We have sat with him in the Royal as he has been told it could be a year and it could be tomorow, there are tumours on his arteries. He's fighting it all the way, he's a brave man. He has good days and bad. McMillan are doing what they can for him but its Morphine is the only answer and every Friday they say to "up the dose" again its hurts us all, as the end is getting nearer.

I'm the oldest and supposedly strongest one in the family, I am meant to carry the rest, dad's instructions. Its tough and there are people around me, like at work, who when this is over I owe a huge thanks to.

He won't be at Hampden a week on Sunday, my son and I tried to convince him, we would do whatever was needed, but he feels he will spoil the day.

He told me he didn't want our memories of the day to be ruined by having to pander to him, he said "son, remember 98, that's how I want you to think of me at a cup final" Somewhere at the back of my garage there is a box of old home made videos, I know on one is a film of the day around the 98 game, filmed by my mum, she was no Oliver Stone, but there is a bit, with dad and I walking arm in arm, near the BMC, singing with a girl playing a trumpet (honest) that will always be one of my lasting memories.

If your reading this dad, I love you and I'll explain the avatar another time

So here goes.... My old man was diagnosed last June, I sort of knew earlier, he had been unwell for some time and despite being a fighter all his life you could tell something wasn't right. After his family Hearts have always played an important part in his life. When he chose to miss the cup final v Hibs I knew something was wrong. Later after he told us, my uncle and I just looked at each other and nodded, we had both sussed it. I admit shedding a tear at kick off as for the first time since he took me to Hampden in 76 he wasnt beside me.

i called him at the end of the game and asked if that made up for 7-0 and he replied "aye son, that's it sorted". I knew he was happy and one wrong had been righted.

The last 9 months have been hard. We have sat with him in the Royal as he has been told it could be a year and it could be tomorow, there are tumours on his arteries. He's fighting it all the way, he's a brave man. He has good days and bad. McMillan are doing what they can for him but its Morphine is the only answer and every Friday they say to "up the dose" again its hurts us all, as the end is getting nearer.

I'm the oldest and supposedly strongest one in the family, I am meant to carry the rest, dad's instructions. Its tough and there are people around me, like at work, who when this is over I owe a huge thanks to.

He won't be at Hampden a week on Sunday, my son and I tried to convince him, we would do whatever was needed, but he feels he will spoil the day.

He told me he didn't want our memories of the day to be ruined by having to pander to him, he said "son, remember 98, that's how I want you to think of me at a cup final" Somewhere at the back of my garage there is a box of old home made videos, I know on one is a film of the day around the 98 game, filmed by my mum, she was no Oliver Stone, but there is a bit, with dad and I walking arm in arm, near the BMC, singing with a girl playing a trumpet (honest) that will always be one of my lasting memories.

Good luck with everything, sounds like a very tough time.

Very true what Cloughie said. Football does seem more important than life or death!

Good luck mate. Been through it all myself. It's no braw.

One thing i have found really weird since my mum died of cancer in 2006, is that when I hear of anyone dying for whatever reason, i kinda feel guilty a bit for not giving as much of a shit as one side of my brain tells me to. Maybe that's just me tho! You become kinda selfish when you lose someone as close as your mum!

touch wood , i have never been closely affected by this nasty disease, some of the stories on here............... wow, alot of respect to you all.