Old Firm six point plan is a JOKE

STITCH@PIVOT

The O/F six point plan, conjured up by them yesterday and announced at today's summit, is quite clearly a complete lack of admission by both clubs, together, that they are NOT in any way to blame for their own behaviour or responsibilities and the culture they breed and thrive upon by building hatred amongst their followers.

As the two closest football clubs in world football (do any other two clubs work so closely together for sponsorship deals, make joint statements, jointly vote in league matters, jointly negotiate TV deals etc ??) they have once again combined to completely distanced themselves from taking any direct responsibility now or in the future.

They have made no commitment to actually do anything other than ?explore?, ?consider?, ?support? and ?understand? various aspects of Scotland?s social problems. (Note: Not Rangers problems, Not Celtics problems and Not a West Coast problem)

In fact, they go as far as saying that ?.. in Scotland we are blighted by multiple deprivation, alcohol abuse and violence?. This is backed up throughout their six point plan with numerous mentions that Scotland's relationship with alcohol is the main blame for everything.

Read the full statement carefully and you find that have NOT accepted or acknowledged any direct responsibility or liability for their own or their fans actions that lead to the murder and mayhem that surround their fixtures.

However, they do support actions that apply to ALL clubs and are in support of applying existing laws and regulations!!!!

Here are couple of quotes from today?s summit meeting:-

Celtic's chief executive Peter Lawwell said: "Football doesn't work alone - in society here in Scotland we are blighted by multiple deprivation, alcohol abuse and violence "

Martin Bain, said: "There is undoubtedly major issues for Scottish society. With the best will in the world they can't be blamed on a football club, or cured by a football club.

Extracts from the the O/F six point plan:-

Point 2. ?No football club is directly responsible for the violence, disorder and bigotry seen on our streets and in our homes?

Point 3. ?In particular, we agree on a renewed focus on tackling alcohol misuse.?

Point 5. ?to make a significant contribution to the longer term effort to tackle Scotland's alcohol problem?

The only positive statement today was made by Stephen House, the chief constable of Strathclyde Police who welcomed a commitment to explore the possibility of rescheduling matches. (Note; this has already been dismissed due to European comittments)

He said: "Obviously we expect everybody involved in football to set the right example in the stadium. "But the key priority for me is the levels of violence across the whole of the west of Scotland that are associated with Old Firm matches."

?. There is hope, c'mon the polis!!

with a P. and an I. and a V.O.T

The O/F six point plan, conjured up by them yesterday and announced at today's summit, is quite clearly a complete lack of admission by both clubs, together, that they are NOT in any way to blame for their own behaviour or responsibilities and the culture they breed and thrive upon by building hatred amongst their followers.

As the two closest football clubs in world football (do any other two clubs work so closely together for sponsorship deals, make joint statements, jointly vote in league matters, jointly negotiate TV deals etc ??) they have once again combined to completely distanced themselves from taking any direct responsibility now or in the future.

They have made no commitment to actually do anything other than ?explore?, ?consider?, ?support? and ?understand? various aspects of Scotland?s social problems. (Note: Not Rangers problems, Not Celtics problems and Not a West Coast problem)

In fact, they go as far as saying that ?.. in Scotland we are blighted by multiple deprivation, alcohol abuse and violence?. This is backed up throughout their six point plan with numerous mentions that Scotland's relationship with alcohol is the main blame for everything.

Read the full statement carefully and you find that have NOT accepted or acknowledged any direct responsibility or liability for their own or their fans actions that lead to the murder and mayhem that surround their fixtures.

However, they do support actions that apply to ALL clubs and are in support of applying existing laws and regulations!!!!

Celtic's chief executive Peter Lawwell said: "Football doesn't work alone - in society here in Scotland we are blighted by multiple deprivation, alcohol abuse and violence "

Martin Bain, said: "There is undoubtedly major issues for Scottish society. With the best will in the world they can't be blamed on a football club, or cured by a football club.

Point 2. ?No football club is directly responsible for the violence, disorder and bigotry seen on our streets and in our homes?

Point 3. ?In particular, we agree on a renewed focus on tackling alcohol misuse.?

Point 5. ?to make a significant contribution to the longer term effort to tackle Scotland's alcohol problem?

