Religeous question

Gambo

Don't worry mods............shouldn't be a controversial thread, just a genuine question from someone who aint to versed in religions.

If the majority of christian churches follow the word and teachings etc of Jesus, with him being a Jew, why are they not all of the jewish faith.

Sorry if there is a simple answer to the above, but as i have said i aint that well up in my knowledge of faiths/religions.

Question arose after watching a few programmes over easter that got me thinking of the above.

I'm no expert either but i'd say they follow the teachings of Christ rather than Judaism. I think Jews don't recognise the new testament wheras for Christian's, the stories of Jesus are of paramount importance to their faith and are all included in the new testament.

I always wonder why Christians follow a Jew.

Judaism was obviously already a religeon and Jesus was another of the many followers. Christianity, follows the teachings of Jesus and many of the teachings of Judaism rather than just the teachings of Judaism. Christians believe that Jesus was the son of God and i don't think that Jews or Muslims do.

Judaism was obviously already a religeon and Jesus was another of the many followers. Christianity, follows the teachings of Jesus and many of the teachings of Judaism rather than just the teachings of Judaism. Christians believe that Jesus was the son of God and i don't think that Jews or Muslims do.

Fair enough.

Not a great religion follower so never bother finding out these things.

The Jewish system or way of worship consisted of literally hundreds of laws.

All of that way of worship was 'nailed to the cross/stake' when JC died. The reason that he came through the Jewish line was because of a promise made by god to Abraham hundreds of years earlier.

A person putting their faith in JC had to be baptised in water by total immersion, which in effect changed them from being a Jew (or living as a jew) to being a christian.