FHM's 50 people who have ruined football

Gorgie Aggro

In this months FHM they have drawn up a list of tossers who have ruined football

Guess who's on the list

Yep our very own Vladimir Romanov and that little **** Andy Webster

What position was the Russian linesman in?

Or how about the Govan linesman?

Come on. The Govan linesman was only doing what he was paid to do...

And where does the Wichita Lineman fit into all this?

(Sorry BB, you're probably way too young for my 1960s hit record references.)

He's still on the line last I heard.

I don't know my Glen Campbells from my Glen Michaels.

He's still on the line last I heard.

Apparently if it snows that stretch down south won't ever stand the strain.

Apologies to the OP. Yet another thread taken effortlessly off topic by me.

:o

Could have been worse - could have been Glen Daly:eek:

You mean Ghlen Dhaly? :mad:

In this months FHM they have drawn up a list of tossers who have ruined football

Guess who's on the list

Yep our very own Vladimir Romanov and that little **** Andy Webster

Are the GFA on the list?

Does it detail why he has ruined football?

Apparently it's alleging he was responsible for signing Ksanavicius.

Can't remember the reasons really, just skimmed the article.. did a quick google and found this nice summary:

1. Florentino Perez - for making players bigger than clubs

2. Vladimir Romanov - for being a mad foreign owner

3. Lord Justice Taylor - for bankrupting clubs with all seater stadia

4. Alan Ball - for wearing white boots

5. Pete Winkleman - for turning clubs into franchises

6. Jimmy Hill - for abolishing minimum wage

7. The FA - for stifling British youth development

8. RS Charleroi - for making clubs more important than countries

9. Pini Zahavi - for being the first "super-agent"

10. Rupert Murdoch - for creating the "haves" and "have nots"

11. Andy Webster - for making contracts meaningless

12. Francis Lee - for being football's first diver

13. World Cup Willie - for being the first World Cup mascot

14. Jean-Marc Bosman - for ending player loyalty

15. Jack Warner - for being a FIFA survivalist

16. Pierre Van Hooijdonk - for being a striking striker

18. Tim Lovejoy - for being a "nouveau" fan

19. Posh Spice - for being Queen of WAGS

20. The G14 - for forming an impenetrable cartel

21. Richard Scudamore - for the 39th game

22. Sir Alf Ramsey/Sir Geoff Hurst - for raising expectations

23. Peter Ridsdale - for gambling away his club's future

24. Peter Kenyon - for commercialising the game

Saved a club from extinction

Outed SDM & his lackeys in the "free"? press

Gave sports reporters more column inches than they have ever had

Just about underwrote the running costs of the SFA through his fines

Organised breakfast clubs for schoolkids

Free strips & match tickets for kids

Oh yes - ruined football right enough

The only peolple Vlad's ruined football for in the last couple of years are the regular Hearts supporters (like myself), who have been frustrated as hell with team / manager interferences

As for local schools, the GFA, the press, rival clubs - they must love him

I must admit, if Vlad was involved with any other club, I'd probably think he was great fun. Especially if it was Hibs!

The fact that he appears on the list surprises me a little bit I suppose, but his placing is definitely ridiculous given the illustrious company he's keeping.

Worse than The FA, Murdoch and Posh Spice? I think not...

I'm sure he'll probably just find it very amusing anyway.

FHM should stick to publishing pictures of Scantily Clad Tarts

Any list which doesn't start with "1.Brother Walfrid" has no credibility.

The problem is that Vlad is only known down south for his rants and odd behaviour. They probably wanted someone who represented crazy foregin owners and thought vlad was the best one to do that.

Impressed they are aware of Webster ruling though.

You sure that's the current magazine actually?

I'm positive that he came second in a very similar list type affair in the last month or two. I'm sure the 'journalists' at FHM wouldn't dream of copy and pasting though.

What about your Michael Miles ?