The only positive statement today was made by Stephen House, the chief constable of Strathclyde Police who welcomed a commitment to explore the possibility of rescheduling matches. (Note; this has already been dismissed due to European comittments)

He said: "Obviously we expect everybody involved in football to set the right example in the stadium. "But the key priority for me is the levels of violence across the whole of the west of Scotland that are associated with Old Firm matches."

so you aint told us 1 4 or 6

im still waiting to hear those

The SNP don't want to upset the bigot boys with an election in the offing. Disgraceful.

Dr Reid will be pleased though. :whistling:

Just to sum up the 6 point plan.

1. Bullshit

2. Bullshit

3. Bullshit

4. Bullshit

5. Bullshit

6. Bullshit.

I think that covers it.

Thunderstruck

The only points that should have been the subject of any debate are the number of points the pair of them will be docked if they fail to get their act together and stop bringing the game into disrepute.

Only a Game

Alcohol abuse? They're both sponsored by Tennents.

Was just going to say that. I assume they'll be binning their sponsors with immediate effect.

point 1. blah blah blah

point 2. see point 1

point 3 see point 1

point 4 see point 1

point 5 see point 1

point to conclude you need to see point 1

absolute nothing came of that meetings, nothing was addressed as to sanctions, reprises or condemnations for their actions leading to violence at home on the streets ect.

alochol is not the be all & end all, what about drugs or just the sheer hate rid of some numskulls that are so bigoted that the think the catholic/protestant church is a gang & is worth killing for?

the main issue aint drink/domestic abuse its the fact that people for generations have not been educated on sectarianism in our schools, i am now in my 2nd generation of yoof brought up with this bile & it doesnt only exist in glasgow

question - how does sectarianism exist in places like aberdeenshire, grampian & borders?

the problem is separate schools, why the **** is there is roman catholic schools alive in 2011 in scotland.

im not saying that that is the problem, its much deeper rooted & more widespread than just that.

everyone has a obligation to eradicate this cancer from scottish football

and to this date the ugly fans still state that sectarianism will never be eradicated from scottish society

whilst i praise this meeting, i detest the outcome from it when they totally missed the boat on this subject

whats wrong with making an example of someone, a statement?

no-one in power is interested in deflating this massive ball of bile that blites scottish football, im sick of typing & typing & typing this over & over & over again

if............ IF the authorities WANTED to finally sort out this fiasco then sanctions would have been put in place

money men talked & by next week this will be yesterday's news

absolute disgrace. whats the point??

BigCGilmour

Now that explains it, McCoist and Lennon were both drunk at the match - is Multiple deprivation some kinda S&M thing?

This to me is key. The management, the players behaved deplorably. Their aggressive behaviour is what kicked all of this off, but the responsibility has been shifted onto fans, sectarianism and finally drink.

Nasty, cowardly, little pieces of shit, 'it wisnae us, it wis King Billy and The Pope and Hugh Tennant whit done it, we's ur jist good boys, best ae pals n'that'.

OFGTF

Celtic couldn't even find the fans in their own stadium who held up the anti-Poppy banner in November.

You remember that? You know the news story which was NOT reported on AT ALL by ANY press in Scotland until after the ENGLISH media started to report on it?

If Celtic cannot find their own season ticket holders in an area of the stadium which the club created to house these fans then does anyone seriously think that either OF club will actually do something?

The OF make vast amounts of cash on pandering to bigots, so until the SPL grow a pair and start deducting them points in the league then nothing will really get done.

The only points that should have been the subject of any debate are the number of points the pair of them will be docked if they fail to get their act together and stop bringing the game into disrepute.

This is the only way to punish them, this may then make them do something about it.

On the 6 point plan, wot a load o sh1te, wot happened ,happened inside the ground by the players and management , not the drink , not the fans . Punish the players and management and teams involved as the OF boards do F/ALL about their behavour no matter how many times they are warned.

SFA stop bottling it and punish them hard for the sake o scottish football, if you don't they will continue to do it and we will stay a laughing stock .

It is laughable that the issue that kicked this debate off was nothing to do with drink or bigotry and more to do with the behaviour of players and officials. St Neil the victim being arguably the worst offender.

