Pubs/bars in edinburgh

Eddie

Where does the good folk of kickback recommend for a pub-crawl in Edinburgh on Saturday? From around 5pm onwards. Taking my bursd through for drinks for her birthday. Want to avoid grassmarket/cowgate and rose street. I don't have the wonga for George street either! Just a nice 5/6 pubs/bars all in close vicinity of each other....cheers

Links Bar, Golf Tavern and Henricks are a few to get you started around Bruntsfield.

Haven't ventured up that way before! All decent boozers I presume?

Luckies,BMC, Station, Stratties, Tynie Arms, Robbos :uhoh2:

I'd get my baws booted [emoji23] matchday is fair enough

Sample Room, Fountain, Akva, Hendricks / Blackbird, Ventoux, Brauhaus. Each within 5-10 minutes walk of the next.

Up Broughton Street (Cask and Barrel, Barony, Mather's) and then head towards Leith Walk via Joseph Pearce at the end of Elm Row.

As always, subject to preference and opinion but a like them. Montpellier is not too far away too which is decent. All have their own web page to give you a further insight.

The Blackbird is up and around that side of town too which is worth a visit.

Going from pub to pub in Tollcross was always an enjoyable night. To be fair though, I've not lived in Edinburgh for over 18 years and not done the crawl since the weekend of the cup final in 1998.

Up Broughton Street (Cask and Barrel, Barony, Mather's) and then head towards Leith Walk via Joseph Pearce at the end of Elm Row.

Stop it!

Mathers is our favourite bar THAT side of town. Apart from CC Blooms of course ::lol:

Great suggestion Legit. :thumb:

Montpeliers - definitely on a Friday to Sunday.

Morningside - anyone of the five boozers apart from the Merlin.

Prestonpans Labour Club

Great atmosphere, stimulating conversation, prices that you won't choke on and live music every Saturday night. Cheers

Sound advice!

Prestonpans Labour Club

Great atmosphere, stimulating conversation, prices that you won't choke on and live music every Saturday night. Cheers

Never been there but surely you are joking?

I know you poo pood the Cowgate but it really has changed a lot and is a cracking place for a piss up now. Some good pubs like Brew Dog and Stramash. And of course Banermans.

Indigo Yard (Charlotte lane) then cut across Charlotte square on to Young st, Cambridge bar, Oxford bar, then on to Nth Castle st and Tonic, Copper Blossom.

or,

Teuchters (nice bite to eat), The Melville (William st),then on to Ryan's bar (Hope st) then on to Ghillie Dhu (Rutland st),Rat Pack (Shandwick Place).

Indigo Yard (Charlotte lane) then cut across Charlotte square on to Young st, Cambridge bar, Oxford bar, then on to Nth Castle st and Tonic, Copper Blossom.

or,

Teuchters (nice bite to eat), The Melville (William st),then on to Ryan's bar (Hope st) then on to Ghillie Dhu (Rutland st),Rat Pack (Shandwick Place).

Me and the bird love indigo yard, always pay a visit when in Edinburgh.

Was absolutely out of my face in there after the 98 final...champers all night long...greatest football day ever for me.

Stockbridge is the best place for a pub crawl. Start at the Raeburn Hotel and work your way along. St Bernard's, Stockbridge Tap, Hectors, The Bailie, The Antiquary etc.

Great night out.

Cheers for the replies lads. Some great suggestions and plenty to mull over. Bruntsfield most appealing so far [emoji1303]

Stephane Grappelli

Stop it!

Mathers is our favourite bar THAT side of town. Apart from CC Blooms of course ::lol:

Great suggestion Legit. :thumb:

See it's changing name, ownership and everything! Getting the Fanxy Dan treatment like so many other traditional Edinburgh boozers. The locals are up in arms!

Do a tram crawl from The Gyle to York Place. It's great fun.

Better yet, just get bevvied on the tram.

Try to hide your 4 tins of Super Lager from the conductors though :thumbsup:

Cheers for the replies lads. Some great suggestions and plenty to mull over. Bruntsfield most appealing so far [emoji1303]

Your other half will probably love Bruntsfield Ed. Full of poncy places specialising in ever-more-trendy gin's and prosecco. But at ?4.50+ a pint, I hope you have deep pockets.

What I was going to say, if you're not going to George Street because of the prices, then I'd avoid The Blackbird and Montpeliers.  Ventoux, Hendrick's and Cuckoo's Nest are my recommendations. You can venture down to Lothian Road as well. Moriarty, Lebowskis, Red Squirrel.

Leith really is the place for decent boozers these days. I was in the Thistle Street Bar last weekend for the first time, great wee pub.

Sent from my VF-895N using Tapatalk

I'm taking my friend through to Edinburgh on Friday fancy a wee change

I have never been to the ''Shore'' before can you get a Tram from the Haymarket ?? or how would a Taxi cost ??

Thanks

I'm taking my friend through to Edinburgh on Friday fancy a wee change

I have never been to the ''Shore'' before can you get a Tram from the Haymarket ?? or how would a Taxi cost ??

Thanks

You can't get a tram, a taxi would be around a tenner.

Better yet, just get bevvied on the tram.

