I enjoy the following:

baffies

gutties

puggled

mingin

bogle

tattie-bogle

I have no idea what any of these mean other than mingin.

gutties is trainers. I only know that cos my pal up in Livi uses that term.

skinnybob72

Baffies are slippers

Puggled is knackered / tired

A tattie-bogle is a scarecrow.

Surely the best word of all is 'bawbag'?

Baffies are slippers

Puggled is knackered / tired

A tattie-bogle is a scarecrow.

Surely the best word of all is 'bawbag'?

Bawbag! Classic :rofl:

"Bag Off" and "barry" are the two that immediately spring to mind.

I'm partial to saying "ken" quite often as well.

"Bag Off" and "barry" are the two that immediately spring to mind.

I'm partial to saying "ken" quite often as well.

"barry" baffles everyone down here in Bath laugh.gif

Pete Seeger

I give you....scunnered!!

Good word. Pronounced scunnert up here though.

I remember a less privileged kid at my school getting told he was going to be "raggydolled" by his old dear. That one stuck. Bochil is another one used.

Matthew Le Tissier

Tidy

Aww aye

Quality

Aww naw

How

Pumped

walloper is my current favourite.

Gary O'Connor is a walloper

Leigh Griffithss is a walloper

they are a pair of wallopers!

Another one from Brizzle is "Bristol cities"

guess what that means laugh.gif

or there is "vagetus"

laugh.gif

PsychocAndy

hoored as in

Im doing 80mph and that radge just hoored right past me.

Skelp -

He skelped the ba' up the park

Muckle -

Get those muckle boots aff the table.

On a similar note did anybody use the phrase:

"Is yer cat deid?" when they were younger :)

JamboInSouthsea

'Heid the baw' to describe a none too bright person.

Lots of good words here.

Puggled isn't scottish though. Like a lot of words it came from India brought back by soldiers.

'Heid the baw' to describe a none too bright person.

"Head the ball" exists here as well, sometimes also expressed as "header" or even "complete ****ing header". However, it doesn't exactly mean "none too bright". Its closest Scottish equivalent is probably "radge".

Rand Paul's Ray Bans

Doss.

In Perth it means brilliant, epic etc.

Got a lot of confused looks when I came to Edinburgh and used it.

Doss.

In Perth it means brilliant, epic etc.

Got a lot of confused looks when I came to Edinburgh and used it.

I'm not the least bit surprised. Where I come from, the word is a verb and means "be as lazy as possible".

Living up in Lewis , I very rarely hear any scots words. Imagine my surprise when some gadgie frae pilton turns up to help design the upgrade getting done at the place.

All of a sudden , none of the teuchters can understand me when I speak to said gadgie

JamboInSouthsea

"Head the ball" exists here as well, sometimes also expressed as "header" or even "complete ****ing header". However, it doesn't exactly mean "none too bright". Its closest Scottish equivalent is probably "radge".

You may well be right but I thought the term came from a time when football was played with big heavy leather balls and those who went in for headers a lot would end up being a bit 'punch-drunk' as it were or minus some brain cells.

Your description sounds like 'heidie' which is similar to 'radge'.

Dreich and yonder are commonly used by pensioners.

Ahem!! Pensioners indeed!! :lol:

Also drookit, breeks.

Rand Paul's Ray Bans

I'm not the least bit surprised. Where I come from, the word is a verb and means "be as lazy as possible".

That's what I got told as well, along with that it can mean the contrary to the Perth definition.

It pretty much dropped completely out of my vocabulary after a couple of months of living in Edinburgh.

In Edinburgh it's a derogatory term, kinda like calling someone thick. I'm sure Begbie uses it in Trainspotting.