Ricky Hatton v Paulie Malignaggi

How do you all think this will go on Saturday night / Sunday morning?

I can't see Malignaggi beating Hatton to be honest. He's a weak puncher, but tough as nails (see the Cotto fight) so I think it points to Hatton winning on a unanimous points decision.

If Malignaggi is to win, he will have to try to and out box Hatton, as Mayweather did. Unfortunately, he doesn't have the defence or the skills that Floyd does so can't see it happening. Malignaggis only other chance is if Hatton's stamina lets him down again in the final few rounds.

Also, Hatton will have Liam and Noel Gallagher carrying his belts to the ring, which is nice :P

Carl Weathers

Also, Hatton will have Liam and Noel Gallagher carrying his belts to the ring, which is nice :P

Quality.

I think Hatton will KO him in the middle rounds. Or dominate the fight and win on a wide points decision.

Can't see Malignaggi doing anything here.

Should read Ricky's blog on his site.. quite a good read.

Any any idea of a start time.

The last three weekends have been quality for the man beating.

Hatton batters him all night long. Malignaggi is the definition of 'all mouth'. Apparently his career highlight was getting smacked about off Cotto for an entire fight...well that isn't going to do him much good.

Malignaggi is quick and quite hard to pin down, but I fully expect Hatton to walk through him in 6 rounds...8 at most.

I think people are writing off Malignaggi too much, true he has only 5 KO's in about 30 ish fights but he has speed and courage. He has suffered greatly from similar hand problems in his career like Calzaghe, 4 operations so far on his right hand i think. This explains perhaps his lack of punching power, but there is the fact that he can quite easily grind out majority decisions as he has done in his last few fights against N'Dou and Ngoudjou (sp) a couple of tough africans.

Hatton will win, but it will by no means be easy for Ricky, especially if he fights like he did against Lazcano. Malignaggi has the ability to move and counter more, unlike lazcano and he seriously shook Hatton on a couple of occassions.

Hatton by Majority

I don't see this fight finishing early. Malignaggi has been in with Cotto who (IMO) is more of a puncher than Hatton. I think that Hatton will edge it, but it could go either way.

The only doubt i can see is that if Hatton batters him up and down the ring for a few rounds and cannae seem to knock him down, he might lose his discipline a little.

That shouldnt happen though tbh.

Hatton to win on a comfortable points decision for me

Should read Ricky's blog on his site.. quite a good read.

Any any idea of a start time.

The last three weekends have been quality for the man beating.

Probley wont start till 3.45am or 4.45am. Depend on when the other fights finnish mate.. I wont be watching it, im no paying ?15 again for this. The last fight I paid for was pish so **** wasting money again.. :rolleyes:

It starts here, at least the coverage starts you never really know when the fight will start, but it is listed for 7.00pm, thats 0300am UK and Scotland(;)time.

Its not a PPV fight for us, thats why I am watching it.

Wasn't an inspiring fight. Hatton controlled from start to finish, I dont like Paulie Malignaggi, he used every opportunity to hold onto Hatton when he had been caught. Still Hatton got the result I expected, albeit later than I thought. Thing is though, what does he do now? Will a fight with the Golden Boy be on the cards?

Hmmm Hatton seems to be tiring :mad:

Hatton never looked tired at any point in the fight IMO. A vast improvement on his recent fights.

Gutted that the fight was stopped in the 11th, as I had Hatton to win on points. Malignaggi was poor but never really in serious trouble, well in comparison to his fight with Cotto he wasn't.

Manny or Oscar next for the Hitman - good stuff

Hatton never looked tired at any point in the fight IMO. A vast improvement on his recent fights.

Gutted that the fight was stopped in the 11th, as I had Hatton to win on points. Malignaggi was poor but never really in serious trouble, well in comparison to his fight with Cotto he wasn't.

Manny or Oscar next for the Hitman - good stuff

Out of interest Gavsy what time did the fight start? I just remembered our little bet and I'd imagine you're now due me a fiver.

4 ish I think.

However, I honestly have no idea what you are talking about?

What bet?

4 ish I think.

However, I honestly have no idea what you are talking about?

What bet?

You said it was due to start at 3.30. I said it'd be later, always is. You insisted that it would be on time. We had a bet on it. You had up til 3.30, I had after. ?5, Haymarket Bar, around 9.30 last night.:)

Well I'm obviously due you a fiver then :mad:

I'm rough.

An interesting article on Joe Calzaghe by Frank Warren, for those that are interested:

http://www.frankwarren.tv/drill/News/Articles/2008/11/17/joe-s-great-between-the-ropes123.html

(Didn't want to start a new thread).

As a wee side note, Joe Calzaghe will be at Tynecastle in February. More details will follow once I have them.

Carl Weathers
As a wee side note, Joe Calzaghe will be at Tynecastle in February. More details will follow once I have them.

Seriously?

That would be amazing!

Really? That would be quality.. Is he fighting that ***** Romanov?:P

I thought that fight was pish last night.

Left the Casino before the end of it and the snowball fight on the way home was much better.

Is he doing the half time draw;)

Well I'm obviously due you a fiver then :mad:

I'm rough.

I'm alright. My match was cancelled so at least I didn't have to travel up to Dundee.

I thought that fight was pish last night.

Left the Casino before the end of it and the snowball fight on the way home was much better.