Corstorphine

david mcgee

david mcgee

Corstorphine would appear to be a Jambos stronghold.

I originated from Corstorphine, but have been too embarrased to admit it over the years.

I find it easier to say i am from Carrick Knowe, Drumbrae or Clerrie.

Corstorphine has a reputation for snobbery.

Would one be correct in assuming this?

In my honest humble opinion after years of experience i conclude that you are just as likely to be given a ?r1cken good kickin in Corstorphine as you are at Fettes.

I once took a kicking in Murrayfield.

You can get a kicking anywhere.....

I wouldn't say that Corstorphine is snobby?

You found it easier to say you were from Clerry? why?

It seems he wanted to 'chav' himself up.

Corstorphine was definitely a Jambo stronghold when I was growing up.

I tend to say I'm fae Drumbrae if asked, Corrie does have a reputation for snobbery n if some bampot is asking it usually shuts them up whereas saying Corstophine is like a red rag to a bull.

this_is_my_story
Being a Carrick Knowe lad, I used to think Corstorphine was snobby.

I know better now.

:wink:

Carrick Knowe is a weel kent breeding ground for the most thoroughbred of articulate, masculine, and downright pulchritudinous Jambos. FACT.

(source: my very existence.)

Carrick Knowe is a weel kent breeding ground for the most thoroughbred of articulate, masculine, and downright pulchritudinous Jambos. FACT.

(source: my very existence.)

Post of the year.

At least it would be if I knew what "pulchritudinous" meant.

rabneilsonlegend

thankyou , yes for once i have found a different bunch of people who agree with me on this subject

this_is_my_story
Post of the year.

At least it would be if I knew what "pulchritudinous" meant.

In a nutshell, it pretty much means that you're nae buftie. And a looker. Traits which, if you're a CK chap, will be as applicable to you as they are to me.

Gaun the Cakky!! :tongue:

JT's & Irons

Do you not think Carrick Knowe is goin down hill? I've lived there 13 years and seem to see more smackheads every time I walk to the shops. Car been vandalised 3 times. Daughter happy slapped at Union Park etc.

When I lived in Clerwood Loan, I would generally if asked say I lived in Corstorphine. This was not for any reason other than it was easier to use the more global area, and if required pinpoint Clerwood as the exact area.

Do you not think Carrick Knowe is goin down hill? I've lived there 13 years and seem to see more smackheads every time I walk to the shops. Car been vandalised 3 times. Daughter happy slapped at Union Park etc.

It wasn't me - I moved out 12 years ago.

JT's & Irons

And all of the above happened during our first year there. Coincidence? :sorcerer:

I used to live in the house at the top of the Drive running alongside Union Park. To be fair, my mammy's motor did take one or two tankings back in the day.

Not by me.

JT's & Irons

Its mental down there now of a weekend. The Spar is becoming a no go area it's kust bairns but there's millions of em I tells ye.

It is still a Jambos stronghold mind. See the odd Hobo but I think they're tourists.

Jambo Oscar

I live in Saughtohall and corstorphine rd is just at the top of my street. I don't think it's snobby. Few wannabees though.

Bomber Harris' Best Mate

Never understood the euphoria around the myth surrounding Corstorphine and this so-called snobbery, true, it used to house all the doctors, surgeons, fortunate football players and directors in the 1950's and 1960's which in a sense you could call them "upper class persons" but as the housing estate's were built up people started this mythical nonsense that if you were a council estate dweller then you were of a lower class.

Look at Corstorphine now? what exactly is Corstorphine now ? who stay's there ? who socialise's there :56:

snobbery ? deary me.... having stayed up there for a short space of time i wouldn't thank you for a house up there, the place is full of wannabe's as the previous poster states.

Bomber Harris' Best Mate

I remember years ago my Nan often went up there to browse along the main street and would come back with a decent bag full of shopping.

Having briskly walked along the same street a few weeks ago i eventually ended up thinking i had blinked too much and missed this wonderful main street for shopping.... apart from Greggs:th_love: were have all the shops gone ? is it the end of the reputation Corstorphine had and maybe it's just the name that carry's on that same rep from a few years ago, might pop into The Oak or The Centurian for a pint :qqb016:

Being a Carrick Knowe lad, I used to think Corstorphine was snobby.

I know better now.

Pfft...Carrick Knowe is merely a district of Corstorphine.

Corstorphine snobby? A myth perpetrated by Billy Connolly when he described it as "Spam belt" in one of his rambles.

Lived in Corstorphine most of my life, folks still do. St John's Road is full of charity shops and long gone are the days of Garton's, Thompsons and Banks hardware shop.

The Oak is not too bad.

Pfft...Carrick Knowe is merely a district of Corstorphine.

Carrick Knowe, like it's most famous sons, is it's own man.

Anyone who calls Corrie "Storph" is a ponce, imo.

Speed typing :wink:

Corrie sounds too Mancunian for my liking...

It may have been me *. I moved there a year ago.

* Joke

JamTarts1874

I've lived in Cackie my whole life, I used to think that Corstorphine was a bit snobby before I met people who actually lived there. Aye I do think that Carrick Knowe has gone downhill a bit since I remember it growing up (I'm 21 now) loads of wee neds roaming about and that. Also, I only found out a few years ago that the park was called Union Park!! Me and my mates and everyone we knew always knew it as Carrick Knowe Park!! Weird eh?

Its mental down there now of a weekend. The Spar is becoming a no go area it's kust bairns but there's millions of em I tells ye.

It is still a Jambos stronghold mind. See the odd Hobo but I think they're tourists.