Can't remember the reasons really, just skimmed the article.. did a quick google and found this nice summary:

1. Florentino Perez - for making players bigger than clubs

2. Vladimir Romanov - for being a mad foreign owner

3. Lord Justice Taylor - for bankrupting clubs with all seater stadia

4. Alan Ball - for wearing white boots

5. Pete Winkleman - for turning clubs into franchises

6. Jimmy Hill - for abolishing minimum wage

7. The FA - for stifling British youth development

8. RS Charleroi - for making clubs more important than countries

9. Pini Zahavi - for being the first "super-agent"

10. Rupert Murdoch - for creating the "haves" and "have nots"

11. Andy Webster - for making contracts meaningless

12. Francis Lee - for being football's first diver

13. World Cup Willie - for being the first World Cup mascot

14. Jean-Marc Bosman - for ending player loyalty

15. Jack Warner - for being a FIFA survivalist

16. Pierre Van Hooijdonk - for being a striking stroker

18. Tim Lovejoy - for being a "nouveau" fan

19. Posh Spice - for being Queen of WAGS

20. The G14 - for forming an impenetrable cartel

21. Richard Scudamore - for the 39th game

22. Sir Alf Ramsey/Sir Geoff Hurst - for raising expectations

23. Peter Ridsdale - for gambling away his club's future

24. Peter Kenyon - for commercialising the game

"Striking stroker" that a euphamism for jobby jabber - :o

Toxteth should #1 not be canon Hanlon, first to wear the green etc.

Aye him as well, although I have to say we have had a lot of fun over the years out of playing the Wee Team:107years:

Actually read it this morning at my mates- he's 2nd but its not a countdown list, just an article titled the '24 people who ruined football.' Its half serious, half joking (for example Alan Balls on the list for being the 1st person to non black boots-in his case he wore

white).

The bit about Vlad isn't too bad, just tells the truth really! Talks about his mad rants, his exploits involving Hearts and not involving Hearts (Strictly Come Dancing for example) and talks about how many managers we've gone through. Its a small piece and certainly nothing to get upset about!

Glad they included Judas Webster on the list though!

This was on Hibs.net a few weeks ago. I think someone there pointed out it was written by a hibby, crawley_hibby or something. Could explain why Vlad is at number 2 though.

What about your Michael Miles ?

The cream doesn't work and I can hardly sit still because of them.

Cannot believe they'd do that to us the week after we gave their High Street ******* competition a collagen-filled boost...How righteous to complain about lack of loyalty in the game!!!:P

Cant believe Sebb Blatter isn't on that list, he is corrupt and keeping FIFA as a money making organisation for the benefit of its leaders to sell complimentry tickets they recieve for big money and lining their own pockets. Then has the cheek to every so often come up with an idea to "improve" football which is usually something that will never be accepted.

Typical, we're playing one half of the OF in a couple of weeks and - surprise, surprise, they decide to pull this one out the hat.

Are you for real? It's a magazine article in a men mag, it's hardly a journalistic heavywieght piece in a broadsheet.

Some folk really do need to calm down on the paranoia front.

Are you for real? It's a magazine article in a men mag, it's hardly a journalistic heavywieght piece in a broadsheet.

Aye right. It's clearly a conspiracy. Can't you see that FHM and SFA both have an F in them? Clearly they are in league with each other, in a plan designed to try and prevent Hearts winning the champions league.

oh, and I may be wrong, but I think Eldar may have been being sarcastic. :eek:

Aye right. It's clearly a conspiracy. Can't you see that FHM and SFA both have an F in them? Clearly they are in league with each other, in a plan designed to try and prevent Hearts winning the champions league.

oh, and I may be wrong, but I think Eldar may have been being sarcastic. :eek:

Doesn't seem like anyone's really getting worried about the dark intentions of a mens' glossy though. Just being critical of the hierarchy of badness....

out of interest what do FHM think Mr. Romanov has done to "ruin football"? Fair enough, he's done some pretty stupid things in his time as owner of Hearts but has this really been felt outwith HMFC or, at most, the other clubs he has an interest in?

or is he just the focus of anti-pathy for the "crazy foreign owner type person" in general?

Woooosh!!!!!!!!!!!

out of interest what do FHM think Mr. Romanov has done to "ruin football"? Fair enough, he's done some pretty stupid things in his time as owner of Hearts but has this really been felt outwith HMFC or, at most, the other clubs he has an interest in?

or is he just the focus of anti-pathy for the "crazy foreign owner type person" in general?

I wouldn't imagine FHM put all that much thought into it. It's just a case of getting at HMFC in any way they can. :P:p

Woooosh!!!!!!!!!!!

My inability to read sarcasm when it's posted on an internet board is really a bad thing......................:rolleyes:

Oops, sorry. I know it's the lowest form of wit and all that, I just couldn't resist.

By the way, I would agree that Vlad has hardly "ruined football" in general terms. How the hell do they get that? The only thing I can think of is sabotaging our title bid in 2005 (which would have reverberated right around Europe) but even then that was far from a guarantee. Sure, he's an idiot, and a bit of a bampot, but ruined football? Don't think so.