Why is there no collective term for people from Edinburgh?

Randle P McMurphy

There are Glaswegians, Dundonians, Mancunians, Geordies, Brummies, Londoners etc, why nothing for Edinburgh?

Any suggestions?

I thought it was Edinburger?

crap as it is, this is commonly used I'd say. I think this would be the accepted term imo.

Out of interest, what do you call folk from Stirling (aside from inbred hicks)?

Stirlingians? Stirlonians?

How about folk from Croy. Crojans!!!! :th_o:

Out of interest, what do you call folk from Stirling (aside from inbred hicks)?

Stirlingians? Stirlonians?

Bufties i think

The people of Edinburgh are referred to as 'a class above Glasgwegians'.

Toonies.

To us borders folk anyway.

depends on what part...In peebles you are called Gutterbluid (a native), or Stooriefoot (an incomer), reminds me of Harry Potter

The people of Edinburgh are referred to as 'a class above Glasgwegians'.

"a class above!", don't you mean 4 classes above? (at least)

We, in the small hamlets of West Lothian call you Edinburgers if that's of any help.

:smiley2:

There are Glaswegians, Dundonians, Mancunians, Geordies, Brummies, Londoners etc, why nothing for Edinburgh?

Any suggestions?

That's because no one seems to agree. I've heard Edinburgers even Dunediners but some just say they are from Edinburgh rather than use any of the above.

Edinburghers, surely?

There's a place in the Orkneys called Twatt? Wonder what they're cried? :th_o:

heartgarfunkel

We're such an old city we can all comfortably co-exist as Southsiders, auld tooners, Canongate, Leithers, Stockbridge, Tollcross, Gorgie, Porty, all our various schemes, etec, etc. Nae need to project our infinitely superior capital city as some corporate identity. I see myself as a FaetheDaddyofworld derbysuperioritytoonie.

the Orkneys
:nono:

Just Orkney will suffice.

And there's also a Twatt in Shetland - well...probably a helluva lot more than one, but I can get a picture of the signpost if you want.

I apologise to all Orcadians. :smiley2:

A person from Edinburgh is a Dunedin, therefore, collectively, we are Dunedins (comes from the former name of the city, i believe)

Out of interest, what do you call folk from Stirling (aside from inbred hicks)? Stirlingians? Stirlonians?

Sorry Neave, I thought that term was reserved for those from Sighthill? :smiley2:

There's a place called **** up north, god only knows what you call folk from there!

Dinnae!

We know where we are from, we don't need to call ourselves anything.

:bravo::10900:

Joking aside, I must admit I was allways told we were Dunediners, from Dunedin, the old name for Edinbugh.