It's hardly mental at the carrick knowe shops. I walk past there most Friday and Saturday nights, and have never had any cheek of any of them. Yes, there is always alot of them, but they don't really seem to be doing much expect hanging aroud.

I stay in the Parkway, and they hang around at the Pivvy ( rugby club) outside of my house at the weekends. It gets noisy at times but nothing overly out of order.

Perhaps, my view is slightly different to yours as I was raised in Sighthill. A true mentalist area :whistling::smash:

Glamorgan Jambo

I was brought up in Corstorphine when loads of footballers (Alan Anderson, Ralph Callachan, Jimmy Wardhaugh) and even HMFC legends (Tommy Walker) lived there and I would say there was a certain superiority felt by the residents compared to those living in Clerry, Drylaw etc.

Looking back now I realise that the reason these guys (and lots of other professional types) lived there was because they didn't actually have much more money than the rest of the population. Its an okay area and one that people aspire to but I guess most of the people that live there probably aspire to live somewhere else now.

When I was in the process of selling my Mum's house a year or so ago the valuer from Neilsons (the main local estate agent) gave a great insight into the relative desirability of the different areas, locales and even parts of streets in Corstorphine/West Edinburgh. While very interesting it sort of made me glad that I now live in the countryside not in the city.

PS Bob Sharp - my paper round used to include Clerwood Loan a few decades ago.

I used to live in CK drive and now Corrie Rd. I never knew there were so many kickbackers in CK. Years ago I had one of my cars broken into on my driveway but they never got away with it, the polis said they were 'tourist neds' and not local hoods. They got caught trying to do another car just up on the avenue.

I still have the lovely upper villa in Carrick Knowe Drive if anybody is looking for a rental, pm me.

Corstorphine has a reputation for snobbery.

Would one be correct in assuming this?

If one speaks in this manner then one can be seen as a possible snob yes. (kidding)

I stay in Hutchison, but class myself from Moat!

I live in the area although I don't come from it originally.

I'm proud to say that I live here.

Let's face it, we are famous for having chimps, wild cats and a whole host of other wild beasts in captivity.

Saying that, I've not actually been in The Oak for a while.

I live in the area although I don't come from it originally.

I'm proud to say that I live here.

Let's face it, we are famous for having chimps, wild cats and a whole host of other wild beasts in captivity.

Saying that, I've not actually been in The Oak for a while.

Rim_Shot_Johnny_Utah.jpg

I worked in Corstorphine for 3 years ..it's a definate jambo stronghold, but I wouldn't regard it as 'posh' really. Ok there are posh folk and posh houses that may happen to live in the area but there are also the indigenous mental cases who call it home as well. There were always loads of fights in the bars at night and a few drug busts etc etc so I really didn't (don't) see it as much different to many other places.

I was brought up on the outskirts of Corstorphine, and it's not had any kind of effect on me, although my brothers Tarquin and Rupert may have something to say on the matter. :euro:

Was brought up just round the corner from Corrie school , moved there from Pilton in 1965.

The name was changed from Broomhouse road to Ladywell Avenue because a lot of people were getting mail for people from the Broomhouse estate.

But a certain weege paper called it snobs Avenue (TYPICAL)

Got my first flat in Forrester park Grove in 1984 and lived there till 87.

Moved to East Craigs and have been there since.

Can honestly say there are a few snobs in corrie but a few nutters too .

When i worked in Leith they used to call the area spam valley as thats all the people could afford to eat , jealous or what eh.

Anyway i like the area and the people , and its closenest to Tynecastle my other home.

Romanov Stole My Pension

Corstorphine seems to be just full of OAPs whenever I pass.

Good memories of waiting outside Woolies with my gran until it opened at midday (maybe) on a sunday to get one of them snake sweetie things.

Corstorphine is one big disappointment considering the snobbery of some people who lived around the locale. My in-laws moved to Saughtonhall and I can't be bothered going for a beer any more when I visit : The Rainbow, Centurion , Oak ?. Jeeze.

The Rainbow is closed, the centurion is pish and the Oak is/was full of arseholes.

I've not been in the Oak for about 5 years, so it may have changed. My ex used to work in there.

JamTarts1874
The Rainbow is closed, the centurion is pish and the Oak is/was full of arseholes.

I've not been in the Oak for about 5 years, so it may have changed. My ex used to work in there.

Aye the Oak is a bit of a dive like. Me and my pals went in there for a pint once, the rugby was on and some old boys just swore at the TV everytime a black rugby player appeared on screen "Black b*****d" etc, etc.

Got a steak, they asked me how I wanted it, I said medium, came out burnt to a crisp lol.

..........long gone are the days of Garton's, Thompsons and Banks hardware shop..

Ah, the memories !

:42:

The Number 10

Lived in CK all my life and my Mum has lived there too, Corstorphine has too many of the "fur coat and no knickers brigade", at the end of the day we're all the same.

I think its just the name Corstorphine that sounds snobby. I hate saying it.

As for Carrick Knowe, great place to stay. Been here my whole life and plan to stay for years to come.

112 for the Cackie crew.!

It's been ****e since "James" the barman left.

Maybe a bit before your time. He was a good lad.

What actually constitutes the boundaries of Corstorphine. It is not a part of town I have ever lived in but for some reason I sort of class Corstorphine as being relatively small really. Sort of starting around about the Zoo and extending along the main road to the Maybury roundabout, and going back a few streets on either side along that route.

It's been ****e since "James" the barman left.

Maybe a bit before your time. He was a good lad.

The Oak's mental!! Big Brian the manager once upon a time was always good for a stash of fivers at the weekend though...so I had to keep him sweet! Some of the stories from that pub though christ..talk about a poisoned chalice!