12 YEAR OLD GAMBLING

jambogaz1968

Should i be allowing my 12 year old son to gamble on the football from my william hill account ?

to be honest a pound is his limmit

he got a big win a few month ago ?250

Should i be allowing my 12 year old son to gamble on the football from my william hill account ?

no big deal, :smiley2:

My dad used to let me stick a quid here and there at the Hearts matches.

First to score, correct score and all that jazz.

Has not done me any long term damage.

its just that he has asked me to put more money in it from my bank account

He's an addict.

Won't be long before he's selling your computer to lump on an Indian cup game.

this is a joke eh? Replace gambling with any addictive substitute, wee puff on your cigarette every so often for example, only going to lead down the same path.. surely you can find other things for the wee man to do...

its just that he has asked me to put more money in it from my bank account

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl: And you're actually asking us what you should do?

This doesn't happen to be your son, does it?

villageofthedamned.jpg

"Mlada Boleslav are FREE MUNNY, father. I advise you to lump and bump..."

Carl Weathers
:rofl: :rofl: :rofl: And you're actually asking us what you should do?

This doesn't happen to be your son, does it?

villageofthedamned.jpg

"Mlada Boleslav are FREE MUNNY, father. I advise you to lump and bump..."

Did he give you your pound back?

naw .. but a took half his winnings:10900:

Shocking behaviour and no. You shouldn't. I believe this is actually a joke. A pound on the grand national should be his limit.

That is the most disturbing thing I have ever seen on JKB. :blink:

Aye Gasman maybe on KB, but seen worse in the Rainbow:smiley2:

Doug.

Shocking behaviour and no. You shouldn't. I believe this is actually a joke. A pound on the grand national should be his limit.

Ha ha.

What's the difference between the Grand National and a pound bet on the football?

Could be worse.

You could lend him your stanley knife for the weekend like so many kids seem to do at the moment.

Aye Gasman maybe on KB, but seen worse in the Rainbow:smiley2:

Doug.

....only when the lassies from the Mid came to visit ! :thumb:

:10900:

Have I got this right?

A couple of months back your boy wins ?250 for a quid. You take half, leaving him ?125 and now he's back looking for more money to stake. What did he do with the dosh he won?

You should be telling him to pick teams and you'll place the bet and also that when you win there's no point in blowing it all on pay day purchases as its better to play with the bookies money.

Hell mend you if you're giving him carte blanche on your internet account, even of he does only bet ?1 at a time.

Regal Kingston

Yes of course.

A couple of quid on the football then watch the scores is far cheaper than go-karting or the cinema and just as enjoyable!

Good father-son bonding too.

I'd make sure he is aware of the bad side of gambling though.

Yes of course.

A couple of quid on the football then watch the scores is far cheaper than go-karting or the cinema and just as enjoyable!

Good father-son bonding too.

I'd make sure he is aware of the bad side of gambling though.

Like how his dad will kick his face in if he empties the account and asks for more money to bet with?

No. I wouldn't go there, mate. Their comprehension of "real money" and the ability to grasp the consequences is not remotely formed at that age.

I started putting ?1 accum on when I was 12... would sit in the car and my dad would come back with my sheet to complete..

not done me nowt harm... if anything im quite a sensible gambler, got a few mates who never started till they were legal and they have lost loads.

I say let the wee man put a wee bet on every sat...

Allowing your son (or any person under the age of 18) to gamble (whether online or otherwise) would be illegal under Sections 45 and 46 of the Gambling Act 2005.

Your call.

Allowing your son (or any person under the age of 18) to gamble (whether online or otherwise) would be illegal under Sections 45 and 46 of the Gambling Act 2005.

Your call.

Aye right enough your going to get caught in the house.

Your call.

putting a bet on and winning yourself, and then giving your son a gift isn't though:th_o:

thr aint no harm in it ? He's not spending the money on fags n booze or drugs even. He could be spending the money on crisps and sweets and getting fat, would that be better ?

I'm not saying you are wrong to let him have the odd small bet as long as you make sure he understands its a mugs game and cant win in the long run.

Letting your kid bet on your internet or phone account is madness and you are courting disaster.There is also the possibility of you being prosecuted if the police managed to identify you. Also I'm certain that William Hill would close your account if you were identified.

thr aint no harm in it ? He's not spending the money on fags n booze or drugs even. He could be spending the money on crisps and sweets and getting fat, would that be better ?

The number of young adults seeking help for gambling addiction and gambling debt is rising. According to research carried out across a number of countries (including the UK and the USA) and published by the UK Gambling Commission in 2008, between 5 and 7 percent of people under 18 are problem gamblers, with a further 5 to 7 percent of people in that age group at risk of developing gambling problems.

Problem gamblers are more at risk of being in debt, becoming involved in crime, developing depression and committing suicide.

Is exposing children of 12 to online gambling going to help?

Like I said, your call.

naw .. but a took half his winnings:10900:

Hahahaha..

Could be worse.

You could lend him your stanley knife for the weekend like so many kids seem to do at the moment.

Stanley blades are so last year, the lock back is the new must have weapon of choice these days.. :th_o:

Goodmorningmrfisherman

Get him to look at online casinos:10900:

Its a right money spinner.

Lets face he's 12 nearly a man nowadays he's started with nowt and 30 years down the line he will more than likely be like the rest of us gamblers still have NOWT.

oh ah grantona
I'm not saying you are wrong to let him have the odd small bet as long as you make sure he understands its a mugs game and cant win in the long run.

Letting your kid bet on your internet or phone account is madness and you are courting disaster.There is also the possibility of you being prosecuted if the police managed to identify you. Also I'm certain that William Hill would close your account if you were identified.

a mugs game eh a quid a week he wins 250 goin to be a long time till he losses in the long run i hate people who say that look at harry findly for one.

Teach your lad to be sensible when he bets when he kits older and he can make a bob or 2 each week. 1st rule of gambling only bet what you can afford to lose (or in his case what dad can afford to lose):10900::10900:

i have been gambling for years dunno when i started but have been in and out of bookies since 14 never had gambling debts so no harm if sensible

oh ah grantona
The number of young adults seeking help for gambling addiction and gambling debt is rising. According to research carried out across a number of countries (including the UK and the USA) and published by the UK Gambling Commission in 2008, between 5 and 7 percent of people under 18 are problem gamblers, with a further 5 to 7 percent of people in that age group at risk of developing gambling problems.

Problem gamblers are more at risk of being in debt, becoming involved in crime, developing depression and committing suicide.

Is exposing children of 12 to online gambling going to help?

Like I said, your call.

come on you need to live a little bet the percentage is higher for drink drugs and fags and teen pregs