This to me though is a clear shot accross the bows by the police and the message is simple get your house in order or we will do it for you. Interesting that other stories are beginning to breach such as playing games behind closed doors.

I personally hope there is repeat in the League Cup final as that would certainly test the resolve of how serious the police are. However, the liklihood of it happening is drastically reduced as someone is sitting in the stand.

Celtic couldn't even find the fans in their own stadium who held up the anti-Poppy banner in November.

You remember that? You know the news story which was NOT reported on AT ALL by ANY press in Scotland until after the ENGLISH media started to report on it?

If Celtic cannot find their own season ticket holders in an area of the stadium which the club created to house these fans then does anyone seriously think that either OF club will actually do something?

The OF make vast amounts of cash on pandering to bigots, so until the SPL grow a pair and start deducting them points in the league then nothing will really get done.

That is so true, As i live in England, I Remember when the poo hit the fan down here, Hence the scottish media having to report it. Otherwise, It would have been the usual. Sweep, Sweep, Nothing to see hear.

Stuart Lyon

Graham Speirs has a go at wee Eck in today's Times for his u-turn on this problem since he (wee Eck) dismissed Jack McConnell's attempts to tackle it. I quote from Mr Speirs " My most acute memory of Mr Salmond is his withering criticism, verging on lampooning, of Jack McConnell's summits on sectarianism when in office as First Minister between 2001 and 2007. These summits were deemed to by the SNP to be OTT and embarrassing for Scotland, and just not giving off the right image." The summits were abandoned by the SNP.

What has caused a change of heart by wee smuggie - a looming election possibly?

Graham Speirs' concludes his article with the following statement:-

" One last thing. what about having some guts here? What about urging the authorities to dock points off Celtic and Rangers if the bigoted chanting continues? That really would have an effect, but so far everyone in Scottish football has been too scared to do it."

While this last suggestion is a good one I can foresee that some other club(s) would be made an example off first before any attempt was made to deduct points from the Old Firm.

Hearts Heritage

A major problem is that there are very few commentators willing to put their head above the parapet and tell it like it is.

They are either gave been directly associated with the clubs

Murdo

Gordon etc

Sycophants to the clubs

Scared about the reaction to their future prospects

We ALL know what the root problem is

sectarianism and bigotry

Yes it has it's roots in cultural problems and is enhanced by alcohol but the OF thrive on maintaining those links.

"The existing rules and regulations governing football are to be rigorously applied and respected".

So there is a very simple test of whether these 6 points mean anything. The rules were not only applied to Vlad but actually changed to get him on a disrepute charge.

If by the end of the week the SFA has failed to announce charges against Lennon and McCoist of bringing the game into disrepute, and belatedly against Lennon and Reed for the inmflammatory nonsense earlier in the season, we'll know how meaningless the statement is.

(When I first read the thread title I assumed OF league games were to be abandoned and each side simply awarded 6 points. That would at least have directly addressed the problem).

A major problem is that there are very few commentators willing to put their head above the parapet and tell it like it is.

They are either gave been directly associated with the clubs

Murdo

Gordon etc

Sycophants to the clubs

Scared about the reaction to their future prospects

We ALL know what the root problem is

sectarianism and bigotry

Yes it has it's roots in cultural problems and is enhanced by alcohol but the OF thrive on maintaining those links.

I''ve actually got a bit of time for Craig Patterson and his insight :rolleyes: .......but, good grief, his face almost contorts

like Jim carey when a Rangers player Dives and the word / expression that comes out his gob strangely morphs

from "we dont want tro see that in the SPL" to the the more OF friendly "he used his experience" or "asked the ref a question" :down:

Lets all vote Labour then and punish them.

Vote Labour!! :thumbsup:

Denny Crane

Lets all vote Labour then and punish them.

Vote Labour!! :thumbsup:

Blind faith in operation if you think they would do something about this.

NoseLikeMahe

If Rangers and/or Celtic ever put anything in writing anywhere that volunteered any amount of responsibility or liability in relation to violence or bigotry... or any illegal act before, during or after a game... they'd be opening the door for endless legal action against them.

Who would do that?

We know that they know... but they aint going to put the noose around their own necks.