Try to hide your 4 tins of Super Lager from the conductors though :thumbsup:

always good for a laugh............individual bottles vodka coke/vodka lemonade/vodka orange etc...............will the tram reach the next pub toilet in time :toff:

What I was going to say, if you're not going to George Street because of the prices, then I'd avoid The Blackbird and Montpeliers.  Ventoux, Hendrick's and Cuckoo's Nest are my recommendations. You can venture down to Lothian Road as well. Moriarty, Lebowskis, Red Squirrel.

Ventoux have recently put their prices up as well - for the bottles of German beer anyway - much to our displeasure. A pity, as it's an interesting, quirky, sort of place and regularly have some really good music on.

Thistle street bar is good. My mate runs it but it's nowhere near leith, it's in er thistle street

Reading my comment back, I did make it sound as if it was in Leith [emoji38] It is, as you so rightly say, in Thistle Street!

Is your mate a Hibs fan? Does Sons of Gemmil?

The boy who runs the pub is called Niall. Big hibby I've known since school days 30 years ago.

The one that does SOG is another Niall (but pronounced Neil) who I've also known since school days who works there occasionally and is also a hibby (but has never really been an attending fan, just a passing interest).

Confusing eh! The second Niall is right into filmmaking.

I see! So who was the big chap with the beard? Think he said he was the cameraman for SoG?

Anyway, really nice pub with cool wee bit out the back. Large selection of gin which kept the Mrs happy & a fair priced pint which kept me happy [emoji38]

Sent from my VF-895N using Tapatalk

Start at Montpeliers in Bruntsfield and work your way down to the Kings Theatre area

Montpeliers

Bisque bar at the Bruntsfield Hotel

Henricks next to the church in Barclay Place

Golf Tavern

The Blackbird  Leven Street

Bennets Bar.at the Kings theatre especially the back room

Cloisters Bar Brougham Street

Start at Montpeliers in Bruntsfield and work your way down to the Kings Theatre area

Montpeliers

Bisque bar at the Bruntsfield Hotel

Henricks next to the church in Barclay Place

Golf Tavern

The Blackbird  Leven Street

Bennets Bar.at the Kings theatre especially the back room

Cloisters Bar Brougham Street

Completely agree except the Bisque. When it was the Kings Bar it was the mutts nuts. Nowadays, it's dead most nights. When my wife and I return to Edinburgh, which is six or seven times a year, we stay in the Bruntsfield Hotel. The Bisque Bar is always empty.

We suggest four out of the five boozers in Morningside (exception being the Merlin) then down to Montys and onto the Golf, the Blackbird (the ex Auld Toll), Bennets and even, even the ex Lochrin Arms, now called the Kings Arms for a late pint and an arguement with the erm...'locals'.

Completely agree except the Bisque. When it was the Kings Bar it was the mutts nuts. Nowadays, it's dead most nights. When my wife and I return to Edinburgh, which is six or seven times a year, we stay in the Bruntsfield Hotel. The Bisque Bar is always empty.

We suggest four out of the five boozers in Morningside (exception being the Merlin) then down to Montys and onto the Golf, the Blackbird (the ex Auld Toll), Bennets and even, even the ex Lochrin Arms, now called the Kings Arms for a late pint and an arguement with the erm...'locals'.

King Arms :wtf:

Surprised no ones mentioned the New Town. Kay's, :toff:, The Cumberland and The Star Bar. The beauty being you could start or finish in Stockbridge or Thistle St.

King Arms :wtf:

You did note the 'even the Kings Arms' didn't you?

It would be my last choice in Tollcross (well, maybe the IB) but for a last pint it serves the purpose. Just!

You remember the Illicit Still?

Surprised no ones mentioned the New Town. Kay's, :toff:, The Cumberland and The Star Bar. The beauty being you could start or finish in Stockbridge or Thistle St.

Kay's Bar :thumb:

Clarks bar anyone?

The Anchor, Gunner, Ferry Boat and Doockit(sp)!

Not even sure if some of these are still open but it will be an interesting afternoon anyway.

Was waking past the Anchor a few months ago. Two big guys outside. Stripped to the waist, having a square go with an even bigger guy being the ref. They had a dash for a bit then shook hands and went back in!!

Pure old school

The Anchor, Gunner, Ferry Boat and Doockit(sp)!

Not even sure if some of these are still open but it will be an interesting afternoon anyway.

Was waking past the Anchor a few months ago. Two big guys outside. Stripped to the waist, having a square go with an even bigger guy being the ref. They had a dash for a bit then shook hands and went back in!!

Pure old school

:wtf:

You did note the 'even the Kings Arms' didn't you?

It would be my last choice in Tollcross (well, maybe the IB) but for a last pint it serves the purpose. Just!

You remember the Illicit Still?

My mates call "The Kings Arms" Jakey Central. It's a scream. It looks such a welcoming neighbourhood pub from the outside but once you get it, it's a mad house. It's the only pub I've ever been in where I've seen a local come in, tie his dug to a table, get a pint, leave and do his shopping at Scotmid and return after 45 minutes with a fish supper which he then devoured. Bar staff didn't bat an eyelid. You get a laugh watching tourists trying to figure what they've walked into. Also a laugh at the "banter" amongst the jakey locals especially on Karaoke nights. As has been said - worth a visit for just the last one!