Edward Woodward dies

blondejamtart

Just come up as breaking news on the BBC website that Edward Woodward has died. I'll always remember him best for The Wicker Man.

steak pie supper

He was brilliant in The Wicker Man.

One of my top 5 favourite films of all time.

Thoughts are with his family at this sad time for them.

I'll always remember him best for The Wicker Man.

The Wicker Man and

equalizer.jpg

And of course, the 'EWA WOOWA' joke

I'll always remember him as the subject of one of the funnier, simpler jokes I've heard.

"Why does Edward Woodward have so many Ds in his name?"

"If he didn't, he'd be Ee-wah-woo-wah".

RIP Edward.

As for funeral arrangements, surely there can be only one way to send him off.

RIP Edward.

I fully admit to that taking a good five seconds before the penny dropped.

RIP

Wasn't he reading a newspaper that had a headline about Hearts on its back page in an episode of either The Equaliser or Callan?

RIP

Wasn't he reading a newspaper that had a headline about Hearts on its back page in an episode of either The Equaliser or Callan?

GOOD GOD!!! I thought being a Hearts fan couldn't get more exciting...WE'VE BEEN OAN THE TELLY!!! :stuart:

R.I.P Callan!!

Just come up as breaking news on the BBC website that Edward Woodward has died. I'll always remember him best for The Wicker Man.

Aye , liked him on the Equalizer in the mid 80s.

Good actor.

Doug.

RIP Edward.

:lol::laugh2::Funny-Post::bravo:

RIP Edward.

Right, I don't get it...Is it to do with The Wicker Man?? Never seen it. Explain yourself BB, for us, the Uneducated non Cinema elite!

Why do people with conservatories always fill it with that wicker furniture?

It makes me think they're going to stuff me in it and set fire to me.

Why do people with conservatories always fill it with that wicker furniture?

It makes me think they're going to stuff me in it and set fire to me.

BB out the closet with his wicker fetish post:smiley2:

Could never understand why he had so few leading roles. His performance in Breaker Morant was excellent. Shame to read of his passing.

Before both he was Callan, a fore runner of the Equalizer

watched all the callans (that are in exsistance ) the other week brillant

I'll always remember him as the subject of one of the funnier, simpler jokes I've heard.

Wasn't there a joke about him being called the most wooden actor ever on account of his name i.e. Edwood WoodWood? I liked him - sorry he's gone

Carl Spackler

And of course, the 'EWA WOOWA' joke

One of the best jokes of all time. Best understood if under the influence.

And agree with Bill.

I'm sure his only regret was not giving in to the temptations presented by Britt.

Sad day.

Thunderstruck
RIP

The Equaliser and it was the Sunday Times with a headline saying something like Colquhoun double sinks Rangers. The game was in THAT season and was on a frozen Ibrox pitch in late December 85. Some suspicion that the pitch had been watered overnight to try and get a postponement. The coldest I had ever been at a game but JC's first half double and the win made it worth it.

heartgarfunkel

A very fine actor and a genuinely good guy. The ex was in The Wicker Man as one of the bairns 'that bring death to the village', and she remembers him being very kind to all the kids on the set between takes. Cannae mind if it was Wigtown or Whithorn where they filmed. Brilliant in 'Breaker Morant'.

On the subject of the Wicker man. I watched a movie trivia prog one night and I think they built two WM statues for filming purposes, with the legs of one still remaining there into the 90s ..........until some b***** sawed them off :hang:

A very fine actor and a genuinely good guy. The ex was in The Wicker Man as one of the bairns 'that bring death to the village', and she remembers him being very kind to all the kids on the set between takes. Cannae mind if it was Wigtown or Whithorn where they filmed. Brilliant in 'Breaker Morant'.

Filmed in Wigtown, Whithorn and Kirkcubright as I remember. Lived in Newton Stewart at the time and can remember being in the Galloway Arms one evening having a pint when Britt Ekland and entourage popped in for a meal.

Breaker Morant was a superb firm with a fine performace from Edward Woodward.

winchester 73

hero2.jpg

Sorry to hear of his passing away. Anyone who hasn't seen Breaker Morant should seek out this film. Fantastic performance in what was one of the best Australian films ever made IMHO.

heartgarfunkel
hero2.jpg

Sorry to hear of his passing away. Anyone who hasn't seen Breaker Morant should seek out this film. Fantastic performance in what was one of the best Australian films ever made IMHO.

'Shoot straight, you *******s! Don't make a mess of it!' :cheese: